9DETAILED ACTION
In light of Applicant’s Amendment, the 101 rejection of claims 16-20, is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-8 -11-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, which were necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 11, 13-14, 16, and 18-19, and 21-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0262276 A1; Hereinafter “Bishop”) in view of Shekhar et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0132728 A1; hereinafter “Shekhar”), Wang et al. (W.O. 2021/016095 A1; hereinafter “Wang”), and Nordholt et al. (US Pub. 2015/0236791 A1; hereinafter “Nordholt”).
As per claim 1, Bishop teaches a method of operating a quantum capable communication network, the method comprising (Bishop: fig. 1-2, para [19], “Embodiments of the present invention include a system and method to transmit a quantum state successfully across a lossy optical link by using a polarization encoding and taking advantage of the ability to perform quantum operations on the qubits for post-selection”):
generating, by a quantum capable c(source qubit) having selected polarization states (Bishop: fig. 2, para [22-23], , [35-39], “FIG. 2 illustrates how to encode a quantum state of a non-polarization encoded qubit to a polarization encoded qubit….The transmitter system 200 includes the polarization hardware 105B, the converter 106B…the transmitter system 200 can include a measurement device in the case when the transmitter system 200 is operating as a receiver system…After receiving the top and bottom qubits, the converter 106B converts the top and bottom qubits from, for example, the microwave domain to the optical domain…, the top qubit is referred to as the horizontal source qubit and the bottom qubit is referred to as the vertical source qubit (or vice versa) after polarization… After receiving the vertical source qubit and the horizontal source qubit, the polarization beam combiner 102B is configured to combine both the vertical and horizontal source qubits into the single source qubit in the form a|Hcustom-character+b|Vcustom-character. In some embodiments, the single source qubit is the polarization encoded source qubit that is sent from the transmitter system 200 over the optical communication link 302 to the receiver system 100 in FIG. 1.”),
transferring the first qubits to a quantum repeater (Bishop: para [39] “the single source qubit is the polarization encoded source qubit that is sent from the transmitter system 200 over the optical communication link 302 to the receiver system 100 in FIG. 1.”, para [21-23], “The receiver system 100 includes polarization hardware 105A, a converter 106A, and a CNOT gate 108A”),
receiving, by the quantum repeater, the first qubits (Bishop: para[22], “the receiver system 100 is configured to receive over an optical communication link 302 a polarization encoded source qubit (QS). The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link.”), generating second qubits (destination qubit) (Bishop: para[ 22-26], “The converter 106A is a transducer that converts the pair of qubits (which are the horizontal source qubit and vertical source qubit) from one form of energy to another form of energy. In some embodiments, the converter 106A (106B) functions as an optical-to-microwave converter in one direction and a microwave-to-optical converter in the opposite direction….The converter 106A converts the horizontal source qubit and vertical source qubit to a horizontal destination qubit (QDH) and a vertical destination qubit (QDV) respectively.”), transferring the selected polarization states of the first qubits to the second qubit (Bishop: para[27], “, the receiver 100 can be arranged that, when the measurement of the target qubit 110A from the CNOT gate 108A outputs a 0 (as measured by the measurement device 114), this measurement result heralds the successful receipt of the source qubit at the receiver 100, and accordingly, this means that the destination qubit (QD) (the control qubit 112A) has the same quantum state as the source qubit (QS). The source qubit can be polarization encoded in the form a|Hcustom-character+b|Vcustom-character, and the destination qubit can be photon-number encoded in the form a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character, where a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character is a superposition state between |0custom-character and |1custom-character.” ), and transferring the second qubits to the quantum capable edge (Bishop: para [22-30], “The (microwave) pair of qubits (horizontal destination qubit and vertical destination qubit) are transmitted over (two) microwave communication links 120 to the CNOT gate 108A, after exiting the converter 106A.”);
receiving, by the quantum capable (Bishop: para [22-30], “The (microwave) pair of qubits (horizontal destination qubit and vertical destination qubit) are transmitted over (two) microwave communication links 120 to the CNOT gate 108A, after exiting the converter 106A.”), determining measured polarization states of the second qubits (Bishop: para [26-27], “The CNOT gate 108A performs a NOT operation (flip the qubit state by angle 7C, from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0) on a target qubit 110A if the state of a control qubit 112A is 1. Continuing with the previous example, it can be assumed that the horizontal destination qubit becomes the control qubit 112A and the vertical destination qubit becomes the target qubit 110A for the CNOT 108A. A measurement device 114 measures the output of the target qubit 110A. The measurement device 114 can be a microwave measurement device. The measurement device 114 is configured to measure a “0” which corresponds to, e.g., a predefined low voltage/signal and a “1” which corresponds to, e.g., a predefined high voltage/signal.”).
