DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office Action is in response to application 18/531,723 filed on 12/07/2023. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/07/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a solid-phase calculating module, configured to...", "a liquid-phase calculating module, configured to", and "an electrolytic coupling calculating module, configured to" in claim 1.
The recited "a solid-phase calculating module", "a liquid-phase calculating module", and "an electrolytic coupling calculating module" are generic nonce terms that do not recite sufficient structure and are defined by the functions they perform. As such, these limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The corresponding structure includes algorithms disclosed in the specification (e.g., paragraphs [0027]-[0033]) for performing the recite calculations and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites that:
However, the claim fails to specify what each of the recited elements is “calculated from” as the corresponding mathematical expressions, inputs, or relationships required to perform the calculations are omitted or not defined in the claim. As such, it is unclear how the lower triangular matrix, the upper triangular matrix, the first linear equation system, and the second linear equation system are determined. The scope of the claim therefore cannot be reasonably ascertained by a person of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, claim 8 is indefinite for failing to particular point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. A subject matter eligibility analysis is set forth below. See MPEP 2106.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A computing terminal for parameter identification, comprising: an FPGA, wherein the FPGA comprises
a solid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a solid-phase differential equation to determine a solid-phase electrochemical parameter of an electrochemical model;
a liquid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a liquid-phase differential equation to determine a liquid-phase electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model; and
an electrolytic coupling calculating module, configured to solve an electrolytic coupling differential equation to determine an electrolytic coupling electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model, wherein at least some of the solid-phase calculating module, the liquid-phase calculating module, and the electrolytic coupling calculating module are configured to operate in parallel.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category, namely it is a system claim.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
In the instant case, claim 1 is found to recite at least one judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea), that being a Mental Process and a Mathematical Concept. This can be seen in the claim limitations of “a solid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a solid-phase differential equation to determine a solid-phase electrochemical parameter of an electrochemical model”, “a liquid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a liquid-phase differential equation to determine a liquid-phase electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model”, and “an electrolytic coupling calculating module, configured to solve an electrolytic coupling differential equation to determine an electrolytic coupling electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model, wherein at least some of the solid-phase calculating module, the liquid-phase calculating module, and the electrolytic coupling calculating module are configured to operate in parallel” which is the judicial exception of a mathematical concept because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to solve differential equations and determine electrochemical parameters of an electrochemical model and is capable of being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen and paper. Additionally, the aforementioned limitations recite mathematical calculations, e.g. see Spec. [0027]-[0033] which describe solving systems of equations and determining parameters using mathematical relationships and algorithms such as matrix operations and recursive calculations.
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
In addition to the abstract ideas recited in claim 1, the claimed system recites additional elements including “A computing terminal for parameter identification, comprising: an FPGA” however these elements are found to be data gathering and output steps, which are recited at a high level of generality, and thus merely amount to “insignificant extra-solution” activity(ies). See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity,”.
The generic data gathering, processing, and output steps, are recited at such a high level of generality (e.g. using “FPGA” and “computing module”) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, nothing is done with the result of solving the differential equations and determining electrochemical parameters beyond merely obtaining and outputting the calculated values. For example, the claim does not recite using the determined electrochemical parameters to control a device, adjust a system, or otherwise effect a physical or technological change, but instead is limited to performing the calculation themselves.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely performs insignificant extra-solution activit(ies) (claims 1). Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document).
Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that claim 1, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-10, merely further expand upon the algorithm/abstract idea and do not set forth further additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore, these claims are found ineligible for the reasons described for claim 1. Specifically:
With respect to dependent claims 2-3 specifically, the claims further recite limitations directed to solving the first linear equation system and determining elements of the lower triangular matrix. These limitations merely expand upon the mathematical calculations recited in claim 1 by further specifying how the equations are solved. Such steps constitute mathematical relationships and calculations and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
With respect to dependent claims 4-6 specifically, the claims further recite limitations directed to solving the second linear equation system and determining elements of the upper triangular matrix. These limitations amount to additional mathematical processing steps, including recursive calculations and matrix operations, which merely refine the abstract idea recited in claim 1. These steps do not add any meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment and therefore fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(h).
