DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabusaki et al. (US 2023/0103320 A1)
Re claim 1, Yabusaki et al. disclose a brake device comprising: a caliper body (24); a brake pad (21, 22) disposed within the caliper body; a caliper piston (27) configured to press the brake pad; a caliper cylinder (26) containing the caliper piston; and a brake module kit connected to the caliper cylinder and including: a master cylinder (40) containing brake fluid; a master piston (47) disposed within the master cylinder; and a driving motor (44) configured to linearly move the master piston within the master cylinder, wherein the master piston, when moved by the driving motor, pressurizes the brake fluid in the master cylinder to flow to the caliper cylinder, and a pressure in the caliper cylinder generated by the brake fluid in the caliper cylinder causes the caliper piston to press the brake pad. (Fig. 1)
Re claim 2, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein the brake module kit further includes: a bolt screw (46) configured to convert a rotational force of the driving motor into a linear motion and transmit the linear motion to the master piston; an elastic member (68) configured to return the master piston to a location before the driving motor moves the master piston; and a reducer located between the driving motor and the bolt screw and configured to connect and synchronize the driving motor and the bolt screw. ([0038])
Re claim 3, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein: the master cylinder (40) includes a side surface and a first connection portion (72) disposed on the side surface, and the brake module kit further includes a reservoir (50) connected to the first connection portion of the master cylinder and storing the brake fluid.
Re claim 5, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein: the master cylinder (40) further includes a second connection portion (70) disposed on the side surface and connected to the caliper cylinder (26), and the brake module kit further includes a first seal cup (66) disposed around the master piston and filling a gap between the master piston and the master cylinder.
Re claim 6, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein the first seal cup (66) is configured to: open a space between the first and second connection portions (72, 70) before the driving motor moves the master piston; and separate the first and second connection portions and allow the brake fluid to be pressurized when the driving motor moves the master piston. ([0031])
Re claim 8, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein: the caliper cylinder includes a plurality of caliper cylinders (26 - 10 RL, 10RR, 10FL, 10FR), and the caliper piston (27) includes a plurality of caliper pistons, and the master cylinder (12R) is connected to the plurality of caliper cylinders. (Fig. 5)
Re claim 9, Yabusaki et al. disclose wherein the brake module kit further includes an electronic control unit (ECU) (86).
Re claim 10, Yabusaki et al. disclose vehicle comprising: a vehicle body; a plurality of wheels (WFL, WFR, WRL, WRR) configured to rotate, each wheel including a brake disc (20); and a plurality of brake devices (10/12RL, 10/12RR, 10/12FL, 10/12FR) respectively disposed on the plurality of wheels and respectively in contact with the brake discs to limit rotation of the plurality of wheels, wherein at least one of the plurality of brake devices includes: a caliper body (24); a brake pad (21, 22) disposed within the caliper body; a caliper piston (27) configured to press the brake pad; a caliper cylinder (26) containing the caliper piston; and a brake module kit connected to the caliper cylinder, wherein the brake module kit includes: a master cylinder (67) containing brake fluid; a master piston (47) configured to move linearly in the master cylinder; and a driving motor (44) configured to move the master piston, wherein, when moved by the driving motor, the master piston pressurizes the brake fluid in the master cylinder to flow to the caliper cylinder, and a pressure generated by the brake fluid in the caliper cylinder causes the caliper piston to press the brake pad. (Fig. 1, 3)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bourlon, Yul, Oonuma and JP ‘679 teach similar brake devices.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWFebruary 3, 2026