DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Claim 25 recites “dimensionally bridge””. The language has not been explicitly described in the specification, prior, in a way, that would lead to an understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art. It is unclear to the Examiner as to what is included or excluded by the use of language “dimensionally bridge”. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Claims 25 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Claims 1 and 15 recite “independent of a reservoir specific layout””. The language has not been explicitly described in the specification, prior, in a way, that would lead to an understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art. The specification recites multiple types of sensors. It is unclear to the Examiner as to what is being claimed, it is further unclear as to which sensors are included or excluded. It is unclear to the Examiner as to what is included or excluded by the use of language “independent of a reservoir specific layout”. The claims are unable to be examined properly. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the body”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-30, 34, 37-41, 45, 47, 51, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad H. Ahmadi (US 2016/0367435 A1 – hereinafter Ahmadi) in view of Dickie et al. (US 2016/0000657 A1 – hereinafter Dickie) Chudy et al. (US 2019/0127102 A1 – hereinafter Chudy), and Mehregany et al. (US 2017/0294105 A1 – hereinafter Mehregany).
Re Claims 25, 26, 28, 29, 34, and 52:
Ahmadi discloses a smart case (1) for monitoring a state of any blister card (50) of a set of blister cards (50) (see paragraphs [0046, 0052, 0067, and 0068]), each blister card of the set thereof (50) comprising a plurality of blisters (51) having perimeters (at 51) that collectively define a blister region (the area which encompasses all blisters), wherein each blister card (50) has a different configuration defined by blister-card size, shape, reservoir number, reservoir size, reservoir shape, and inter-reservoir spacing (Examiner notes that Ahmadi teaches using blister cards that are different in shape, size, numbers, and positions, thus, Examiner notes that the configuration as claimed is capable as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, (see paragraphs [0041, 0046, 0052, 0057, 0058, and 0068]), wherein the smart case (1) comprises: wherein the smart case (1) comprises a detection module (16, 17, 36, 123, and 125) comprising: (1) a sensor system (123 and 125) configured to monitor the state of at least one of the lidding film and the content of any blister card of the set (see paragraphs [0041, 0057, 0058, 0086-0087 and 0092-0093]), and a receiver (11) comprising: (a) a seat (either 12/ or either 13); and (b) a set of adapters (20), each adapter (20) of the set thereof being configured to removably receive a corresponding blister card (50) of the set of blister cards (see paragraphs [0046, 0052, 0067, and 0068]); wherein the seat (12/13) is configured to removably secure any adapter (20) of the set thereof when located in the receiver (11); and wherein the adapters (20) dimensionally bridge (fit) (see Figs. 2-4) the outer perimeter of their corresponding blister cards (50) to an inner perimeter of the receiver (11), the outer perimeter corresponding to a size and shape of each blister card (50) (see paragraphs [0041, 0046, 0047, 0052, 0067, 0068, 0087, and 0092-0094], see Figs. 1-33 – see also frames 12 can be removed, attached, thus can be a set as described in claim 52), but fails to teach each blister card of the set thereof comprises a forming film, a lidding film, and wherein the forming film, lidding film and plurality of blisters collectively define a plurality of reservoirs for holding content, wherein the sensor system is independent of a reservoir-specific sensor layout.
Dickie teaches each blister card comprises a forming film (60, 62b) and a lidding film (62), and wherein the forming film (60, 60b), lidding film (62) and a plurality of blisters (at 60) collectively define a plurality of reservoirs (also blister regions) for holding content and a receiver (at 16) comprising a seat (internal area of 16 encompassed by walls), wherein the seat (16) is configured to support an adapter, and wherein an adapter (32) dimensionally bridges (fit) (see Fig. 5) an outer perimeter of a corresponding blister card (14) to an inner perimeter of a receiver (16), the outer perimeter corresponding to a size and shape of the blister card (14) (see Figs. 1-16). Re Claim 26: Dickie teaches a frame (18), each frame (18) corresponding to an adapter (40), each frame (18) being attachable to a corresponding adapter (40) and securing its respective blister card when the blister card is located between the frame (18) and the adapter (40) (Examiner notes the combination would be capable of teaching duplication of parts and including multiple adapters and frames) (see Figs. 1-16). Re Claim 29: Dickie teaches wherein each adapter (32) includes a recess (at 32a, see Fig. 7) having a height equal to the combined thickness of the forming film (60, 62b) and lidding film (62) of its respective blister card (14) (see Figs. 1-16 – Dickie also teaches frame (18) attached to an adapter (32)). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie to provide a blister package type, as commonly known within the art for dispensing.
