DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2023217900.7, filed on July 7, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo et al. (US20220231345A1) in view of Jin et al. (US20240356116A1).
As to claim 1 Hwangbo et al. discloses a cylindrical battery cell (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a cylindrical battery 1 in Par. 161, in Fig. 5) comprising:
a housing (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a battery can 20, which may be referred to as a battery housing in Par. 161, in Fig. 5) comprising an opening (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a battery can accommodating the electrode assembly through an opening at a lower end thereof and electrically connected to the second uncoated opening in Par. 31, in Fig. 13), wherein a rolling groove (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the battery 20 can may include a beading portion 21 in Par. 55,181, in Fig. 13) is formed on a side wall of the opening (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a beading portion 21 formed by press-fitting a periphery of an outer circumferential surface battery can 20 at the opening in Par. 55,181, in Fig. 13);
an electrode assembly sealed and disposed in the housing (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a battery can 20 accommodating the electrode assembly 10 in Par. 31, in Fig. 5), wherein the rolling groove limits a movement of the electrode assembly in an axial direction (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the upper beading portion 21a may compress and fix the lower portion of the electrode assembly 10 and the beading portion prevents the electrode assembly 10 having a size approximately corresponding to the inner diameter of the battery can 20 from coming out through the opening formed at the lower end of the batter can 20 in Par. 182, in Fig. 13), and a first tab (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a second uncoated region 12 that may be a negative electrode tab in Par. 166, in Fig. 13) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses that the second uncoated region 12 extends towards the opening of the battery can 20 in Par. 167, in Fig. 13);
a current collector (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a second current collector 80 disposed below the electrode assembly 10 in Par. 253, in Fig. 13) disposed in the housing (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the second current collector may be interposed and fixed between the inner surface of the battery can 20 and the sealing gasket 90 in Par. 253, in Fig. 13), wherein the current collector comprises a housing connection portion (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a can coupling portion 83 in Par. 258, in Fig. 15), a tab connection portion (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a second uncoated region coupling portion 82 in Par. 258, in Fig. 15) and a connection arm (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a connection portion 83b in Par. 262, in Fig. 15), wherein the housing connection portion is connected to the tab connection portion through the connection arm (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the second uncoated region coupling portion 82 and the can coupling portion 83 are indirectly connected through the support portion 81 in Par. 258, in Fig. 15 and a connection portion 83b for connecting the support portion 81 and the contact portion 83a in Par. 262, in Fig. 15), the housing connection portion is connected to one side of the rolling groove facing away from the electrode assembly (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the can coupling portions 83 may be coupled, particularly to the lower surface of the beading portion 21 in Par. 261, in Fig. 13), and the tab connection portion is connected to the first tab (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the second uncoated region coupling portion 82 is coupled to the second uncoated region 12 of the electrode assembly 10 in Par. 259, in Fig. 13);
Instant Application, Figure 3
Hwangbo et al., Figure 15
Hwangbo et al. does not disclose wherein, a positioning portion is disposed on the housing connection portion and/or the connection arm, and the positioning portion is disposed to limit displacement of the housing connection portion in a radial direction.
Jin et al. discloses a connecting portion that comprises a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion in Par. 104. The first connecting portion is arranged coaxially with the electrode assembly and the second connecting portion is connected to the end of the first connecting portion facing away from the body portion in Par. 114. The first connecting portion may be of a non-closed-ring structure, like a C-shape in Par. 115. The second connecting portion may also be of a non-closed-ring structure, like a C-shape in Par. 118. The second connecting portion is a flanging structure formed by means of the connecting portion being bent in Par. 106. The second connecting portion abuts against the side of the first position-limiting portion facing away from the electrode assembly, which improves the stability of the connection between the connecting portion and the first position-limiting portion and can also increase the contact area between the second current collecting member and the first position-limiting portion so as to increase the overcurrent area between the case and the second current collecting member in Par. 109.