With respect to dependent claims 7-10 specifically, the claims further recite limitations directed to determining unknown matrix elements and performing back-substitution calculations to obtain solutions of the system. These limitations amount to further data evaluation and mathematical manipulation of values derived from the equations. Such steps merely expand the abstract idea and constitute insignificant extra solution activity and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(g)(h).
Accordingly, for the reasons above and those discussed in relation to independent claim 1, the dependent claims are insufficient to integrate the claimed abstract ideas into a practical application or significant more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 9-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2022032581 A, Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong).
Regarding Claim 1, Wong discloses a computing terminal for parameter identification, comprising: an FPGA (Wong, [Page 11] the processor may be composed of one semiconductor chip or may be physically composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips. When the processor is composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips, each control of each embodiment may be realized by a different semiconductor chip), wherein the FPGA comprises
a solid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a solid-phase differential equation to determine a solid-phase electrochemical parameter of an electrochemical model (Wong, [Page 7] the solid-phase ion concentration model unit 22a calculates the solid-phase cation concentration indicating the concentration of cations of the reactant in the active materials of the positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120);
a liquid-phase calculating module, configured to solve a liquid-phase differential equation to determine a liquid-phase electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model (Wong, [Page 4] the battery model unit 20 is calculated by the parameters (dielectric constant, ionization reaction rate coefficient, coupling reaction rate coefficient) related to the physical properties of the liquid phase conductor (liquid phase) other than the ionic conductivity, and the physical property calculation unit 10. Based on the ion diffusion coefficient, other parameters such as the physical properties of the active material at the electrode (solid phase), and the calculation conditions such as charge / discharge current, according to the liquid phase model and solid phase model of the secondary battery, Calculate the physical quantity related to the electrode reaction of the next battery. Further, the battery model unit 20 sequentially calculates the physical quantity related to the secondary battery at predetermined intervals. The details of the battery model shown in FIG. 6 will be described later); and
an electrolytic coupling calculating module, configured to solve an electrolytic coupling differential equation to determine an electrolytic coupling electrochemical parameter of the electrochemical model (Wong, [Page 10] the secondary battery simulation device 1 according to the present embodiment is secondary based on the battery model unit 20 having the liquid phase model unit 23 and the calculation parameters calculated by the battery model unit 20. It includes a battery state estimation unit 30 that estimates the internal state of the battery. The liquid phase model unit 23 also exhibits the behavior of cations, anions, and charge-neutral substances with respect to the substances contained in the positive electrode 110 (first electrode), the negative electrode 120 (second electrode), and the liquid phase conductor. In addition, the battery state estimation unit 30 calculates the calculation parameters used when estimating the internal state of the secondary battery)
wherein at least some of the solid-phase calculating module, the liquid phase calculating module, and the electrolytic coupling calculating module are configured to operate in parallel (Wong, Fig. 10, [Page 10] The discharge curve of this embodiment is based on the output voltage and the charge state calculated by the equations (31) to (33) by solving all the equations (12) to (30) at the same time. [Page 11] When the processor is composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips, each control of each embodiment may be realized by a different semiconductor chip.)
