DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANAGIDA et al. (US PUB 2014/0346374; herein after “YANAGIDA”) in view of Sato (US 6118915).
Regarding claim 1, YANAGIDA teaches an optical isolator (a Faraday optical isolator 310, para. [0073], FIG. 4) comprising: an enclosure (an element holder 112, para. [0107, FIG, 8-10); a first polarizer (120) disposed in the enclosure so as to transmit linearly polarized incident light (L1/L11) having an ultraviolet wavelength (EUV) (para. [0057], [0062], FIG. 1-2 and [0074], [0076], FIG. 4); a first Faraday rotator (100/100A) including a first Faraday material (e.g., InSb crystal as the crystal material of a Faraday element 110, para. [0069]) configured to rotate a polarization direction of the light having passed through the first polarizer in a first rotational direction (θ) (see para [0057], [0058], and [0075]), and a first magnet (101) configured to produce a first magnetic field applied to a first magnetic field (H) generation region where the first Faraday material is disposed, the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure (see para. [0114]); and a first position adjustment mechanism (an optical rotation angle adjustment mechanism 140, FIG. 8) configured to move the first Faraday material relative to the enclosure (i.e., the position of the Faraday element 110 held by the element holder 112 within the through-hole 101a may change along the axis Ax, see para. [0107] to [0109], and as shown at least in FIG. 8), a cross-sectional shape of the first Faraday material in a cross section perpendicular to an optical axis (Ax) of the light passing through the first Faraday material (110) and a cross-sectional shape of the first magnetic field (H) generation region having major axes (perpendicular to Ax) in the same direction (as shown at least in FIG. 8, see para. [0115] and [0118]), and the first position adjustment mechanism moving the first Faraday material in a direction of a minor axis perpendicular to the major axis (as shown in FIG. 1. In this case, the laser beam L1 can be incident on the Faraday element 110 substantially perpendicular to the primary plane thereof, para. [0061]).
YANAGIDA teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of an enclosure, a first polarizer the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure.
However, in a related field of endeavor Sato teaches as shown in FIG. 6, an optical element 52, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package 51. A light beam that emerges from an optical fiber 53a is collimated by a lens 54a. Then after passing through the optical element 52, the light beam is condensed by a lens 54b and guided into an optical fiber 53b, column 1, lines 29-35. 120
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that an optical element, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package (e.g., an enclosure) as taught by Sato, for the purpose of hybrid assembly of bulk optical elements that are used in optical communication equipment.
Regarding claim 2, YANAGIDA according to claim 1 further teaches a first rotational mechanism configured to rotate the first Faraday material around an axis perpendicular to the optical axis of the incident light and a direction of the minor axis of the first Faraday material (i.e., The polarization direction of the laser beam L1 incident on the Faraday element 110 may be rotated, by the magnetic field H, by an angle θ in a rotation direction R1 central to the axis Ax within the Faraday element 110, para. [0061] and as shown in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, YANAGIDA according to claim 1 further teaches a second polarizer (130) disposed in the enclosure so as to transmit the light output (L1) from the first Faraday rotator (100) (as shown in FIG. 4, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, YANAGIDA according to claim 6 further teaches the first Faraday rotator and the second polarizer are integrated with each other into an integral structure (i.e., The polarizer 130 may be disposed (integrally) downstream from the Faraday rotator 100, para. [0074] as shown in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 8, YANAGIDA according to claim 1 further teaches the first Faraday rotator (100) and the first polarizer (120) are integrated with each other into an integral structure (i.e., The polarizer 120 may be disposed (integrally) upstream from the Faraday rotator 100, para. [0074] as shown in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 14, YANAGIDA according to claim 1 further teaches the first position adjustment mechanism includes a first adjustment screw fixed to the enclosure (i.e., the position of the Faraday element 110 held by the element holder 112 within the through-hole 101a (with adjustment screw) may change along the axis Ax, para. [0109], also para. [0108]), and a first slide plate to be moved by the first adjustment screw in the direction of the minor axis, and the first Faraday rotator is supported by the first slide plate (i.e., The diamond window 111 (e.g., slide plate) to which the Faraday element 110 has been bonded may be held within the through-hole 112a at the end thereof that is on the other side of the side on which the arm portion 113 is located, para. [0107]).
