DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 11/06/2024 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 recites limitation “the first frame comprises a plurality of user information fields, association identifiers of at least two of the plurality of user information fields are the same, and the at least two of the plurality of user information fields request the EHT compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report”, which is disclosed in Spec Fig. 5C as “User Info 2” and “User Info 3”. However, related Fig. 5B that indicates “User Info 2” and “User Info 3” belonging to two different STAs, “STA 2” and “STA 3”. An “association identifier” is unique for a STA. Therefore, having the same association identifier for two user information fields of two different STAs to request CQI information from a single STA does not comply with the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS reference Huang; Po-Kai et al US 20190349067 A1, hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Huang teaches, a communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first device, a first frame to a second device (Huang [15], "In MU mode, and additional beamforming refinement protocol (BRP) trigger frame may be sent by an AP to solicit compressed beamforming information and CQI frames from beamformee STAs"; Fig. 2, item 214; [69] "The AP 202 may send a BRP trigger frame 214 to solicit compressed beamforming and CQI frames from the multiple user devices.". AP is “a first device”. STA is “a second device”), wherein the first frame requests one or more of N segments of an extremely high throughput (EHT) compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report, and N is an integer greater than 8 (Huang [17] " A BRP trigger frame currently uses eight bits in a feedback segment retransmission bitmap within a trigger-dependent user subfield. The feedback segment retransmission bitmap may indicate which segment of multiple beamforming report segments an AP is requesting, so to allow for more than eight segments (e.g., when more than eight antennas are available), an additional bit may be needed."; [27] "In one or more embodiments, the segmentation of IEEE 802.11 beamforming reporting may be increased (e.g., the number of segments used to provide the beamforming reporting may be increased) to allow for more than eight segmented reports …"; [28] "The feedback segment retransmission bitmap subfield may indicate the requested feedback segments of a compressed beamforming report."; [39] "Referring to Table 1, a next generation report may refer to an extremely high throughput (EHT) frame designed for EHT devices. Therefore, a beamforming report may be a HE compressed beamforming report, an EHT compressed beamforming report,"); and
receiving, by the first device, the EHT compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report from the second device (Huang [69] "The user device 204 may send a compressed beamforming and CQI frame 216").
With respect to claim 8, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding method of inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 15, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding apparatus. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Huang teaches the methods/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Huang further teaches, wherein any one of the N segments is carried in a second frame, the second frame comprises a first field and any one of the N segments, and the first field indicates a segment that is not fed back in the N segments (Huang [0037] “In one or more embodiments, still referring to the first option of the modified sounding feedback from STAs, … One reserved bit may be used to extend the remaining feedback segments field. When the bit is set, the remaining feedback segments field may be 8 plus the value of the remaining feedback segments field.”, [40] “In one or more embodiments, … the new compressed beamforming and CQI action frame, for next generation MIMO control, the frame may include … a remaining feedback segments field, a first feedback segment, …. The remaining feedback segments field may include at least 4 bits.”, teaches compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report comprises “a remaining feedback segments field” i.e., indicating a segment that is not fed back in the N segments).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Huang teaches the methods/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Huang further teaches, wherein the first frame comprises a second field, and the second field requests one or more of the N segments of the EHT compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report (Huang [28] “A trigger-dependent user information field may include at least X bits of a feedback segment retransmission bitmap, wherein X>8. The feedback segment retransmission bitmap subfield may indicate the requested feedback segments of a compressed beamforming report.").
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Huang teaches the methods/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 3, 10 and 17.
Huang further teaches, wherein a number of bits of the second field is W, at least one of the W bits of the second field indicates to request at least two of the N segments, and W is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Huang [28] having X bits).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Huang teaches the methods/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 3, 10 and 17.
Huang further teaches, wherein a number of bits of the second field is greater than or equal to N (implied in Huang [28]).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Huang teaches the methods/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Huang further teaches, wherein the first frame comprises a second field, the second field indicates an index R of a first segment in consecutive (N-R) segments that need to be requested, and R is an integer greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to N-1 (see Huang “When the bit in position n (e.g., n=0 for least significant bits and n=X−1 for most significant bits) is one, the feedback segment with the remaining feedback segments equal to n is requested.”, remaining feedback segments (= segments that need to be requested)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, as applied to rejection of claims 1 and 8 above, in view of LIU; Jianhan et al US 20190238288 A1, hereinafter LIU.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Huang teaches the methods, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 8.
Huang does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, LIU suggests, wherein the first frame comprises a plurality of user information fields, association identifiers of at least two of the plurality of user information fields are the same, and the at least two of the plurality of user information fields request the EHT compressed beamforming/channel quality indication report (The claim is interpreted, under BRI, as a frame indicating related information to an STA in two different user fields and each user field comprises the same association ID of the STA. LIU [9] “For an uplink OFDMA transmission, the AP transmits a trigger frame to initiate an STA to transmit a trigger-based PPDU in OFDMA to the AP. In the trigger frame, multiple RUs are specified in the user information field, and the same STA ID is repeated in the same number of times in the “STA-ID” field of the user information fields. … Upon receiving the trigger frame, the STA identifies the multiple RUs associated with its STA ID or AIDs and transmits a PPDU to the AP in OFDMA by using the multiple RUs”. The same indication technique can be applied to request CQI information reporting in segments, from a STA by AP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang to include the features as taught by LIU above in order to enhance spectral usage efficiency and frequency diversity of the network (LIU [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK; Eunsung US 20230397179 A1 - METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING FEEDBACK FRAME IN WIRELESS LAN SYSTEM
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475