DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 12/07/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2025 and 12/07/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a current direction limiting circuit that electrically connects the both ends of the secondary side to the sensing voltage generation circuit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). As shown in Fig. 2, diode 131 is only connected to a single end. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “distinguishable manner” in claims 1 and 10, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “distinguishable manner” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, it is assumed that the voltage limiting circuit limits a voltage applied to the both ends of the secondary side according to a direction of the output current.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 4, 6 - 7, 10 – 13 and 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2016/0161530; (hereinafter Lee), cited by Applicant(s).
Regarding claim 1, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a current sensing device for sensing an alternating current, the current sensing device comprising: a current transformer [e.g. 8] that comprises a primary side constituting at least a part of a path, through which a sensing target current flows in a sensing target circuit [e.g. current output of source Vin], and a secondary side, and is configured to generate, to the secondary side, an output current [e.g. current through secondary winding of 8] according to characteristics of the sensing target current; a voltage limiting circuit [e.g. 1, 2] that is connected to both ends of the secondary side and configured to provide a path, through which at least a part of the output current flows [e.g. as shown], and to limit a voltage applied to the both ends of the secondary side in a distinguishable manner according to a direction of the output current [e.g. paragraph 031 recites “The current sensing circuit 100 functions to sense current by means of the magnitude of voltage inducted at the first resistor 5. A forward current (i.e., positive current) flows through the first current path, and a reverse current (i.e., negative current) flows through the second current path. Since the reverse current is much less than the forward current, the resistance value of the second resistor 1 is much greater than that of the first resistor 5 so that the voltage-second balance condition may be maintained. That is, when the voltage-second balance condition is satisfied, the magnitudes of a positive voltage applied to the first resistor 5 and a negative voltage applied to the second resistor 1 are equal to each other.” As shown the branch 1, 2 is in parallel to the secondary winding, where parallel branches maintain same (limited) voltage]; a sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. resistor 5] configured to generate a sensing voltage based on at least one of the output current or a voltage of the voltage limiting circuit [e.g. voltage across resistor 5]; and a current direction limiting circuit [e.g. diode 3 and line paralleled to diode 3 connected to ground] that electrically connects the both ends of the secondary side to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and is configured to limit a direction of a current transferred from the both ends of the secondary side to the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. limit a reverse current from 5 to secondary winding according to the diode’s polarity (anode/cathode)].
Regarding claim 10, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a direct-current (DC)/DC converter comprising: an input side to which an input voltage [e.g. Vin] is applied; an output side to which an output voltage [e.g. output part of 10] generated from the input voltage is applied; and a current sensing device [e.g. 100] configured to constitute, in any one of the input side and the output side, at least a part of a path through which a current flows and to sense the current that flows [e.g. paragraph 031], wherein the current sensing device comprises: a current transformer [e.g. 8] that comprises a primary side constituting, in any one of the input side and the output side, at least a part of a path through which a sensing target current flows [e.g. current output of source Vin] and a secondary side, and is configured to generate, to the secondary side, an output current [e.g. current through secondary winding of 8] according to characteristics of the sensing target current; a voltage limiting circuit [e.g. 1, 2] that is connected to both ends of the secondary side and configured to provide a path, through which at least a part of the output current flows [e.g. as shown], and to limit a voltage applied to the both ends of the secondary side in a distinguishable manner according to a direction of the output current [e.g. paragraph 031 recites “The current sensing circuit 100 functions to sense current by means of the magnitude of voltage inducted at the first resistor 5. A forward current (i.e., positive current) flows through the first current path, and a reverse current (i.e., negative current) flows through the second current path. Since the reverse current is much less than the forward current, the resistance value of the second resistor 1 is much greater than that of the first resistor 5 so that the voltage-second balance condition may be maintained. That is, when the voltage-second balance condition is satisfied, the magnitudes of a positive voltage applied to the first resistor 5 and a negative voltage applied to the second resistor 1 are equal to each other.” As shown the branch 1, 2 is in parallel to the secondary winding, where parallel branches maintain same (limited) voltage]; a sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. resistor 5] configured to generate a sensing voltage based on at least one of the output current or a voltage of the voltage limiting circuit [e.g. voltage across resistor 5]; and a current direction limiting circuit [e.g. diode 3 and line paralleled to diode 3 connected to ground] that electrically connects the both ends of the secondary side to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and is configured to limit a direction of a current transferred from the both ends of the secondary side to the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. limit a reverse current from 5 to secondary winding according to the diode’s polarity (anode/cathode)].