YANAGIDA teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of an enclosure, a first polarizer the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure.
However, in a related field of endeavor Sato teaches as shown in FIG. 6, an optical element 52, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package 51. A light beam that emerges from an optical fiber 53a is collimated by a lens 54a. Then after passing through the optical element 52, the light beam is condensed by a lens 54b and guided into an optical fiber 53b, column 1, lines 29-35. 120
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that an optical element, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package (e.g., an enclosure) as taught by Sato, for the purpose of hybrid assembly of bulk optical elements that are used in optical communication equipment.
Regarding claim 18, YANAGIDA according to claim 1 further teaches an ultraviolet laser apparatus (a Faraday rotator device 200, FIG. 8) comprising: an oscillation-stage laser (a laser apparatus 300/300A, FIG. 5 and 18) configured to output linearly polarized pulse laser light (L11) having an ultraviolet wavelength (para. [0082], [0087], [0161] and [0162, FIG. 5); an amplifier (An amplifier 320A, FIG. 6) configured to amplify the pulse laser light (L11) and output the amplified pulse laser light (para. [0090]); and an optical isolator (310A) disposed on an optical path between the oscillation-stage laser and the amplifier (as shown in FIG. 6, para. [0089]), the optical isolator including an enclosure (an element holder 112, para. [0107, FIG, 8-10), a first polarizer (120) disposed in the enclosure so as to transmit linearly polarized incident light having the ultraviolet wavelength (para. [0057], [0062], FIG. 1-2 and [0074], [0076], FIG. 4),
a first Faraday rotator including a first Faraday material configured to rotate a polarization direction of the pulse laser light having passed through the first polarizer in a first rotational direction, and a first magnet configured to produce a first magnetic field applied to a first magnetic field generation region where the first Faraday material is disposed, the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure, and a first position adjustment mechanism configured to move the first Faraday material relative to the enclosure, a cross-sectional shape of the first Faraday material in a cross section perpendicular to an optical axis of the light passing through the first Faraday material and a cross-sectional shape of the first magnetic field generation region having major axes in the same direction, and the first position adjustment mechanism moving the first Faraday material in a direction of a minor axis perpendicular to the major axis (the limitations are rejected as set forth in claim 1 above).
YANAGIDA teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of an enclosure, a first polarizer the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure.
However, in a related field of endeavor Sato teaches as shown in FIG. 6, an optical element 52, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package 51. A light beam that emerges from an optical fiber 53a is collimated by a lens 54a. Then after passing through the optical element 52, the light beam is condensed by a lens 54b and guided into an optical fiber 53b, column 1, lines 29-35. 120
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that an optical element, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package (e.g., an enclosure) as taught by Sato, for the purpose of hybrid assembly of bulk optical elements that are used in optical communication equipment.
