Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the first and second electrodes including silicide alloy, does not reasonably provide enablement for the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer includes the silicide alloy. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0024784 Song.
2. Referring to claim 1, Song teaches a light-emitting device comprising: a nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40), including a first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), an active layer, (Figure 2 #30), on the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), and a second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #40), on the active layer, (Figure 2 #30); a passivation pattern, (Figure 2 #80), on an outer surface of the nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40); a first electrode, (Figure 2 #70), connected to the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20); and a second electrode, (Figure 2 #60), spaced apart from the first electrode, (Figure 2 #70), and connected to the second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #70), wherein each of the first electrode, (Figure 2 #60 and Paragraph 0044 NiSi), and the second electrode, (Figure 2 #70 and Paragraph 0042 NiSi), includes a silicide alloy.
3. Referring to claim 5, Song teaches a light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor layer includes a first portion having a first height, (Figure 2 area of #20 under #60), and a second portion having a second height, (Figure 2 area of #20 under #70), that is lower than the first height such that a step is between the first portion and the second portion of the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), and the active layer, (Figure 2 #30), and the second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #40), are on the first portion of the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), without being on the second portion of the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 area of #20 under #60), and wherein the passivation pattern, (Figure 2 #80), is on an upper surface of the second portion of the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 area of #20 under #70), and includes an opening, (Figure 2 area of #70), the first electrode, (Figure 2 #70), is connected to the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), through the opening, (Figure 2 area of #70).
4. Referring to claim 9, Song teaches a light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the silicide alloy includes titanium silicide, cobalt silicide, or nickel silicide, (Figure 2 #60 & 70 and Paragraph 0042 & 0044 NiSi), includes a silicide alloy.
5. Referring to claim 16, Song teaches a light-emitting device comprising: a nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40); and an electrode connected to a semiconductor layer of the nitride semiconductor structure, the electrode including a silicide alloy, (Figure 2 #60 & 70 and Paragraph 0042 & 0044 NiSi).
6. Referring to claim 17, Song teaches a light-emitting device of claim 16, wherein the nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40), comprises: a first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20); an active layer, (Figure 2 #30), on the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20); and a second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #40), on the active layer, (Figure 2 #30).
7. Referring to claim 18, Song teaches a light-emitting device of claim 17, wherein the electrode comprises: a first electrode connected to the first semiconductor layer; and a second semiconductor layer connected to the second semiconductor layer, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer includes the silicide alloy, (Figure 2 #60 & 70 and Paragraph 0042 & 0044 NiSi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0024784 Song in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0037297 Lu et al.
8. Referring to claim 10, Song teaches a display apparatus comprising: the light-emitting device including: a nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40), including a first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), an active layer, (Figure 2 #30), on the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20), and a second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #40), on the active layer, (Figure 2 #30); a passivation pattern, (Figure 2 #80), on an outer surface of the nitride semiconductor structure, (Figure 2 #20-40); a first electrode, (Figure 2 #70), connected to the first semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #20); and a second electrode, (Figure 2 #60), spaced apart from the first electrode, (Figure 2 #70), and connected to the second semiconductor layer, (Figure 2 #40), wherein each of the first electrode, (Figure 2 #60 and Paragraph 0044 NiSi), and the second electrode, (Figure 2 #70 and Paragraph 0042 NiSi), includes a silicide alloy, but is silent to the combination of a package substrate including a plurality of circuit elements, a first connection electrode, and a second connection electrode; and a light-emitting device connected to the package substrate a first electrode connected to the first semiconductor layer and the first connection electrode of the package substrate; and a second electrode spaced apart from the first electrode and connected to the second semiconductor layer and the second connection electrode of the package substrate.
Lu et al. teaches a similar device where a package substrate including a plurality of circuit elements, a first connection electrode, and a second connection electrode; and a light-emitting device connected to the package substrate a first electrode connected to the first semiconductor layer and the first connection electrode of the package substrate; and a second electrode spaced apart from the first electrode and connected to the second semiconductor layer and the second connection electrode of the package substrate, (Figure 8).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lu et al. with Song et al. because it is well known and obvious in the art that a light-emitting device is formed on a package substrate in a display device, which allows the device to function as a display, by proving a driving circuit and protection from physical atmospheric elements.
9. Referring to claim 14, Song teaches a display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the silicide alloy includes titanium silicide, cobalt silicide, or nickel silicide, (Figure 2 #60 & 70 and Paragraph 0042 & 0044 NiSi).
10. Referring to claim 19, Song teaches a display apparatus comprising: the light-emitting device according to claim 16, but is silent to the combination of a package substrate.
Lu et al. teaches a similar light-emitting device on a package substrate, (Figure 8).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lu et al. with Song et al. because it is well known and obvious in the art that a light-emitting device is formed on a package substrate in a display device, which allows the device to function as a display, by proving a driving circuit and protection from physical atmospheric elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
11. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 11-13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting device further comprises: a trench hole through the second semiconductor layer, the active layer, and a portion of the first semiconductor layer without extending through an entire thickness of the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first electrode fills the trench hole and is in contact with the first semiconductor layer through the trench hole, and an upper portion of the first electrode that is not disposed in the trench hole is coplanar with the second electrode; the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein a first side surface of the first semiconductor layer at a first side of the first semiconductor layer, a first side surface of the active layer at a first side of the active layer, and a first side surface of the second semiconductor layer at a first side of the second semiconductor layer are aligned with each other and form a first inclined surface, and wherein a second side surface of the first semiconductor layer at a second side of the first semiconductor layer, a second side surface of the active layer at a second side of the active layer, and a second side surface of the second semiconductor layer at a second side of the second semiconductor layer are aligned with each other and form a second inclined surface; the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the light-emitting device further comprises: a trench hole through the second semiconductor layer, the active layer, and a portion of the first semiconductor layer without extending through an entire thickness of the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first electrode fills the trench hole and is in contact with the first semiconductor layer through the trench hole and an upper portion of the first electrode that is not disposed in the trench hole is coplanar with the second electrode, and wherein the first electrode faces the first connection electrode and the second electrode faces the second connection electrode; the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein a first side surface of the first semiconductor layer at a first side of the first semiconductor layer, a first side surface of the active layer at a first side of the active layer, and a first side surface of the second semiconductor layer at a first side of the second semiconductor layer are aligned with each other and form a first inclined, wherein a second side surface of the first semiconductor layer at a second side of the first semiconductor layer, a second side surface of the active layer at a second side of the active layer, and a second side surface of the second semiconductor layer at a second side of the second semiconductor layer are aligned with each other and form a second inclined surface, wherein the second electrode that is connected to the second semiconductor layer is connected to the first connection electrode of the package substrate via a conductive adhesive layer, wherein the first electrode that is connected to the first semiconductor layer is connected to the second connection electrode of the package substrate via a through electrode that extends from the first electrode, and wherein the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode are coplanar with each other; and/or the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the display apparatus further comprises: an insulating layer on the second electrode; a bank on the insulating layer, the bank having a bank hole; a planarization film on the bank, the planarization film filling the bank hole; and a cover layer on the planarization film.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 2/2/26