Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the housing volume" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1: “Grommet housing for receiving a connector insert” should read “A grommet housing for receiving a connector insert”
Claim 2, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 3, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 4, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 3” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 3”
Claim 5, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 6, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 7, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 8, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 7” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 7”
Claim 9, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 10, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 9” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 9”
Claim 10, lines 1-2: “wherein said further sealing surface comprises” should read “wherein said sealing surface further comprises”
Claim 11, line 1: “Grommet housing according to claim 1” should read “The grommet housing according to claim 1”
Claim 12, line 1: “Connector comprising” should read “A connector comprising”
Claim 13, line 1: “Connector according to claim 12” should read “The connector according to claim 12”
Claim 14, line 1: “Connector according to claim 13” should read “The connector according to claim 13”
Claim 15, line 1: “Connector according to claim 13” should read “The connector according to claim 13”
Claim 16, line 1: “Connector according to claim 12” should read “The connector according to claim 12”
Claim 17, line 1: “Connector according to claim 12” should read “The connector according to claim 12”
Claim 18, line 1: “Connector according to claim 12” should read “The connector according to claim 12”
Claim 19, line 1: “Connector according to claim 12” should read “The connector according to claim 12”
Claim 20, line 1: “Connector comprising” should read “A connector comprising”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flask et al (US Patent 5,904,584), hereinafter Flask.
Regarding claim 1, Flask discloses a grommet housing (grommet housing 34, Fig. 1) for receiving a connector insert (first connector component 10, Fig. 1), comprising: a conductor receiving opening (first sealing end 28, Fig. 1) for passing an electrical or optical conductor from an outer region of said grommet housing into an inner region of said grommet housing (Col. 2, line 63-65, “A flexible grommet 26 may also be provided including a first sealing end 28 for attachment and sealing against a first panel (not shown) having an aperture therethrough which a wire harness is extended”, Fig. 1); an insertion opening (opening 48, Fig. 1) for plugging said connector insert together with a mating connector (second connector component 14, Fig. 1); and a sealing surface (seal 22, Fig. 1) which encircles said insertion opening at least in sections for sealing said inner region; wherein said grommet housing is manufactured from rubber-elastic material (Col. 4, line 15, “the first connector component 10 are inserted into the flexible rubber grommet 26”).
Regarding claim 2, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1, wherein said sealing surface comprises a sealing lip (sealing lips 47, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1, wherein said sealing surface comprises at least two sealing lips running parallel to one another (see Fig. 1, sealing lips 47 run parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 6, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1, wherein an outer wall of said grommet housing disposed opposite to said insertion opening comprises a tunnel arch (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1, wherein said conductor receiving opening continues in a tube-like continuation of said grommet housing which is configured like a bellows (conduit portion 30, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 7, wherein said tunnel arch aligns with said tube-like continuation (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1, wherein said grommet housing is configured to be elastically expandable (as discussed in claim 1 above, grommet 26 is made of flexible rubber) in a non-destructive manner up to three times the housing volume.
Regarding claim 12, Flask discloses the connector (connector component 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a grommet housing (grommet housing 34, Fig. 1) including a conductor receiving opening (first sealing end 28, Fig. 1) for passing an electrical or optical conductor from an outer region of said grommet housing into an inner region of said grommet housing (Col. 2, line 63-65, “A flexible grommet 26 may also be provided including a first sealing end 28 for attachment and sealing against a first panel (not shown) having an aperture therethrough which a wire harness is extended”, Fig. 1), the grommet housing including an insertion opening (opening 48, Fig. 1), and grommet housing including a sealing surface (seal 22, Fig. 1) which encircles said insertion opening at least in sections for sealing said inner region, said grommet housing being manufactured from rubber-elastic material (Col. 4, line 15, “the first connector component 10 are inserted into the flexible rubber grommet 26”); and a connector insert (blade stabilizer 20, Fig. 1) arranged in said inner region of said grommet housing, wherein said insertion opening is for plugging said connector insert together with a mating connector (second connector component 14, Fig. 1), wherein a plugging face of said connector is accessible through said insertion opening (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 12, wherein said sealing surface comprises a sealing lip (sealing lips 47, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 12, wherein said sealing surface comprises at least two sealing lips running parallel to one another (see Fig. 1, sealing lips 47 run parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 18, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 12, wherein an outer wall of said grommet housing disposed opposite to said insertion opening comprises a tunnel arch (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 12, wherein said conductor receiving opening continues in a tube-like continuation of said grommet housing which is configured like a bellows (conduit portion 30, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Flask discloses a connector assembly comprising: a connector (connector component 10, Fig. 1) comprising a grommet housing (grommet housing 34, Fig. 1) including a conductor receiving opening (first sealing end 28, Fig. 1) for passing an electrical or optical conductor from an outer region of said grommet housing into an inner region of said grommet housing (Col. 2, line 63-65, “A flexible grommet 26 may also be provided including a first sealing end 28 for attachment and sealing against a first panel (not shown) having an aperture therethrough which a wire harness is extended”, Fig. 1), said grommet housing including an insertion opening (opening 48, Fig. 1), wherein a plugging face of said connector is accessible through said insertion opening (Fig. 1), and said grommet housing including a sealing surface (seal 22, Fig. 1) which encircles said insertion opening at least in sections for sealing said inner region, said grommet housing being manufactured from rubber-elastic material (Col. 4, line 15, “the first connector component 10 are inserted into the flexible rubber grommet 26”), and said connector comprising a connector insert (blade stabilizer 20, Fig. 1) arranged in said inner region of said grommet housing; and a mating connector (second connector component 14, Fig. 1) which comprises a mating surface, the insertion opening arranged for plugging said mating connector together with the connector insert (see Fig. 1); wherein the rubber-elastic material of said sealing surface abuts against said mating surface to form a seal (see Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flask (US Patent 5,904,584), in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20020076980), hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 4, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 3.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein at least one sealing lip of said at least two sealing lips is narrower or wider in cross section.
