DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous double patenting rejections remain.
In light of the amendments, the previous claim objection has been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, the previous 112(b) rejections have been overcome.
In light of the amendments, claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Notice to Applicant
In the amendment dated 11/12/2025, the following has occurred: claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11 have been amended; claims 6-7, 10, and 12-18 remain unchanged; and claims 19-26 have been added.
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Effective Filing Date: 05/24/2012
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting:
Applicant requests holding this rejection in abeyance until all other issues are resolved. Accordingly, these claims rejections will remain.
Claim Objection:
Applicant amended the claims to overcome the previous objection. Examiner withdraws this objection.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections:
Applicant amended the claims to overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim rejections. Examiner withdraws these rejections.
35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections:
Applicant argues that the claimed steps are not capable of being performed by a human. Examiner however respectfully disagrees as “establishing a first communications link” is broad enough to include a human trying to establish a link between objects, “updating an interface program” is broad enough to include a person clicking on a button to update a program, “establishing a second communications link” is broad enough to include a human trying to establish a link between objects again, and “monitoring a link quality value” is broad enough to include a person monitoring the strength of the link on a display.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues the combination of references, specifically that of Krzystofczyk et al. and Soomro is improper. Examiner however respectfully disagrees. Krzystofczyk et al. teaches of communication while Soomro teaches of improving communication. Applicant tries to distinguish that the Krzystofczyk et al. reference does not discuss issues which could result from poor communications. Applicant further states that the Soomro reference does not have motivation to combine as it does not incorporate teachings for avoiding incorrect pairing of wireless devices or powering devices via a physical wire. First, Applicant removed the “physical connection” from the claims limitations. Furthermore, Soomro does indeed have motivation to combine in the for of a TSM motivation in paragraph [0006] of Soomro of improving communication. The Krzystofczyk et al. reference does not need to teach what another reference is being brought in to teach. Factoring in a quality of a communication link for a different type of communication link is being expressed as obvious with the purpose of improving the communication.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,881,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim less limitations but these limitations are similar to the claimed limitations of the patent above. Additionally, they use generic wording (using base) for some elements such as the pump in the patent.
Status Identifiers for Claims
Under 37 C.F.R. 1.121 each amendment document must include status identifiers indicating the current status of each of the claims in the application. Examiner notes that the amendment document filed 11/12/2025 includes an incorrect status identifier for claims 4 (listed as “Original” but is amended), 5 (listed as “Currently Amended” but is not amended), 8 (listed as “Original” but is amended), and 9 (listed as “Original” but is amended). While the current amendments have been entered for consideration, all further amendments to the claims must comply with the requirements set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.121. Future such issues will accordingly result in a notice of non-compliance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23-26 recite “said base is of or configured for”. This limitation is unclear as Examiner is unable to determine what “of” is referring to. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner is interpreting that the claims mean that the base is either from the medical device or is also configured for docking with the medical device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-10, 19-21, and 23-25 are drawn to systems and claims 11-18, 22, and 26 are drawn to a device, each of which is within the four statutory categories. Claims 1-26 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below. As discussed below, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A:
Prong One:
Claim 1 recites a system for electronic patient care comprising:
a) a monitoring client, and
b) a base;
wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor configured for:
1) establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection,
2) updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link,
3) establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link, and
4) monitoring a link quality value of the second communications link.
Claim 1 recites, in part, performing the steps of 1) establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection, 2) updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link, 3) establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link, 4) monitoring a link quality value of the second communications link. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, a human could connect devices and catalyze communicate between the devices.
Claim 2 recites a system for electronic patient care comprising:
a) a monitoring client, and
b) a base,
wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor configured for:
1) establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection,
2) updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link,
3) establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link, and
5) communicating data between said monitoring client and said base as long as a link quality value is above a predetermined threshold.