Bishop does not explicitly teach that the communicating quantum capable entities are respectively a core network UDM and an edge UDM; a repeater based network, indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; wherein the quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, Shekhar teaches communicating quantum capable entities are respectively a core-network UDM and an edge UDM ( Shekhar: Fig. 2A-B; para [0049], [0052], teaches a centralized UDM and localized UDM configured to communicate with one another (Fig. 2A), wherein the centralized UDM is connected to a core network, e.g., a 5G core network, and the localized UDM is provided at the edge of the network for mobile edge computing (MEC) and may be embodied as a VNF/NFV entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the node based quantum state transfer of Bishop within the centralized core UDM and localized edge UDM of Shekhar because Shekhar teaches a centralized UDM and localized UDM configured to communicate with one another. It would bring much needed balance to the stringent timing, security, and coherence requirements of quantum networking.
Bishop in view of Shekhar does not explicitly teach indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; wherein the quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, wang teaches a quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM (Wang: para [0126-0129], teaches that a quantum network includes quantum nodes capable of preparing, transmitting, receiving, operating on, and measuring qubits, and expressly teaches that a quantum repeater is usually located between a source quantum node and a destination quantum node to enable long-distance transmission of qubits. Wang further teaches quantum channels implemented using optical fiber and a separate classical channel for exchanging classical bits between quantum connected nodes. Wang additionally expressly applies these teachings to a 5G system. Figure 12 and para [0203-0204] teach quantum communication in a 5G wireless network, including quantum channels connecting edge side network elements and the 5G core, a quantum network router/repeater in the backhaul path, and quantum connection management implemented as a network function in the 5G core network and/or edge networks.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the quantum communication between Shekhar's centralized and core UDM and localized edge UDM using Wang's known quantum network architecture, including a quantum repeater positioned between the two quantum capable endpoints, it will provide quantum secured communications within a known 5G core edge architecture, while retaining Wang's reduced latency distributed UDM arrangement.
Bishop in view of Shekhar and Wang does not explicitly indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, Nordholt teaches indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel (Nordholt: para [0006-0008] table 1, teaches that a transmitter selects a polarization basis, sets the polarization state of a photon in the selected basis, and records the selected sending basis and polarization encoded information. The receiver receives the quantum information, measures its quantum polarization state, and records how the state was measured. The transmitter and receiver then exchange information over a public channel regarding how the quantum states were set and measured. Nordholt further expressly teaches using the same installed communication infrastructure both as a quantum channel and as a public or classical channel to exchange non quantum information, including information concerning measuring bases and selected measured states see para [0097]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the quantum communication of the modified Bishop using Nordholt's known polarization state protocol, including communicating the selected and measured state information using the associated classical public channel. It would have permitted the communicating quantum endpoints to determine which transmitted or received quantum states correspond and thereby derive usable cryptographic information, as expressly taught by Nordholt.
As per claims 3, 13, and 18, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1. Nordholt teaches generating, by the quantum capable core network UDM, a cryptography key for a user device based on the selected polarization states and the measured polarization states; and generating, by the quantum capable edge UDM, a copy of the cryptography key for the user device based on the selected polarization states and the measured polarization states and providing the copy of the cryptography key to the user device (Nordholt: para [0007-0010], further teaches generating a shared cryptographic key based upon the transmitted and selected quantum states and the corresponding measured quantum states. Specifically, after the transmitter and receiver compare their records of how the states were set and measured, the parties retain corresponding information and produce a shared series of bits or keys);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to employ the resulting quantum derived cryptographic key in the Shekhar UDM authentication architecture because Shekhar's UDM entities manage subscriber-related network information and Nordholt expressly teaches using the quantum derived information as cryptographic keys. It would provides the benefit of quantum derived authentication and security material.
