Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 06/04/2026 has been entered.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must
show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the machine learning model set forth in claim 9; and mechanism that generates electricity from vibration of the guide bar as set forth in claims 15 and 27 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
paragraph:
4. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a replacement time or life remaining” is confusing as it is not clear replacement time or life remaining of what part or which item is evaluated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
6. Claims 8-11, 13-14, 21-23, 25, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baratta (2021/0402539 A1) in view of Azamfar et al. (2022/0187164 A1), hereinafter Azamfar, and in further view of Levinson (2020/0192366 A1). Regarding claim 8, Baratta teaches a guide bar 2902 (Fig. 29) for a chainsaw (paragraph [0143]) comprising: a plate (2904, 2906); onboard circuitry (defined by the sensors and the processing circuitry) coupled to the plate, including: a sensor (1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636); and a processing circuitry (1602) configured to receive measurements from the sensor. Baratta further teaches that the processing circuitry is programmed to determine a performance characteristic of the guide bar based on measurements from the sensor.
However, Baratta does not explicitly teach that: the processing circuitry is programmed to determine an event based on a batch of the measurements from the sensor. In particular, Baratta does not explicitly disclose processing a batch of measurements comprising multiple measurements collected over time.
Azamfar discloses a monitoring system 12 including: sensors 38 configured to generate operational signals (paragraph [0041]); a data acquisition module 48 configured to sample sensor signals and generate digital data (paragraph [0042]); collection of operational data over time, including vibration and other parameters (paragraphs [0041]–[0042]). Azamfar further discloses that signal samples from one or more windows of time may comprise a dataset (paragraph [0055]); datasets are processed (including filtering, outlier removal, and feature extraction) (paragraphs [0055]-[0056]); an analytic engine 44 applies analytic models 54, including machine learning models, to determine a health condition or state of the cutting tool (paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0062]). Thus, Azamfar teaches collecting multiple measurements over time (i.e., a batch of measurements); and determining a tool condition (event/state) based on the batch using analytic models. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baratta’s processing circuitry to determine an event based on a batch of measurements from the sensor, as taught by Azamfar, since both references relate to monitoring cutting tools using sensor data, and processing time-based datasets improves the accuracy and robustness of condition determination.
However, the combination of Baratta and Azamfar does not explicitly teach that responsive to determining the event, measurements associated with the event are stored according to a first storage rule that differs from a second storage rule used for measurements not associated with the event, such as preserving event-associated measurements while permitting non-event measurements to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently.
Levinson teaches event-based data logging in which sensor data associated with a detected event is flagged and stored according to a first storage rule, while sensor data not associated with the event is stored according to a second, different storage rule (paragraphs [0011], [0018]-[0024], [0039]-[0042]). Levinson further teaches preserving event-related data for subsequent analysis, storing such data for longer durations, and allowing non-event data to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently to conserve storage resources (paragraphs [0019]-[0024], [0039]-[0042], [0052]-[0054]). Further, Levinson teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to communicate the log to an external device, such as a remote or external computing device, for monitoring, analysis, or maintenance purposes (paragraphs [0022]–[0026], [0042]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combined system of Baratta and Azamfar to store measurements associated with a determined event according to a first storage rule and measurements not associated with the event according to a second storage rule, as taught by Levinson, because doing so would improve storage efficiency, reduce memory consumption, prioritize retention of diagnostically significant measurement data, and facilitate subsequent analysis of detected events while minimizing storage of less relevant measurement data.
Regarding claim 21, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches the claimed subject matter as set forth in claim 8 above including a plate (2904, 2906; defined by two layers or lamina adhered together) comprising a recess (defined by the recess that receives the processing circuit or electronic unit defined by the other microchip package 1602) and a channel (defined by the channels or openings within tools or adjacent layers or lamina of the tools that receive sensors 1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636 of the microchip package unit 1602; Figs. 16, 18, 26, 29) extending from the recess; and onboard circuitry (defined by eth sensors and the processing circuitry) coupled to the plate and arranged so as not protrude from the plate, the onboard circuitry comprising: a sensor (1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636) positioned in the channel; and processing circuitry (1602) configured to receive measurements from the sensor; wherein the processing circuitry is programmed to determine an event based on a batch of the measurements from the sensor. It should be noted that the sensors and processing circuitry do not protrude from the plate as two layers or lamina adhered together which houses the sensors and the processing circuitry.