Regarding claim 19, YANAGIDA teaches an electronic device (a Faraday rotator device 200, FIG. 8) manufacturing method performed by using an ultraviolet laser apparatus including an oscillation-stage laser configured to output linearly polarized pulse laser light having an ultraviolet wavelength, an amplifier configured to amplify the pulse laser light and output the amplified pulse laser light, and an optical isolator disposed on an optical path between the oscillation-stage laser and the amplifier, the optical isolator including an enclosure, a first polarizer disposed in the enclosure so as to transmit linearly polarized incident light having the ultraviolet wavelength (as set forth in claim 17 above), a first Faraday rotator including a first Faraday material configured to rotate a polarization direction of the pulse laser light having passed through the first polarizer in a first rotational direction, and a first magnet configured to produce a first magnetic field applied to a first magnetic field generation region where the first Faraday material is disposed, the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure, and a first position adjustment mechanism configured to move the first Faraday material relative to the enclosure, a cross-sectional shape of the first Faraday material in a cross section perpendicular to an optical axis of the light passing through the first Faraday material and a cross-sectional shape of the first magnetic field generation region having major axes in the same direction, and the first position adjustment mechanism moving the first Faraday material in a direction of a minor axis perpendicular to the major axis, the method comprising: generating laser light amplified by the amplifier by using the ultraviolet laser apparatus; outputting the amplified laser light to an exposure apparatus; and exposing a photosensitive substrate to the laser light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture electronic devices (i.e., manufacture electronic device such as the Faraday rotator device 200, see para. [0089] to [0103] and [0104] to [0109], FIG. 6-8 and as set forth in claims 1 and 18 above).
YANAGIDA teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of an enclosure, a first polarizer the first Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure.
However, in a related field of endeavor Sato teaches as shown in FIG. 6, an optical element 52, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package 51. A light beam that emerges from an optical fiber 53a is collimated by a lens 54a. Then after passing through the optical element 52, the light beam is condensed by a lens 54b and guided into an optical fiber 53b, column 1, lines 29-35. 120
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that an optical element, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package (e.g., an enclosure) as taught by Sato, for the purpose of hybrid assembly of bulk optical elements that are used in optical communication equipment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANAGIDA in view of Sato, and further in view of Scherer et al. (US PUB 2013/0175450; herein after “Scherer”).
Regarding claim 9, YANAGIDA fails to teach the enclosure is a sealable enclosure, and the enclosure has a gas inlet and a gas outlet.
However, in a related field of endeavor Sato teaches as shown in FIG. 6, an optical element 52, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package 51, column 1, lines 29-35. 120
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that an optical element, such as optical isolator, filter, attenuator and polarizer, is stored in a package (e.g., sealable enclosure) as taught by Sato, for the purpose of hybrid assembly of bulk optical elements that are used in optical communication equipment.
Further, in a related field of endeavor Scherer teaches the housing 20 includes an inlet 22 and an outlet 24 for passing a selected target gas. The gas sensor cell 12 mates to the inlet of the housing 22. The target gas passes through the adjacent gas cell 16 and into the optical chamber module 14 through the inlet 22. The target gas exits the optical chamber module 14 through the outlet 24, para. [0012], FIG. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that a housing includes an inlet and an outlet for passing a selected target gas as taught by Scherer to allow the target gas of interest to flow through the cell.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANAGIDA in view of Watanabe (US PUB 2015/0131149).
Regarding claim 10, YANAGIDA fails to teach a first optical axis shift canceler disposed between the first polarizer and the first Faraday rotator in the enclosure and configured to cancel an optical axis offset caused by the first polarizer.
However, in a related field of endeavor Watanabe teaches the optical isolator, as shown in FIG. 2, is mainly constituted by a Faraday rotator 1, a pair of polarizers 2, 2, one installed on a beam entrance side and the other on a beam exit side of the Faraday rotator 1, a magnet 3, and a ring 4 made of a stainless steel. The material to make this Faraday rotator 1 needs to have a high Faraday effect and a high transmittance with respect to the light of a wavelength to be used with, para. [0006], and
a mixture of calcium fluoride (CaF2), ytterbium fluoride and rare earth fluorides. This powder was molded by being pressed in a die, … and a sintered body having a relative density of 95% or higher was manufactured, para. [0024] and [0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that the material (e.g., calcium fluoride (CaF2) of a sintered body as a first optical axis shift canceler) to make this Faraday rotator as taught by Watanabe for the purpose of having a high transmittance with respect to the light of a wavelength to be used with.
Regarding claim 11, YANAGIDA fails to teach a second optical axis shift canceler disposed in the enclosure at a light exiting side of the second polarizer on an optical path of the light traveling from the first Faraday rotator toward the second polarizer and configured to cancel an optical axis offset caused by the second polarizer.