Regarding Claim 9, Wong disclose the computing terminal according to claim 1, wherein,
the solid-phase calculating module comprises: a positive solid-phase calculating module configured to determine a positive solid-phase electrochemical parameter; and a negative solid phase calculating module configured to determine a negative solid-phase electrochemical parameter (Wong, [Page 7] The solid-phase ion concentration model unit 22a calculates the solid-phase cation concentration indicating the concentration of cations of the reactant in the active materials of the positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120, [Page 8] in the battery model unit 20, the solid phase cation concentration in the solid phase, the solid phase potential in the solid phase, the liquid phase cation concentration in the liquid phase, the liquid phase anion concentration in the liquid phase, The concentration of the neutral substance in the liquid phase and various physical quantities of the liquid phase potential in the liquid phase are defined by mathematical formulas);
the liquid-phase calculating module comprises: a positive liquid-phase calculating module configured to determine a positive liquid-phase electrochemical parameter; and a negative liquid-phase calculating module configured to determine a negative liquid-phase electrochemical parameter (Wong, [Page 6] the battery model unit 20 has a reaction model unit 21 which is a first model unit and a solid phase model unit which is a second model unit according to the battery model of the present disclosure shown in FIG. 22 and a liquid phase model unit 23, which is a third model unit, are provided. The internal variables calculated by the battery model unit 20 by the following equations are calculation parameters. [Page 6] The reaction model unit 21 has an electrochemical reaction model unit 21a. The electrochemical reaction model unit 21a calculates the volume reaction current j .sub.j.sup.Li using the following equations (12) to (17). [Page 6] The equation (12) is a Butler-Volmer equation, which is the same as the equation (1) in the Newman model described above. Also in the battery model of the present disclosure, the surface reaction current on the surface of the active material of the positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120 is obtained by using (Equation 12) [Page 7] The liquid phase ion concentration model unit 23a is a pair of a liquid phase cation concentration indicating the concentration of cations of the reactant of the active material in the liquid phase including the liquid phase conductor and a cation of the cation of the reactant of the active material in the liquid phase); and
the electrolytic coupling calculating module comprises; a positive electrolytic coupling calculating module configured to determine a positive electrolytic coupling electrochemical parameter (Wong, [Page 7] the liquid phase ion concentration model unit 23a is a pair of a liquid phase cation concentration indicating the concentration of cations of the reactant of the active material in the liquid phase including the liquid phase conductor and a cation of the cation of the reactant of the active material in the liquid phase. The liquid phase anion concentration, which indicates the concentration of anions that are ions, is calculated. Specifically, the liquid phase ion concentration model unit 23a calculates the distribution of the lithium ion concentration (Li .sup.+ concentration) as the liquid phase cation concentration by the following formulas (24) to (30), and the liquid phase); and a negative electrolytic coupling calculating module configured to determine a negative electrolytic coupling electrochemical parameter (Wong, [Page 3] Equation (1) is a Butler-Volmer equation and shows the surface reaction current on the surface of the active material of the positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120 [Page 3] the surface reaction currents on the active material surfaces of the positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120 are obtained by using the Butler-Volmer equation represented by the equation (1) [Page 8] the liquid phase cation concentration and the liquid phase anion concentration are the reaction between the cation flux, which is the cation flux of the reactant of the active material, and the active material).
Regarding Claim 10, Wong disclose the computing terminal according to claim 1, further comprising: a processing system, wherein the FPGA is configured to transmit the determined electrochemical parameters to the processing system (Wong, [Page 11] the physical property calculation unit 10, the battery model unit 20, and the battery state estimation unit 30 may be a processor or the like. The processor may be composed of one semiconductor chip or may be physically composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips. When the processor is composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips, each control of each embodiment may be realized by a different semiconductor chip).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022032581 A, Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong). in view of US 5604911 A, Ushiro (hereinafter Ushiro).
Regarding Claim 2, Wong in view of Ushiro disclose the computing terminal according to claim 1, wherein a calculating module comprises a plurality of calculating units (Wong, [Page 11] the physical property calculation unit 10, the battery model unit 20, and the battery state estimation unit 30 may be a processor or the like. The p0r00.ocessor may be composed of one semiconductor chip or may be physically composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips. When the processor is composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips, each control of each embodiment may be realized by a different semiconductor chip), and the calculating module is the solid-phase calculating module, the liquid-phase calculating module, or the electrolytic coupling calculating module (Wong, [Page 9] battery model unit 20, various physical quantities at time t + Δt are calculated from the ion diffusion coefficient at time t, input parameters (other input data), and physical quantities at time t calculated in step S20 (step S30). .. For example, in step S30, the solid phase cation concentration, the solid phase potential, the liquid phase cation concentration, the liquid phase anion concentration, the charge neutral substance concentration, and the liquid phase potential are calculated as various physical quantities at time t + Δt), wherein
Wong does not disclose some of the plurality of calculating units are configured to recursively optimize a coefficient matrix of an original linear equation system, and the original linear equation system is obtained by discretizing a to-be-solved differential equation; and
the other calculating units are configured to recursively solve the linear equation system with the optimized coefficient matrix.
