3-DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments in the Amendment filed January 20, 2026 (herein “Amendment”), with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments in the Amendment, with respect to the invocation of interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive so that interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is no longer applied to claims 1, 10 and 11, and claims depending therefrom.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments in the Amendment with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1 and 10, and dependent claims 6 and 8 which depend from claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. 102, and claim 11, and various dependent claims from claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoon et al., “Frame-rate Up-conversion Detection Based on Convolutional Neural Network for Learning Spatiotemporal Features,” arXiv:2103.13674v1 [cs.MM], March 25, 2021, https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2103.13674 (herein “Yoon”) and Sun et al., CN 115240007-A. Specifically, Applicant’s remarks regarding the newly amended limitation of “an empty frame corresponding to a frame between two observed frames” are persuasive as the primary reference Li is silent regarding its disclosed method of predicting human motion being for a frame between two observed frames. However it is noted that newly cited Yoon is relied upon for these new limitations, made in an obvious combination as the image processing details that would necessarily preclude Li’s “extrapolation” approach from equally applying to Applicant’s disclosed “interpolation” approach are not presently claimed. Also while Li does teach that it’s weights are learned weights, Li does not explicitly teach that the weights are “deep” learning trained, for which newly cited Sun et al., CN 115240007-A is relied upon. Nonetheless, Li does at least teach generating motion features of an empty frame in the transformed domain. In the remarks on pages 6–7 of the Amendment, Applicant argues that Li is directed towards a graph spectrum attention, which is a different section (the Graph Spectrum Attention section) of the Li reference than relied upon in the rejection. However the cited portions of Li, not addressed by Applicant in their remarks, is the Graph Scattering Decomposition section which teaches transforming a domain of pose information using a transform model … applying a matrix multiplication using a domain transform matrix having elements determined in a deep learning training process as already applied and explained in the Non-Final Action on pages 9–10. In particular, the rejection in applying Li cites to trainable weights W which elements of a matrix AW defining a filter bank that transforms the pose information X into features H in the frequency domain. Applicant contends that Li’s method uses a “pre-defined, fixed mathematical filter” however Li teaches on page 857, left column, that the filter weights W are trainable – thus are at least “determined in a … learning training process” as claimed. However, Li does not explicitly teach the learning process to be “deep” (given a plain meaning of a multi-layered ML model based learning), and accordingly for this limitation as well, the newly cited reference Sun is applied. Therefore, while all of Applicants arguments and amendments have been considered, they are only partially persuasive, and for the newly amended portions now distinguishing over Li, a new ground of rejection is made with the newly above cited references.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 16, and 17, and therefore claim 18 which depends from claim 15, are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 15 recites “toderive” in line 2, and claims 16 and 17 recite “touse” in line 2, however the words recited in these limitations should be separated by a space. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., "Skeleton Graph Scattering Networks for 3D Skeleton-based Human Motion Prediction," 2021 IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ICCVW), Montreal, BC, Canada, 2021, pp. 854-864, doi: 10.1109/ICCVW54120.2021.00101 (herein “Li”) in view Sun et al., Chinese Patent Publication No. CN-115240007-A, published October 25, 2022, with reference to the provided machine English language translation (herein “Sun”), further in view of Yoon et al., “Frame-rate Up-conversion Detection Based on Convolutional Neural Network for Learning Spatiotemporal Features,” arXiv:2103.13674v1 [cs.MM], March 25, 2021, https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2103.13674 (herein “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 1, with deficiencies of Li noted in square brackets [], Li teaches a human motion generation method performed by a system comprising a processor and a memory, the method comprising (Li Abstract and title, and page 859, an NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU executing processing of a skeleton graph scattering network that outputs human motion prediction):
transforming, by the processor, a domain of pose information of a frame (Li pages 855–857, sections 3.1–3.3, figs. 1 and 2, input motion from a pose matrix of body joints at time t are converted to the frequency domain, then into spectral information via graph scattering decomposition, where section 4.1 in describing the input data sets characterizes the 3D poses as “frames”), using a transform model, the transform model configured to transform the domain by applying a matrix multiplication using a domain transform matrix to the pose information of the frame (Li page 857, section 3.3, in the graph scattering decomposition, DCT-formed pose features are matrix multiplied to graph adjacency matrix A and trainable weights W(k) , where A and W together form a spectral transform matrix, to obtain a bank of spectrum features H(0), H(1), …, H(K) per equations 1 and 3 together), wherein the domain transform matrix has elements determined in a [deep learning] training process (Li page 857, the W(k) matrix are trainable weights, thus determined in a training process);
generating, by the processor, motion features of an empty frame [corresponding to a frame between two observed frames] in the transformed domain (Li pages 857–858, fig. 3, section 3.3, graph spectrum attention further processes the spectrum features from the graph scattering decomposition to generate a final representation of predicted motion for a next frame (predicted future frame, thus empty frame)); and
inversely transforming, by the processor, the generated motion features into a time domain (Li page 855, fig. 1, output features from the last step of the adaptive graph scattering block are transformed to the temporal domain by way of an inverse DCT).