Chudy teaches a receiver (at 19) comprising a seat (81, 83), wherein the seat (81, 83) is configured to support any adapter (99, 101) of a set thereof (see Figs. 8 and 18) and wherein the adapter (99, 101) dimensionally bridges (fit) (see Fig. 5) an outer perimeter of a corresponding blister card (13, 103) to an inner perimeter of a receiver (at 19), the outer perimeter corresponding to a size and shape of the blister card (13, 103) (see paragraphs [0131, 0133, 0134, and 1045], see Figs. 1-42) (Examiner notes that trays 103 can be considered to be blisters; as they are the holding devices which houses blisters which are then inserted in to an adapter, consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner further notes that Chudy teaches that the blister container itself can be used in place of trays, and placed directly into the adapters. Furthermore, the adapters can also have spaces (131) which can number from one or more, thus, can provide a single opening as consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner notes that the teaching of the adaptability (matching, interchanging, different shape/size) of the trays to the adapter would also apply to the blister containers without any additional inventive skill needed as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Chudy, and further in view of the combination as cited). Re Claim 28: Chudy teaches wherein each adapter (99, 101) of the set thereof includes an annular element (119) having an outer perimeter that enables the adapter (99, 101) to seat securely within a second body portion (87) and an inner perimeter (at 131) that is configured to mitigate lateral movement of its respective blister card (103, 105, 13, 17) when it is located in the adapter (99, 101), and wherein all outer perimeters of the set are the same and all inner perimeters of the set thereof are different (see Figs. 8 and 18 – outer perimeters are the same to fit the same body (87), inner perimeters are different to fit different arrangement of blisters or types of blisters). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie and Chudy to provide a device capable of being adapted to use different blister card adapters and matching blisters, so as to minimize the complexity of a refill process, while also assuring a proper blister is used. Examiner notes that a change in shape and size are design considerations within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Mehregany teaches wherein a sensor system (acoustic sensing using microphones) is independent of a reservoir-specific sensor layout (senses the outputs of microphones to triangulate sound to a specific location – microphones are in various locations not matching blisters – thus not reservoir specific). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany to provide an alternative sensing arrangement for detecting blisters, as known within the art.
Further Re Claims 27 and 39:
Ahmadi discloses a lid (either 12, or either 13) that is attached to the body so as to be movable between a closed position to prevent user access to a lidding film of any blister card (50) located in the receiver; and an open position in which it enables user access to (a lidding film – as recited by combination) of any blister card (50) located in the receiver (see Fig. 7) (Examiner notes that 12 and 13 are interchangeable as frame or lid. Examiner further notes that while Ahmadi prefers to have member 12 completely detachable, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the member could use a hinge the same as member 13, as such would not change the purpose of member 12 and pivoting a cover is a common skill within the art as further shown by Ahmadi’s member 13.) (see paragraph [0043])
Further Re Claims 30 and 41:
Ahmadi discloses wherein the latch has a first state that secures the lid in its closed position and a second state that enables motion of the lid relative to the body, wherein the latch is an electrically-actuated latch that is configured to enable the second state only in response to a command from the electronics module (see paragraphs [0042, 0048, 0059]) (see Figs. 1-33).
Re Claims 37-40, 45, 47, and 51:
Ahmadi discloses a smart case (1) for monitoring a state of any blister card (50) of a set of blister cards (50) (see paragraphs [0046, 0052, 0067, and 0068]), each blister card (50) of the set thereof comprising a plurality of blisters (51) having perimeters (at 51) that collectively define a blister region (the area which encompasses all blisters), and wherein each blister card has a different configuration defined by blister-card size, shape, reservoir number, reservoir size, reservoir shape, and inter-reservoir spacing (Examiner notes that Ahmadi teaches using blister cards that are different in shape, size, numbers, and positions, thus, Examiner notes that the configuration as claimed is capable as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, (see paragraphs [0046, 0052, and 0068]), (see paragraphs [0041, 0057, and 0058]); wherein the smart case comprises a detection module (16, 17, 36, 123, and 125) (16, 17, 36, 123, and 125) comprising: (1) a sensor system (123 and 125) configured to monitor the state of at least one of the lidding film and the content of any blister card (50) of the set (see paragraphs [0041, 0046, 0047, 0050, 0051, 0052, 0055; 0056, and 0092-0094]), (2) a set of adapters (20), each adapter (20) of the set thereof being configured to removably receive a corresponding blister card (50) of the set of blister cardscontent, and wherein the sensor system is independent of a reservoir-specific sensor layout.
