ELECTRIC WORK VEHICLE
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/26/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2016/0297289 A1), Kim et al. (US 2012/0312610 A1), and further in view of Gao et al. (EP 4 254 628 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ito et al. teach an electric work vehicle (Fig. 1, element 10) comprising:
a battery string (Fig. 6, element 6A);
the battery string includes a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 6, element 6a);
the plurality of battery modules includes a first portion of battery modules (See annotated fig. 6 below).
Fig. 6 of Ito
However, they do not teach a plurality of battery modules connected in series; a second portion of battery modules;
the first portion of battery modules are connected in series in a first direction;
the second portion of battery modules are connected in series in a second direction;
the first portion of battery modules are spaced away from the second portion of battery modules in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction; and
a first electrical connection between the first portion of battery modules and the second portion of battery modules crosses a centerline of the electric work vehicle that extends in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle.
Kim et al. teach a plurality of battery modules connected in series with the first portion of battery modules are connected in series in a first direction; the second portion of battery modules are connected in series in a second direction (Paragraph 0033; Fig. 2 disclose two battery packs, BP2, connected in series.);
the first portion of battery modules are spaced away from the second portion of battery modules in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 2 below.);
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Fig. 2 of Kim
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ito with Kim such power for driving motors of the electric vehicle is supplied accordingly in series.
However, neither Ito nor Kim teaches a first electrical connection between the first portion of battery modules and the second portion of battery modules crosses a centerline of the electric work vehicle that extends in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle.
Gao et al. teach a battery string (Fig. 5, element 30) comprising a plurality of battery modules connected in series (Fig. 5, element 301; paragraph 0059). Further, the battery modules can comprise a first portion and a second portion (Paragraphs 0058-0059). Finally, a first electrical connection between the first portion of battery modules and the second portion of battery modules crosses a centerline of the electric work vehicle that extends in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (Paragraph 0040 discloses the battery housing can be mounted on the vehicle in all possible directions, including width of the electric vehicle. This would inevitably place the electrical connection, Fig. 2, element 50, to cross a center of the vehicle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ito and Kim with Gao in order to reduce production costs.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ito, Kim, and Gao et al. teach the electric work vehicle according to claim 2. Further, Gao et al. teach wherein the first electrical connection between the first portion of battery modules and the second portion of battery modules is between a rearmost battery module included in the first portion of battery modules and a rearmost battery module included in the second portion of battery modules (Fig. 2, element 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ito and Kim with Gao in order to reduce production costs.
Regarding claims 4-7, 15-18, the combination of Ito, Kim, and Gao et al. teach the electric work vehicle according to claim 3. Kim et al. teach a plurality of battery modules. The number of modules is viewed as duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). With respect to the location of the modules, this limitation is viewed as a rearrangement of parts (design choice). See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Further, Gao et al. teach the use of electrical connections and therefore the number of connections is viewed as duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Both Ito and Kim teach battery modules placed through the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have different modules and electrical connections depending on the power requirements of the vehicle and to place the modules accordingly throughout the vehicle where the modules may conform to the vehicle interior.
Regarding claims 8-14, the combination of Ito, Kim, and Gao et al. teach the electric work vehicle according to claim 7. Further, Ito et al. teach a battery housing (Fig. 6, element 60) which comprises multiple battery modules (Fig. 6, element 6a). The parts of the housing that house multiple portions of battery modules in addition to their locations is viewed as a rearrangement of parts (design choice). See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have different modules and electrical connections depending on the power requirements of the vehicle and to place the modules accordingly throughout the vehicle where the modules may conform to the vehicle interior.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 12-17 of copending Application No. 18/531,936 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitation of claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 9-12 on the present application are feature throughout claims 1-5 and 12-17 of ‘936.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 July 28th, 2026