However, the combination of Baratta and Azamfar does not explicitly teach that responsive to determining the event, measurements associated with the event are stored according to a first storage rule that differs from a second storage rule used for measurements not associated with the event, such as preserving event-associated measurements while permitting non-event measurements to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently.
Levinson teaches event-based data logging in which sensor data associated with a detected event is flagged and stored according to a first storage rule, while sensor data not associated with the event is stored according to a second, different storage rule (paragraphs [0011], [0018]-[0024], [0039]-[0042]). Levinson further teaches preserving event-related data for subsequent analysis, storing such data for longer durations, and allowing non-event data to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently to conserve storage resources (paragraphs [0019]-[0024], [0039]-[0042], [0052]-[0054]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combined system of Baratta and Azamfar to store measurements associated with a determined event according to a first storage rule and measurements not associated with the event according to a second storage rule, as taught by Levinson, because doing so would improve storage efficiency, reduce memory consumption, prioritize retention of diagnostically significant measurement data, and facilitate subsequent analysis of detected events while minimizing storage of less relevant measurement data.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the processing circuitry (1602, taught by Baratta) is programmed to determine the event by applying the batch of the measurements (as taught by Azamfar) as inputs to a machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output the event. See paragraphs [0078], [0091], [0128], and [0193] in Baratta. Azamfar explicitly teaches that analytic models 54 may include neural networks or other machine learning models (paragraph [0043]); and such models are trained using datasets generated from sensor data (paragraph [0062]). Thus, applying the batch of measurements to a machine learning model to output an event is taught.
Regarding claim 10, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the batch of the measurements (taught by Azamfar) comprises a timeseries of the measurements from the sensor over time. Bratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches that the processing circuitry is programmed to determine the event by determining whether the batch of the measurements indicates the guide bar or a chain used with the guide bar should be replaced. Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, does not explicitly teach determining whether the guide bar or chain should be replaced. However, Azamfar teaches determining tool health condition and degradation levels, including different severity levels of tool condition (paragraphs [0052]–[0053]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine whether the guide bar or chain should be replaced based on the determined condition of the tool.
Regarding claim 11, Baratta teaches everything noted above including that the plate (2904, 2906; defined by two layers or lamina adhered together) comprises a recess (defined by the recess that receives the processing circuit or electronic unit defined by the other microchip package 1602), a channel (defined by the channels or openings within tools or adjacent layers or lamina of the tools that receive sensors 1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636 of the microchip package unit 1602; Figs. 16, 18, 26, 29) formed in the plate as a valley extending from the recess. It should be noted that Baratta in Fig. 55 teaches that the grooves which inherently are in the form of a valley extend from the recess that receives the processing circuitry (5520, 5534). Baratta, also teaches additional channels (defined by the channels for additional sensors of the processing circuitry 1624) formed as additional valleys directly branching from the channel, wherein the onboard circuitry comprises additional sensors (1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636) positioned in the additional channels. It should be noted that the additional channels or groves or valleys branching from one of the channels via the recess.
Regarding claim 23, Baratta teaches everything noted above including a plurality of additional channels extend directly from the channel to a plurality of region the guide bar.
Regarding claim 25, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the processing circuitry is programmed to determine the event by classifying the batch of measurements over time (as taught by Azamfar) between corresponding to normal cutting and corresponding adverse or reduced- performance cutting. Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches classifying a batch of measurements over time. Azamfar teaches distinguishing between different health conditions and severity levels (paragraphs [0052]–[0053]); using analytic models to classify tool condition. Thus, classification between normal and adverse cutting conditions is suggested.