Claim 2 recites, in part, performing the steps of 1) establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection, 2) updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link, 3) establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link, and 5) communicating data between said monitoring client and said base as long as a link quality value is above a predetermined threshold. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, a human could connect devices and catalyze communicate between the devices. Independent claim 5 recites similar limitations and is also directed to an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Claim 11 recites c) a tablet comprising a processor configured for:
6) determining if said tablet is connected to a base through a physical connection,
1) establishing a first communications link between said tablet and the base through the physical connection,
2) updating an interface program on said tablet through the first communications link,
3) establishing a second communications link between said tablet and the base using the first communications link,
7) communicating data from said base to the tablet using the second communications link, and
8) monitoring a link quality of the second communications link.
Claim 11 recites, in part, performing the steps of 6) determining if the tablet is connected to a base through a physical connection, 1) establishing a first communications link between the tablet and the base through the physical connection, 2) updating an interface program on the tablet through the first communications link, 3) establishing a second communications link between the tablet and the base using the first communications link, 7) communicating data from the base to the tablet using the second communications link, and 8) monitoring a link quality of the second communications link. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, a human could connect devices and catalyze communicate between the devices.
Depending claims 3-4, 6-10, and 12-26 include all of the limitations of claims 2, 5, and 11, and therefore likewise incorporate the above described abstract idea. Depending claims 4 and 8 add the additional steps of “communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link”, “determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version”, “determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version”, “retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server”, and “overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program”; claims 6 and 17 add the additional step of “displaying a message on a user interface responsive to the headless state”; claim 9 adds the additional step of “determining if a link quality is above the threshold”; claims 10 and 18 add the additional step of “suspending communications of the data between said base and said monitoring client”; claim 12 adds the additional step of “determining relativity of link quality and the threshold”; claim 14 adds the additional step of “monitoring operation of the base”; claim 15 adds the additional step of “controlling operation of the base”; and claim 16 adds the additional step of “entering said tablet into a headless state when a link quality falls below a threshold”. Additionally, the limitations of depending claims 3, 7, 13, and 19-26 further specify elements from the claims from which they depend on without adding any additional steps. These additional limitations only further serve to limit the abstract idea. Thus, depending claims 3-4, 6-10, and 12-26 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 2, 5, and 11 (Step 2A (Prong One): YES).
Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of – a) a monitoring client, b) a base, wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor, and c) a tablet to perform the claimed steps.
The a) monitoring client, b) base, wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor, and c) tablet in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see: Applicant’s specification, paragraph [00], see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A (Prong Two): NO).
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a) a monitoring client, b) a base, wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor, and c) a tablet to perform the claimed steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components that do not offer “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of any computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. It should be noted that the claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the Specification recites mere generic computer components, as discussed above that are being used to apply certain method steps of organizing human activity. Specifically, MPEP 2106.05(f) recites that the following limitations are not significantly more:
Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
The current invention monitors a link quality utilizing a) a monitoring client, b) a base, wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor, and c) a tablet, thus these computing components are adding the words “apply it” with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 1-26 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2012/0047289 to Krzystofczyk et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,663,201 to Hill et al. further in view of U.S. 2013/0003595 to Soomro.
As per claim 1, Krzystofczyk et al. teaches a system for electronic patient care comprising:
--a monitoring client; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base)) and
--a base; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base))
--wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor (see: paragraph [0025] where there is a processor) configured for:
--establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection; (see: paragraph [0020] where a wired connection is first used to establish a connection. This connection can be considered as being established between a base and a monitoring client)
--establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link (see: paragraph [0019] where a wireless pairing (second communications link) is being established using the wired connect (first communications link)).
Krzystofczyk et al. may not further, specifically teach:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link; and
2) --monitoring a link quality value of the second communications link.
Hill et al. teaches:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link (see: column 19, lines 57-61 where the transceiver may be used to download device information from the pump and sent to the PC when the transceiver is connected to the serial port of the PC. The PC is being updated via a connection to it from the infusion device. The interface program here is receiving the device information).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 1) update an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link as taught by Hill et al. in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. with the motivation(s) of being able to conveniently view infusion device information without having to move or be near the device (see: column 2, lines 5-14 of Hill et al.).
Soomro teaches:
2) --monitoring a link quality value of the second communications link (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 2) monitor a link quality value of the second communications link as taught by Soomro in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. and Hill et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of improving communication in a healthcare setting (see: paragraph [0006] of Soomro).
