DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, 14-16, and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirr et al. (US2014/0216503A1) in view of Damian (FR3079126A1, Machine Translation), Bewick et al. (US2022/0151456A1), Ishino et al. (JPH09131294A; machine translation) and Woodhead et al. (WO2019/081910A1).
Dirr et al. teach a method of washing dishware using a dishwashing program (paragraph 6) comprising dosing at least about 100 mg of an active enzyme into the washing chamber. Specifically, Dirr et al. teach in paragraph 4, at least about 0.2 to about 10 mg of active enzyme per gram of composition. Paragraph 10 teaches the weight of the composition is from 10 to about 25 grams, and therefore, the upper limit is 250mg of active enzyme per 25 grams of the composition which reads on applicant’s claim of at least about 100mg of active enzyme.
Dirr et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of automatically locking the door and keeping it locked for the whole duration of the dishwashing program. Damian teach a dishwashing machine and a device integrated in the dishwasher, allowing the automatic opening and electrically controlled locking of the door, to ensure the door is kept in the closed position during the washing cycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Dirr et al. to include automatically locking the door, as taught by Damian, for purposes ensuring the door is kept in a closed position during the washing cycle.
Dirr et al. in view of Damian, teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the time of and temperature of the dishwashing program, as recited in claims 1 and 24. Bewick et al. teach a method of cleaning ware in a domestic dishwasher using a program having a main wash and a rinse cycle (Abstract). Paragraph 24 teaches the duration of at least 15 minutes, preferably from 20-90 min and at temperatures of about 45C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include the cleaning times and temperature, as taught by Bewick et al., for purposes of performing the same function of providing a main wash for effectively washing tableware. In reference to low temperatures, paragraph 30 of Dirr et al. teach preferred amylases for use include low temperature amylases at temperatures of less than 45C (paragraphs 34-35).
Re claims 1, 16 and 20, Dirr et al. in view of Damian and Bewick et al., teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the power capacity of less than about 1KW, preferably 0.1KW. Ishino et al. teach to improve the performance of washing and hot water rinsing, the heater is adjusted to a power capacity of 1KW. Applicant’s limitation of “less than about 1KW” permits some tolerance. At least about 10% was held to be anticipated by a teaching of a content not to exceed about 8%, see In re Ayers, 154 F 2d 182,69 USPQ 109 (CCPA 1946). A pressure limitation of 2-15 pounds per square inch was held to be readable on a reference which taught a pressure of the order of about 15 pounds per square inch, see In re Erickson, 343 F 2d 778, 145 USPQ 207 (CCPA 1965). In view of the teachings of Ishino et al. and in the absence of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would have been within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease the power consumption of the dishwashing program for the economic advantages of saving energy/cost.
Re claims 1 and 16, Dirr et al. in view of Damian, Bewick et al. and Ishino et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the cleaning composition, prior to being metered into the washing chamber, remaining in a storage reservoir that is located outside of the dishwasher for at least two separate dishwashing programs.
Applicant is directed to applicant’s own specification (page 4, lines 19-21), which teaches the limitations are taught by the prior art of Woodhead et al. ( WO2019/81910A1). Woodhead et al. teach the cleaning composition (detergent, rinse aid) remains in a storage reservoir 24, 25, which is located outside of the dishwasher 2. Page 21 teaches the dosing unit 18 delivers an appropriate quantity of detergent proportional to the volume of water measured via a detergent inlet prior to each wash cycle, and further teaches delivering the detergent dose for the next wash cycle, which reads on applicant’s limitation of storing the cleaning composition in the storage reservoir for at least two separate dishwashing programs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include a storage reservoir outside of the dishwasher, as taught by Woodhead et al., for delivering the detergent dosage for each wash cycle.
Re claim 2, the limitations are met as Dirr et al. teach 250mg of enzyme. Re claims 8-10, refer to paragraphs 4, 6 and 17 of Dirr et al. Re claim 11, refer to paragraph 10 of Dirr et al. Re claims 14-15, refer to paragraphs 4 and 126 of Dirr et al.
Re claim 16, Dirr et al. teach a composition comprising at least 20 percent of MGDA (paragraphs 128-129), at least 24 percent carbonate (paragraph 172), 0.1 to 20 percent of a sulfonated polymer (paragraph 118), non-ionic surfactants (paragraph 111), amylase and protease (paragraphs 24 and 75). Dirr et al. in view Damian fail to teach HEDP. Bewick et al. teach 0-20 percent HEDP (paragraph 110) as crystal growth inhibitor (paragraph 104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition of Dirr et al. to include HEDP, as taught by Bewick, for purposes of inhibiting crystal growth on glassware. Furthermore, it appears the ingredients recited in claim 16 are commonly known in dishwashing compositions.
