DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2023is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, line 4, delete “effected” and replace with “affected”
Claims 12-13 are objected for the reasons as claim 11 from which they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 10, the phrase "their connections" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase. The Office takes position to interpret as “connections of the outputs of the power blocks”.
Regarding claim 1, line 15, the phrase "their power modules" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase. The Office takes position to interpret as “power modules of each power block”.
Regarding claim 1, line 18, the phrase "them" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase. The Office takes position to interpret as “power blocks”.
Regarding claim 1, line 20, the phrase "them" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase. The Office takes position to interpret as “power blocks”.
Regarding claim 1, line 30, the phrase "their connections" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase. The Office takes position to interpret as “connections of the outputs of the power blocks”.
Regarding claim 12, line 2, the phrase "its" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase.
Regarding claim 13, line 3, the phrase "its" renders the claim indefinite because persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nergaard et al. US 2013/0057209 (hereinafter Nergaard) in view of Du (CN112356728B).
Regarding claim 1, Nergaard discloses a charging station (¶ 0007; charging station) for electric vehicles (¶¶ 0023-0024; EVs), having a switch matrix (see fig. 5, elements 501-512) with interfaces for connection (¶ 0006; Charging circuits 201-204 are coupled to source 207 (e.g., power grid) and coupled to different vehicle ports 209-212) and communication (¶¶ 0024, 0026; Charging fees may vary based on the time of day, the cost of the power provided by source 301, or based on other conditions. System monitor 325 also includes a subsystem 331 for updating distribution instructions or other aspects of charger 300. Subsystem 331 may include either a wireless or wired internet connection) with a power grid (¶¶ 0006, 0024; power grid) and with at least one charged vehicle (¶ 0006; simultaneous charging of multiple vehicles),
the charging station comprising:
at least two power blocks (fig. 5, elements 315, 316 and ¶ 0026; power blocks), each having at least two power modules (303-305; power stages), wherein the number of power modules in each of the power blocks is the same (see fig. 5);
at least two charging points (fig. 5, elements 313, 314) compliant with the corresponding outputs of the charging station, provided with respective charging connectors (¶¶ 0024, 0026, 0028-0029);
additional units (¶¶ 0026; a system monitor and a subsystem);
a switch matrix with a specific number of inputs (see fig. 5; it has 6 inputs) and a specific number of outputs (4 outputs), enabling parallel connection of outputs of the power blocks (¶¶ 0024-0025, 0029; Charger 300 includes a plurality of parallel power stages 303-311) and their connections to selected charging points and consequently to the outputs of the charging station (¶ 0030; controller321 (not shown in this figure) determines which power blocks are to be coupled to which ports based on a preset, i.e., predefined, set of distribution instructions);
a control unit that manages (¶ 0026; a controller 321, coupled to switching system 319, determines the distribution of power from the power blocks to the charger ports by applying a predefined set of distribution rules recorded in memory 323), via a bus, the configuration of the charging station and is responsible for controlling and communicating with (¶¶ 0024, 0026; Charging fees may vary based on the time of day, the cost of the power provided by source 301, or based on other conditions. system monitor 325 also includes a subsystem 331 for updating distribution instructions or other aspects of charger 300. Subsystem 331 may include either a wireless or wired internet connection):
each of the power blocks and their power modules, the switch matrix and the charging points (315, 316, 317 and ¶¶ 0026-0028, 0030, 0035 and fig. 3 and 5; The output from each of the power blocks 315-317 is coupled to the charger ports 313/314 via switching system 319. Switching system 319 includes a plurality of contactors, or semiconductor switches, or other switching means, that allow the output from each of the power blocks to be electrically connected to either of the charger ports);
wherein the control unit, depending on at least:
assignment of power blocks to charging points, number of charged vehicles and charging parameters reported by them (¶¶ 0026, 0045 and claims 1-4; a controller 321, coupled to switching system 319, determines the distribution of power from the power blocks to the charger ports by applying a predefined set of distribution rules recorded in memory 323…a predefined set of power distribution rules in order to determine how the charging power, available in discrete steps due to the use of power stages/blocks, is distributed among the vehicles coupled to the charger's charger ports):
a) defines control strategies for the charging station: sharing power blocks according to dynamic assigning them to specific charging points (claim 1: a switching system, wherein said switching system may couple between zero power and said maximum available charging power to any port of said at least two charging ports by coupling between zero power stages and all of said plurality of power stages to any port of said at least two charging ports);
sharing power blocks in accordance with their static assignment to specific charging points (¶¶ 0007-0008; system monitor that determines current charging station and port conditions, and a controller that controls operation of the switching system in accordance with a predefined set of power distribution rules and in accordance with the current charging station and port conditions…the controller will select a first portion of the power stages to couple to the first port and a second portion of the power stages to simultaneously couple to the second port in accordance with the predefined set of power distribution rules and the current charging station and vehicle conditions, where the first and second portions represent different power stages of the plurality of power stages);
b) sets a charging station control regime which depends on the selected control strategy, the type of station and the prioritization of individual outputs at the charging points (¶¶ 0010, 0028, 0037-0039, 0041-0042);
c) configures the switch matrix, using a controller of the switch matrix, by setting individual switches in a number of sets of switches of the switch matrix, providing a parallel connection of the outputs of selected power blocks and their connections to specific charging points and consequently to the outputs of the charging station (Abstract, ¶¶ 0026, 0029-0030, 0032-0035 and claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9);
d) determines which of the power blocks should be (the Office take position to interpret this phrase as “should be” or “should not be”) used in the next charging cycle and in what order, taking into account the number of charging cycles and/or the degree of utilization of the rated power of the power block (¶ 0026; a controller 321, coupled
to switching system 319, determines the distribution of power from the power blocks to the charger ports by applying a predefined set of distribution rules recorded in memory 323).
