DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koester et al. (WO2008/151087) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25.
Regarding claim 1, Koester discloses an electric work vehicle (10, Fig. 2A, [0057]) comprising: a battery housing(cargo section 16, Figs. 3 & 4, [0063]); a plurality of ducts(channels 120 and 122, Figs. 3 & 4, [0067]); wherein the battery housing includes a plurality of battery housing module compartments to house a plurality of battery modules(cargo section 16 includes first channel 120 housing a first set 124 of battery pack 22 and second channel 122 housing a second set 126 of battery pack 22 in Figs. 3 & 4, [0067]); and each of the plurality of ducts is attached to a respective one of the plurality of battery housing module compartments([0067], Figs. 3 & 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koester et al. (WO2008/151087) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohkuma et al. (US 2008/0251246) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25.
Regarding claim 2, Koester discloses further comprising: a plurality of blowers (fans [0067]); but does not explicitly disclose a controller; wherein each of the plurality of blowers is attached to a respective one of the plurality of ducts; and the controller is configured or programmed to independently control each of the plurality of blowers.
Ohkuma teaches a cooling structure for batteries and electrical units([0003]). Ohkuma teaches the battery 8 includes a first battery 81 and a second battery 82 that are divided from each other and connected to each other in series(Fig. 1, [0034]). Ohkuma teaches the first battery box 14 and the second battery box 15 form independent cooling passages 16 and 17 in which cooling air flows, respectively(Fig. 1, [0035]). Ohkuma teaches a first cooling fan 19 and a second cooling fan 20 are provided on the upstream side of the cooling passages 16 and 17 in the vicinity of the merging part 18([0036], Fig. 1). Ohkuma teaches the fan control unit 21 operates the first cooling fan 19 and the second cooling fan 20 while controlling the rotation rates of the first cooling fan 19 and the second cooling fan 20 based on the detection signals of the temperature sensors s81, s82, s10, s11, and s12 ([0037], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric work vehicle of Koester with a controller; wherein each of the plurality of blowers is attached to a respective one of the plurality of ducts; and the controller is configured or programmed to independently control each of the plurality of blowers as taught by Ohkuma as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 3, modified Koester discloses the controller is configured or programmed to control the plurality of blowers based on a temperature of one or more of the plurality of battery modules (Ohkuma [0037]).
8. Claim(s) 4, 5, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koester et al. (WO2008/151087) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Koester discloses each of the plurality of ducts includes a first end attached to the respective one of the plurality of battery housing module compartments and a second end opposite to the first end(Fig. 3); but does not explicitly disclose a first number of the plurality of ducts includes the second end face a forward direction of the electric work vehicle; and a second number of the plurality of ducts includes the second end face a rearward direction of the electric work vehicle (claim 4) and the second number is larger than the first number(claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric work vehicle of Koester with a first number of the plurality of ducts includes the second end face a forward direction of the electric work vehicle; and a second number of the plurality of ducts includes the second end face a rearward direction of the electric work vehicle and the second number is larger than the first number in order to route air and balance flow, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 20, Koester does not explicitly disclose the plurality of ducts are attached to a same side of the plurality of battery housing module compartments as terminal ends of the plurality of battery modules housed in the plurality of battery housing module compartments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric work vehicle of Koester with the plurality of ducts are attached to a same side of the plurality of battery housing module compartments as terminal ends of the plurality of battery modules housed in the plurality of battery housing module compartments as it would not impact its operation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koester et al. (WO2008/151087) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shah et al. (US 2019/0337355) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25.
Regarding claim 9, Koester discloses further comprising: an evaporator to cool air within the battery housing(heat exchangers 132 and 140, Fig. 4, [0067]-[0069]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of ducts is fluidly connected to the evaporator.