However, Ushiro teaches some of the plurality of calculating units are configured to recursively optimize a coefficient matrix of an original linear equation system (Ushiro, [Col. 2 Line 41-45] a method of computing preconditioning matrices of simultaneous linear equations suitably applicable to a computer having a plurality of vector processing units and a parallel computer, [Col. 2 Line 54-Col.3 Line 8] First, to establish the calculation method suitable for the parallel processing, the incomplete LU factorization of the matrix A is not achieved in the preconditioning. Namely, the non-diagonal nonzero elements of the matrix A are subdivided into m submatrices E1, E2, . . . , Em such that each preconditioning matrix w is formed with multiplications between (I-Ei), i=1, 2, . . . , m. Resultantly, in the overall region of the vector operations for the solution of linear equations, there can be obtained a degree of parallelization almost identical to the order n of the matrix A (n=n.sub.x .multidot.n.sub.y .multidot.n.sub.z for a three-dimensional matrix and n=n.sub.x .multidot.n.sub.y for a two-dimensional matrix))), and the original linear equation system is obtained by discretizing a to-be-solved differential equation (Ushiro , [Col. 1 Line 45-53] In a triangular factorization of a matrix A, the matrix is decomposed into a lower triangular matrix L and an upper triangular matrix U, thereby expressing the matrix as a product LU (=A). Achieving a discrete approximation according to the finite element method on a quantity or an area representing a phenomenon expressed by partial differential equations, there are attained simultaneous linear equations having a sparse coefficient matrix); and
the other calculating units are configured to recursively solve the linear equation (Ushiro, [Col. 1 Line 40-45] the method of analyzing linear equations in which the incomplete LU factorization is used in the preconditioning of the equations cannot be easily applied to a computer having a plurality of vector processing units or a super-parallel computer achieving an extreme number of parallel computations) system with the optimized coefficient matrix (Ushiro, [Col. 12 Line 1-4] (30) FIG. 12 shows a procedure of iterative calculations for solutions x of linear equations, [Col. 8 Line 11-17] FIG. 3 shows a calculation procedure in which a vector as a solution of simultaneous linear equations A.multidot.x=b (x and b stands for vectors) is obtained through iterative calculations by use of the Bi-CGSTAB with preconditioning (1990, similar to the solution of Van der Vorst) after the steps of FIG. 1.)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong and Ushiro teaching because Wong is directed to estimating battery states using electrochemical battery models that require the solution of systems of equations, while Ushiro teaches techniques for improving the processing of simultaneous linear equations through matrix optimization. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ushiro’s numerical processing techniques to Wong’s battery model calculations would improve the efficiency of solving the underlying equation systems generated by the battery model. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to improve computational efficiency and numerical stability, and convergence performance when determining battery characteristics.
Regarding Claim 4, Wong in view of Ushiro teaches the computing terminal according to claim 3, wherein the constant matrix of the original linear equation system is a tridiagonal matrix (Ushiro, [Col. 9 Line 30-37] FIG. 7 shows a procedure of preconditioning for use in the calculation of conjugate gradient series in the second embodiment, FIG. 8 shows a procedure of a numerical simulation according to a difference calculus, and FIG. 9 shows the configuration of a nonzero band matrix in the three-dimensional seven-point difference calculus)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong and Ushiro teaching because Ushiro teaches representing and processing differential equation systems using banded and tridiagonal matrix structures, while Wong solves electrochemical battery models that are derived from differential equations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that employing Ushiro matrix structure within Wong’s battery model calculations would reduce computational complexity and memory requirements while facilitating efficient numerical solution of the system of equations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wong and Ushiro in order to improve computational efficiency and performance when determining battery characteristics.
