DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 3, please change “the at least one second sub-pixels are” to “the at least one second sub-pixel is”.
In Claim 10, lines 3-4, please change “the at least one second sub-pixels are” to “the at least one second sub-pixel is”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 9-12, 14-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (USPGPUB 2017/0140716—hereinafter “Xu”).
Claims 1 and 10 are drawn to a compensation method and a display panel configured to perform a compensation method, respectively. Claims 1 and 10 recite the same invention in different statutory formats and thus are considered together below.
As to Claims 1 and 10, Xu teaches a display panel (See Fig. 2) configured to perform a compensation method of the display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of data lines (Fig. 2 at D1-Dm), a plurality of first sub-pixels (Fig. 2, R subpixels in each 113) and at least one second sub-pixel connected to the same data line (Fig. 2, G sub-pixel in second row connected to D1; note that the top left pixel 113 and bottom left pixel 113 are each connected to D1), the at least one second sub-pixel (Fig. 2, G sub-pixel in second row) is disposed between the plurality of the first sub-pixels (Fig. 2, R sub-pixel in first and third rows), and the method comprises:
controlling each of the first sub-pixels to load a corresponding one of first data voltages in a first period, wherein a plurality of the first data voltages are in a first voltage interval (Fig. 4, see t1 and Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – note Gamma voltage to the electrode R);
controlling each of the at least one second sub-pixel to load a corresponding one of second data voltages in a second period, wherein the plurality of second data voltages are in a second voltage interval (Fig. 4, see t2 and Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – note Gamma voltage to the electrode G), the second period does not overlap with the first period, and the second voltage interval does not overlap with the first voltage interval (See Fig. 4, note that t1 and t2 do not overlap).
As to Claims 2, 11 and 12, Xu teaches that the plurality of first data voltages respectively loaded on the plurality of first sub-pixels are the same (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – note Gamma voltage to the electrode R), and/or the plurality of second data voltages respectively loaded on the plurality of second sub-pixels are the same (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – note Gamma voltage to the electrode G).
As to Claims 4 and 14, Xu teaches that the first period and the second period are included in the same frame period (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “The timing controller 14 divides the time of each frame into three periods t.sub.1, t.sub.2, t.sub.3. ”).
As to Claims 5 and 15, Xu teaches that acquiring the first data voltages corresponding to the first sub-pixels, and continuously arranging the first data voltages to form a first data voltage string (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “During the first period t.sub.1, it applies the Gamma voltage to the electrode R of all pixel areas 13…the gate driver 11 sequentially turns on the thin film transistor T.sub.1 located in each pixel region 13 and charges the pixel electrode R, and then the data driver 12 applies the Gamma voltage to the pixel electrode R”); transmitting the first data voltage string through the data line, and sequentially turning on the first sub-pixels, so that each of the first sub-pixels is loaded with the corresponding one of first data voltages (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “during the second period t.sub.2, it applies the Gamma voltage to the electrode G of all pixel areas 13…in the second period t.sub.2, the timing controller 14 outputs the low level enable signal En-G and the high level stop signals En-R, En-B, so that the transistor K.sub.2 is turned on and the transistors K.sub.1, K.sub.3 is turned off, the gate driver 11 sequentially turns on the thin film transistor T.sub.2 located in each pixel region 13 and charges the pixel electrode G, and then the data driver 12 applies the Gamma voltage to the pixel electrode G”).
As to Claims 9, 19 and 20, Xu teaches that the display panel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 2 at 113), and the sub-pixels comprises the first sub-pixels (R) and the second sub-pixels (G); wherein controlling each of the first sub-pixels to load the corresponding one of first data voltages in the first period comprises: sequentially scanning a plurality of rows of the sub-pixels in a first sub-frame period in a frame period, and when the plurality of rows of the sub-pixels are turned on sequentially, sequentially loading corresponding plurality of the first data voltages, wherein the first period is included in the first sub-frame period (Fig. 4 at t1 and Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “During the first period t.sub.1, it applies the Gamma voltage to the electrode R of all pixel areas 13…the gate driver 11 sequentially turns on the thin film transistor T.sub.1 located in each pixel region 13 and charges the pixel electrode R, and then the data driver 12 applies the Gamma voltage to the pixel electrode R”); wherein controlling each of the at least one second sub-pixel to load the corresponding one of second data voltages in the second period comprises: sequentially scanning a plurality of rows of the sub-pixels in a second sub-frame period in a frame period, and when the plurality of rows of second sub-pixels are turned on sequentially, sequentially loading corresponding plurality of second data voltages, wherein the second period is included in the second sub-frame period (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “during the second period t.sub.2, it applies the Gamma voltage to the electrode G of all pixel areas 13…in the second period t.sub.2, the timing controller 14 outputs the low level enable signal En-G and the high level stop signals En-R, En-B, so that the transistor K.sub.2 is turned on and the transistors K.sub.1, K.sub.3 is turned off, the gate driver 11 sequentially turns on the thin film transistor T.sub.2 located in each pixel region 13 and charges the pixel electrode G, and then the data driver 12 applies the Gamma voltage to the pixel electrode G”), and a duration of the first sub-frame period is equal to a duration of the second sub-frame period (Pg. 3, ¶ 34 – “The timing controller 14 divides the time of each frame into three periods t.sub.1, t.sub.2, t.sub.3. For example, the time of one frame is 1/60 second, then t.sub.1=t.sub.2=t.sub.3=(1/60)/3≈5.5 millisecond.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bae et al. USPGPUB 2018/0204499
Kim et al. USPGPUB 2019/0172381
Yuan et al. USPGPUB 2021/0201787
Park USPGPUB 2024/0127744
Inquiries
/RODNEY AMADIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622