While Li does teach that its domain transform matrix weights W(k) are trainable weights, Li does not explicitly teach they are “deep learning” trained.
Further, while Li does at least teach predicting motion features in an empty frame, Li does not explicitly teach that the empty frame is “corresponding to a frame between two observed frames.”
Sun teaches a domain transform matrix having elements determined in a deep learning training process (Sun pages 5–6, step S3, a convolution model neural network using discrete cosine transform (DCT) using a series of weight matrix of frequency domain to represent convolution layers, where the DCT converts the CNN (a deep machine learning system) into the frequency domain, and where the CNN model is reiteratively retrained (learning) to sparse the weight matrix, therefore the matrix weights being determined in a deep learning process of training the CNN).
Yoon teaches corresponding to a frame between two observed frames (Yoon pages 3–4, fig. 1, frame-rate upconversion generating interpolated frames of a video between two frames of the original video (observed frames)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li and Sun together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the trainable weights of Li to be determined in a deep learning process as disclosed by Sun at least because doing so would reduce calculation cost and storage cost of image processing. See Sun Abstract.
Further, taking the teachings of Li as modified by Sun and Yoon together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predicted frame of Li to be one that corresponds to a frame between two frames of an input video as disclosed by Yoon at least because doing so would allow for increasing motion continuity/up-conversion of videos with a lower frame rate without being distinguishable to the human eye, and can when used ethically, benefit modern people’s lives by allowing nonprofessionals to edit video. See Sun Abstract and Introduction.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, where claim 6 is exemplary, Li teaches wherein the inversely transforming comprises deriving pose information of each frame by inversely transforming the generated motion features into the time domain (Li page 856, section 3.2, page 855, figure 1, at the output layer (with the motion features) an inverse DCT is applied to recover the temporal information for prediction (time domain)).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Li teaches wherein the inversely transforming uses an inverse matrix of the domain transform matrix to inversely transform the generated motion features into the time domain (Li page 855, left column, figure 1, inverse DCT is applied to recovers the output features to the temporal domain, where fig. 1 illustrates that the IDCT would be a matrix transformation as it transforms the averaged attention scores into two dimensional predicted motions).
Regarding claim 10, with deficiencies of Li noted in square brackets [], Li teaches a human motion generation system comprising: one or more processors comprising (Li Abstract and title and page 859, an NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU executing processing of a skeleton graph scattering network that outputs human motion prediction): a communication unit configured to (Li page 859, an NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU includes memory which acquires the data the GPU processes) acquire pose information of a frame (Li pages 855–857, sections 3.1–3.3, figs. 1 and 2, input motion from a pose matrix of body joints, where section 4.1 in describing the input data sets characterizes the 3D poses as “frames”); and a transforming processor configured to: (Li page 859, an NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU includes a processing core) transform a domain of the acquired pose information of the frame (Li pages 855–857, sections 3.1–3.3, figs. 1 and 2, input motion from a pose matrix of body joints at time t are converted to the frequency domain, then into spectral information via graph scattering decomposition, where section 4.1 in describing the input data sets characterizes the 3D poses as “frames”) using a transform model, the transform model configured to transform the domain by applying a matrix multiplication using a domain transform matrix to the pose information of the frame (Li page 857, section 3.3, in the graph scattering decomposition, DCT-formed pose features are matrix multiplied to graph adjacency matrix A and trainable weights W(k) , where A and W together form a spectral transform matrix, to obtain a bank of spectrum features H(0), H(1), …, H(K) per equations 1 and 3 together), wherein the domain transform matrix has elements determined in a [deep learning] training process (Li page 857, the W(k) matrix are trainable weights, thus determined in a training process);
generate motion features of an empty frame [corresponding to a frame between two observed frames] in the transformed domain (Li pages 857–858, fig. 3, section 3.3, graph spectrum attention further processes the spectrum features from the graph scattering decomposition to generate a final representation of predicted motion for a next frame); and
inversely transform the generated motion features into a time domain (Li page 855, fig. 1, output features from the last step of the adaptive graph scattering block are transformed to the temporal domain by way of an inverse DCT).