Re claim 19, refer to paragraph 118 of Dirr et al. Re claim 21, refer to paragraph 29 of Bewick et al. Re claim 22, refer to paragraph 144 of Dirr for example. Re claim 23, refer to paragraph 10 of Dirr et al.
Claims 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirr et al. (US2014/0216503A1) in view of Damian (FR3079126A1, Machine Translation), Bewick et al. (US2022/0151456A1), Ishino et al. (JPH09131294A; machine translation), Woodhead et al. (WO2019/081910A1) and further in view of Holderbaum et al. (US2008/0248989A1).
Dirr et al. in view of Damian, Bewick et al., Ishino et al. and Woodhead et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the main wash using about 5L or less of water. Holderbaum et al. teach a cleaning agent for use in an automatic dishwasher comprising enzymes (paragraph 36), wherein the main washing phase uses water in a quantity of 5L. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include water in a quantity of 5L, as taught by Holderbaum et al. for purposes of providing water to the main washing phase.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirr et al. (US2014/0216503A1) in view of Damian (FR3079126A1, Machine Translation), Bewick et al. (US2022/0151456A1), Ishino et al. (JPH09131294A; machine translation), Woodhead et al. (WO2019/081910A1) and further in view of JP2004506748A (Machine Translation).
Dirr et al. in view of Damian, Bewick et al, Ishino et al. and Woodhead et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the limitations directed to the perfume and the claimed properties. JP 2004506748A teaches a detergent composition for use in an automatic dishwasher. The composition has excellent removal performance. Paragraph 34 teaches it is well known to add perfume substances to suppress or mask malodor and further teaches in paragraph 37 that the perfume composition is based on components having a boiling point of less than 240C and a Clog P value of at least 3. Paragraph 36 teaches the ingredients are based on an octanol/water coefficient determined by Hansch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include the detergent composition comprising perfume, as taught by JP2004506748A, for purposes of suppressing or masking malodor.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirr et al. (US2014/0216503A1) in view of Damian (FR3079126A1, Machine Translation), Bewick et al. (US2022/0151456A1), Ishino et al. (JPH09131294A; machine translation), Woodhead et al. (WO2019/081910A1) and further in view Souter (US2022/0039629A1).
Dirr et al. in view of Damian, Bewick et al., Ishino et al. and Woodhead et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of pH, as measured in about 1 percent weight/volume aqueous solution in distilled at about 20C. Souter teaches an automatic dishwashing method comprising delivering a dose of a cleaning composition between a main wash and a rinse, wherein the composition comprises enzymes and has a pH as measured in 1 percent weight/volume aqueous solution in distilled water at 20C of from about 9-12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include 1 percent weight/volume aqueous solution in distilled water at 20C, as taught by Souter, for purposes of measuring the pH of the cleaning composition.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirr et al. (US2014/0216503A1) in view of Damian (FR3079126A1, Machine Translation), Bewick et al. (US2022/0151456A1), Ishino et al. (JPH09131294A; machine translation), Woodhead et al. (WO2019/081910A1) and further in view Lant et al. (US2020/0299620A1).
Dirr et al. in view of Damian, Bewick et al., Ishino et al. and Woodhead et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the concentration of amylase. Lant et al. teach cleaning compositions for use in treating surfaces, including for use as a dishwashing composition (paragraph 2). Paragraph 32 teaches the cleaning composition comprising one or more enzymes, selected from amylase and protease (paragraph 33), wherein the amount added is within the range of 0.001-100mg (paragraph 162). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the modified method of Dirr et al. to include the claimed concentrations of enzymes, as taught by Lant et al., for purposes of performing the same function of cleaning dishware to achieve the desired level of cleanliness.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant argues that there is no motivation to automatically locking the door during the whole duration of the dishwashing program. Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive as the examiner maintains that irrespective of the temperature or dishwashing program, the skilled artisan would have recognized the advantages of locking the door for safety purposes to keep children/pets from accessing potentially hazardous detergent compositions, to prevent leaks from occurring and to further ensure the wash cycle can start and complete without possible disruption. In view of applicant’s arguments, the prior art of Jang et al. is withdrawn and all arguments directed to Jang et al. are deemed moot. However, to further strengthen the examiner’s position, the prior art of Damian teaches automatically locking the dishwasher door during the washing cycle, the concept of which is neither novel nor unobvious, as further evidenced by the prior art of Noren et al. (3279874). Additionally, the examiner maintains the position that locking the dishwasher door is not patentable subject matter, as taught by the previously cited prior art of Jang.
10. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
11. In reference to applicant’s newly amended limitations directed to storing the composition in a storage reservoir for at least two separate dishwashing programs, the limitations are met by Woodhead et al., for the reasons recited above.
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Beaudet at al. teach locking the control panel of a dishwasher.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711
bsc