Claims 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2022032581 A, Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong). in view of US 5604911 A, Ushiro (hereinafter Ushiro), in further view of US 5887186 A, Nakanishi et al. (hereinafter Nakanishi).
Regarding Claim 3, Wong in view of Ushiro discloses the computing terminal according to claim 2, wherein the calculating module comprises:
a plurality of calculating units (Wong, [Page 11] the physical property calculation unit 10, the battery model unit 20, and the battery state estimation unit 30 may be a processor or the like. The p0r00.ocessor may be composed of one semiconductor chip or may be physically composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips. When the processor is composed of a plurality of semiconductor chips, each control of each embodiment may be realized by a different semiconductor chip)
Wong does not disclose a first calculating unit, configured to recursively calculate elements in a lower triangular matrix determined by performing LU decomposition on the coefficient matrix of the original linear equation system;
a second calculating unit, configured to recursively calculate elements in an upper triangular matrix determined by performing the LU decomposition on the coefficient matrix of the original linear equation system;
a third calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a first linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the first linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the first linear equation system is the lower triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the first linear equation system is a constant matrix of the original linear equation system; and
a fourth calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a second linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the second linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the second linear equation system is the upper triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the second linear equation system is the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system.
However, Ushiro teaches a first calculating unit, configured to recursively calculate elements in a lower triangular matrix (Ushiro, [Col. 1 Line 46-48]] the matrix is decomposed into a lower triangular matrix L) determined by performing LU decomposition on the coefficient matrix of the original linear equation system (Ushiro, [Col. 1 Line 49-53] thereby expressing the matrix as a product LU (=A). Achieving a discrete approximation according to the finite element method on a quantity or an area representing a phenomenon expressed by partial differential equations, there are attained simultaneous linear equations having a sparse coefficient matrix);
a second calculating unit, configured to recursively calculate elements in an upper triangular matrix (Ushiro, [Col. 1 Line 46-48] the matrix is decomposed into a lower triangular matrix L and an upper triangular matrix U) determined by performing the LU decomposition on the coefficient matrix of the original linear equation system (Ushiro, [Col. 6 Line 10-18] when conducting iterative calculations for solution of linear equations according to conjugate gradient series in a parallel computer having a plurality of vector processors, the method in which the incomplete LU factorization is adopted in the preconditioning and the method in which the matrix structured with products resultant from multiplications between (I-Ai), i=1, 2, . . . , m are used in the preconditioning are respectively attended with advantageous and disadvantageous features);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong and Ushiro teaching because Wong is directed to estimating battery models that require the numerical solution of systems of equations, while Ushiro teaches decomposing a coefficient matrix into lower and upper triangular matrices through LU decomposition to facilitate efficient processing of such equation systems. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wong and Ushiro in order to improve computational efficiency, stability, and solution performance when determining battery characteristics.
Wong in view of Ushiro does not disclose a third calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a first linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the first linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the first linear equation system is the lower triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the first linear equation system is a constant matrix of the original linear equation system; and
a fourth calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a second linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the second linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the second linear equation system is the upper triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the second linear equation system is the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system.