While Li does teach that its domain transform matrix weights W(k) are trainable weights, Li does not explicitly teach they are “deep learning” trained.
Further, while Li does at least teach predicting motion features in an empty frame, Li does not explicitly teach that the empty frame is “corresponding to a frame between two observed frames.”
Sun teaches a domain transform matrix having elements determined in a deep learning training process (Sun pages 5–6, step S3, a convolution model neural network using discrete cosine transform (DCT) using a series of weight matrix of frequency domain to represent convolution layers, where the DCT converts the CNN (a deep machine learning system) into the frequency domain, and where the CNN model is reiteratively retrained (learning) to sparse the weight matrix, therefore the matrix weights being determined in a deep learning process of training the CNN).
Yoon teaches corresponding to a frame between two observed frames (Yoon pages 3–4, fig. 1, frame-rate upconversion generating interpolated frames of a video between two frames of the original video (observed frames)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li and Sun together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the trainable weights of Li to be determined in a deep learning process as disclosed by Sun at least because doing so would reduce calculation cost and storage cost of image processing. See Sun Abstract.
Further, taking the teachings of Li as modified by Sun and Yoon together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predicted frame of Li to be one that corresponds to a frame between two frames of an input video as disclosed by Yoon at least because doing so would allow for increasing motion continuity/up-conversion of videos with a lower frame rate without being distinguishable to the human eye, and can when used ethically, benefit modern people’s lives by allowing nonprofessionals to edit video. See Sun Abstract and Introduction.
Claims 3–5 and 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Sun in view of Yoon, as set forth above regarding claims 1 and 10, further in view of Mao et al., "Learning Trajectory Dependencies for Human Motion Prediction," 2019 IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), Seoul, Korea (South), 2019, pp. 9488-9496, doi: 10.1109/ICCV.2019.00958 (herein “Mao”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, with claim 3 as exemplary and with deficiencies of Li noted in square brackets [], Li teaches wherein the generating the motion features of the empty frame by using [trajectory information of] body joints included in the pose information in the transformed domain (Li page 857, graph adjacency matrix A is built to connect related body-joints).
Li does not explicitly teach, but Mao teaches trajectory information of (Li page 9490, section 3.1, figure 2, pose information is encoded in trajectory space).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li as modified above and Mao together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data used to generate motion features disclosed in Li to include trajectory information as disclosed in Mao at least because doing so would allow for capturing long range dependencies and achieve state of the art performance. See Mao Abstract.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, with claim 4 as exemplary, Li does not explicitly teach, but Mao teaches wherein the generated motion features are implemented by a linear combination of a basis vector (Mao page 9490, left column, each human joint is represented as a linear combination of DCT bases (basis vector), with motion features derived therefrom).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li as modified above and Mao together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data used to generate motion features disclosed in Li to include trajectory information as disclosed in Mao at least because doing so would allow for capturing long range dependencies and achieve state of the art performance. See Mao Abstract.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, with claim 5 as exemplary, Li teaches wherein the generating uses a graph neural network (GNN) model, a transformer model, a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, a multi-layer perceptrons (MLP) model, or a recurrent neural network (RNN) model when generating the motion features of the empty frame (Li page 856, sections 2.2 and 3.2, disclosed skeleton graph scattering network is a type of a graph neural network (GNN model)).
Claims 7, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Sun in view of Yoon, as set forth above regarding claims 6 and 15 from which claims 7 and 16 respectively depend, further in view of Wang et al., “A Machine Learning Approach to Optimal Inverse Discrete Cosine Transform (IDCT) Design,” arXiv:2102.00502v1 [cs.MM] January 31, 2021 (herein “Wang”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, with claim 7 as exemplary, Li teaches inversely transform the generated motion features into the time domain (Li page 856, section 3.2, page 855, figure 1, at the output layer (with the motion features) an inverse DCT is applied to recover the temporal information for prediction (time domain)) but does not explicitly teach, where Wang teaches wherein the inversely transforming uses a deep learning-based inverse transform model to, and wherein an inverse transform matrix used by the inverse transform model has elements determined in a training process (Wang section III, an IDCT transformation using a machine learning training process involving optimizing the IDCT matrix (inverse transform model with (matrix) elements).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li as modified above and Wang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the IDCT disclosed in Li to include machine learning the coefficients as disclosed in Wang at least because doing so would improve the quality of the reconstructed data output without any additional cost in a decoding stage. See Wang, end of Introduction section.
