DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 in response to a Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1, 2, 6, 12, 13, 16, 20, 22, 26, 29, and 32 amended; Claims 3-5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17-19, 21, 23-25, 27, 28, 30, 31, and 33-43 canceled; Claim 45-47 added; Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16, 20, 22, 26, 29, 32, and 44-47 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to this application's amendment to claim 20 to obviate the previous objection. The previous objection to claim 20 is hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to this application's amendment to claim 1, 22, and 32 to obviate the previous 112(b) rejection. The previous 112(b) rejection to claim 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-13, 16, 20, 22, 24-26, 29, 32-33, 35, and 44 is hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to this application's amendment to independent claims 1, 22, and 32 to obviate the previous double patenting rejection. The previous double patenting rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29 recites “a number of configured SRS resources in the SRS resource set transmissions”. It is recommended to amend claim 29 to recite “a number of configured SRS resources in the SRS resource set . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 and 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "transmitting, by the wireless device, codebook based on more than one PUSCH using the applied SRS resource indicator" in last limitations. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 47 are also rejected because it includes limitations of the claims 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16, 22, 26, 29, 32, and 44-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (KHOSHNEVISAN hereinafter) (US 20240048327 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (Matsumura hereinafter) (US 20250344221 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 45, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a wireless device operating in a multiple transmission reception point (MTRP) wireless configuration with a network device, whether a condition for uplink transmission is satisfied (KHOSHNEVISAN; the multi-panel simultaneous transmission scheme 400 may support a PUSCH transmission from a single UE to multiple TRPs 205 of a network entity 105 via different directional beams 405, Par. 0153),
wherein the condition includes that the wireless device is scheduled to transmit more than one physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions simultaneously such that, in a time domain, the more than one PUSCH transmissions at least partially overlap (KHOSHNEVISAN; Fig. 4; In accordance with the multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a single DCI may schedule a PUSCH with two sets of RBs to be transmitted from two different panels with different transmit beams 405, different precoders, Par. 0154), and each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions is associated with a corresponding sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (KHOSHNEVISAN; two sets of RBs may be associated with two SRS resource sets, Par. 0154);
applying, by the wireless device, precoding matrix to each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions (KHOSHNEVISAN; the DCI may include an SRS resource set indicator field, two SRI fields, and two TPMI indices, Par. 0154),
wherein the applying occurs in response to the determining (KHOSHNEVISAN; single-DCI based FDM PUSCH, Par. 0153); and
transmitting, by the wireless device, the more than one PUSCH transmissions using precoding matrix (KHOSHNEVISAN; two TPMI indices … multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a UE 115 may utilize the FDM scheme 410-a, Par. 0154-0155).
Although KHOSHNEVISAN teaches one or more transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) fields, but failed to explicitly teach,
applying a precoding matrix; and
PUSCH transmissions using the applied precoding matrix.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches,
applying a precoding matrix (Matsumura; Fig. 21; the UE may apply precoder C obtained by combining precoders A and B, Par. 0226); and
PUSCH transmissions using the applied precoding matrix (Matsumura; to improve UL throughput and reliability, it is studied to perform multi-beam/multi-panel simultaneous UL transmissions (for example, PUSCH transmissions) to one or more TRPs, Par. 0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN to include the use of enhance TPMI field as taught by Matsumura in order to support larger number of layers for PUSCH transmission (Matsumura; Par. 0198).
Specifically for claim 45, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication comprising one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to implement the method recited in claim 1 (KHOSHNEVISAN; a single UE, Par. 0153).
