DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the scraper" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 10-12 are rejected as they depend upon claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 13-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vanosdall (US 9844182 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Vanosdall discloses a device for removing and collecting spiked objects from a surface, comprising:
a frame (102) configured to provide structural support for the device and to receive a propulsion force to move the device along a surface, wherein the frame includes a roller mounting assembly (104) having a first end and a second end;
a roller assembly (110) removably attached to the first end and second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis, wherein the roller assembly is further configured to cause spiked objects disposed along the surface to attach to the roller assembly as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects during the rotation of the roller assembly;
a scraper (120) configured to detach the spiked objects from the roller assembly as the spiked objects attached to the roller assembly contact the scraper due to the roller assembly rotating; and
a collection tray (130) configured to capture the spiked objects detached from the roller assembly by the scraper.
Regarding claim 2, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the frame to receive the propulsion force to move the device along the surface includes configuration of the frame to include one or more of:
a connector (106) configured to attach the frame to a vehicle (109), wherein the vehicle provides the propulsion force to move the device along the surface; and
a handle (108) configured to enable a user to push against the frame, wherein the pushing by the user provides the propulsion force to move the device along the surface.
Regarding claim 3, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the roller mounting assembly (104) includes a latch assembly to enable the roller assembly to be removed from the frame (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 5, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the roller assembly includes:
a cylindrical drum (110); and
a sleeve (collection surface 112) configured to be laid over an outer surface of the cylindrical drum (col. 3 lines 38-49).
Regarding claim 6, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the sleeve (112) is configured to be removable from the cylindrical drum to enable replacement of the sleeve from the roller assembly (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 7, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the sleeve (112) is made of a material configured to enable the pricky stickers to stick to the sleeve (col. 4 lines 57-62).
Regarding claim 9, Vanosdall discloses a method of collecting spiked objects from a surface, comprising:
positioning a collection device (100) over the surface such that a roller assembly (110) of the collection device is in contact with the surface, the roller assembly configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis over the surface;
applying a propulsion force against a frame (102) of the collection device, wherein applying the propulsion force against the frame of the collection device causes the roller assembly to rotate about the longitudinal axis and to roll over the surface (col. 4 line 57-col. 5 line 3); and
collecting spiked objects disposed along the surface, wherein collecting the spiked objects disposed along the surface includes:
causing the spiked objects disposed along the surface to attach to the roller assembly as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects during the rotation of the roller assembly (col. 4 line 57-col. 5 line 3);
detaching the spiked objects from the roller assembly as the spiked objects attached to the roller assembly contact the scraper (120) due to the roller assembly rotating (col. 4 line 57-col. 5 line 3); and
receiving the spiked objects detached from the roller assembly by the scraper into a collection tray (130).
Regarding claim 10, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
removing a first end of the roller assembly from a roller mounting assembly of the frame by disengaging a latch (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 13, Vanosdall discloses a method of manufacturing a device (100) for collecting spiked objects from a surface, comprising:
forming a frame (102) to provide structural support for the device and to receive a propulsion force to move the device along a surface;
disposing a roller mounting assembly (104) having a first end and a second end onto the frame;
removably attaching a roller assembly (110) to the first end and second end of the roller mounting assembly, the roller assembly configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis, wherein the roller assembly is further configured to cause spiked objects disposed along the surface to attach to the roller assembly as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects during the rotation of the roller assembly (col. 4 line 57-col. 5 line 3);
mounting a scraper (120) to detach the spiked objects from the roller assembly as the spiked objects attached to the roller assembly contact the scraper due to the roller assembly rotating; and
positioning a collection tray (130) to capture the spiked objects detached from the roller assembly by the scraper.
Regarding claim 14, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 13, wherein forming the frame to receive the propulsion force to move the device along the surface includes configuring the frame to include one or more of:
a connector (106) configured to attach the frame to a vehicle (109), wherein the vehicle provides the propulsion force to move the device along the surface; and
a handle (108) configured to enable a user to push against the frame, wherein the pushing by the user provides the propulsion force to move the device along the surface.
Regarding claim 15, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 13, further including a latch assembly into the roller mounting assembly to enable the roller assembly to be removed from the frame (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 17, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the roller assembly includes:
a cylindrical drum (110); and
a sleeve (112) configured to be laid over an outer surface of the cylindrical drum (col. 3 lines 38-49).
Regarding claim 18, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the sleeve (112) is configured to be removable from the cylindrical drum to enable replacement of the sleeve from the roller assembly (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 19, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the sleeve (112) is made of a material configured to enable the pricky stickers to stick to the sleeve (col. 4 lines 57-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11-12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanosdall (US 9844182 B1) in view of Nagy (US 20220096314 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the latch assembly includes:
a latch (col. 5 lines 4-13) disposed at the first end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a first end of the roller assembly, wherein the latch is configured to keep the first end of the roller assembly engaged with the first end of the roller mounting assembly.
Vanosdall does not disclose a hinge disposed at the second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a second end of the roller assembly, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the first end of the roller assembly to be separated from the first end of the roller mounting assembly while the second end of the roller assembly is engaged with the second end of the roller mounting assembly.