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including wherein the plate (2904, 2906; defined by two layers or lamina adhered together) comprises a recess (defined by the recess that receives the processing circuit or electronic unit defined by the other microchip package 1602), a channel (defined by the channels or openings within tools or adjacent layers or lamina of the tools that receive sensors 1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636 of the microchip package unit 1602; Figs. 16, 18, 26, 29) receiving the sensor (1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636), and a plurality of additional channels (defined by more channels opening for more sensors) extending from the recess, wherein the onboard circuitry comprises a plurality of additional sensors positioned in the plurality of additional channels, wherein the batch of the measurements further comprises additional measurements of a plurality of conditions. It should be noted that Baratta teaches a plurality of channels and sensors positioned therein. Azamfar teaches that multiple sensors 38 may measure different operational parameters, including vibration, force, and motor characteristics (paragraph [0041]). Azamfar further teaches combining such measurements into datasets for analysis (paragraphs [0042], [0055]). Thus, the batch of measurements comprising additional measurements of a plurality of conditions is taught.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the processing circuitry is configured to determine a replacement time or life remaining. It should be noted that Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches determining tool condition. Azamfar teaches generating life cycle trajectories based on operational data (paragraph [0047]); monitoring tool condition over time and updating analytic models (paragraph [0047]), which reasonably corresponds to determining remaining useful life or replacement timing.
Regarding claim 29, Barratta, as modified by Azamfar and Levinson, further teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to communicate the log to an external device, such as a remote or external computing device, for monitoring, analysis, or maintenance purposes (paragraphs [0022]–[0026], [0042] in Levinson).
7. Claims 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baratta in view of Azamfar and Levinson, and in further view of Yin et al. (CN 108638036 A), hereinafter Yin, or unannounced (JP 7083212 B1), herein after 212. Regarding claims 15 and 27, Baratta teaches everything noted above except that that the power source is configured to generate electricity from vibration of the guide bar and provide the electricity to the processing circuitry. It should be noted that Baratta teaches a battery or other form of power could be supplied to the packaging units which also includes sensors. However, Yin teaches a chainsaw including a piezoelectric power generating sheet that converts vibration of the power tool inherently including the guide bar to electricity to charge the batter pack 1. The battery back also provide powers to all the electronic elements including the control system of the power tool. See Figs. 1-2 and pages 4-5 of the translated attached disclosure. 212 also teaches a power tool including a piezoelectric element 11 to convert vibration of the tool to a voltage for powering the tool. See Fig. 2 and translated specification. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Barrat’s chainsaw, as modified by Azamfar and Levinson, with the mechanism to generate electricity form the vibration of the chainsaw and the guide bar, as taught by Yin or 212, in order to harvest the vibration energy of the chainsaw and produce electricity for the chainsaw and its electronic components.
To the degree that it could be argued Baratta does not clearly and explicitly teach that the sensors and the processing circuitry are onboard the plate in a manner that they do not protrude out of the plate as they are placed in the recess and the channels, the rejection below is applied.
8. Claims 8-11, 13-14, 21-23, 25, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baratta in view of Azamfari and Levinson, and in further view of Mekid (2014/0022529 A1). Regarding claim 8, Baratta teaches a guide bar 2902 (Fig. 29) for a chainsaw (paragraph [0143]) comprising: a plate (2904, 2906); onboard circuitry (defined by the sensors and the processing circuitry) coupled to the plate, including: a sensor (1624, 1626, 1628,1630, 1632,1636); and a processing circuitry (1602) configured to receive measurements from the sensor. Baratta further teaches that the processing circuitry is programmed to determine a performance characteristic of the guide bar based on measurements from the sensor.
However, Baratta does not explicitly teach that: the processing circuitry is programmed to determine an event based on a batch of the measurements from the sensor. In particular, Baratta does not explicitly disclose processing a batch of measurements comprising multiple measurements collected over time.
