DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 7, 2023 and November 14, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “an image processing portion which processes image information obtained by the camera module” in claim 8.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Kato et al. international patent document WO2021/106755, of record.
Regarding claim 1 Kato discloses an optical element driving device (title e.g. figure 1-4 reflector driving device 101) comprising: a movable portion (e.g. mirror holding member 2) in which an optical element (e.g. mirror 1) is holdable (abstract “reflector holding member capable of holding a mirror”); a fixed portion (e.g. support member SP) which accommodates the movable portion; and a drive unit (e.g. drive mechanism MD) which operates the movable portion relative to the fixed portion (abstract “drive mechanism (MD) that oscillates the mirror holding member (2) relative to the support member (SP)”), wherein the drive unit includes a magnet (e.g. third magnetic field generating member 5C paragraph [0038] “5 C is a two-pole magnet”) arranged on the movable portion and coils (e.g. first, second & third coils 6A, 6B & 6C) arranged on the fixed portion (e.g. SP), and the fixed portion includes a base (e.g. lower support member LSP) and a bobbin (e.g. protruding portion 7p on first & second yoke 7A & 7B) to which at least one of the coils (e.g. 6A & 6B) is attached and which is fixed to the base (e.g. LSP).
Regarding claim 2 Kato discloses the optical element driving device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Kato further discloses it is further comprising a substrate (e.g. central portion 7m) which is fixed to the base (e.g. LSP), wherein the coils (e.g. 6A, 6B & 6C) include a first coil (e.g. 6C) arranged on the substrate (e.g. 7m) and a second coil (e.g. 6A & 6B) attached to the bobbin (e.g. 7p on 7A & 7B).
Regarding claim 3 Kato discloses the optical element driving device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Kato further discloses wherein: the base (e.g. LSP) includes at least one sidewall portion (e.g. 7A &7B) and a bottom wall portion (e.g. LSP) connected to the sidewall portion; the bobbin is fixed to the sidewall portion (e.g. 7p on 7A & 7B); and the substrate (e.g. 7f) is fixed to the bottom wall portion (e.g. LSP).
Regarding claim 4 Kato discloses the optical element driving device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Kato further discloses wherein: the base (e.g. LSP) includes a pair of sidewall portions opposed to each other (e.g. 7A & 7B); bobbins (e.g. 7p on 7A & 7B), which include the bobbin, are provided on the pair of sidewall portions (e.g. 7A & 7B), respectively; and the second coils (e.g. 6A & 6B) respectively provided on the bobbins (see figure 5) are connected by a power feeding member extending from one sidewall portion of the pair of sidewall portions to the other sidewall portion of the pair of sidewall portions (implicit given paragraphs [0044 & 0086-87] discussion of current supplied to the coils 6A & 6B from wiring board 4).
Regarding claim 7 Kato further discloses a camera module (paragraphs [0001 & 0009] e.g. see figure 2) comprising: the optical element driving device according to claim 1 (inter alia paragraph [0009] “a camera module in a portable device with a camera on which the reflector driving device 101 is mounted”); a lens portion (e.g. lens unit LU); and an imaging portion (e.g. imaging element IS) which captures a subject image formed as an image by the lens portion (axiomatic see paragraph [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. international patent document WO2021/106755, of record.
Regarding claim 5 Kato discloses the optical element driving device according to claim 4, as set forth above. Kato further discloses wherein: the bobbin (e.g. 7p on 7A & 7B) is provided with an electrode terminal for connecting the second coil (implicit given paragraphs [0044 & 0086-87] discussion of current supplied to the coils 6A & 6B).
Kato does not disclose the electrode terminal is structured in such a way as to extend from the bobbin toward the substrate.
Kato discloses the claimed invention except for details on the relative direction of the electrodes. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to orient the electrodes as claimed since applicant has not disclosed that the electrode orientation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Further, there are only two possibilities, i.e. extending towards or away from the substrate. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). One would be motivated to choose a particular orientation to have the shortest distance or straight connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electrode terminal is structured in such a way as to extend from the bobbin toward the substrate for the purpose of having a short connection to power without any sharp bends and since there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. international patent document WO2021/106755, of record, in view of Cheng et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0213493.
Regarding claim 6 Kato discloses the optical element driving device according to claim 4, as set forth above. Kato further discloses it is further comprising a biasing portion (e.g. return member RM) which is provided over a range from the one sidewall portion to the other sidewall portion at an end portion of the base (see figures 2 & 5), and biases the movable portion (inter alia paragraph [0095] “return member RM that returns the mirror holding member 2 to the initial state”).
Kato does not disclose wherein the biasing portion includes the power feeding member.
Cheng teaches a similar optical element driving device (e.g. figure 2 optical system 1-100) including a movable portion (e.g. 1-MA), a fixed portion (e.g. fixed assembly 1-FA), a drive unit (e.g. driving module 1-DM) using a coils (e.g. driving coils 1-CL, 1-CL2, 1-CL3 & 1-CL4) and magnets (e.g. magnetic elements 1-MG1, 1-MG2, 1-MG3 & 1-MG4), and bias elements (e.g. figure 28 eight conductive elements 2-1061 to 2-1064 and 2-1101 to 2-1104 may be resilient metal spring sheets); and further teaches the biasing portion includes the power feeding member (paragraph [0127] “the eight conductive elements 2-1061 to 2-1064 and 2-1101 to 2-1104 may be resilient metal spring sheets that electrically connect to the circuit boards 2-1141 to 2-1144 of the four driving assemblies” for the purpose of reducing the number of elements in the assembly. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical element driving device as disclosed by Kato to have the biasing portion includes the power feeding member as taught by Cheng for the purpose of reducing the number of elements in the assembly.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. international patent document WO2021/106755, of record, in view of Wang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0230262.
Regarding claim 8 Kato further discloses a camera-mounted apparatus being an information device or a transportation device (paragraphs [0001 & 0009] e.g. see figure 2), the camera-mounted apparatus comprising: the camera module according to claim 7 (as set forth above).
Kato does not disclose an image processing portion which processes image information obtained by the camera module.
Wang teaches a similar camera-mounted apparatus (e.g. figure 1, 4-6 & 309 camera module 20-1) including an optical element driving device (e.g. 1-B1200) a lens unit (e.g. 1-B1100) and an image sensor (e.g. 1-B1300); and further discloses an image processing portion (e.g. processing unit 20-3) which processes image information obtained by the camera module (inter alia paragraph [1040] e.g. see figure 310 step S20-2) for the purpose of constructing a 3D image (inter alia paragraph [1032]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the camera-mounted apparatus as disclosed by Kato to have an image processing portion which processes image information obtained by the camera module as taught by Wang for the purpose of constructing a 3D image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikegame US Patent Application Publication 2004/0085604; in regards to an optical element driving device (see figure 9 e.g. 11) including coils (e.g. 26 & 27), magnets (e.g. 41 & 43) and biasing elements (e.g. springs 23) that are used to feed power to the coils (paragraph [0073]) for the purpose of eliminating the necessity of flexible cables or the like for forming power feeders to the coils, thereby avoiding affection on the supporting and driving operations for the moving body (paragraph [0075]) and simplifying construction (paragraph [0076]).
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 November 19, 2025