Dickie teaches each blister card comprises a forming film (60, 62b) and a lidding film (62), and wherein the forming film (60, 60b), lidding film (62) and a plurality of blisters (at 60) collectively define a plurality of reservoirs (also blister regions) for holding content, a receiver (at 16) comprising a seat (internal area of 16 encompassed by walls); wherein the seat (internal area of 16 encompassed by walls) is configured to removably secure an adapter (32) (see Fig. 5). (see Figs. 1-16). Re Claim 39: Dickie teaches wherein a frame includes an annular element and a plurality of ribs (52a) that collectively define a plurality of openings, each opening of the plurality thereof being configured to expose a different reservoir of the plurality of reservoirs of its respective blister card of the set thereof (see Figs. 1-16). Re Claim 47: Dickie teaches wherein each adapter (32) includes a recess (at 32a) having a height equal to a combined thickness of a forming film and lidding film of a respective blister card (see Figs. 1-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie to provide a blister package type, as commonly known within the art for dispensing. Examiner further notes the combination would be capable of providing each frame corresponding parts by way of duplication of parts as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Chudy teaches a receiver (at 19) and seat (81, 83) configured to removably secure any adapter (99, 101) of a set thereof (see paragraphs [0131, 0133, 0134, and 1045], see Figs. 1-42) (Examiner notes that trays 103 can be considered to be blisters; as they are the holding devices which houses blisters which are then inserted in to an adapter, consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner further notes that Chudy teaches that the blister container itself can be used in place of trays, and placed directly into the adapters. Furthermore, the adapters can also have spaces (131) which can number from one or more, thus, can provide a single opening as consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner notes that the teaching of the adaptability (matching, interchanging, different shape/size) of the trays to the adapter would also apply to the blister containers without any additional inventive skill needed as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Chudy, and further in view of the combination as cited). Re Claim 40: Chudy teaches wherein each adapter (99, 101) of the set thereof includes an annular element (at 119) having an outer perimeter dimensioned based on the dimensions of the receiver and an inner perimeter (at 181) dimensioned based on the dimensions of the blister region of its corresponding blister card of the set of blister cards (see Figs. 1-42). Re Claim 48: Chuddy teaches wherein each adapter of the set thereof is electronic-component-free and electrical-connection free (see Figs. 8 and 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie and Chudy to provide a device capable of being adapted to use different blister card adapters and matching blisters, so as to minimize the complexity of a refill process, while also assuring a proper blister is used. Examiner notes that a change in shape and size are design considerations within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Mehregany teaches wherein a sensor system (acoustic sensing using microphones) is independent of a reservoir-specific sensor layout (senses the outputs of microphones to triangulate sound to a specific location – microphones are in various locations not matching blisters – thus not reservoir specific). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany to provide an alternative sensing arrangement for detecting blisters, as known within the art.
Claim(s) 31 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Patel et al. (US 2020/0085694 – hereinafter Patel).
Re Claims 31 and 42:
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 30, but fails to specifically teach wherein the smart case is configured to: identify an appropriate dosing window for each blister card of the plurality thereof; identify an authorized user; and issue the command only upon identification of an authorized user and during the appropriate dosing window.
Patel further in view teaches wherein a smart case is configured to: identify an appropriate dosing window for each blister card of the plurality thereof; identify an authorized user; and issue the command only upon identification of an authorized user and during the appropriate dosing window (see paragraphs [0011, 0038, 0047, 0067, 0070, and 0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Patel to protect the contents of a container.
Claim(s) 32 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Niven et al. (US 2016/0089304 – hereinafter Niven).
Re Claims 32 and 43:
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 25, but fails to teach wherein the smart case is configured to identify one or more dosing windows for each blister card of the plurality thereof and issue an alert upon detection of at least one event selected from the group consisting of: (i) removal of content from one or more reservoir of the plurality thereof during one dosing window; (ii) removal of a blister card from the smart case; and (iii) removal of content from at least one reservoir of the plurality thereof during a time period not within an identified dosing window.