Regarding claim 22 and claim 46, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a wireless device operating in a multiple transmission reception point (MTRP) wireless configuration with a network device, whether a condition for uplink transmission is satisfied (KHOSHNEVISAN; the multi-panel simultaneous transmission scheme 400 may support a PUSCH transmission from a single UE to multiple TRPs 205 of a network entity 105 via different directional beams 405, Par. 0153),
wherein the condition includes that the wireless device is scheduled to transmit more than one physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions simultaneously such that, in a time domain, the more than one PUSCH transmissions at least partially overlap (KHOSHNEVISAN; Fig. 4; In accordance with the multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a single DCI may schedule a PUSCH with two sets of RBs to be transmitted from two different panels with different transmit beams 405, different precoders, Par. 0154), and each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions is associated with a corresponding sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (KHOSHNEVISAN; two sets of RBs may be associated with two SRS resource sets, Par. 0154);
applying, by the wireless device, sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator according to a rule to each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions (KHOSHNEVISAN; The two SRI fields may each indicate one SRS resource from a corresponding SRS resource set, Par. 0113; TABLE 10),
wherein the applying occurs in response to the determining (KHOSHNEVISAN; single-DCI based FDM PUSCH, Par. 0153); and
transmitting, by the wireless device, the more than one PUSCH transmissions using SRS resource indicator (KHOSHNEVISAN; two SRI fields … multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a UE 115 may utilize the FDM scheme 410-a, Par. 0154-0155).
Although KHOSHNEVISAN teaches one or more SRI fields, but failed to explicitly teach,
applying a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator; and
PUSCH transmissions using the applied SRS resource indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches,
applying a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (Matsumura; The UE may be configured with mapping of SRS resource indication codepoints of each SRS resource set and SRS resources may be configured by RRC/MAC CE, Par. 0139); and
PUSCH transmissions using the applied SRS resource indicator (Matsumura; One SRS resource indicator field indicates one SRI for the first SRS resource set and another SRI for the second SRS resource set, Par. 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN to include the use of one SRI as taught by Matsumura in order to indicate SRS from two SRS resource sets (Matsumura; Par. 0139).
Specifically for claim 46, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication comprising one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to implement the method recited in claim 22 (KHOSHNEVISAN; a single UE, Par. 0153).
Regarding claim 32 and claim 47, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a wireless device operating in a multiple transmission reception point (MTRP) wireless configuration with a network device, whether a condition for uplink transmission is satisfied (KHOSHNEVISAN; the multi-panel simultaneous transmission scheme 400 may support a PUSCH transmission from a single UE to multiple TRPs 205 of a network entity 105 via different directional beams 405, Par. 0153),
wherein the condition includes that the wireless device is scheduled to transmit more than one physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions simultaneously such that, in a time domain, the more than one PUSCH transmissions at least partially overlap (KHOSHNEVISAN; Fig. 4; In accordance with the multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a single DCI may schedule a PUSCH with two sets of RBs to be transmitted from two different panels with different transmit beams 405, different precoders, Par. 0154), and each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions is associated with a corresponding sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (KHOSHNEVISAN; two sets of RBs may be associated with two SRS resource sets, Par. 0154);
transmitting, by the wireless device, codebook based on more than one PUSCH using SRS resource indicator (KHOSHNEVISAN; FIG. 4 shows an example multi-panel transmission scheme 400 that supports techniques for interpreting DCI fields in codebook-based multi-panel deployments … two SRI fields … multi-panel transmission scheme 400, a UE 115 may utilize the FDM scheme 410-a, Par. 0152-0155).
Although KHOSHNEVISAN teaches one or more SRI fields, but failed to explicitly teach,
PUSCH transmissions using the applied SRS resource indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches,
PUSCH transmissions using the applied SRS resource indicator (Matsumura; for a codebook-based PUSCH, a plurality of SRS resource indicator fields may be present in DCI … One SRS resource indicator field indicates one SRI for the first SRS resource set and another SRI for the second SRS resource set. The UE may be configured with mapping of SRS resource indication codepoints of each SRS resource set and SRS resources may be configured by RRC/MAC CE, Par. 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN to include the use of one SRI as taught by Matsumura in order to indicate SRS from two SRS resource sets (Matsumura; Par. 0139).
Specifically for claim 47, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication comprising one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to implement the method recited in claim 32 (KHOSHNEVISAN; a single UE, Par. 0153).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 26, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1 and The method of claim 22 respectively, wherein the more than one PUSCH transmissions comprise one or more PUSCH transmission occasions or one or more PUSCH transmission repetitions (KHOSHNEVISAN; PUSCH repetitions may be scheduled by a single DCI, Par. 0112).