As per claim 4, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1. Bishop teaches wherein transferring the selected polarization states from the first qubits to the second qubits comprises transferring vertical polarization states from the first qubits to the second qubits (Bishop: para[03], [23-27] “A qubit may be measured in basis states (or vectors), and a conventional Dirac symbol is used to represent the quantum state values of zero and one, such as for example |0custom-character and |1custom-character. For example, on a physical qubit this can be implemented by assigning the value “0” to a horizontal photon polarization and the value “1” to the vertical photon polarization”).
As per claim 5, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1. Bishop teaches wherein transferring the selected polarization states from the first qubits to the second qubits comprises transferring horizontal polarization states from the first qubits to the second qubits (Bishop: para[03], [23-27] “A qubit may be measured in basis states (or vectors), and a conventional Dirac symbol is used to represent the quantum state values of zero and one, such as for example |0custom-character and |1custom-character. For example, on a physical qubit this can be implemented by assigning the value “0” to a horizontal photon polarization and the value “1” to the vertical photon polarization”).
As per claim 8, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1. Bishop teaches wherein: receiving the first qubits comprises receiving the first qubits over a first optical link; and transferring the second qubits comprises transferring the second qubits over a second optical link (Bishop: para[22-27] “the receiver system 100 is configured to receive over an optical communication link 302 a polarization encoded source qubit (QS). The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link.”).
Claims 6, 7, 15, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0262276 A1; Hereinafter “Bishop”) in view of Shekhar et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0132728 A1; hereinafter “Shekhar”), Wang et al. (W.O. 2021/016095 A1; hereinafter “Wang”), Nordholt et al. (US Pub. 2015/0236791 A1; hereinafter “Nordholt”), and Tran et al. (US Pub. 2020/0358187 A1; hereinafter “Tran”).
As per claim 6, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the dependent claim 3. Tran teaches receiving, by the quantum capable core network UDM, an authentication data request for the user device from a network authentication system, generating authentication vectors based on the cryptography key, and providing the authentication vectors to the network authentication system; and utilizing, by the network authentication system, the authentication vectors to authenticate the user device (Tran: para [0283-0287], [304], “The UDM may generate authentication vectors used for network authentication procedures.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the node-based quantum state transfer of Bishop within the telecommunications network architecture of Tran because Tran teaches that the UDM manages authentication credentials and cryptographic material for network access, that would improve the security of authentication keys managed by the UDM (Tran: para [340]).
As per claims 7, 15, and 20, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang, Nordholt, and Tran teaches the dependent claim 6. Tran teaches wherein the network authentication system comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) (Tran: para [0313] “Authentication Server Function (AUSF) interacts with UDM to obtain authentication data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the node-based quantum state transfer of Bishop within the telecommunications network architecture of Tran because Tran teaches that the UDM manages authentication credentials and cryptographic material for network access, that would improve the security of authentication keys managed by the UDM (Tran: para [340]).
