DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/531,997, “ELECTRIC WORK VEHICLE”, was filed with the USPTO on 12/07/2023 and has a has PRO 63/546,266 filed on 10/30/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 12/7/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2024 and 5/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: plate 104R [0133] and the third battery management unit portion 140-4 (in last sentence of [0204]) (paragraph citations are based on the specification filed on 12/7/2023). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because
P17, P21/P22 and P23 in Fig. 16 and P28 in Fig. 21 are not broken lines. See MPEP 608.02-V (h)-(3);
Numbers and letters in Fig. 30 are too small to read. “Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height.” see MPEP 608.02-V (p)-(3).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: (paragraph citations are based on the specification filed on 12/7/2023)
[0095]: “the third front surface 9C” is conflict with “the third front surface 9D”;
[0099]: “fifth evaporator/evaporator coil 64” is conflict with “the sixth expansion valve 64”;
[0118]: “fourth battery housing portion 30” appears to be 32;
[0128]: “first battery housing portion 28” appears to be 26;
[0131]: “in a preferred embodiments”, Examiner suggests removing “a” or changing it to “in a preferred embodiment”;
[0146] and [0147]: “fourth battery housing portion 62” appears to be 32;
[0162]: in the last sentence “second opening 302I-2” appears to be a typo of 30I-2;
[0186]: “for example, as shown in Figs. 1, 29A….”, however, there’s no Fig. 1 filed on 12/7/2023.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 and claim 15 are duplicate claims.
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,691,749 (hereinafter 749’). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, 749’ teaches an electric work vehicle (electric work vehicle, claim 13 of 749’) comprising:
a battery housing (battery housing, claim 1 of 749’) including a plurality of battery housing portions (second battery housing section and third battery housing section, claim 1 of 749’); wherein
the plurality of battery housing portions (second battery housing section and third battery housing section, claim 1 of 749’) include a first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 13 of 749’) and a second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 13 of 749’);
the first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 13 of 749’) includes a first stepped portion that defines a first space (see claim 13 of 749’); and
at least a portion of the second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 13 of 749’) is located within the first space (see claim 13 of 749’).
Regarding claim 2, 749’ teaches wherein
the second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 14 of 749’) is located below the first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 14 of 749’) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see claim 14 of 749’).
Regarding claim 3, 749’ teaches wherein
a front surface of the second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 15 of 749’) is located at a same or substantially same location as a front surface of the first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 15 of 749’) in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see claim 15 of 749’).
Regarding claim 4, 749’ teaches wherein
a portion of the first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 16 of 749’) is farther rearward than the second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 16 of 749’) in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see claim 16 of 749’).
Regarding claim 15, 749’ teaches wherein
the first battery housing portion (second battery housing section, claim 14 of 749’) is located above the second battery housing portion (third battery housing section, claim 14 of 749’) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (note: “third battery housing section is below second battery housing section” (see claim 14 of 749’) is equal to say “second battery housing section is above third battery housing section”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the up-down direction of the electric work vehicle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle".
Claims 16 and 17 recite the limitation "the frame". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “a frame".
Claims 11-13 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 20170136864 A1, provided on IDS filed on 5/13/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Ito et al. teaches an electric work vehicle (electric work vehicle, see [0055] and Fig. 2) comprising:
a battery housing (60, Fig. 1) including a plurality of battery housing portions (S1/S2/S3/S4, Fig. 1); wherein
the plurality of battery housing portions (S1/S2/S3/S4, Fig. 1) include a first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8; note: entire space above 63 inside battery pack case 6, see Fig. 8) and a second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8; note: includes S2 and part of S4);
the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) includes a first stepped portion (first stepped portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8; note: “stepped” see from 63a to 63b in Fig. 9) that defines a first space (S4, Fig. 8); and
at least a portion of the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located within the first space (S4, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Ito et al. teaches wherein the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located below the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Ito et al. teaches wherein a front surface of the second battery housing portion (front surface of second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located at a same (front end of 61, see Fig. 3) or substantially same location as a front surface of the first battery housing portion (front surface of first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in a front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Ito et al. teaches wherein a portion (the upper part of G2 in first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) of the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is farther rearward than the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Ito et al. teaches wherein the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) includes a second stepped portion (second stepped portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8; note: “stepped” see from 613 to 6B in Fig. 7) that defines a second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8); and
at least a portion of a first warm air path (S1 to S3 to G2, see Fig. 8) to exhaust warm air from the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located within the second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ito et al. teaches wherein the first warm air path (S1 to S3 to G2, see Fig. 8) includes a duct (formed by 63, 64, 60a and two sidewalls of 64, see Figs 1 and 8) located within the second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Ito et al. teaches wherein the second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located higher than the first space (S4, Fig. 8) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Ito et al. teaches wherein the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) includes a third stepped portion (third stepped portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) that defines a third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8); and
at least a portion of a second warm air path (S4 to S2 to G1, see Fig. 8) to exhaust warm air from the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located within the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Ito et al. teaches wherein the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located lower than the first space (S4, Fig. 8) in the up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Ito et al. teaches wherein the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) is located rearward of a front axle (front axle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13); note: front axle is a part of 20 that is in front of the rearmost part of 20) of the electric work vehicle in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)).