Regarding claim 6, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the precoding matrix represents one or more precoding matrices represent a precoder used over one or more transmission layers (Matsumura; Fig. 24; When the second “enhanced TPMI” field indicates 4, two layers may be indicated for the second SRS resource set/UE coherent group, and precoder A in FIG. 24 may be indicated, Par. 0224).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Matsumura is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein scheduling information is received in a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates precoding information or a field indicative of a number of layers (KHOSHNEVISAN; the DCI may include … two TPMI indices (with a same number of layers), Par. 0154).
Regarding claim 9, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein an overhead of the precoding information and the field is dependent on at least one of: (1) a maximum number of transmission layers, (2) a maximum number of antenna ports (Matsumura; when eight antenna ports/layers are supported in UL, the correspondence between at least part of codepoints of a certain field of DCI and the number of layers/TPMI indices is configured in common for a plurality of codebook subsets. This can suppress an increase in overhead of the certain field of DCI, Par. 0191), or (3) a maximum coherence capability of antenna ports used by the wireless device for one or more PUSCH transmissions.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Matsumura is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein a number of antenna ports used by the more than one PUSCH transmissions satisfy an antenna port number rule, wherein the antenna port number rule is at least one of:
all of the more than one PUSCH transmissions use a same number of antenna ports (KHOSHNEVISAN; Fig. 3);
the more than one PUSCH transmissions use different number of antenna ports;
the more than one PUSCH transmissions use 1, 2,or 4 antennas ports; or
the number of antenna ports for each PUSCH transmission is configured by a higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 13, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein a number of transmission layers of the precoding matrix satisfy a transmission layer rule, wherein the transmission layer rule specifies at least one of:
a same number of transmission layers is used by each of the precoding matrix of the more than one PUSCH transmissions (KHOSHNEVISAN; Fig. 3);
a maximum number of transmission layers used by the more than one PUSCH transmission layers is 2 or 4; or
the maximum number of transmission layers used by the more than one PUSCH transmissions is 1 or 2.
Regarding claim 16, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein in case that each of the more than one PUSCH transmissions uses a different transmission layer, then a different transmission layer is mapped to an antenna port (KHOSHNEVISAN; the multi-panel transmission schemes 300 and 301 may support a PUSCH transmission from a single UE to multiple TRPs 205 of a network entity 105 via … different layers 305, different PUSCH ports 315, Par. 0147).
Regarding claim 29, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 22, wherein an overhead of each SRS resource indicator field of each SRI depends on one or more of following factors:
a maximum number of transmission layers of the more than one PUSCH transmissions; or
a number of configured SRS resources in the SRS resource set transmissions (KHOSHNEVISAN; N.sub.SRS may be a number or quantity of configured SRS resources in an SRS resource set ... The size of the SRI field may be ┌log.sub.2(N.sub.SRS)┐ bits, Par. 0104).
Regarding claim 44, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein a precoding matrix is used to indicate a precoder to be applied over one or more transmission layers (KHOSHNEVISAN; For each pair of (#of layers, #of PUSCH ports), a set of precoding matrices may be defined or supported with corresponding TPMI indices, Par. 0105).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura in view of Echigo et al. (Echigo hereafter) (US 20240259880 A1).
Regarding claim 20, KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura teaches, The method of claim 1.
KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura fails to explicitly teach,
wherein a power ratio of the precoding matrix of the more than one PUSCH transmissions satisfies at least one of:
a higher layer parameter for each PUSCH transmission is set to codebook; or
a linear value corresponding to a total power of the PUSCH transmissions is scaled by a power ratio.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Echigo teaches,
wherein a power ratio of the precoding matrix of the more than one PUSCH transmissions satisfies at least one of:
a higher layer parameter for each PUSCH transmission is set to codebook (Echigo; each power ratio associated with the codepoint may be defined in a specification in advance or may be specified/determined by higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or UE capability, or a combination of these, Par. 0119; Fig. 4B; The UE may determine a precoder to be used for the PUSCH transmission … The UE may be configured with a subset of the codebook specified by the TPMI, by codebookSubset, Par. 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN-Matsumura to include the use of power ratio as taught by Echigo in order to determine power ratio between layers (Echigo; Par. 0111).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416