DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-14, 16 and 18 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response to the last Office Action, dated May 21, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated May 21, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection. Please see the following claim rejections for detailed analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0318586 A1) in view of and Hsieh et al. (US 2012/0098739 A1).
As to claim 1, Huang teaches an electronic paper display device (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0016], “electronic paper package structure 100”), comprising:
a thin film transistor (TFT) array substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array)”), wherein a top surface of the TFT array substrate has a bottom electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “configured as a lower electrode plate”);
a light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”) located above (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the TFT array substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110”);
a top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) located on a bottom surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”) and the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) have different materials (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a can be formed of glass or plastics such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polystyrene (PS) or polycarbonate (PC)” and “translucent water vapor barrier 114b can be formed of at least one of alumina (AlOx), silica, silicon nitride, titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, aluminum oxynitride, silicon oxynitride and amorphous carbon”);
a display medium layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0018], “electronic ink layer 112”) located between (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) and the bottom electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array) … configured as a lower electrode plate”); and
a barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”) directly formed on the bottom surface of (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”) is in direct contact with (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), and is configured to resist moisture (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0079], e.g., “the water vapor barrier capacity of the translucent water vapor barrier 114b is greater than that of the transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) is directly formed on a bottom surface of the barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”), such that the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) is in direct contact with the barrier layer (Huang, see FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”).
Huang does not teach “wherein a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate, an edge of the barrier layer, and an edge of the top electrode layer are aligned with each other in a vertical direction”.
However, Hsieh teaches the concepts that the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “first base 212”) and the top electrode layer (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “common electrode 214”) have different materials (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “a transparent base and can be made of glass, quartz, plastic” and “a transparent conductive layer and can be made of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”, respectively); and
a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0045], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210”, whereas “first substrate 210” comprises “first base 212”) and an edge of the top electrode layer (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0045], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210”, whereas “first substrate 210” comprises “common electrode 214”) are aligned with each other in a vertical direction (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0045]).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to (1) substitute the “transparent electrode layer 113” taught by Huang with the “first substrate 210” comprising “first base 212” and “common electrode 214”; and (2) align an edge of the “transparent sheet 114a” taught by Huang with the “edge 210a of the first substrate 210”, as taught by Hsieh, in order to provide that “thereby, the first substrate in the electrophoretic display unit can be closely connected to the adjacent first substrate(s). As such, a user is rather unlikely to perceive the untidy splice between adjacent electrophoretic display units when the user views a display image via the first substrate” (Hsieh, [0010]).
As to claim 9, Huang in view of Hsieh teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 1, wherein an edge of the display medium layer (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0030], “edge 230a of the electrophoretic display layer 230”) is recessed from a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0034], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210a”) so that the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “first base 212”) has a protruding portion (Hsieh, see FIG. 2); and
the electronic paper display device (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “electronic paper package structure 102”) further comprises a sealant (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “sealant 118”) located between the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “transparent sheet 114a”) and the TFT array substrate (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0017], “substrate 110 … TFT array”), and the sealant (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “sealant 118”) surrounds (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0022], “the sealant 118 can be filled into the groove 111”) the display medium layer (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0029], “electronic ink layer 112”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 10, Huang in view of Hsieh teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 9, wherein the sealant (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “sealant 118”) is in contact with a bottom surface of the top electrode layer (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0031], the bottom surface of “common electrode 214”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 12, Huang teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 1, wherein the display medium layer (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0029], “electronic ink layer 112”) comprises a plurality of microcapsules (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0018], “microcapsules”) or a plurality of microcups, and each of the microcapsules (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0018], “microcapsules”) or each of the microcups has charged particles with different colors (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0018], “can be a tri-color or multi-color electronic ink layer”).
As to claim 16, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the manufacturing method of the electronic paper display device of claim 1. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Huang in view of Hsieh teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
Claims 2-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0318586 A1) in view of and Hsieh et al. (US 2012/0098739 A1) and Park et al. (US 2008/0138633 A1, provided in a prior Office Action).
As to claim 2, Huang in view of Hsieh does not teach the electrophoretic paper display device of claim 1, further comprising another barrier layer directly formed on a top surface of the light-transmitting substrate.
However, Park teaches the concept of another barrier layer (Park, FIGS. 1-2, [0035], “barrier coating 30”) directly formed on a top surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Park, FIGS. 1-2, [0038], “base substrate 20”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “transparent sheet 114a” taught by Huang to further comprise the “barrier coating 30”, as taught by Park, in order to provide “protecting the display structures 50 from contaminants such as moisture and/or oxygen” (Park, [0037]); and that “since the barrier coating 30 including an organic material and/or an inorganic material is formed on the base substrate 20 of the flexible substrate 10, material costs reduces. Since a process for laminating the related art protection sheet is not required, a process can be simplified. Also, since the barrier coating 30 can be formed in a very thin thickness, a thickness increase of the flexible substrate 10 can be prevented while a flexibility characteristic of the base substrate 20 is substantially maintained” (Park, [0038]).
As to claim 3, Hsieh teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 2, wherein the bottom surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “first base 212”) has a functional area extending outward from the display medium layer (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0030], “electrophoretic display layer 230”), and the top electrode layer (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “common electrode 214”) extends to the functional area (Hsieh, see FIG. 3). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 4, Park teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 2, wherein a top surface of the another barrier layer (Park, FIGS. 1-2, [0035], “barrier coating 30”) is exposed (Park, e.g., see FIGS. 1-3). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 2.
As to claim 18, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 2, and Park teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 2. Please see claim 2 for detailed analysis.
Claims 6-7, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0318586 A1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2012/0098739 A1) and Kwon (US 2011/0026097 A1).