However, in a related field of endeavor Watanabe teaches the optical isolator, as shown in FIG. 2, is mainly constituted by a Faraday rotator 1, a pair of polarizers 2, 2, one installed on a beam entrance side and the other on a beam exit side of the Faraday rotator 1, a magnet 3, and a ring 4 made of a stainless steel. The material to make this Faraday rotator 1 needs to have a high Faraday effect and a high transmittance with respect to the light of a wavelength to be used with, para. [0006], and
a mixture of calcium fluoride (CaF2), ytterbium fluoride and rare earth fluorides. This powder was molded by being pressed in a die, … and a sintered body having a relative density of 95% or higher was manufactured, para. [0024] and [0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that the material (e.g., calcium fluoride (CaF2) of a sintered body as a second optical axis shift canceler) to make this Faraday rotator as taught by Watanabe for the purpose of having a high transmittance with respect to the light of a wavelength to be used with.
Regarding claim 12, YANAGIDA fails to teach the first Faraday material is calcium fluoride.
a mixture of calcium fluoride (CaF2), ytterbium fluoride and rare earth fluorides. This powder was molded by being pressed in a die, … and a sintered body having a relative density of 95% or higher was manufactured, para. [0024] and [0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of YANAGIDA such that the material (e.g., calcium fluoride (CaF2) as a sintered body) to make this Faraday rotator as taught by Scherer for the purpose of having a high transmittance with respect to the light of a wavelength to be used with.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding a second Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure at a side of the first polarizer on which the incident light is incident and including a second Faraday material configured to rotate the polarization direction of the incident light incident on the first polarizer in a second rotational direction opposite to the first rotational direction, and a second magnet configured to produce a second magnetic field applied to a second magnetic field generation region where the second Faraday material is disposed; and a second position adjustment mechanism configured to move the second Faraday material relative to the enclosure, a cross-sectional shape of the second Faraday material in a cross section perpendicular to an optical axis of the light passing through the second Faraday material and a cross-sectional shape of the second magnetic field generation region having major axes in the same direction, and the second position adjustment mechanism moving the second Faraday material in a direction of a minor axis perpendicular to the major axis of the cross-sectional shape of the second Faraday material.
Claims 4-5 and 13 and 15 depend upon allowable claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding a second Faraday rotator disposed in the enclosure at a side of the first polarizer on which the incident light is incident and including a second Faraday material configured to rotate the polarization direction of the incident light incident on the first polarizer in a second rotational direction opposite to the first rotational direction, and a second magnet configured to produce a second magnetic field applied to a second magnetic field generation region where the second Faraday material is disposed, a cross-sectional shape of the second Faraday material in a cross section perpendicular to an optical axis of the light passing through the second Faraday material and a cross-sectional shape of the second magnetic field generation region having major axes in the same direction, and the first position adjustment mechanism moving the second Faraday material along with the first Faraday material in a direction of a minor axis perpendicular to the major axis of the cross-sectional shape of the second Faraday material.
Claim 17 is depend upon allowable claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YANAGIDA et al. (US PUB 2014/0346374) teaches “A Faraday rotator may include a magnetic field forming section configured to form a magnetic field at a predetermined magnetic flux density in a predetermined region, a Faraday element disposed in the predetermined region, and a first heat exhaust member, disposed on the side of one primary plane of the Faraday element, configured to form an optical contact surface with the Faraday element and configured to allow light at a predetermined wavelength to pass.”, see Abstract.
Nakamura et al. (US PUB 2009/0237771) teaches “a magnetic optical device which is used in optical communication systems, laser processing systems and so forth. More particularly, it relates to an improvement in a Faraday rotator used in, e.g., an optical isolator by means of which light emitted from a light source and reflected at an end face of an optical element is prevented from returning to the light source.”, see paragraph 0002.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
January 28, 2026