As per claim 2, Krzystofczyk et al. teaches a system for electronic patient care comprising:
--a monitoring client; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base)) and
--a base; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base))
--wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor (see: paragraph [0025] where there is a processor) configured for:
--establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through a physical connection; (see: paragraph [0020] where a wired connection is first used to establish a connection. This connection can be considered as being established between a base and a monitoring client)
--establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link; (see: paragraph [0019] where a wireless pairing (second communications link) is being established using the wired connect (first communications link)) and
--communicating data between said monitoring client and said base (see: paragraph [0020] where once paired, the wired connection is no longer required to be used by the paired devices to effect wireless communications. Also see: paragraphs [0027] and [0064]. Wireless communications are being carried out after the pairing).
Krzystofczyk et al. may not further, specifically teach:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link; and
2) --communicating data between said monitoring client and said base as long as a link quality value is above a predetermined threshold.
Hill et al. teaches:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link (see: column 19, lines 57-61 where the transceiver may be used to download device information from the pump and sent to the PC when the transceiver is connected to the serial port of the PC. The PC is being updated via a connection to it from the infusion device. The interface program here is receiving the device information).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 1) update an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link as taught by Hill et al. in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. with the motivation(s) of being able to conveniently view infusion device information without having to move or be near the device (see: column 2, lines 5-14 of Hill et al.).
Soomro teaches:
2) --communicating data between said monitoring client and said base as long as a link quality value is above a predetermined threshold (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 2) communicate data between said monitoring client and said base as long as a link quality value is above a predetermined threshold as taught by Soomro in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. and Hill et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of improving communication in a healthcare setting (see: paragraph [0006] of Soomro).
As per claim 3, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said monitoring client receives data via the second communications link (see: paragraph [0020] where once paired, the wired connection is no longer required to be used by the paired devices to effect wireless communications. Also see: paragraphs [0027] and [0064]. Wireless communications are being carried out after the pairing. The monitoring client (remote device) is receiving data here wirelessly (second comms link)).
As per claim 5, Krzystofczyk et al. teaches a system for electronic patient care comprising:
--a monitoring client; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base)) and
--a base; (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is establishment of a wireless connection using a remote device (consisting of the monitoring client) and a controller device (base))
--wherein one of said monitoring client and said base comprises a processor (see: paragraph [0025] where there is a processor) configured for:
--establishing a first communications link between said monitoring client and said base through the physical connection; (see: paragraph [0020] where a wired connection is first used to establish a connection. This connection can be considered as being established between a base and a monitoring client) and
--establishing a second communications link between said monitoring client and said base using the first communications link; (see: paragraph [0019] where a wireless pairing (second communications link) is being established using the wired connect (first communications link)).
Krzystofczyk et al. may not further, specifically teach:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link; and
2) --wherein said monitoring client is configured for entering said monitoring client into a headless state when a link quality falls below a threshold.
Hill et al. teaches:
1) --updating an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link (see: column 19, lines 57-61 where the transceiver may be used to download device information from the pump and sent to the PC when the transceiver is connected to the serial port of the PC. The PC is being updated via a connection to it from the infusion device. The interface program here is receiving the device information).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 1) update an interface program on said monitoring client and said base through the first communications link as taught by Hill et al. in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. with the motivation(s) of being able to conveniently view infusion device information without having to move or be near the device (see: column 2, lines 5-14 of Hill et al.).
Soomro teaches:
2) --wherein said monitoring client is configured for entering said monitoring client into a headless state when a link quality falls below a threshold (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have 2) wherein said monitoring client is configured for entering said monitoring client into a headless state when a link quality falls below a threshold as taught by Soomro in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. and Hill et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of improving communication in a healthcare setting (see: paragraph [0006] of Soomro).
As per claim 6, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Soomro further teaches wherein said monitoring client is configured for displaying a message on a user interface responsive to the headless state (see: paragraphs [0025] and [0028] where there is a sending of a message which includes a link assessment report. A message is configured to be displayed).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 7, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said monitoring client receives data via the second communications link (see: paragraph [0020] where once paired, the wired connection is no longer required to be used by the paired devices to effect wireless communications. Also see: paragraphs [0027] and [0064]. Wireless communications are being carried out after the pairing. The monitoring client (remote device) is receiving data here wirelessly (second comms link)).