Azamfar discloses a monitoring system 12 including: sensors 38 configured to generate operational signals (paragraph [0041]); a data acquisition module 48 configured to sample sensor signals and generate digital data (paragraph [0042]); collection of operational data over time, including vibration and other parameters (paragraphs [0041]–[0042]). Azamfar further discloses that signal samples from one or more windows of time may comprise a dataset (paragraph [0055]); datasets are processed (including filtering, outlier removal, and feature extraction) (paragraphs [0055]-[0056]); an analytic engine 44 applies analytic models 54, including machine learning models, to determine a health condition or state of the cutting tool (paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0062]). Thus, Azamfar teaches collecting multiple measurements over time (i.e., a batch of measurements); and determining a tool condition (event/state) based on the batch using analytic models. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baratta’s processing circuitry to determine an event based on a batch of measurements from the sensor, as taught by Azamfar, since both references relate to monitoring cutting tools using sensor data, and processing time-based datasets improves the accuracy and robustness of condition determination.
However, the combination of Baratta and Azamfar does not explicitly teach that responsive to determining the event, measurements associated with the event are stored according to a first storage rule that differs from a second storage rule used for measurements not associated with the event, such as preserving event-associated measurements while permitting non-event measurements to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently.
Levinson teaches event-based data logging in which sensor data associated with a detected event is flagged and stored according to a first storage rule, while sensor data not associated with the event is stored according to a second, different storage rule (paragraphs [0011], [0018]-[0024], [0039]-[0042]). Levinson further teaches preserving event-related data for subsequent analysis, storing such data for longer durations, and allowing non-event data to be overwritten, deleted, compressed, or otherwise managed differently to conserve storage resources (paragraphs [0019]-[0024], [0039]-[0042], [0052]-[0054]). Further, Levinson teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to communicate the log to an external device, such as a remote or external computing device, for monitoring, analysis, or maintenance purposes (paragraphs [0022]–[0026], [0042]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combined system of Baratta and Azamfar to store measurements associated with a determined event according to a first storage rule and measurements not associated with the event according to a second storage rule, as taught by Levinson, because doing so would improve storage efficiency, reduce memory consumption, prioritize retention of diagnostically significant measurement data, and facilitate subsequent analysis of detected events while minimizing storage of less relevant measurement data.
Furthermore, it could be argued that Baratta does not explicitly teach that the sensors and processing circuitry are arranged such that they do not protrude from the plate. Mekid teaches a structural material 12 including embedded sensors 14 disposed within channels 42, 44 formed in the structural material (Figs. 4A-4B; paragraphs [0008], [0027]), wherein the sensors are embedded within the material and covered by a layer 40 such that the sensors do not protrude from the surface. Mekid further teaches leads 16 and nodes 24 for transmitting signals from the embedded sensors to processing components (Figs. 1-3A).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baratta’s processing circuitry to determine an event based on a batch of measurements from the sensor, as taught by Azamfar and Levinson, and to further embed the sensors and associated circuitry within the plate such that they do not protrude, as taught by Mekid, since both references relate to monitoring conditions of structural or cutting elements using sensor data, and embedding sensors within a structure improves durability, protection, and measurement reliability while maintaining the structural profile of the component.
Regarding claim 21, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, Levinson and Mekid, teaches the claimed subject matter as set forth in claim 8 above including a plate (2904, 2906; defined by two layers or lamina adhered together) comprising a recess (defined by the recess that receives the processing circuit or electronic unit defined by the microchip package 1602) and a channel (defined by the channels or openings within tools or adjacent layers or lamina of the tools that receive sensors 1624, 1626, 1628, 1630, 1632, 1636; Figs. 16, 18, 26, 29) extending from the recess, and onboard circuitry coupled to the plate. Mekid further supports that the sensors are positioned within channels (42, 44) formed in the structural material (Figs. 4A-4B), such that the sensors are embedded and do not protrude from the surface.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the processing circuitry (1602) is programmed to determine the event by applying the batch of the measurements (as taught by Azamfar) as inputs to a machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is configured to output the event. See paragraphs [0043], [0055]-[0062] in Azamfar.