The first connecting portion corresponds to the housing connection portion, the second connecting portion corresponds to the positioning portion, and the first position-limiting portion corresponds to the rolling groove. The second current collecting member corresponds to the current collector and the case corresponds to the housing.
Both Hwangbo et al. and Jin et al. are analogous in the field of a battery assembly, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the housing connection portion of the current collector in Hwangbo et al. to include the second connecting portion as positioning portions disposed on the housing connector portions extending towards the electrode assembly limiting the displacement of the housing connection portion in a radial direction as taught by Jin et al. in order improve the stability of the connection between the housing connecting portion and the rolling groove as taught by Jin et al. in Par. 109.
As to claim 2 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein the current collector further comprises a plate body (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the second current collector 80 may include a support portion 81 disposed below the electrode assembly 10 in Par. 258, in Fig. 15), the housing connection portion and the plate body are connected through the connection arm (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a connection portion 83b for connecting the support portion 81 and the contact portion 83a in Par. 262, in Fig. 15), and the housing connection portion extends along a circumferential direction of the housing (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the contact portion 83a may have a shape extending from the beading portion 21 by a predetermined length along the circumferential direction of the battery can 20 in Par. 263, in Fig. 13,15), the positioning portion is formed by the housing connection portion (see e.g. Jin et al. discloses the second connecting portion is a flanging structure formed by means of the connecting portion being bent in Par. 106.) extending toward the electrode assembly along a height direction of the housing (see discussion of claim 1, see e.g. the second connecting portion abuts against the side of the first position-limiting portion 222 facing away from the electrode assembly 21 in Par. 109), and the positioning portion abuts against an inner side wall of the rolling groove (see e.g. Jin et al. discloses the second connecting portion 2522 abuts against the side of the first position-limiting portion 222 in Par. 109).
As to claim 3 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 2 (see discussion of claim 2), wherein the positioning portions are disposed on the housing portion (see discussion of claim 1).
Jin et al. teaches that increasing the contact area between the positioning portion and the rolling grooves, increases the overcurrent area between the housing and the current collector in Par. 119.
Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. does not disclose wherein at least two of the positioning portions are disposed on the housing connection portion, and the at least two positioning portions are located on both sides of the connection arm.
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the positioning portions disposed on the housing connection portion as taught in Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. to comprise at least two positioning portions and located on both sides of the connection arm by duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI.B. Duplication of Parts), in order to improve the stability of connection between connecting portions and the rolling groove as taught by Jin et al. in Par. 109.
As to claim 4 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein the positioning portion is formed by the housing connection portion (see e.g. Jin et al. discloses the second connecting portion is a flanging structure formed by means of the connecting portion being bent in Par. 106.) extending toward the electrode assembly along a height direction of the housing (see discussion of claim 1 & 2, see e.g. the second connecting portion abuts against the side of the first position-limiting portion 222 facing away from the electrode assembly 21 in Par. 109), and the positioning portion abuts against an inner side wall of the rolling groove (see e.g. Jin et al. discloses the second connecting portion 2522 abuts against the side of the first position-limiting portion 222 in Par. 109).
As to claim 5 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1).
Hwangbo et al. teaches a sizing process that compresses the battery can in the height direction. The beading portion may deform inwards forming an asymmetric beading portion in Par. 181. Hwangbo et al. further teaches the importance of preventing the electrode assembly from being pressed by the current collector in Par. 264.
Jin et al. discloses in Par. 111 the first connecting portion 2521 is arranged at an acute angle to the body portion 251, then the first connecting portion 2521 extends along a direction that is at an acute angle to the thickness direction X of the end cover until it abuts against the innermost side face of the first position-limiting portion 222, or the first connecting portion 2521 is bent with a certain curvature and then abuts against the first position-limiting portion 222. The first connecting portion 2521 extends along the thickness direction X of the end cover, such that the distance is shortest when the first extension portion extends to abut against the side of the first position-limiting portion 222 that is in its protruding direction, thereby reducing the amount of internal space of the battery cell 20 occupied by the first connecting portion 2521 in Par. 112.