As per claim 9, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Soomro further teaches wherein said monitoring client is configured for determining if a link quality is above a threshold (see: paragraphs [0037] and [0039] where there is a determination if a link quality is above a certain threshold).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 10, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Soomro further teaches wherein said monitoring client is configured for suspending communications of the data between said base and said monitoring client (see: paragraph [0036] where there is ceasing of communication on a communications link if the quality falls below a certain threshold).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 11, Krzystofczyk et al. teaches device comprising a processor configured for:
--determining if said device is connected to a base through a physical connection; (see: paragraph [0020] where a wired connection is determined and used to establish wireless connections with a device)
--establishing a first communications link between said device and the base through the physical connection; (see: paragraph [0020] where a wired connection is first used to establish a connection. This connection can be considered as being established between a base and a monitoring client)
--establishing a second communications link between said device and the base using the first communications link; (see: paragraph [0019] where a wireless pairing (second communications link) is being established using the wired connect (first communications link))
--communicating data from the base to said device using the second communications link; (see: paragraph [0020] where once paired, the wired connection is no longer required to be used by the paired devices to effect wireless communications. Also see: paragraphs [0027] and [0064]. Wireless communications are being carried out after the pairing).
Krzystofczyk et al. may not further, specifically teach:
1) --device as a tablet;
2) --updating an interface program on said device through the first communications link; and
3) --monitoring a link quality of the second communications link.
Hill et al. teaches:
1) --device as a tablet; (see: column 13, lines 58-61 where there is a smart phone)
2) --updating an interface program on said device through the first communications link (see: column 19, lines 57-61 where the transceiver may be used to download device information from the pump and sent to the PC when the transceiver is connected to the serial port of the PC. The PC is being updated via a connection to it from the infusion device. The interface program here is receiving the device information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute 1) a tablet as taught by Hill et al. for the device as disclosed by Krzystofczyk et al. since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, Krzystofczyk et al. teaches of using a device thus one could substitute wherein the device is a tablet to obtain predictable results of using a device. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Additionally, one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 2) update an interface program on said device through the first communications link as taught by Hill et al. in the tablet as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. with the motivation(s) of being able to conveniently view infusion device information without having to move or be near the device (see: column 2, lines 5-14 of Hill et al.).
Soomro teaches:
3) --monitoring a link quality of the second communications link (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 2) monitor a link quality of the second communications link as taught by Soomro in the tablet as taught by Krzystofczyk et al. and Hill et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of improving communication in a healthcare setting (see: paragraph [0006] of Soomro).
As per claim 12, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Soomro further teaches determining relativity of link quality and the threshold (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value. There is a determination of relativity of a link to a threshold).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 13, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Soomro further teaches wherein said continuing occurs as long as the link quality exceeds a threshold (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 14, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Hill et al. further teaches configured for monitoring operation of the base (see: column 4, lines 25-50 where there is remote monitoring of the operation of a device (base)).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 15, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Hill et al. further teaches configured for controlling operation of the base (see: column 4, lines 10-24 where there is controlling of operation of a base (a component) wirelessly).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 16, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Soomro further teaches entering said tablet into a headless state when a link quality falls below a threshold (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 17, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 16, see discussion of claim 16. Soomro further teaches wherein said tablet displays a message on a user interface responsive to the headless state (see: paragraphs [0025] and [0028] where there is a sending of a message which includes a link assessment report. A message is configured to be displayed).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 18, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the tablet of claim 16, see discussion of claim 16. Soomro further teaches suspending communications of data between said tablet and the base (see: paragraph [0036] where there is ceasing of communication on a communications link if the quality falls below a certain threshold).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Soomro further teaches wherein the monitoring is during operation of the medical device (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality during operation of a device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 20, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein the communicating is during operation of the device (see: paragraph [0020] where once paired, the wired connection is no longer required to be used by the paired devices to effect wireless communications. Also see: paragraphs [0027] and [0064]. Wireless communications are being carried out after the pairing and while the device is operating).