However, Nakanishi teaches a third calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a first linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the first linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the first linear equation system is the lower triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the first linear equation system is a constant matrix of the original linear equation system (Nakanishi, [Col 2 Line 10-15] Each block distributed to a corresponding processor is LU-decomposed into LU and processed in a forward/backward assignment process on each of the LU decomposition results); and
a fourth calculating unit, configured to recursively solve a second linear equation system to determine an unknown matrix of the second linear equation system, wherein a coefficient matrix of the second linear equation system is the upper triangular matrix, and a constant matrix of the second linear equation system is the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system (Nakanishi, [Col. 2 Line 1-10] the method of solving simultaneous linear equations using the memory-distributed parallel processor according to the present invention which comprises a plurality of processors capable of mutually transferring data to solve simultaneous linear equations by the LU decomposition method in which a coefficient matrix is distributed to a plurality of processors, the coefficient matrix is distributed to each processor, decomposed into LU, and dynamically transferred in parallel to each processor such that the matrix can be cyclically rearranged in row-vector block units).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong in view of Ushiro and Nakanishi teaching because Nakanishi teaches solving systems of linear equations after LU decomposition through forward and backward substitution processes using the resulting lower and upper triangular matrices. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Nakanishi’s forward/backward substitution techniques to the LU decomposed matrices taught by Ushiro and utilized within Wong’s battery model calculation would provide a efficient approach for obtaining unknown variables of the equation system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wong, Ushiro, and Nakashima in order to improve the efficiency and accuracy of solving the linear equation systems related to the electrochemical battery models.
Regarding Claim 5, Wong in view of Ushiro in further view of Nakanishi teaches the computing terminal according to claim 4, wherein
the first calculating unit is configured to calculate an element Ii at an i-th row and an (i-1 )th column in the lower triangular matrix after an element Ui-1 at an (i-1)-th row and an (i-1)-th column in the upper triangular matrix is determined by the second calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col 1 Line 22] A.sup.(k) =A.sup.(k) -.multidot.L2.sup.(k) -U2.sup.(k) [Col 1 Line 34-35] where L1(.sup.k) indicates a lower triangular matrix after the LU decomposition [Col. 2 Line 3-10] a plurality of processors capable of mutually transferring data to solve simultaneous linear equations by the LU decomposition method in which a coefficient matrix is distributed to a plurality of processors, the coefficient matrix is distributed to each processor, decomposed into LU, and dynamically transferred in parallel to each processor such that the matrix can be cyclically rearranged in row-vector block units);
the second calculating unit is configured to calculate an element Ui at an i-th row and an i-th column in the upper triangular matrix after the element Ii at the i-th row and the (i-1)-th column in the lower triangular matrix is determined by the first calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col. 1 Line 30-35] then, the data is updated as follows. U2.sup.(k) =(L1.sup.(k)).sup.-1 U2.sup.(k) while U1.sup.(k) indicates an upper triangular matrix);
the third calculating unit is configured to calculate an i-th element Yi in the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system after the element Lat the i-th row and the (i-1)-th column in the lower triangular matrix is determined by the first calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col. 2 Line 10-15] Each block distributed to a corresponding processor is LU-decomposed into LU and processed in a forward/backward assignment process on each of the LU decomposition results); and
the fourth calculating unit is configured to calculate the unknown matrix of the second linear equation system after the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system is determined by the third calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col 3 Line 40-46] A forward/backward substitution unit 4 restores the data rearranged in block units to the original arrangement, rearranges the data stored in each processor as divided in the column vector direction into the data stored as divided in the row vector direction to substitute LU decomposed data forward and backward to efficiently solve a given equation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong in view of Ushiro and Nakanishi teaching because Ushiro teaches performing structured matrix based computations efficiently using parallel processing, Wong teaches modeling electrochemical systems by separating calculations into positive and negative phase components to improve accuracy of electrochemical parameter determination, and Nakanishi teaches performing forward and backward substation following LU decomposition to efficiently solve linear equation systems. Combining these teachings would have predictably resulted in a system that leverages parallel computation for efficiency, accuracy and applies numerical techniques to obtain solutions to the underlying equations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve both the computational efficiency and the accuracy of solving electrochemical models.