An acute angle between the first connecting portion (positioning portion) and the body portion (plate body) would be equivalent to an obtuse angle formed between the positioning portion and the housing connection portion.
Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein an obtuse angle is formed between the positioning portion and the housing connection portion. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the housing connection portion and the positioning portion taught in Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. to form an obtuse angle with the housing connection portion as taught by Jin et al. in order to reduce the amount of internal space of the battery cell occupied by the positioning portion as taught by Jin et al. in Par. 112 and prevent the electrode assembly from being pressed by the current collector as taught by Hwangbo et al. in Par. 264.
As to claim 11 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein the connection arm is disposed between the adjacent tab connection portions (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses at least one can coupling portion 83 may be positioned between the second uncoated region coupling portions 82 adjacent to each other in Par. 261, in Fig. 15 and the can coupling portion 83 may include a connection portion 83b in Par. 262, in Fig. 15), and the connection arm and the tab connection portion are partially disconnected (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the second uncoated region coupling portion 82 and the can coupling portion are indirectly connected through the support portion 81, and are not directly connected to each other in Par. 258, in Fig, 15).
As to claim 13 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses a battery assembly (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a battery pack 3 that includes a secondary battery assembly in Par. 308, in Fig. 24) comprising the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a secondary battery assembly in which a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 are electrically connected in Par. 308, in Fig. 24).
As to claim 14 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses an electronic device (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a vehicle 5, which may be an electric vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, or a plug-in vehicle in Par. 309, in Fig. 25) comprising the battery assembly according to claim 13 (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a vehicle 5 that includes the battery pack 3 in Par. 309, in Fig. 25).
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo et al. (US20220231345A1) in view of Jin et al. (US20240356116A1), in further view of Lee et al. (US20240088425).
As to claim 6 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 5 (see discussion of claim).
Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. does not disclose wherein a stress buffering structure is disposed on the connection arm.
Lee et al. discloses in Par. 500 the connection portion 176f may be bent and a pressure applied in the vertical direction of the battery housing may be buffered. In the process of sizing the battery housing 171, when a pressure is transmitted to the contact portion 176e so that the contact portion 176e moves vertically toward the support portion 176b, the bending point of the connection portion 176f moves upward, so that the shape of the connection portion 176 is deformed to buffer the stress in Par. 500.
Both Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. and Lee et al. are analogous in the field a battery assembly, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the connection portion of the current collector in Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. to include the bending point as taught by Lee et al. in order to buffer the stress when a pressure is transmitted to the contact portions as taught by Lee et al. in Par. 500.
As to claim 7 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al., and in further view of Lee et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 6 (see discussion of claim 6), wherein the connection arm, the housing connection portion and the plate body are formed integrally (see discussion of claim 2, Hwangbo et al. discloses a connection portion 83b for connecting the support portion 81 and the contact portion 83a in Par. 262, in Fig. 15), the connection arm comprises a plurality of bending portions (see e.g. Lee et al. inexplicitly discloses multiple bends in the connection portion 176f in Fig. 22), and the bending portions are deformed when being pressed (see e.g. Lee et al. discloses that when a pressure is transmitted to the contact portion 176e, the bending point of the connection point 176f moves upward, so that the shape of the connection portion 176 is deformed in Par. 500).
As to claim 8 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al., in further view of Lee et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 6 (see discussion of claim 6), wherein the connection arm and the housing connection portion are independent parts (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the can coupling portion 83 may include a contact portion 83a coupled onto the inner surface of the battery can 20 and a connection portion 83b for connecting the support portion 81 and the contact portion 83a in Par. 262), and the connection arm is made of a flexible material (see e.g. Lee et al. discloses the second current collector 176 is made of a conductive metal material such as aluminum, steel, copper or nickel in Par. 447).