As per claims 11 and 16, Bishop teaches a method of operating a quantum capable communication network, the method comprising (Bishop: fig. 1-2, para [19], “Embodiments of the present invention include a system and method to transmit a quantum state successfully across a lossy optical link by using a polarization encoding and taking advantage of the ability to perform quantum operations on the qubits for post-selection”):
generating, by a quantum capable c(source qubit) having selected polarization states (Bishop: fig. 2, para [22-23], , [35-39], “FIG. 2 illustrates how to encode a quantum state of a non-polarization encoded qubit to a polarization encoded qubit….The transmitter system 200 includes the polarization hardware 105B, the converter 106B…the transmitter system 200 can include a measurement device in the case when the transmitter system 200 is operating as a receiver system…After receiving the top and bottom qubits, the converter 106B converts the top and bottom qubits from, for example, the microwave domain to the optical domain…, the top qubit is referred to as the horizontal source qubit and the bottom qubit is referred to as the vertical source qubit (or vice versa) after polarization… After receiving the vertical source qubit and the horizontal source qubit, the polarization beam combiner 102B is configured to combine both the vertical and horizontal source qubits into the single source qubit in the form a|Hcustom-character+b|Vcustom-character. In some embodiments, the single source qubit is the polarization encoded source qubit that is sent from the transmitter system 200 over the optical communication link 302 to the receiver system 100 in FIG. 1.”),
transferring the first qubits to a first optical port of a quantum repeater (Bishop: para [39] “the single source qubit is the polarization encoded source qubit that is sent from the transmitter system 200 over the optical communication link 302 to the receiver system 100 in FIG. 1.”, para [21-23], “The receiver system 100 includes polarization hardware 105A, a converter 106A, and a CNOT gate 108A”, “The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link.”),
receiving, by the first optical port, the first qubits (Bishop: para[22], “the receiver system 100 is configured to receive over an optical communication link 302 a polarization encoded source qubit (QS). The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link.”), generating by a qubit transmitter of the quantum repeater a second qubits (destination qubit) (Bishop: para[ 22-26], “The converter 106A is a transducer that converts the pair of qubits (which are the horizontal source qubit and vertical source qubit) from one form of energy to another form of energy. In some embodiments, the converter 106A (106B) functions as an optical-to-microwave converter in one direction and a microwave-to-optical converter in the opposite direction….The converter 106A converts the horizontal source qubit and vertical source qubit to a horizontal destination qubit (QDH) and a vertical destination qubit (QDV) respectively.”), transferring, by the qubit transmitter the selected polarization states of the first qubits to the second qubit (Bishop: para[27], “, the receiver 100 can be arranged that, when the measurement of the target qubit 110A from the CNOT gate 108A outputs a 0 (as measured by the measurement device 114), this measurement result heralds the successful receipt of the source qubit at the receiver 100, and accordingly, this means that the destination qubit (QD) (the control qubit 112A) has the same quantum state as the source qubit (QS). The source qubit can be polarization encoded in the form a|Hcustom-character+b|Vcustom-character, and the destination qubit can be photon-number encoded in the form a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character, where a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character is a superposition state between |0custom-character and |1custom-character.” ), and transferring, by a second optical port of the quantum repeater, the second qubits to the quantum capable edge (Bishop: para [22-30],[25] “The (microwave) pair of qubits (horizontal destination qubit and vertical destination qubit) are transmitted over (two) microwave communication links 120 to the CNOT gate 108A, after exiting the converter 106A.”);
receiving, by the quantum capable (Bishop: para [22-30], “The (microwave) pair of qubits (horizontal destination qubit and vertical destination qubit) are transmitted over (two) microwave communication links 120 to the CNOT gate 108A, after exiting the converter 106A.”), determining measured polarization states of the second qubits (Bishop: para [26-27], “The CNOT gate 108A performs a NOT operation (flip the qubit state by angle 7C, from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0) on a target qubit 110A if the state of a control qubit 112A is 1. Continuing with the previous example, it can be assumed that the horizontal destination qubit becomes the control qubit 112A and the vertical destination qubit becomes the target qubit 110A for the CNOT 108A. A measurement device 114 measures the output of the target qubit 110A. The measurement device 114 can be a microwave measurement device. The measurement device 114 is configured to measure a “0” which corresponds to, e.g., a predefined low voltage/signal and a “1” which corresponds to, e.g., a predefined high voltage/signal.”).
Bishop does not explicitly teach that the communicating quantum capable entities are respectively a core network UDM and an edge UDM; a repeater based network, indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; wherein the quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, Shekhar teaches communicating quantum capable entities are respectively a core-network UDM and an edge UDM ( Shekhar: Fig. 2A-B; para [0049], [0052], teaches a centralized UDM and localized UDM configured to communicate with one another (Fig. 2A), wherein the centralized UDM is connected to a core network, e.g., a 5G core network, and the localized UDM is provided at the edge of the network for mobile edge computing (MEC) and may be embodied as a VNF/NFV entity )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the node based quantum state transfer of Bishop within the centralized core UDM and localized edge UDM of Shekhar because Shekhar teaches a centralized UDM and localized UDM configured to communicate with one another. It would bring much needed balance to the stringent timing, security, and coherence requirements of quantum networking.
