DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 12-15-2025 is acknowledged. Claim 10 has been amended. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 12-15-2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 9-12 are currently under examination.
Double Patenting
Claim 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8-12 of copending Application No. 18/535,598 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to compositions comprising spores Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747 or a variant thereof having at least about 96% whole genome sequence identity with Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747; a surfactant; and a perfume.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Biological Deposit
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is apparent that the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747 and the variants thereof with at least 96% whole genome sequence identity are required in order to practice the invention. Specifically, it is noted that claim 9 recites the deposited material and that claims 10-12 depend from a claim reciting deposited material. The deposit of biological organisms is considered by the Examiner to be necessary for the enablement of the current invention (see 37 CRF 1.808(a)). The examiner acknowledges the deposit the amyloliquefaciens D747 strain at the National Institute of Advanced- Industrial Science and Technology, International Patent Organism Depositary as "Bacillus sp. D747" with Accession Number 'TERM P-18128"; and subsequently under the Budapest Treaty on Nov. 8, 2002, as "Bacillus sp. D747" with new Accession Number "FERM BP-8234" in partial compliance with this requirement. However, said deposits are not in full compliance with 37 CFR 1.803-1.809.
If the deposit is made under terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by Applicants or person(s) associated with the patent owner (assignee) who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature, stating that the deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 CFR 1.808.
If a deposit is not made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit, or declaration by Applicants or person(s) associated with the patent owner (assignee) who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature, stating that the following criteria have been met:
1) during the pendency of the application, access to the deposit will be afforded to one determined by the Commissioner to be entitled thereto;
2) all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent; and
3) the deposits will be maintained for a term of at least thirty (30) years from the date of the deposit or for the enforceable life of the patent or for a period of at least five (5) years after the most recent request for the furnishing of a sample of the deposited material, whichever is longest; and
4) a viability statement in accordance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.807; and
5) the deposit will be replaced should it become necessary due to inviability, contamination or loss of capability to function in the manner described in the specification.
In addition, the identifying information set forth in 37 CRF 1.809(d) should be added to the specification. See 37 CFR 1.803 – 1.809 for additional explanation of these requirements.
Written Description
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims are drawn to cleaning compositions comprising spores of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747 (or a variant having at least 96% whole genome sequence identity to the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747), a surfactant and a perfume, wherein said composition is able to prevent the growth of any and all mold species on an inanimate surface.
To fulfill the written description requirements set forth under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, the specification must describe at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, or alternatively describe a representative member of the claimed genus, which shares a particularly defining feature common to at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, which would enable the skilled artisan to immediately recognize and distinguish its members from others, so as to reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant has possession the claimed invention. To adequately describe the genus of strains of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747 with the claimed immunological and phenotypic characteristics, Applicant must adequately describe the specific genotype that give rise to the ability to prevent the growth of a given mold species.
However, the specification does not disclose distinguishing and identifying features of a representative number of members of the genus of strains of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strain D747 to which the claims are drawn, such as a correlation between the structure of the bacteria (i.e. genome and phenotype) and its recited function (i.e. prevent the growth of any and all mold species on an inanimate surface) so that the skilled artisan could immediately envision, or recognize at least a substantial number of members of the claimed genus of cleaning compositions. Moreover, the specification fails to disclose what genotype/phenotype must be possessed by a given Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 based strain to have efficacy in preventing the growth of a given mold species. The specification is limited to the effectiveness of the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 strain and the variant Bacillus amyloliquefaciens QST713 in inhibiting the growth a limited number of mold species. Said disclosure cannot be extrapolated to the full scope of the compositions encompassed by the rejected claims. Therefore, since the specification fails to adequately describe at least a substantial number of members of the genus of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 based strains to which the claims refer it fails to properly describe the genus of cleaning compositions.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed' ”. The courts have decided:
The purpose of the “written description” requirement is broader than to merely explain how to “make and use”; the applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed.
See Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991). Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
MPEP 2163.02 further states, “[p]ossession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was 'ready for patenting' such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention” See, e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Elecs., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 68, 119 S.Ct. 304, 312, 48 USPQ2d 1641, 1647 (1998); Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (one must define a compound by "whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it"). Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of variant species, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, MPEP 2163 states:
"A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”
And:
For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).
Moreover, the describing of a biological entity by their functions was addressed in the Centocor decision (CENTOCOR ORTHO BIOTECH, INC. v ABBOTT LABORATORIES (Fed Cir, 2010-1144, 2/23/2011)). In said case the court stated”
To satisfy the written description requirement, "the applicant must 'convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention,' and demonstrate that by disclosure in the specification of the patent." Carnegie Mellon Univ. v. Hoffmann-La Roche Inc., 541 F.3d 1115, 1122 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (quoting Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64 (Fed. Cir. 1991)). Assessing such "possession as shown in the disclosure" requires "an objective inquiry into the four corners of the specification." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351. Ultimately, "the specification must describe an invention understandable to [a person of ordinary skill in the art] and show that the inventor actually invented the invention claimed." Id. A "mere wish or plan" for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description. Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The court further opined that Centocor's suggestion
that our decision in Noelle and the PTO written description guidelines support the view that fully disclosing the human TNF-α protein provides adequate written description for any antibody that binds to human TNF-α. That suggestion is based on an unduly broad characterization of the guidelines and our precedent.
The court concluded that
While our precedent suggests that written description for certain antibody claims can be satisfied by disclosing a well-characterized antigen, that reasoning applies to disclosure of newly characterized antigens where creation of the claimed antibodies is routine. Claiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandzia et al. (WO 2017/157772 – IDS filed on 5-5-2024).
Kandzia et al. disclose cleaning compositions comprising the spores of a Bacillus strain (see abstract). Kandzia et al. further disclose that said Bacillus strain can be a strain of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens (see page 2); that said cleaning compositions can further comprise surfactants and perfumes (see page 5); that said spores are present in a concentration of 1 x 102 to 1 x 109 CFU/g (see page 3); that said composition can be in liquid form (see page 3); and that said composition can have a pH value of 1 to 5 when used as a bathroom cleaner it and a pH value of 8 to 12 when used as a multipurpose cleaner (see page 5). Given, that the species disclosed by Kandzia et al. is the same as that of the instant claims, it is deemed, in absence of evidence to the contrary, that the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strains of Kandzia et al. necessarily have at least a 96% whole genome sequence identity to the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 strain. Consequently, Kandzia et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kandzia et al. (WO 2017/157772 – IDS filed on 5-5-2024) and Sikuljak et al. (WO 2013/142456).
Kandzia et al. disclose cleaning compositions comprising the spores of a Bacillus strain (see abstract). Kandzia et al. further disclose that said Bacillus strain can be a strain of Bacillus amyloliquefaciens (see page 2); that said cleaning compositions can further comprise surfactants and perfumes (see page 5); that said spores are present in a concentration of 1 x 102 to 1 x 109 CFU/g (see page 3); that said composition can be in liquid form (see page 3); and that said composition can have a pH value of 1 to 5 when used as a bathroom cleaner it and a pH value of 8 to 12 when used as a multipurpose cleaner (see page 5)..
Kandzia et al. differ from the rejected claims in that they don’t explicitly disclose the use of the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 strain in the cleaning compositions.
Sikuljak et al. disclose biocide compositions comprising the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 and QST713 strains (see page 13, lines 9-14).
Given, that Sikuljak et al. disclose that the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 and QST713 strains are biocidal, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 and QST713 strains of Sikuljak et al. in the compositions of Kandzia et al.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Kandzia et al. disclose the effective use of multiple Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strains.
Moreover, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Kandzia et al. demonstrates the effective use of multiple Bacillus amyloliquefaciens strains MALP-2 in cleaning compositions and the various routes of biocidal activity of the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 strain administering adjuvants is well established in the art, the use of the Bacillus amyloliquefaciens D747 strain in the cleaning products of Kandzia et al. is well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 January 8, 2026