DETAILED ACTION
This action is a first action on the merits. The claims filed on December 7, 2023 have been entered. Claims 1-19 are pending and addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). This application claims foreign priority to Republic of Korea Application # KR10-2023-0058068 filed on May 4, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 8, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ”vehicle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staib, US 2014/0015270 (hereinafter Staib).
Claim 1: Staib discloses a movable partition (shown in Fig 2-3) comprising:
a housing (housing 122) located inside a vehicle (see abstract);
a partition unit (cover assembly 120) comprising a plurality of partitions (cover portion 130, 132) configured to be in the housing (122) or to extend from the housing (122); and
a fixing unit (spring actuated roller, par [0040]) located in the housing (122) and configured to be fastened to at least a portion of the partition unit so as to restrict a movement of the partition unit,
wherein at least one partition (130, 132) forming the partition unit comprises at least one plate (cover portions 130, 132 are shown as plates in Fig 3) extendable outward from the housing (122).
Claim 2: Staib discloses wherein the partition unit (120) comprises:
a first partition (cover 130), comprising one or more plates (cover 130 is shown as single plate in Fig 3), deployable through an opening in at least one side of the housing (opening is shown around cover portion 130 in Fig 2); and
a second partition (cover 132) extendable from the housing (122) at a predetermined angle relative to the first partition (cover assembly 132 is located 180 degrees from cover assembly 130 as shown in Fig 2-3).
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ament et al., US 6,616,389 (hereinafter Ament).
Claim 1: Ament discloses a movable partition (shown in Fig 3) comprising:
a housing (box housing 11) located inside a vehicle (shown in a trunk of a vehicle in Fig 3);
a partition unit (box housing 11 with curtains 16 and retractable barriers 15) and comprising a plurality of partitions (curtains 16 and retractable barriers 15) configured to be in the housing (11) or to extend from the housing (11) (as shown in Fig 3, col 5, ln 59-65, col 6, ln 5-13); and
a fixing unit (barriers 15 are journaled in the box housing like barriers 16 and include retracting springs) located in the housing (11) and configured to be fastened to at least a portion of the partition unit (fasten within the box housing 11) so as to restrict a movement of the partition unit (roller barriers are disposed on rollers and journaled independently each with its own retracting spring, col 5, ln 60-65).
wherein at least one partition (15, 16) forming the partition unit comprises at least one plate (curtains 16 and barriers 15 are shown as plates) extendable outward from the housing (11).
Claim 2: Ament discloses wherein the partition unit (15, 16) comprises:
a first partition (curtains 16), comprising one or more plates (curtains 16 are shown as plates in Fig 3), deployable through an opening in at least one side of the housing (opening is shown around curtain 16 when retracted into box housing 11 in Fig 3, col 5, ln 59-67); and
a second partition (barriers 15 are at approximately 90 degrees to curtains 16 as shown in Fig 3) extendable from the housing (11) at a predetermined angle relative to the first partition (curtains 16) (as shown in Fig 3, col 6, ln 13).
Claim 3: Ament discloses wherein the first partition (curtains 16) is located to extend from a side (top side) of the housing (11) (as shown in Fig 3) and comprises:
a first plate (left curtain 16), at least a portion of which is located inside the housing (the end of 16 is located inside the box housing 11) and faces the fixing unit (disposed on rollers and journaled independently each with its own retracting spring, col 5, ln 60-65); and
a second plate (right curtain 16) extending along the first plate (right curtain extends along left curtain 16 when both are extended) in a direction away from the housing (11) (as shown in Fig 3, col 5, ln 59-67).
Claim 10: Ament discloses wherein the second partition (barriers 15) comprises at least one roll blinder (retractable barrier which are roller shade like meshes) configured to extend from the housing (11) at a predetermined angle (approximately 90 degrees) relative to the first partition (curtains 16) (see Fig 3, col 6, ln 5-13).
Claim 12: Ament discloses wherein further comprising: a fastener (front pull-out rods) configured to fix an end of the second partition (barriers 15) to a vehicle body (barriers 15 can be affixed to the vehicle by their front pull-out rods in eyes 13 on the trunk compartment floor, col 6, ln 15-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ament.
Claim 11: Ament discloses the second partition (15) comprises at least two roll blinders (two additional retractable barriers 15), wherein one of the at least two roll blinders is in one end of the housing (11) (left end of the housing 11) and another of the at least two roll blinders (15) is in the other end of the housing (right end of housing 11).
Ament discloses all the limitations of the claims, except for the upper end of the housing and the lower end of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the orientation of the housing as disclose by Ament such that it has an upper end and a lower end, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure, in this case the orientation of the housing, involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ament in view of Marroquin et al., US 2021/0331629 (hereinafter Marroquin).
Claim 19: Ament fails to disclose at least one of the first partition or the second partition comprises a display unit.
Marroquin discloses a vehicle partition that includes a display (par [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the first or second partition of Staib to further disclose a display as disclosed by Marroquin as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying a display to the partition of Ament would have yielded the predictable results of providing an interface in the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected 4-9 and 13-18 to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Ament and Staib disclose the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, Ament discloses further comprising: a third plate (left barrier 15), that is extendable (as shown in Fig 3); and a fourth plate (right barrier 15), that is extendable.
Ament or Staib fail to disclose the third plate at least a portion of which overlaps with the first plate, that is extendable in a height direction along the first plate or the fourth plate, at least a portion of which overlaps with the second plate, and that is extendable in the height direction along the second plate.
Regarding claim 5, Ament or Staib fail to disclose further comprising: a fixing hole in the first plate, configured to fasten the fixing unit to the first plate.
Regarding claim 8, Ament or Staib fail to disclose a rail portion located in the first partition, and movable integrally with the first partition along a protrusion in the housing, wherein the rail portion is configured to move along the protrusion to extend or retract the first partition from the housing.
Regarding claim 9, Ament or Staib fail to disclose further comprising: a rotary member rotatable along an inside of the first plate; a first link inside the housing and fastened to the rotary member; and a second link located in the second plate, facing the first plate and fastened to the rotary member, wherein the rotary member is configured to rotate so that the first plate moves in a direction to extend from the first link out of the housing, and the second link moves in the direction such that the second plate extends from the first plate.
Regarding claim 13, Ament or Staib fail to disclose the second partition comprising the at least one roll blinder is configured to move vertically along a groove of the housing.
Regarding claim 14, Ament or Staib fail to discloses the housing comprises: an upper housing comprising the partition unit; and a lower housing connected to a lower end of the upper housing and configured to move along a transfer unit on a floor, wherein the upper housing is configured to be rotatable with respect to the lower housing.
Regarding claim 17, Ament or Staib fail to disclose further comprising: a handle portion at an outermost portion of the second plate from the housing; and a roller portion in the second plate and configured to moving along the first plate, wherein the handle portion is inside the roller portion, and is configured to press an inside of the roller portion in response to rotation of the handle portion.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 19 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/CAROLINE N BUTCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676