Regarding Claim 6, Wong in view of Ushiro discloses the computing terminal according to claim 5, wherein
the second calculating unit (Ushiro, [Col. 13 Line 25-31] in a super-computer having a plurality of vector processing units, one of the two preconditioning methods can be automatically selected depending on the number of available vector processors and the property of the coefficient matrix (namely, ill or well conditioned) so as to calculate numerical solutions of the simultaneous linear equations at a higher speed) is configured to calculate the element Ui at the i-th row and the i-th column in the upper triangular matrix (Ushiro, [Col. 1 Line 45-52] a triangular factorization of a matrix A, the matrix is decomposed into a lower triangular matrix L and an upper triangular matrix U, thereby expressing the matrix as a product LU (=A). Achieving a discrete approximation according to the finite element method on a quantity or an area representing a phenomenon expressed by partial differential equations, there are attained simultaneous linear equations having a sparse coefficient matrix)
Wong in view of Ushiro does not disclose and the third calculating unit is configured to calculate the i-th element Yi in the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system in a calculation period after the element L at the i-th row and the (i-1)-th column in the lower triangular matrix is determined by the first calculating unit; and
the first calculating unit is configured to calculate an element L+i at an (i+ 1 )-th row and the i-th column in the lower triangular matrix in a calculation period after the element Ui at the i-th row and the i-th column in the upper triangular matrix is determined by the second calculating unit.
However, Nakanishi teaches and the third calculating unit is configured to calculate the i-th element Yi in the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system in a calculation period after the element L at the i-th row and the (i-1)-th column in the lower triangular matrix is determined by the first calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col 3 Line 30-40] An LU-decompositing unit 3 divides data to be processed in a matrix product calculation during the LU-decomposition of blocks, and then transfers the result to each processor. The divided data is calculated in each processor. The data to be processed in the next matrix product is transferred in parallel to each processor. Repeating these processes completes the entire calculation. In this case, the time actually required to transfer data can be reduced by shortening the initial transfer time and concurrently performing subsequent transfer and calculation with the actual transfer and calculation time overlapped); and
the first calculating unit is configured to calculate an element L+i at an (i+ 1 )-th row and the i-th column in the lower triangular matrix (Nakanishi, [Col 3 Line 40-46] A forward/backward substitution unit 4 restores the data rearranged in block units to the original arrangement, rearranges the data stored in each processor as divided in the column vector direction into the data stored as divided in the row vector direction to substitute LU decomposed data forward and backward to efficiently solve a given equation) in a calculation period after the element Ui at the i-th row and the i-th column in the upper triangular matrix is determined by the second calculating unit (Nakanishi, [Col 3 Line 47-53] Rearranging the data through the transfer in parallel, as described above, allows the load charged in an LU-decomposition to be equally distributed to each processor, and also allows the data transfer time during the data rearrangement to be apparently equivalent to the communication time among the processors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong in view of Ushiro and Nakanishi teaching because Ushiro teaches performing structured matrix computations efficiently using parallel processing, Wong teaches modeling electrochemical systems by separating calculations into positive and negative phase components to improve accuracy of electrochemical parameter determination, and Nakanishi teaches performing forward and backward substitution following LU decomposition to efficiently solve linear equation systems. Combing these teachings would have predictably resulted in a system that leverages parallel computation for improved efficiency while integrating phase specific electrochemical modeling and established numerical solution techniques to obtain accurate solution to the underlying equations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve both computational efficiency and solution accuracy in electrochemical modeling systems.