The device being a medical device is taught in both Hill et al. (see: column 8, lines 1-3 where there is a medical device) and Soomro (see: paragraph [0008] where there is a medical device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 21, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Soomro further teaches wherein the entering is during operation of the medical device (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality during operation of a device. Also see: paragraph [0008] where there is communication through one link and then communication ceases when it falls below a certain threshold value. There is entering of a headless state during operation of the medical device here).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 22, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Soomro further teaches wherein the monitoring is during operation of the medical device (see: 52 of FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036] where there is monitoring of a link quality during operation of a device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 23, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said base is of or configured for docking a device (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is a base device which is of a device (the device itself)).
The device being a medical device is taught in both Hill et al. (see: column 8, lines 1-3 where there is a medical device) and Soomro (see: paragraph [0008] where there is a medical device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 24, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said base is of or configured for docking a device (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is a base device which is of a device (the device itself)).
The device being a medical device is taught in both Hill et al. (see: column 8, lines 1-3 where there is a medical device) and Soomro (see: paragraph [0008] where there is a medical device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 25, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said base is of or configured for docking a device (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is a base device which is of a device (the device itself)).
The device being a medical device is taught in both Hill et al. (see: column 8, lines 1-3 where there is a medical device) and Soomro (see: paragraph [0008] where there is a medical device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 26, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 11, see discussion of claim 11. Krzystofczyk et al. further teaches wherein said base is of or configured for docking a device (see: paragraphs [0019] – [0020] where there is a base device which is of a device (the device itself)).
The device being a medical device is taught in both Hill et al. (see: column 8, lines 1-3 where there is a medical device) and Soomro (see: paragraph [0008] where there is a medical device).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and incorporated herein.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2012/0047289 to Krzystofczyk et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,663,201 to Hill et al. further in view of U.S. 2013/0003595 to Soomro as applied to claims 2 and 5, and further in view of U.S. 2003/0046677 to Lindberg et al.
As per claim 4, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that:
--said monitoring client is configured for:
--communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link; and
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version; and
--said base is configured for:
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version;
--retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server; and
--overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program.
Lindberg et al. teaches:
--wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that:
--said monitoring client is configured for:
--communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where interrogation is occurring through a communications link to determine the software version) and
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where there is a determination if the software is the latest) and
--said base is configured for:
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where there is a determination if the software is the latest)
--retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server; (see: paragraph [0034] where updated or corrected software is being retrieved from the server) and
--overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program (see: paragraphs [0033] – [0034] where there is downloading of the updated software).
One of ordinary skill at the time of the invention was filed would have found it obvious to have wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that: said monitoring client is configured for: communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link, and determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version, and said base is configured for: determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version, retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server, and overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program as taught by Lindberg et al. in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination with the motivation(s) of preventing delays with respect to installation of software on devices (see: paragraph [0006] of Lindberg et al.) to ultimately deliver important health information.
As per claim 8, Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination teaches the system of claim 5, see discussion of claim 5. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that:
--said monitoring client is configured for:
--communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link; and
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version; and
--said base is configured for:
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version;
--retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server; and
--overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program.
Lindberg et al. teaches:
--wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that:
--said monitoring client is configured for:
--communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where interrogation is occurring through a communications link to determine the software version) and
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where there is a determination if the software is the latest) and
--said base is configured for:
--determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version; (see: paragraphs [0011] and [0033] where there is a determination if the software is the latest)
--retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server; (see: paragraph [0034] where updated or corrected software is being retrieved from the server) and
--overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program (see: paragraphs [0033] – [0034] where there is downloading of the updated software).
One of ordinary skill at the time of the invention was filed would have found it obvious to have wherein one of said monitoring client and said base is configured for updating the interface program through the first communications link such that: said monitoring client is configured for: communicating a version number of the interface program to said base through the first communications link, and determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is a latest version, and said base is configured for: determining if the interface program on said monitoring client is the latest version, retrieving an updated version of the interface program from a server, and overwriting the interface program on said monitoring client with the updated version of the interface program as taught by Lindberg et al. in the system as taught by Krzystofczyk et al., Hill et al., and Soomro in combination with the motivation(s) of preventing delays with respect to installation of software on devices (see: paragraph [0006] of Lindberg et al.) to ultimately deliver important health information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN G.S. SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684