Regarding claim 2 and claim 11, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the voltage limiting circuit comprises: a first voltage generation circuit [e.g. 1] configured to generate a voltage proportional to a magnitude of at least a part of an output current of the current transformer in a first direction [e.g. direction as shown in Fig. 1], or a magnitude of at least a part of an output current of the current transformer in a second direction; and a second voltage generation circuit [e.g. 2] that is connected in series to the first voltage generation circuit between the both ends of the secondary side, and is configured to, upon the current transformer generating the output current in the first direction, generate a voltage corresponding to a preset first voltage [e.g. forward voltage drop of the diode (ON)] regardless of the magnitude of the output current in the first direction, and upon the current transformer generating the output current in the second direction, generate a voltage corresponding to a preset second voltage regardless of the magnitude of the output current in the second direction [e.g. reverse bias diode voltage (OFF)], and the preset first voltage and the preset second voltage are different from each other [e.g. forward voltage and reverse bias diode voltage are different levels].
Regarding claim 3 and claim 12, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein an absolute value of the preset second voltage is greater than an absolute value of the preset first voltage [e.g. the forward voltage is less than the breakdown reverse bias voltage of a diode].
Regarding claim 4 and claim 13, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the voltage applied to the both ends of the secondary side corresponds to a sum of the voltage generated by the first voltage generation circuit and the voltage generated by the second voltage generation circuit [e.g. 1 and 2 are in series connected in parallel to the secondary winding. Therefore, the sum of 1 and 2 corresponds to the secondary winding voltage].
Regarding claim 6 and claim 15, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the current direction limiting circuit [e.g. 3] comprises a first current direction limiting circuit [e.g. 3] configured to allow a flow of at least a part of an output current in a first direction generated by the current transformer to the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. forward direction to 5], and to limit a flow of at least a part of an output current in a second direction generated by the current transformer to the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. diode 3 limit current in the reverse direction (from 5 to transformer)].
Regarding claim 7 and claim 16, Lee [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. 5] comprises a third voltage generation circuit [e.g. resistor 5] configured to generate a voltage proportional to a magnitude of a current flowing through the sensing voltage generation circuit [e.g. the voltage across resistor 5 corresponds to a current through the resistor by Ohm’s Law].
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 9, 14 and 17 – 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 5 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the voltage limiting circuit further comprises a second current direction limiting circuit configured to limit a flow of a current in the first direction through the voltage limiting circuit and allow a flow of a current in the second direction”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 8 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in response to the current transformer generating an output current in a first direction, the voltage limiting circuit is further configured to allow a voltage at the both ends of the secondary side to be a third voltage as at least a part of the output current in the first direction flows through the voltage limiting circuit, the current direction limiting circuit is further configured to allow a remaining part of the output current in the first direction to flow to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and the sensing voltage generation circuit is11urtherr configured to generate a first sensing voltage proportional to a magnitude of the remaining part of the output current in the first direction.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 9 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in response to the current transformer generating an output current in a second direction, the voltage limiting circuit is further configured to allow a voltage at the both ends of the secondary side to be a fourth voltage as at least a part of the output current in the second direction flows through the voltage limiting circuit, the current direction limiting circuit is further configured to limit a flow of the output current in the second direction to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and the sensing voltage generation circuit is further configured to generate a second sensing voltage according to the fourth voltage.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 14 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the voltage limiting circuit further comprises a second current direction limiting circuit configured to limit a flow of a current in the first direction through the voltage limiting circuit and allow a flow of a current in the second direction.
The primary reason for the Indication of the allowability of claim 17 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in response to the current transformer generating an output current in a first direction, the voltage limiting circuit is further configured to allow a voltage at the both ends of the secondary side to be a third voltage as at least a part of the output current in the first direction flows through the voltage limiting circuit, the current direction limiting circuit is further configured to allow a remaining part of the output current in the first direction to flow to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and the sensing voltage generation circuit is further configured to generate a first sensing voltage proportional to a magnitude of the remaining part of the output current in the first direction.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 18 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in response to the current transformer generating an output current in a second direction, the voltage limiting circuit is further configured to allow a voltage at the both ends of the secondary side to be a fourth voltage as at least a part of the output current in the second direction flows through the voltage limiting circuit, the current direction limiting circuit is further configured to limit a flow of the output current in the second direction to the sensing voltage generation circuit, and the sensing voltage generation circuit is further configured to generate a second sensing voltage according to the fourth voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2002/0131224 discloses an input current sense circuit adapted in an overcurrent protection for a switching power converter.
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838