DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 9,616,736) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0312610).
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches an electric work vehicle comprising:
battery casing 60;
a plurality of battery modules 6a including a first battery string and a second battery string; and
the first battery string and the second battery string are layered with respect to each other in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (Figs. 1 and 2).
Figure 2 to Ito is provided below.
Ito does not teach the battery strings are connected in series.
Kim, directed to an electric vehicle, teaches a plurality of battery packs BP1, BP2, and BP3 (Fig. 2) electrically connected in series or in parallel (para 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to connect the string in series such that power for driving motors of electric vehicle is supplied accordingly (para 0033).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a plurality of battery modules and Ito teaches battery modules spaced apart (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the batteries spaced apart in order to allow air flow between the battery modules (para 0040; Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 3-13 and 16-20, Kim teaches a plurality of battery modules. The number of modules is viewed as duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). With respect to the location of the modules, this limitation is viewed as a rearrangement of part (design choice). See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Both Ito and Kim teach battery modules placed through vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have different number of modules depending on the power requires of the vehicle and to place the modules accordingly throughout the vehicle where the modules may conform to the vehicle interior.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 9,616,736) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0312610) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikeda et al. (US 2012/0224309).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Ito does not further teach a service plug.
Ikeda, directed to a power source circuit shut off apparatus, teaches battery assembly 11 in which a service plug (a power source circuit shut off apparatus) 10 is installed is mounted as a power source apparatus of a vehicle such as an electric vehicle (para 0041; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further comprise a service plug as means for shutting down the apparatus (para 0044). The location of the service plus are viewed as a design choice so long the service plugs are accessible for performing their intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Takaki et al. (US 2017/0246942) teaches a work vehicle including a plurality of a plurality of battery modules accommodated in a single battery pack. Each of the battery modules is formed as a rectangular box whose longitudinal length is different from its lateral length in a planar view, and the battery modules are arranged adjacent to each other with a short side of one of the battery modules opposing a long side of the other of the battery modules. The battery pack is also formed to conform to the contour of the aggregate of the battery modules (abstract). Kirchmair et al. (US 2023/0202288), directed to a crawler vehicle, teaches a plurality of battery assemblies located in various locations inside the frame (Fig. 1).
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723