Bishop in view of Shekhar does not explicitly teach indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; wherein the quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, wang teaches a quantum repeater is intermediate between the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM (Wang: para [0126-0129], teaches that a quantum network includes quantum nodes capable of preparing, transmitting, receiving, operating on, and measuring qubits, and expressly teaches that a quantum repeater is usually located between a source quantum node and a destination quantum node to enable long-distance transmission of qubits. Wang further teaches quantum channels implemented using optical fiber and a separate classical channel for exchanging classical bits between quantum connected nodes. Wang additionally expressly applies these teachings to a 5G system. Figure 12 and para [0203-0204] teach quantum communication in a 5G wireless network, including quantum channels connecting edge side network elements and the 5G core, a quantum network router/repeater in the backhaul path, and quantum connection management implemented as a network function in the 5G core network and/or edge networks.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the quantum communication between Shekhar's centralized and core UDM and localized edge UDM using Wang's known quantum network architecture, including a quantum repeater positioned between the two quantum capable endpoints, it will provide quantum secured communications within a known 5G core edge architecture, while retaining Wang's reduced latency distributed UDM arrangement.
Bishop in view of Shekhar and Wang does not explicitly indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel.
However, in the related art, Nordholt teaches indicating the selected polarization states to a quantum capable edge over a classical communication channel; and indicating the measured polarization states to the quantum capable core network UDM over the classical communication channel (Nordholt: para [0006-0008] table 1, teaches that a transmitter selects a polarization basis, sets the polarization state of a photon in the selected basis, and records the selected sending basis and polarization encoded information. The receiver receives the quantum information, measures its quantum polarization state, and records how the state was measured. The transmitter and receiver then exchange information over a public channel regarding how the quantum states were set and measured. Nordholt further expressly teaches using the same installed communication infrastructure both as a quantum channel and as a public or classical channel to exchange non quantum information, including information concerning measuring bases and selected measured states see para [0097]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the quantum communication of the modified Bishop using Nordholt's known polarization state protocol, including communicating the selected and measured state information using the associated classical public channel. It would have permitted the communicating quantum endpoints to determine which transmitted or received quantum states correspond and thereby derive usable cryptographic information, as expressly taught by Nordholt.
Shekhar further teaches the hardware components of claim 16 such as processing circuitry configured to host the quantum capable core network UDM and the quantum capable edge UDM (Shekhar: para [0049], [0052], teaches that its localized UDMs may be implemented as VNFs/NFV entities in MEC gateways and that the centralized UDM and localized UDM are respectively associated with the 5G core and network edge. Shekhar para [0067-0072] [0085], further teaches that the centralized localized UDM functionality may be executed in a server or network device by instructions executable on one or more processors and illustrates a network device having one or more processors 1302, memory 1304, and communication interface 1306. Thus, Shekhar teaches processor-based network circuitry hosting the respective core and edge UDM network functions.)
As per claims 14 and 19, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the dependent claim 21. Bishop teaches wherein the qubit transmitter is configured to transfer, from the first qubits to the second qubits, at least one of vertical polarization states and horizontal polarization states to transfer the selected polarization states from the first qubits to the second qubits (Bishop: para[27], “the receiver 100 can be arranged that, when the measurement of the target qubit 110A from the CNOT gate 108A outputs a 0 (as measured by the measurement device 114), this measurement result heralds the successful receipt of the source qubit at the receiver 100, and accordingly, this means that the destination qubit (QD) (the control qubit 112A) has the same quantum state as the source qubit (QS). The source qubit can be polarization encoded in the form a|Hcustom-character+b|Vcustom-character, and the destination qubit can be photon-number encoded in the form a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character, where a|0custom-character+b|1custom-character is a superposition state between |0custom-character and |1custom-character.” ).