Niven teaches wherein the smart case is configured to identify one or more dosing windows for each blister card of the plurality thereof and issue an alert upon detection of at least one event selected from the group consisting of: (i) removal of content from more than one reservoir of the plurality thereof during one dosing window; (ii) removal of a blister card from the smart case; and (iii) removal of content from at least one reservoir of the plurality thereof during a time period not within an identified dosing window (see paragraph [0073]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Niven to protect the contents of a container while assuring proper usage.
Claim(s) 33 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Jack W. Malpass (4,693,371 – hereinafter Malpass).
Re Claims 33 and 44:
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 37, but fails to teach an access tab for facilitating removal of any frame and blister card of the respective sets from the receiver.
Malpass further in view teaches an access tab (140) for facilitating removal of a frame (3) and blister card of a respective sets from a receiver (11). (see Figs. 1-3]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Malpass so as to allow for easy opening and carrying of a device.
Claim(s) 35 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Evans et al. (US 7,284,661 – hereinafter Evans).
Re Claims 35 and 46:
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 25, but fails to teach a stylus that is operative for piercing the lidding film of at least one blister card of the set thereof.
Evans further in view teaches a stylus (127, 129) that is operative for piercing a lidding film of at least one blister card of a set thereof (see Fig. 1) (see Figs. 1-36). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Evans to make it easier to puncture a blister card.
Claim(s) 36 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Nova et al. (US 9,717,655 - hereinafter Nova)
Re Claims 36 and 50:
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 25, but fails to teach wherein the smart case comprises a first body portion with an electronics module and a second body portion with a detection module, wherein the first and second body portions are reversibly connected.
Nova teaches wherein a smart case comprises a first body portion (14) with an electronics module (62) and a second body portion (12) with a detection module (at 34), wherein the first (14) and second (12) body portions are reversibly connected (see Figs. 8-10) (See Figs. 1-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Nova to allow for two parts, making a single object separable, to be securely held together, as known within the art.
Claim(s) 48 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany and further in view of Nova et al. (US 9,717,655 – hereinafter Nova).
Re Claims 48 and 49
Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany discloses the device of claim 25, but fails to teach wherein the plurality of sensors has a sensor density that is greater than the highest reservoir density of the set of blister cards.
Nova further in view teaches wherein the plurality of sensors has a sensor density (number of sensors) (48, 50) that is greater than the highest reservoir density of a set of blister cards (see Fig. 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi in view of Dickie, Chudy, and Mehrehany with that of Nova to provide a way of protecting contents within a package while also allow for indicative means for the package.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi in view of Dickie and Chudy.
Re Claim 53:
Ahmadi discloses a receiver (at 11) for use in a smart case for blister cards, comprising a receiver body (11) and a seat (12/13) associated with the receiver body (11), wherein the seat (12/13) is configured to removably secure any one of a plurality of adapters (20), each adapter (20) being configured to receive a blister card having a corresponding blister configuration, such that the receiver (at 11) is adaptable for use with blister cards of differing blister configurations, but where if fails to specifically teach a seat.
Dickie teaches a receiver (at 16) comprising a seat (internal area of 16 encompassed by walls), wherein the seat (16) is configured to support an adapter. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie to provide a blister package type, as commonly known within the art for dispensing.
Chudy teaches a receiver (at 19) comprising a seat (81, 83), wherein the seat (81, 83) is configured to support any adapter (99, 101) of a set thereof (see Figs. 8 and 18) (see paragraphs [0131, 0133, 0134, and 1045], see Figs. 1-42) (Examiner notes that trays 103 can be considered to be blisters; as they are the holding devices which houses blisters which are then inserted in to an adapter, consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner further notes that Chudy teaches that the blister container itself can be used in place of trays, and placed directly into the adapters. Furthermore, the adapters can also have spaces (131) which can number from one or more, thus, can provide a single opening as consistent with the teachings of Chudy. Examiner notes that the teaching of the adaptability (matching, interchanging, different shape/size) of the trays to the adapter would also apply to the blister containers without any additional inventive skill needed as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Chudy, and further in view of the combination as cited). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ahmadi with that that of Dickie and Chudy to provide a device capable of being adapted to use different blister card adapters and matching blisters, so as to minimize the complexity of a refill process, while also assuring a proper blister is used. Examiner notes that a change in shape and size are design considerations within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651