Regarding claim 12, Ito et al. teaches wherein the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) includes a second stepped portion (second stepped portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) that defines a second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)); and
the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) is located rearward of the second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)).
Regarding claim 13, Ito et al. teaches wherein
the second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) is located forward of the front axle (front axle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)) of the electric work vehicle in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 11-13)).
Regarding claim 14, Ito et al. teaches further comprising:
a frame (frame, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14); note: frame is a part of 22b in the bracket) that supports the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) and a front axle (23, Fig. 8; note: 23 is in front of the rearmost part of 20) of the electric work vehicle;
the frame (frame, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) is mounted between the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) and the front axle (23, Fig. 8) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)); and
a second warm air path (S4 to S2 to G1, see Fig. 8) to exhaust air from the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) is located between an outside surface (61, Fig. 9) of the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) and an outside surface (surface of 22b in the direction from 31L to 31R, see Fig. 6) of the frame (frame, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14); frame is a part of 22b) in a left-right direction (from 31L to 31R, see Fig. 6) of the electric work vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Ito et al. teaches wherein the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) is located above the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Ito et al. teaches wherein the frame (20 (21/22/23), Fig. 6; interpretation see 112b rejection above) extends farther rearward (most rear 23 is farther rearward than 6, see Fig. 6) than the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Ito et al. teaches wherein a rearmost portion (rearmost portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 17)) of the frame (23, Fig. 8; interpretation see 112b rejection above) is forward of a rear surface (rear surface of G2, Fig. 8) of the first battery housing portion (first battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) in the front-rear direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Ito et al. teaches further comprising:
a frame (23, Fig. 8) that supports the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) and a front axle (front axle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19); note: frame is a part of 22b in the bracket and is in front of the rearmost 22b) of the electric work vehicle; wherein
the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) includes a third stepped portion (third stepped portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) that defines a third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19);
at least a portion of a second warm air path (S4 to S2 to G1, see Fig. 8) to exhaust warm air from the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) is located within the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)); and
at least a portion of the frame (23, Fig. 8) is located within the third space (third space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)).
Regarding claim 19, Ito et al. teaches wherein the frame (23, Fig. 8) is mounted between the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) and the front axle (front axle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) in an up-down direction (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claims 18-19)) of the electric work vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20170136864 A1, provided on IDS filed on 5/13/2025) in view of Ichikawa (US 20120247846 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ito et al. does not teach wherein the second warm air path includes a duct located within the third space.
Ichikawa teaches wherein the second warm air path (from B to 68 to 66, see Fig. 1) includes a duct (66, Fig. 1) located within the third space (B, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the third space (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8) taught by Ito et al. by adding the air-discharge duct taught by Ichikawa to feed out air from the unit housing case to the outside of the cabin (see Ichikawa [0146]).
Regarding claim 20, Ito et al. teaches further comprising:
a frame (frame, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14); note: frame is a part of 22b in the bracket) that supports the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) and a front axle (23, Fig. 8; note: 23 is in front of the rearmost part of 20) of the electric work vehicle;
the frame (frame, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) is mounted between the second battery housing portion (second battery housing portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)) and the front axle (23, Fig. 8) in an up-down direction of the electric work vehicle (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 (claim 14)).
Ito et al. does not teach wherein
the frame houses one or more evaporators.
Ichikawa teaches the frame (cross frame, [0153]) houses one or more evaporators (evaporator, [0153]; note: air conditioning unit 75 has an evaporator, [0153], 75 see Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle body frame taught by Ito et al. by adding the air conditioner having an evaporator taught by Ichikawa to cool air (see Ichikawa [0154]).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723