Shah teaches thermal management unit and system (title). Shah teaches a first blower or fan 17 is provided to blow air over the first evaporator 12([0052], Fig. 6). Shah teaches the first evaporator 12 may be provided within a ventilation passage 18 provided within the housing 11 and the first fan 17 is configured to direct air though the ventilation passage 18 and across the first evaporator 12([0052]). Shah teaches the outlets 20 are fluidly communicated with respective housing airflow outlets 21 for the airflow ‘A’ to exit the housing 11([0052]). Shah teaches the housing airflow outlets 21 are connected to airflow feed ducts 46([0061, Fig. 6]). Shah teaches the airflow feed ducts 46 are connected to the containers of the first and second high voltage battery packs 104, 105 for the airflow ‘A’ to pass from the housing 11 to the battery packs 104, 105([0061]). Shah teaches airflow return ducts 48 are connected between the containers of the first and second high voltage battery packs 104, 105 and the airflow inlet(s) 47 for the return airflow ‘A’ to the housing 11([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric work vehicle of Koester with each of the plurality of ducts is fluidly connected to the evaporator as taught by Shah as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
10. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koester et al. (WO2008/151087) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Asai et al. (EP2362463) as cited in IDS dated 5/13/25.
Regarding claim 19, Koester discloses further comprising: a plurality of blowers([0067]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of blowers respectively corresponds to one of the plurality of ducts; the battery housing includes a gap located at a central portion of the battery housing; and the plurality of blowers direct air from the gap in a lateral direction and across the plurality of battery housing module compartments.
Asai teaches a high current power source apparatus primarily used as the power source for a motor that drives an automobile such as a hybrid car or electric vehicle ([0001]). Asai teaches each of the plurality of blowers (ventilating equipment 59, Fig. 24, [0055]) respectively corresponds to one of the plurality of ducts(ventilating ducts 65, Fig. 24, [0060]); the battery housing includes a gap located at a central portion of the battery housing(center duct 66, Fig. 24, ([0060]-[0061]); and the plurality of blowers direct air from the gap in a lateral direction and across the plurality of battery housing module compartments(see ventilating equipment 59 pushes the air through the ventilation duct 65 from the center gap in a lateral direction across the battery stacks 10B of each battery block 50B in Fig. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric work vehicle of Koester with each of the plurality of blowers respectively corresponds to one of the plurality of ducts; the battery housing includes a gap located at a central portion of the battery housing; and the plurality of blowers direct air from the gap in a lateral direction and across the plurality of battery housing module compartments as taught by Asai as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
12. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/531,962 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant independent claim 1 recites an electric work vehicle that is similar in structure to the electric work vehicle recited in claim 1 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is further comprising: a first evaporator attached to the battery housing; and a second evaporator attached to the battery housing; wherein the first number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the forward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the first evaporator; the second number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the rearward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the second evaporator; and the second evaporator is larger than the first evaporator.
Koester discloses further comprising: a first evaporator attached to the battery housing(heat exchanger 132, Fig. 4, [0067]-[0069]); and a second evaporator attached to the battery housing(heat exchanger 140, Fig. 4); but does not disclose, teach or render obvious wherein the first number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the forward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the first evaporator; the second number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the rearward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the second evaporator; and the second evaporator is larger than the first evaporator.
14. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is further comprising: a first evaporator attached to the battery housing; and a second evaporator attached to the battery housing; wherein the first number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the forward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the first evaporator; and the second number of the plurality of ducts, that include the second end face the rearward direction of the electric work vehicle, direct air towards the second evaporator. The reasons for allowance are substantially the same as provided in paragraph 13 above and apply herein.
15. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
16. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the battery housing includes a chamber located between the plurality of battery housing module compartments and a cover that covers the plurality of battery housing module compartments; the plurality of ducts are located within the chamber; and the chamber includes one or more output openings that are fluidly connected to one or more evaporators.
Koester does not disclose, teach or render obvious the battery housing includes a chamber located between the plurality of battery housing module compartments and a cover that covers the plurality of battery housing module compartments; the plurality of ducts are located within the chamber; and the chamber includes one or more output openings that are fluidly connected to one or more evaporators.
17. Claims 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724