DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 7 December 2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the non-patent literature document identified as “C7” is published in a non-English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the noted reference has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art on the basis of structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”) (emphasis in original). Likewise, the “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937 (CCPA 1963).
It is firmly rooted that because an apparatus is a structure, an apparatus must be distinguished from prior art on the basis of its structure, and where a prior art structure is inherently “capable of” performing the claimed function of the apparatus, the burden shifts to the applicant to show that the claimed function patentably distinguishes the claimed structure from the prior art structure. See, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Hallman, 655 F.2d 212, 215 (CCPA 1981). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the claim limitation “means for contacting” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In this case, the disclosure is completely unclear what structure may be used to perform the recited “contacting” function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The same analysis applies to claims 2-9 by virtue of their dependency upon claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lokkesmoe (US 5,122,538) in view of McSherry (US 2008/0095677).
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Lokkesmoe discloses a system (see Lokkesmoe, drawing) comprising: (a) a mixing tank (14); (b) a peroxide supply (10) in fluid communication with the mixing tank (14); (c) an organic acid supply (22) in fluid communication with the mixing tank (14); (d) means (18) for contacting contents of the mixing tank (14) with a fixed catalyst bed (28); and (e) an outlet (30) for removing the mixture from the system. The fixed catalyst bed (28) is one comprising an acid resin (see Lokkesmoe, column 3, lines 16-19).
Lokkesmoe does not explicitly disclose wherein the system additionally comprises a sensor to measure a concentration of peroxide in the mixture and removing the mixture from the system in response to the sensor concentration measurement.
However, Lokkesmoe discloses the use of sensors and corresponding control means for measuring and controlling tank levels and flow of reactants (see Lokkesmoe, column 3, lines 34-44). Likewise, Lokkesmoe discloses wherein the system is intended to operate within a preferred peroxide to organic acid molar ratio (see Lokkesmoe, column 2, lines 25-31); and wherein the produced peroxide is generated within a preferred concentration (see Lokkesmoe, column 6, lines 6-8).
Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the system of Lokkesmoe to provide for sensor measurement of the peroxide concentration in the mixture in order to ensure operation of the disclosed system within the preferred operating ranges of peroxide to acid molar ratio peroxide product concentration.
Moreover, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the system of Lokkesmoe as described above because such sensor measurement of peroxide product concentration is readily known in the art as a means of peroxide reaction control (see McSherry, paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claims 2-7 and 9, the claim limitations are not structurally distinguishing over the apparatus of the prior art as outlined supra at paragraph 13. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original).
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771