Regarding claim 10, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the batch of the measurements comprises a time series of the measurements from the sensor over time. Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches that the processing circuitry is programmed to determine the event by determining whether the guide bar or a chain used with the guide bar should be replaced. Although Baratta does not explicitly teach determining replacement, Azamfar teaches determining tool health condition and degradation levels, including severity levels (paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to determine whether the guide bar or chain should be replaced based on the determined condition.
Regarding claim 11, Baratta teaches everything noted above including that the plate (2904, 2906) comprises a recess and a channel formed in the plate as a valley extending from the recess. Mekid further supports forming channels (42, 44) within the structural material to receive embedded sensors (Figs. 4A-4B), reinforcing the arrangement of sensors within non-protruding channels.
Regarding claim 13, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar and Mekid, teaches everything noted above including wherein the plate comprises a recess, a channel receiving the sensor, and a plurality of additional channels extending from the recess. Baratta teaches multiple channels and sensors positioned therein, and Mekid teaches an array of embedded sensors 14 arranged within the structural material (Figs. 1-3A), including multiple sensor placements within the structure. Azamfar teaches that multiple sensors may measure different operational parameters (paragraph [0041]) and that such measurements are combined into datasets (paragraphs [0042], [0055]). Thus, the batch of measurements comprising additional measurements of a plurality of conditions is taught.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Baratta, as modified by Azamfar, teaches everything noted above including that the processing circuitry is configured to determine a replacement time or life remaining. Azamfar teaches generating life cycle trajectories and monitoring tool condition over time (paragraph [0047]), which reasonably corresponds to determining remaining useful life or replacement timing.
Regarding claim 29, Barratta, as modified by Azamfar and Levinson, further teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to communicate the log to an external device, such as a remote or external computing device, for monitoring, analysis, or maintenance purposes (paragraphs [0022]–[0026], [0042] in Levinson).
9. Claims 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baratta in view of Azamfar, Levinson and Mekid, and in further view of Yin or 212. Regarding claims 15 and 27, Baratta teaches everything noted above except that that the power source is configured to generate electricity from vibration of the guide bar and provide the electricity to the processing circuitry. It should be noted that Baratta teaches a battery or other form of power could be supplied to the packaging units which also includes sensors. However, Yin teaches a chainsaw including a piezoelectric power generating sheet that converts vibration of the power tool inherently including the guide bar to electricity to charge the batter pack 1. The battery back also provide powers to all the electronic elements including the control system of the power tool. See Figs. 1-2 and pages 4-5 of the translated attached disclosure. 212 also teaches a power tool including a piezoelectric element 11 to convert vibration of the tool to a voltage for powering the tool. See Fig. 2 and translated specification. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Barrat’s chainsaw, as modified above, with the mechanism to generate electricity form the vibration of the chainsaw and the guide bar, as taught by Yin or 212, in order to harvest the vibration energy of the chainsaw and produce electricity for the chainsaw and its electronic components.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s argument that the machine learning model is shown in the drawings, for example as onboard circuitry 910 and/or processor unit 1002, is not persuasive. The disclosure does not disclose that the circuitry 910 and/or processor unit 1002 as being a “machine learning model.” Th specification clearly is silent as to what constitutes a machine learning model or how such a model is implemented.
Regarding claim 14, applicant’s argument that the breadth of the claim is not indefiniteness is not persuasive because the rejection is not based on claim breadth, but rather on a lack of clarity regarding the scope of the limitation. Specifically, claim 14 recites “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a replacement time or life remaining,” without clearly identifying the object or component for which the replacement time or remaining life is being determined. As such, it is unclear whether the limitation refers to a guide bar, chain, component, or other element of the system. While applicant relies on MPEP 2173.04 for the proposition that breadth is not indefiniteness, the present rejection is directed to ambiguity in the metes and bounds of the claim language itself. A claim is indefinite when it fails to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention. Here, the claim does not reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art as to what item’s life or replacement time is being determined, rendering the scope of the limitation unclear.
Applicant’s arguments that Baratta in view of Azamfari or in further view of Mekid teaches all the claimed subject matter is not persuasive. As stated above Levinson teaches the amended parts of claims 1 and 21.
Conclusion
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
June 17, 2026