Nergaard fails to disclose the charging station comprising:
e) determines the operating parameters, i.e. charging current and voltage, for the power modules within each power block, taking into account at least one of the operating parameters of the power module: the power at which the module reached maximum efficiency, the number of charging cycles and the degree of utilization of the rated power of the particular power module.
However, Du further discloses the charging station comprising:
e) determines the operating parameters, i.e. charging current and voltage, for the power modules within each power block, taking into account at least one of the operating parameters of the power module: the power at which the module reached maximum efficiency, the number of charging cycles and the degree of utilization of the rated power of the particular power module (page 6: when the charging input demand voltage is 500V and the current is 60A, the power module is configured as follows: Step 1: Obtain 500V for a single power module, and 20A when the optimal efficiency is 96.5%...).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nergaard to incorporate with the teaching of Du by optimizing the charging efficiency of a charging station, because it would be advantageous to reduce the energy losing during the charging process and effectively improve the overall performance of the charging pile and prolong the overall life.
Regarding claim 2, Nergaard discloses wherein any power block can be (interpret as “can be” or “cannot be”) connected to any single charging point, corresponding to the equivalent output of the charging station, equipped with a charging connector through an appropriately configured switch matrix (¶¶ 0026-0028, claims 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Nergaard discloses wherein a specific number of unused power blocks can be (interpret as “can be” or “cannot be”) simultaneously connected to a selected single charging point through a suitably configured switch matrix (¶¶ 0026, 0045 and claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Nergaard discloses wherein only one unused power block can be (interpret as “can be” or “cannot be”) connected to the selected single charging point through a suitably configured switch matrix (¶¶ 0026, 0045 and claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Nergaard discloses wherein those unused power blocks, for which the number of charging cycles and/or the degree of utilization of the rated power of the power block is the smallest, are connected first to the selected charging point (¶¶ 0007-0008, 0026 and claims 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Nergaard discloses wherein the unused power block, for which the number of charging cycles and/or the degree of utilization of the rated power of the power block is the smallest, is connected to the selected charging point (claims 1-4; a switching system, wherein said switching system may couple between zero power and said maximum available charging power to any port of said at least two charging
ports by coupling between zero power stages and all of said plurality of power stages to any port of said at least two charging ports).
Regarding claim 7, Nergaard discloses wherein the unused power blocks are connected first to the charging point- the output with the highest priority through a suitably configured switch matrix (¶¶ 0010, 0028, 0037-0039, 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 8, Nergaard discloses wherein the highest priority is permanently assigned to the selected charging point- the output (¶¶ 0010, 0028, 0037-0039, 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 9, Nergaard discloses wherein priority is assigned to the charging points-the outputs depending on the order of requests for activation of charging sessions - the cycles at a particular charging point- the output (¶¶ 0030-0034).
Regarding claim 10, Nergaard discloses wherein each charging point-the output has a strictly defined priority (¶¶ 0010, 0028, 0037-0039, 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 11, Nergaard discloses wherein the individual power modules in each selected power block are activated and controlled sequentially until the required total power of the power block is reached (¶¶ 0010, 0028, 0037-0039,0042),
wherein the activation and the next power module is effected after the previously activated power modules reach the set power level (¶ 0037).
Regarding claim 12, Nergaard discloses wherein the fixed power level for the activated and controlled power module is equal to its rated power (¶ 0027; the power can be distributed at four different levels; 0 output, 1/3 P max, 2/2 P max, and
P max, where P max is equal to the maximum available power from charger 300).
Regarding claim 13, Nergaard discloses wherein the set power level for the activated and controlled power module is equal to the power at which the particular power module reaches its maximum efficiency (¶¶ 0002-0003, 0006).
Regarding claim 14, Nergaard discloses wherein individual power modules in each selected power block are activated and controlled according to the order resulting from the selected operating parameters of the power modules (¶¶ 0024-0026 and fig. 3-5), wherein the power modules for which the number of charging cycles and/or the degree of utilization of the rated power of the particular power module are the smallest are activated first (claims 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of the method comprising the following control steps: (s5) determining the charging parameters for the connected vehicles and determining the number of power blocks, and operating parameters, i.e. charging current and voltage, of the power modules for a particular active charging point within each power block; (s6) activating and controlling the power modules in the power blocks and configuring the switch matrix for the active charging points, based on the set operating parameters, charging current and voltage, of the power modules specified in step s5; (s7) starting new charging sessions, monitoring vehicle charging parameters for the started and ongoing charging sessions and detecting the end of the charging session; wherein the steps (s3) – (s7) are performed in a loop until the charging station is turned off and when is turned back on, resuming controlling from step.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 08/26/2026