Regarding Claim 7, Wong in view of Ushiro in further view of Nakanishi teaches the computing terminal according to claim 5, wherein,
the fourth calculating unit is configured to calculate a k-th element Xk in the unknown matrix of the second linear equation system based on recursion in reverse order (Nakanishi, [Col. 2 Line 11-14] each block distributed to a corresponding processor is LU-decomposed into LU and processed in a forward/backward assignment process on each of the LU decomposition results), wherein k=n-1, n-2, ... , 1, and n represents the number of nodes for discretizing the differential equation (Nakanishi, [Col. 2 Line 1-10] the method of solving simultaneous linear equations using the memory-distributed parallel processor according to the present invention which comprises a plurality of processors capable of mutually transferring data to solve simultaneous linear equations by the LU decomposition method in which a coefficient matrix is distributed to a plurality of processors, the coefficient matrix is distributed to each processor, decomposed into LU, and dynamically transferred in parallel to each processor such that the matrix can be cyclically rearranged in row-vector block units)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong in view of Ushiro and Nakanishi teaching because Wong teaches determining electrochemical parameters using structured battery models, while Ushiro teaches performing recursive and parallel matrix-based computation to efficient solve systems of equations, and Nakanishi further applying forward and backward substitution techniques, including reverse order computations, to determine elements of an unknown matrix. Combining these teachings would have predictably resulted in a system capable of efficiently computing elements of a linear equation system, including calculating elements in reverse order as required for solving discretized equations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve computations efficiency and numerical stability when solving the underlying equations of electrochemical models.
Regarding Claim 8, Wong in view of Ushiro in further view of Nakanishi teaches the computing terminal according to claim 5, wherein,
the element L at the i-th row and the (i-1)-th column in the lower triangular matrix is calculated from [] (Nakanishi, [Col 2 Line 6-10] the coefficient matrix is distributed to each processor, decomposed into LU, and dynamically transferred in parallel to each processor such that the matrix can be cyclically rearranged in row-vector block units [Col 1 Line 34-36] where L1(.sup.k) indicates a lower triangular matrix after the LU decomposition);
the element Ui at the i-th row and the i-th column in the upper triangular matrix is calculated from [] (Nakanishi, [Col. 1 Line 34-36] where L1(.sup.k) indicates a lower triangular matrix after the LU decomposition, while U1.sup.(k) indicates an upper triangular matrix);
the i-th element Yi in the unknown matrix of the first linear equation system is calculated from []; (Nakanishi, Fig. 15-26, [Col. 9 Line 49-54] Matrix B is divided in the row direction as shown in FIG. 15. Assuming that matrix B is LU decomposed, LUx=d is solved and then Ly=d and Ux=y are sequentially solved. To perform the processes in parallel, each PE contains d, x, and y. Ux=y can also be solved likewise) and
a k-th element Xk in the unknown matrix of the second linear equation system is calculated from []; (Nakanishi, Fig. 2, [Col. 3 Line 13-17] FIG. 2 shows the principle of the present invention. The Gaussian elimination performed in block units using the outer products is realized, as described below, as one of the solutions of simultaneous linear equations).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wong in view of Ushiro and Nakanishi teaching because Ushiro teaches performing structured matrix computations efficiently using parallel processing, Wong teaches modeling electrochemical systems by separating calculations into positive and negative phase components to improve accuracy of electrochemical parameter determination, and Nakanishi teaches performing LU decomposition and associated forward and backward substitution operations to compute elements of lower and upper triangular matrices in solving linear equation systems. Combining these teachings would have predictably resulted in a system that leverages parallel computation while applying established numerical solution techniques to improve both computational efficiency and accuracy in solving electrochemical models. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to enhance the efficiency and reliability of solving such systems.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclose:
-US 8473533 B1, describing methods for solving linear equation system by decomposing a coefficient matrix into lower and upper triangular matrices using LU decomposition and solving the system based on the decomposed matrices.
-US 5604911 A, describing systems and methods for solving simultaneous linear equations using matrix decomposition techniques, including partitioning coefficient matrices into submatrices and performing parallel computations to improve convergence and processing efficiency.
-US 20220188479 A1, describing simulation methods and systems for modeling battery behavior, including simulating electrochemical processes involving an electrolyte and determining system characteristics based on temperature, current, and voltage conditions.
-US 20210091418 A1, describing battery management and modeling systems that simulate electrochemical behavior of batteries, including modeling electrode reactions, electrolyte interactions, and solving governing equations to determine battery state characteristics.
-US 20040181565 A1, describing matrix computation techniques for solving large-scale linear equation systems, including performing LU decomposition and forward/backward substitution to efficiently compute solutions of triangular matrices.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857