Nagy discloses a roller (111) disposed in a roller mounting assembly (620, 622 see fig. 6) having a first end (the end at 602, fig. 6) engaged with the roller mounting assembly and a hinge (604) disposed at the second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a second end of the roller, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the first end of the roller to be separated from the first end of the roller mounting assembly while the second end of the roller assembly is engaged with the second end of the roller mounting assembly (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the roller assembly of Vanosdall with a hinged end to allow the roller to be pivoted away from the roller mounting assembly for replacement of the roller, as disclosed by Nagy, to allow an operator to replace the roller without completely removing it from the mounting assembly in a more efficient manner.
Regarding claim 11, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 10, wherein disengaging the latch includes:
disengaging the latch disposed at a first end of the roller mounting assembly, the latch configured to engage the first end of the roller assembly, wherein the latch is configured to keep the first end of the roller assembly engaged with the first end of the roller mounting assembly (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Vanosdall does not disclose pivoting the roller assembly about a hinge disposed at a second end of the roller mounting assembly, the hinge configured to engage a second end of the roller assembly, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the first end of the roller assembly to be separated from the first end of the roller mounting assembly while the second end of the roller assembly is engaged with the second end of the roller mounting assembly.
Nagy discloses a roller (111) disposed in a roller mounting assembly (620, 622 see fig. 6) having a first end (the end at 602, fig. 6) engaged with the roller mounting assembly and a hinge (604) disposed at the second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a second end of the roller, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the first end of the roller to be separated from the first end of the roller mounting assembly while the second end of the roller assembly is engaged with the second end of the roller mounting assembly (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the roller assembly of Vanosdall with a hinged end to allow the roller to be pivoted away from the roller mounting assembly for replacement of the roller, as disclosed by Nagy, to allow an operator to replace the roller without completely removing it from the mounting assembly in a more efficient manner.
Regarding claim 12, Vanosdall, of the resultant combination, discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
removing a sleeve (112) from the roller assembly after the first end of the roller assembly is removed from the roller mounting assembly (col. 5 lines 4-13), the sleeve configured to cause the spiked objects disposed along the surface to attach to the sleeve of the roller assembly as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects during the rotation of the roller assembly (col. 4 lines 57-62).
Regarding claim 16, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the latch assembly includes:
a latch disposed at the first end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a first end of the roller assembly, wherein the latch is configured to keep the first end of the roller assembly engaged with the first end of the roller mounting assembly (col. 5 lines 4-13).
Vanosdall does not disclose a hinge disposed at the second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a second end of the roller assembly, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the second end of the roller assembly to be separated from the second end of the roller mounting assembly while the first end of the roller assembly is engaged with the first end of the roller mounting assembly.
Nagy discloses a roller (111) disposed in a roller mounting assembly (620, 622 see fig. 6) having a first end (the end at 602, fig. 6) engaged with the roller mounting assembly and a hinge (604) disposed at the second end of the roller mounting assembly and configured to engage a second end of the roller, wherein the hinge is configured to allow the first end of the roller to be separated from the first end of the roller mounting assembly while the second end of the roller assembly is engaged with the second end of the roller mounting assembly (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the roller assembly of Vanosdall with a hinged end to allow the roller to be pivoted away from the roller mounting assembly for replacement of the roller, as disclosed by Nagy, to allow an operator to replace the roller without completely removing it from the mounting assembly in a more efficient manner.
Claims 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanosdall (US 9844182 B1) in view of Stubbs (US 12310294 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Vanosdall discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the roller assembly further includes a soft layer configured to provide compliance as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects to facilitate the spiked objects attaching to the sleeve (col. 3 lines 38-49).
Vanosdall does not disclose wherein the soft layer is disposed between the drum and the sleeve.
In the same field of endeavor, Stubbs discloses a roller assembly having a soft layer (137) disposed between a drum (135) and a sleeve (136), wherein the soft outer layer may be removed from the drum and replaced (col. 5 lines 21-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to dispose the soft layer of Vanosdall between the sleeve and a drum, as disclosed by Stubbs, so that the drum may be retained with the roller assembly while the soft layer is replaced, reducing the amount of foam discarded.
Regarding claim 20, Vanosdall discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the roller assembly further includes a soft layer configured to provide compliance as the roller assembly rolls over the spiked objects to facilitate the spiked objects attaching to the sleeve (col. 3 lines 38-49).
Vanosdall does not disclose wherein the soft layer is disposed between the drum and the sleeve.
In the same field of endeavor, Stubbs discloses a roller assembly having a soft layer (137) disposed between a drum (135) and a sleeve (136), wherein the soft outer layer may be removed from the drum and replaced (col. 5 lines 21-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to dispose the soft layer of Vanosdall between the sleeve and a drum, as disclosed by Stubbs, so that the drum may be retained with the roller assembly while the soft layer is replaced, reducing the amount of foam discarded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150208588 A1 discloses a lawn roller having a removable outer layer.
/M.I.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671