As to claim 6, Huang in view of Hsieh does not teach “the electronic paper display device of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the light-transmitting substrate has a functional area extending outward from the display medium layer, and the barrier layer and the top electrode layer extend to the functional area”.
However, Kwon teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”) has a functional area extending outward from the display medium layer (Kwon, FIG. 3, [0033], e.g., “The upper array unit 180 includes color filter patterns 127 and a protective film 120 … further include a common electrode (not shown)”), and the barrier layer (Kwon, FIG. 3, [0040], “protective film 120”) and the top electrode layer (Kwon, FIG. 3, [0033], e.g., the “common electrode (not shown)”) extend to the functional area (Kwon, see FIG. 3).
At the time of effective filing date, considering that Kwon teaches the concept of “the pixel electrode 121 and the common electrode (not shown) opposite to each other” in FIG. 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the stack of “first substrate 210” and “cover plate 114” taught by Huang in view of Hsieh with the stack of “upper substrate 12”, the “protective film 120” and the “common electrode”, as taught by Kwon, in order to “substantially obviate the problems” that “the thinned electrophoretic film causes step coverage in a protective film or a substrate, which is adhered to it, to be lowered. Moreover, the step coverage in the protective film or the substrate can lose uniformity due to fine alien substances attached to the protective film or the substrate. As such, a non-injection defect of sealant is caused during a process of forming a seal pattern on the outer-circumferential surface of the electrophoretic film” (Kwon, [0016]).
As to claim 7, Kwon teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 1, wherein the top surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”) is exposed (Kwon, see FIG. 1A). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6.
As to claim 11, Kwon teaches the electronic paper display device of claim 10, wherein the sealant (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “sealant 16”) extends to a lower portion of the sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, see FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”), such that an upper portion of the sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”) is exposed (Kwon, see FIG. 1A). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 6.
As to claim 13, Huang teaches an electronic paper display device (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “electronic paper package structure 102”), comprising:
a thin film transistor (TFT) array substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array)”), wherein a top surface of the TFT array substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array)”) has a bottom electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array) … configured as a lower electrode plate”);
a light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 3B, [0030], “transparent sheet 114a”) located above (Huang, see FIG. 3B) the TFT array substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array)”);
a top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) located on a bottom surface of the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”) and the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) have different materials (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a can be formed of glass or plastics such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polystyrene (PS) or polycarbonate (PC)” and “translucent water vapor barrier 114b can be formed of at least one of alumina (AlOx), silica, silicon nitride, titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, aluminum oxynitride, silicon oxynitride and amorphous carbon”);
a display medium layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0018], “electronic ink layer 112”) located between (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) and the bottom electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “substrate 110 … thin-film transistor array (TFT array) … configured as a lower electrode plate”);
a barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”) directly formed on the bottom surface of (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”) is in direct contact with (Huang, see FIG. 1B) the light-transmitting substrate (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent sheet 114a”), and is configured to resist moisture (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0079], e.g., “the water vapor barrier capacity of the translucent water vapor barrier 114b is greater than that of the transparent sheet 114a”), wherein the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) is directly formed on a bottom surface of the barrier layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”), such that the top electrode layer (Huang, FIG. 1B, [0017], “transparent electrode layer 113”) is in direct contact with the barrier layer (Huang, see FIG. 1B, [0017], “translucent water vapor barrier 114b”).
Huang does not teach “wherein an edge of the display medium layer is recessed from a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate so that the light-transmitting substrate has a protruding portion”; and “wherein a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate, an edge of the barrier layer, and an edge of the top electrode layer are aligned with each other in a vertical direction”.
However, Hsieh teaches the concepts that the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “first base 212”) and the top electrode layer (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “common electrode 214”) have different materials (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “a transparent base and can be made of glass, quartz, plastic” and “a transparent conductive layer and can be made of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”, respectively);
an edge of the display medium layer (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0030], “edge 230a of the electrophoretic display layer 230”) is recessed from a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0034], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210a”) so that the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0031], “first base 212”) has a protruding portion (Hsieh, see FIG. 2); and
a sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0045], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210”, whereas “first substrate 210” comprises “first base 212”) and an edge of the top electrode layer (Hsieh, FIG. 2, [0045], “edge 210a of the first substrate 210”, whereas “first substrate 210” comprises “common electrode 214”) are aligned with each other in a vertical direction (Hsieh, see FIG. 2, [0045]).
Please see the obviousness statement and motivation to combine Hsieh on claim 1 above.
Huang in view of Hsieh does not teach “a sealant located between the protruding portion of the light-transmitting substrate and the TFT array substrate, surrounding the display medium layer, and extending to a lower portion of the sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate”.
However, Kwon teaches the concept of a sealant (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “sealant 16”) located between the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”) and the TFT array substrate (Kwon, FIG. 1A, [0009], “lower substrate 10”), surrounding the display medium layer (Kwon, see FIG. 1A, [0009], “electrophoretic film 14”), and extending to a lower portion of the sidewall of the light-transmitting substrate (Kwon, see FIG. 1A, [0009], “upper substrate 12”).
Please see the obviousness statement and motivation to combine Kwon on claim 11 above.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0318586 A1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2012/0098739 A1), Kwon (US 2011/0026097 A1) and Park et al. (US 2008/0138633 A1, provided in a prior Office Action).
As to claim 14, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 2, and Park teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 2. Please see claim 2 for detailed analysis.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Nakamori (US 2019/0196293 A1) teaches the concept of “sealant” and “protrusion” (e.g., FIG. 6).
May 26, 2026
/RICHARD J HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
***