DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 103072822 A) in view of Yanagisawa (US 2020/0103463 A1).
Claim 1: Wang discloses a suction pad that includes a body (4); and a sponge member (1), wherein the body includes a negative pressure chamber (3), and a plurality of communication passages (26) configured to communicate with the negative pressure chamber, and the sponge member includes a plurality of cavities (14) configured to open toward a workpiece and communicate with the negative pressure chamber through the communication passages, a flow passage adjustment valve (22,28) configured to adjust a flow passage area is disposed in each of the communication passages, and when vacuum pressure is generated in the negative pressure chamber and a cavity among the plurality of cavities is not closed by the workpiece, a flow passage area of a communication passage among the communication passages that corresponds to the cavity that is not closed by the workpiece is adjusted to be decreased (as depicted in Fig 4, the flow area is shut off by the ball 22), but Wang fails to disclose that the the suction pad further comprises a pressure detection port configured to detect pressure in at least one cavity among the plurality of cavities.
However, Yanagisawa teaches that it is known in the art to provide a pressure detection port (port which is in communication with 43a-43d) configured to detect pressure in at least one cavity of a suction pick up device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yanagisawa with that of Wang in order to provide pressure detection ports in the sponge member of Wang because its prima facie to combine prior art elements by known methods in order to achieve predictable results (MPEP 2143(B)). In the instant case the predictable result would be the sponge member of Wang including pressure detection port. This modification would have been advantageous because it would provide a means for monitoring the vacuum level in the cavities of Wang.
Claim 2: As addressed above Wang provides a passage through the sponge member, and as modified by Yanagisawa to include the pressure detection port this passage is considered a detection passage.
Claim 5: Yanagisawa further teaches a plurality of pressure detection ports, and a pressure sensor (43a-4d) that is individually connected to each of the plurality of pressure detection ports.
Claim 6: Yanagisawa fails to explicitly teach that the pressure detection port is provided in plurality, and a common pressure sensor is connected to the plurality of pressure detection ports via check valves.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrate the pressure detection ports and senors, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1983). Further, it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON L VAUGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726