Claims 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo et al. (US20220231345A1) in view of Jin et al. (US20240356116A1), in further view of Chai et al. (US20230012207A1).
As to claim 9 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein a sealing ring (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses a sealing gasket 90 in Par. 161, in Fig. 13) is disposed on one side of the rolling groove away from the electrode assembly (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the sealing gasket 90 may be interposed between the cap 30 and the crimping portion 22 of the battery can 20 in Par. 189, in Fig. 13).
Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. does not disclose an avoidance structure is disposed on an end surface of the sealing ring facing the housing connection portion.
Chai et al. discloses the second connection portion of the current collecting portion is disposed in an annular structure connected to the outer edge of the first connection portion and the annular second connection portion has a relatively large contact area with the housing in Par. 144. Furthermore, a sealing element includes the enclosing body and the enclosing body abuts against the outer side surface of the end cover and the second connection portion of the current collecting member in Par. 168. The second connection portion corresponds to a housing connection portion, the sealing element can be a sealing ring, and the annular structure corresponds to an avoidance structure.
Both Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. and Chai et al. are analogous in the field of cylindrical battery cells, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the battery cell in Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. to include an annular structure disposed on an end surface of the sealing ring facing the housing connection portion as taught by Chai et al. in order to enable the current collecting member to be formed by stamping for convenience as suggested by Chai et al. in Par. 144.
As to claim 10 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al., and in further view of Chai et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 9 (see discussion of claim 9), wherein the avoidance structure is an annular groove structure (see discussion of claim 9 and see e.g. an annular structure in Par. 144), and the housing connection portion is accommodated in the annular groove structure (see e.g. the second connection portion 142 is in an annular structure in Par. 144).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwangbo et al. (US20220231345A1) in view of Jin et al. (US20240356116A1), in further view of Fan et al. (US20230378622A1).
As to claim 12 Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein an exhaust hole is disposed in a center of the current collector (see e.g. Hwangbo et al. discloses the support portion 81 has a current collector hole 80 formed at a location corresponding to the hole formed at the winding center C of the electrode assembly 10 in Par. 260, in Fig. 15)
Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. does not disclose a cut is disposed on a side wall along a circumference of the exhaust hole.
Fan et al. discloses second bursting lines disposed on the first current collector in Par. 46. The number of second bursting lines is plural, and the plurality of second bursting lines are spaced around the circumference of the electrolyte injection hole in distribution in Par. 48. When the thermal runaway cannot be terminated, the generated high-pressure gas will tear the second bursting line on the first current collector, in order that gases with high temperature thermal flows are ejected completely in Par. 46. This arrangement facilitates ensuring the safety of the battery cell, furthermore, when the bursting occurs, the bursting is prone to occur at the position of the electrolyte injection hole in Par. 48.
Both Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. and Fan et al. are analogous in the field of current collectors in cylindrical battery cells, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the current collector in Hwangbo et al. in view of Jin et al. to include bursting lines as cuts around the circumference of the exhaust hole as taught in Fan et al. in order to increase the safety of the battery cell during thermal runaway events by ejecting high temperature thermal flows through the cuts as taught by Fan et al. in Par. 46,48.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Park et al. (US20240072387A1) discloses a current collecting plate including three or more tab coupling portions electrically connected to the first electrode tab, and a can coupling portion extending from ends of the tab coupling portions toward the opening portion of the battery can.
Ko et al. (US20240097250A1) discloses a second current collector plate connecting the second electrode to a beading portion of the case inside the bent plate.
Hwangbo et al. (US20250055162A1) discloses the connection portion may include at least one bending portion in which an extension direction is changed between the support portion and the contact portion. That is, the connection portion may have a spring-like structure or bellows-like structure capable of contraction and expansion within a certain range.
/COLIN MICHAEL ZORIJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723