Ishikawa teaches wherein at least one sealing lip (plurality of lips 43, Fig. 2-3) of said at least two sealing lips is narrower or wider in cross section (see Fig. 2 and 3 to see varying sizes of sealing lips).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing wherein at least one of the two sealing lips is variable in size with respect to its cross section. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide a better sealing surface that would increase the waterproofing capabilities of the connector.
Regarding claim 5, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein said sealing surface comprises at least two sealing lips, wherein the sealing lip of said at least two sealing lips that is arranged furthest from said inner region extends inclined from the inside to the outside.
Ishikawa teaches wherein said sealing surface (contacting face 42, Fig. 2-3) comprises at least two sealing lips (plurality of lips 43, Fig. 2-3), wherein the sealing lip of said at least two sealing lips that is arranged furthest from said inner region extends inclined from the inside to the outside (as seen in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing wherein the sealing lip furthest from the inner region is inclined from the inside to the outside. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide a better sealing surface that would increase the waterproofing capabilities of the connector.
Regarding claim 9, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 1.
However, Flask fails to disclose a housing opening for receiving a locking element or a control element of said connector insert, wherein a further sealing surface encircles said housing opening for sealing said inner region of said grommet housing.
Ishikawa teaches a housing opening (central hole 47, Fig. 3) for receiving a locking element (bolt 39, Fig. 1) or a control element of said connector insert, wherein a further sealing surface (sealing member 50, Fig. 3) encircles said housing opening for sealing said inner region of said grommet housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing comprising a housing opening for receiving a locking element and wherein said housing opening is surround by a sealing surface to sealing the inner region. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure the mating connectors are secured through additional means and retain their waterproofing capabilities.
Regarding claim 10, Flask discloses the grommet housing according to claim 9.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein said sealing surface further comprises sealing lips which project in the direction of said inner region and/or which project outwardly.
Ishikawa teaches wherein said sealing surface further comprises sealing lips (plurality of lips 51, Fig. 3) which project in the direction of said inner region and/or which project outwardly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing with a sealing surface that comprises sealing lips which project in the direction of the inner region. One would be motivated to make this modification to further seal the inner region of the grommet housing when using a locking device to keep the connector waterproof.
Regarding claim 13, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 12.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein said grommet housing further comprises a housing opening for receiving a locking element or a control element of said connector insert, wherein a further sealing surface encircles said housing opening for sealing said inner region of said grommet housing, said further sealing surface comprises sealing lips which project in the direction of said inner region and/or which project outwardly, wherein said housing opening of said grommet housing aligns with an opening of said connector insert.
Ishikawa teaches wherein said grommet housing further comprises a housing opening (central hole 47, Fig. 3) for receiving a locking element (bolt 39, Fig. 1) or a control element of said connector insert, wherein a further sealing surface (sealing member 50, Fig. 3) encircles said housing opening for sealing said inner region of said grommet housing, said further sealing surface comprises sealing lips (plurality of lips 51, Fig. 3) which project in the direction of said inner region and/or which project outwardly, wherein said housing opening of said grommet housing aligns with an opening of said connector insert (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing comprising a housing opening for receiving a locking element and wherein said housing opening is surround by a sealing surface to sealing the inner region and a sealing surface that comprises sealing lips which project in the direction of the inner region. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide a better sealing surface that would increase the waterproofing capabilities of the connector.
Regarding claim 14, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 13.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein said housing opening of said grommet housing comprises a collar which projects into said opening of said connector insert.
Ishikawa teaches wherein said housing opening (central hole 47, Fig. 3) of said grommet housing comprises a collar (base face 46A and circumference groove 56, Fig. 3) which projects into said opening of said connector insert (see Fig. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a connector wherein the housing opening comprises a collar which projects into the opening. One would be motivated to make this modification to better seal the grommet housing when using a locking element.
Regarding claim 15, Flask discloses the connector according to claim 13.
However, Flask fails to disclose wherein a locking element or a control element of said connector insert projects through said housing opening of said grommet housing.
Ishikawa teaches wherein a locking element (bolt 39, Fig. 1) or a control element of said connector insert projects through said housing opening of said grommet housing (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the invention of Flask to provide a grommet housing comprising a housing opening for receiving a locking element and wherein said housing opening is surround by a sealing surface to sealing the inner region. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure the mating connectors are secured through additional means and retain their waterproofing capabilities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeya et al. (US 20070202730) discloses a waterproof connector wherein two mating connectors are brought together and having sealing means.
Miyamoto (US 20070293080) discloses a waterproof connector having a grommet housing, a lever type securing means, and a corrugate bellows for passing wires therethrough.
Shimizu (US 20210159641) discloses a lever type connector with sealing means for making a waterproof connector.
Jin et al. (US 20160068120) discloses a connector and housing with an insert and a corrugated bellow structure for passing wires therethrough.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834