Regarding claim 11, with deficiencies of Li noted in square brackets [], Li teaches A human motion generation method performed by a system comprising a processor and a memory, the method comprising (Li Abstract and title, processing of a skeleton graph scattering network that outputs human motion prediction, and Li page 859, an NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU executing processing of a skeleton graph scattering network that outputs human motion prediction):
training, by the processor, a transform model which transforms a domain of pose information of a frame (Li page 857, section 3.3, in the graph scattering decomposition, DCT-formed pose features are matrix multiplied to graph adjacency matrix A and trainable weights W(k) , where A and W together form a spectral transform matrix, to obtain a bank of spectrum features H(0), H(1), …, H(K) per equations 1 and 3 together, where the W(k) matrix are trainable weights, thus determined in a step of training) [wherein the training determines elements of a domain transform matrix used by the transform model];
a step of training, by the processor, a motion generation model which generates motion features of an empty frame [corresponding to a frame between two observed frames] in the transformed domain (Li pages 857–858, fig. 3, graph spectrum attention which generates the final representation of motion prediction features (prediction meaning of a future/empty frame) including a weight matrix Wsp having trainable parameters, and attention weights watt which is a trainable vector, where the attention score is determined from the trained Wsp and watt, and thus includes a step of training); and
[a step of training,] by the processor, an inverse transform [model] which inversely transforms the generated motion features into a time domain (Li page 855, fig. 1, output features from the last step of the adaptive graph scattering block are transformed to the temporal domain by way of an inverse DCT).
While Li does teach that its domain transform matrix weights W(k) are trainable weights, Li does not explicitly teach “wherein the training determines elements of a domain transform matrix used by the transform model.” However, Sun teaches wherein the training determines elements of a domain transform matrix used by the transform model (Sun pages 5–6, step S3, a convolution model neural network using discrete cosine transform (DCT) using a series of weight matrix of frequency domain to represent convolution layers, where the DCT converts the CNN (a deep machine learning system) into the frequency domain, and where the CNN model is reiteratively retrained (learning) to sparse the weight matrix, therefore the matrix weights being determined in a deep learning process of training the CNN).
Further, Li does not explicitly teach but Yoon teaches corresponding to a frame between two observed frames (Yoon pages 3–4, fig. 1, frame-rate upconversion generating interpolated frames of a video between two frames of the original video (observed frames)).
Still further, Li does not explicitly teach, but Wang teaches a step of training an inverse transform model (Wang section III, an IDCT transformation using a machine learning training process involving optimizing the IDCT matrix (inverse transform model with (matrix) elements).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li and Sun together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the trainable weights of Li to be determined in a deep learning process as disclosed by Sun at least because doing so would reduce calculation cost and storage cost of image processing. See Sun Abstract.
Further, taking the teachings of Li as modified by Sun and Yoon together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predicted frame of Li to be one that corresponds to a frame between two frames of an input video as disclosed by Yoon at least because doing so would allow for increasing motion continuity/up-conversion of videos with a lower frame rate without being distinguishable to the human eye, and can when used ethically, benefit modern people’s lives by allowing nonprofessionals to edit video. See Sun Abstract and Introduction.
Still further, taking the teachings of Li as modified by Sun and Yoon and Wang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the IDCT disclosed in Li to include machine learning the coefficients as disclosed in Wang at least because doing so would improve the quality of the reconstructed data output without any additional cost in a decoding stage. See Wang, end of Introduction section.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Sun in view of Yoon, as set forth above regarding claims 6 and 15, from which claims 9 and 18 respectively depend, further in view of Lukman et al., "Discrete Cosine Transform Method for Watermarking in Digital Image Processing," 2021 IEEE 7th International Conference on Computing, Engineering and Design (ICCED), Sukabumi, Indonesia, 2021, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/ICCED53389.2021.9664853 (herein “Lukman”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, with claim 9 as exemplary, while Li as modified above teaches wherein inversely transforming uses a matrix of the domain transform matrix to inversely transform the generated motion features into the time domain (Li page 855, left column, figure 1, inverse DCT is applied to recovers the output features to the temporal domain, where fig. 1 illustrates that the IDCT would be a matrix transformation as it transforms the averaged attention scores into two dimensional predicted motions), Li does not explicitly teach but Lukman teaches a transpose matrix of the domain transform matrix (Lukman section III(A)(b) and III(A)(d), IDCT coefficients obtained by multiplying a transpose matrix and the DCT coefficient matrix).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Li as modified by Sun and Yoon and Lukman together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the IDCT disclosed in Li to a transpose matrix as disclosed in Lukman at least because doing so would allow for clearing unnecessary DCT coefficients, thus reducing computational complexity. See Lukman section II(B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHELLE M. KOETH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/MICHELLE M KOETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671