As per claim 21, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1. Bishop teaches wherein: receiving the first qubits having the selected polarization states (Bishop: para[22-30], “the receiver system 100 is configured to receive over an optical communication link 302 a polarization encoded source qubit (QS). The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link.” “The (microwave) pair of qubits (horizontal destination qubit and vertical destination qubit) are transmitted over (two) microwave communication links 120 to the CNOT gate 108A, after exiting the converter 106A.”);)
As per claim 22, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the dependent claim 21. Bishop teaches wherein the quantum channel and the other quantum channel comprise one or more of optical links, vacuums, or metallic links (Bishop: para[22-25] “The optical communication like 302 can be a fiber optic link. The optical communication link 302 is a polarization preserving optical link”).
Claims 2, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0262276 A1; Hereinafter “Bishop”) in view of Shekhar et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0132728 A1; hereinafter “Shekhar”), Wang et al. (W.O. 2021/016095 A1; hereinafter “Wang”), Nordholt et al. (US Pub. 2015/0236791 A1; hereinafter “Nordholt”), and Ishizaka (U.S. Pub. 20110153257 A1; Hereinafter “Ishizaka”).
As per claims 2, 12, and 17, Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt teaches the independent claim 1.
Bishop in view of Shekhar, Wang and Nordholt does not teach wherein transferring the quantum state that represents the data network information from the first qubit to the second qubit comprises entangling the first qubit and the second qubit.
However, in the related art, Ishizaka teaches wherein transferring the quantum state that represents the data network information from the first qubit to the second qubit comprises entangling the first qubit and the second qubit (Ishizaka: fig. 10, para[81], [90-101], “a quantum state of the input qubit is transferred to one of the qubits included in the second qubit array …At first, the qubit generation device 63 generates 2N qubits A1 to AN and B1 to BN, and generates a quantum-mechanically entangled state |.phi.>=|.PHI..sup.+>.sub.A1B1|.PHI..sup.+>.sub.A2B2|.PHI..sup.+- >.sub.A3B3 . . . |.PHI..sup.+>.sub.ANBN from quantum states of these qubits. The qubit generation device 63 distributes the qubits A1 to AN as a first qubit array A to the transmitting device 61…Next, the quantum measurement unit 71 of the transmitting device 61 performs a generalized measurement on the input qubit C and the first qubit array A, through which N measurement results j (j=1 to N) are obtained as POVM (Positive Operator Valued Measure) elements .PI..sub.j. The POVM element .PI..sub.j is given as follows, .PI..sub.j=.chi..sup.-1/2.sigma..sub.j.chi..sup.-1/2. Furthermore, .chi.=.sigma..sub.1+.sigma..sub.2+ . . . +.sigma..sub.N, and .sigma..sub.m=(|.PHI..sup.+><.PHI..sup.+|).sub.Cam*I.sub.Am/2.sup.N- -1. In the above expression; (|.PHI..sup.+><.PHI..sup.+|).sub.Cam represents |.PHI..sup.+>.sub.Cam Cam<.PHI..sup.+|…. The communication unit 72 of the transmitting device 61 transits the measurement result j, which is based on the above generalized measurement, to the receiving device 62”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bishop with the entangle process of Ishizaka, it will provide a secure and verifiable system, enable detection of eavesdropping or tampering, and ensure integrity of the authentication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2021/0204170 - Systems and methods described herein provide an intelligent MEC resource scheduling service; core network 150 may include a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF) 405, an NSSF 410, an AUSF 415, a UDM 420, a PCF 425, a network exposure function (NEF) 430, an AMF 435, and a SMF 440. NWDAF 405, NSSF 410, AUSF 415, UDM 420, PCF 425, NEF 430, AMF 435, and SMF 440 may correspond, for example, to network devices 155 of FIG. 1.
US 2012/0093521 A1- A method is provided of creating an end-to-end entanglement (89) between qubits in first and second end nodes (81L, 81R) of a chain of optically-coupled nodes whose intermediate nodes (80) are quantum repeaters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALI S ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437