DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 19-20 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As presented, the combination of all the elements of independent claim 14 do not appear in a single reference of prior art. Additionally, based on the art of record, it does not appear that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine various pieces of the cited prior art to obtain each and every limitation as currently required by independent claim 14. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to teach the limitations of claim 14, including if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, to receive by the lottery owner system an enrollment request to enroll the virtual lottery ticket into a second change engine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0036690 A1) (hereinafter “Ragnoni”) in view of Szrek et al. (U.S. Pub. 2006/0040726 A1) (hereinafter “Szrek”).
Regarding claim 1, Ragnoni discloses a lottery ticket system for providing an instant lottery game that comprises a virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016], “the disclosure relates generally to a system and method for facilitating an instant lottery game with both physical and virtual instant lottery tickets”), said lottery ticket system comprising:
a virtual instant ticket factory system comprising a first processor and first memory device that stores a first plurality of instructions that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to create a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket for the instant lottery game based on a set of inputs for the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket, the set of inputs comprising a lottery ticket image that comprises an encrypted ticket identifier (Figs. 3-4; [0019]; [0021-0023]; [0035]; [0037]; [0041]; [0048]; [0051], virtual instant ticket factory system 200 which includes one or more processors and one or more memory devices and which uses inputs for the creation of a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the front or back surface of the ticket may include lottery ticket information/variable indicia, such as a validation number that is an encrypted number to uniquely identify the ticket, ticket barcodes, and other instant lottery ticket information that is either or both human readable and/or machine readable, and wherein the system uses inputs for the creation of a virtual instant lottery ticket that are exactly the same as the creation of a physical instant lottery ticket);
a virtual coating key factory system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and comprising a second processor and second memory device that stores a second plurality of instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the second processor to provide an encryption key that is employed to encrypt the digital object to apply a virtual scratch-off-coating to the virtual instant lottery ticket, and responsive to an authorized request to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating received from a lottery player device and comprising the encrypted digital object, decrypt the encrypted digital object to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the virtual coating key factory system is configured to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket only one time to duplicate the effect of a removal of a scratch-off-coating of a physical instant lottery ticket (Fig. 3; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0042]; [0046]; [0049]; [0053], virtual coating key factory system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to provide an encryption key for a virtual coating equivalent of SOC coating and, upon an authorized request, remove the virtual scratch-off coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket);
a lottery owner system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, and comprising a third processor and third memory device that stores a third plurality of instructions that, when executed by the third processor, cause the third processor to receive a scratch off request for the encrypted digital object from the lottery player device, and responsive to such scratch off request, operate with the virtual coating key factory system to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket by providing the encrypted digital object to the lottery player device for generation of the authorized request (Figs. 3 & 7A-7B; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0043]; [0046]; [0065]; [0075-0080], a lottery owner system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to receive a scratch off request for the virtual instant lottery ticket from a lottery player device and facilitate, with the virtual coating key factory system, the scratch off request), and to transmit data associated with a user interface to the lottery player device, wherein the user interface is configured to provide a digital reveal of a result of the virtual instant lottery ticket ([0018]; [0065]; [0075-0080], wherein following the facilitation of the scratch-off request, the ticket bundle including the digital object is sent back to the lottery player device, comprising a user interface, and is indicative of a winning or losing result), the digital reveal comprising a display of the lottery ticket image and the encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image ([0018-0019]; [0021-0023]; [0051-0052]; [0065]; [0075-0080], where the lottery ticket image indicates some or all of the variable indicia (i.e., validation number) of a lottery ticket, and wherein the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket is the same as that of a physical instant lottery ticket), and
wherein the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system are configured to communicate with each other, and the virtual instant ticket factory system and the lottery owner system are configured to communicate with each other (Figs. 3-4; [0047-0049]).
Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose wherein the lottery ticket image further includes a security key comprising a decryption key employable to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier that uniquely identifies the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the digital reveal correspondingly reveals the security key along with the virtual instant lottery ticket image and encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image. However, Szrek, directed to authentication of lottery tickets ([0019]), teaches wherein the lottery ticket may have a card identifier that may identify the ticket and which is generated by encrypting a ticket identifier, as well as one or more decryption keys, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier, included thereon (Fig. 5, card identifier 514 and decryption key 524; [0046]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the decryption key(s) can be hidden on the ticket). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a decryption key, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier (e.g., encrypted validation number), as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Regarding claim 22, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose, however, Szrek teaches wherein the decryption key is generated by one of the virtual instant ticket factory system, the virtual coating key factory system, the lottery owner system, a notary system, or an independent system (Figs 2-4; [0045-0047]; [0052-0053]; [0057], wherein, for example, the decryption key can be created by encrypting device 200). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a generated decryption key, as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Walker et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0256397 A1) (hereinafter “Walker”).
Regarding claim 2, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is configured to receive input from a user to configure the digital reveal. However, Walker, directed to communicating a lottery outcome ([0015]), teaches this limitation ([0059], wherein the user may be able to select a desired audio to be associated with a winning outcome, a desired audio to be associated with a losing outcome, and/or desired audio for different payout amounts). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to select desired reveal settings, as taught by Walker, via the user interface of the lottery player device in Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and customize the outcome reveal.
Regarding claim 5, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises playing an audio file, wherein the audio file indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Walker teaches that limitation ([0016]; [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an audio file indicative of a lottery outcome, as taught by Walker, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view Szrek, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Osborne (U.S. Pub. 2010/0317423 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a result animation, wherein the result animation indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne, directed to an interactive scratch card gaming system ([0009]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0025], wherein animations may be activated congratulating winners, consoling losers, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a result animation indicative of the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide an entertaining outcome notification to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off animation, wherein the scratch-off animation simulates scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating by revealing a subset of symbols associated with a lottery game associated with the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0022-0024]; [0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off animation simulating scratching off a physical scratch-off coating, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Osborne, [0019]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hill (U.S. Pub. 2016/0225230 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises producing result haptic vibrations via the player device, wherein the result haptic vibrations indicate the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Hill, directed to determining a result of a lottery ticket ([0034]), teaches this limitation ([0051], wherein, in response to determining a winning lottery ticket, a user is notified via a vibratory alert). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a haptic vibration indicative of a result of a lottery ticket, as taught by Hill, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Birnbaum et al. (CN 102906667 B) (hereinafter “Birnbaum”).
Regarding claim 7, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off haptic vibration, wherein the scratch-off haptic vibration simulates the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating. However, Birnbaum, directed to a simulated scratch-off game (Fig. 9; p. 22, ln. 19-21), teaches this limitation (p. 22, ln. 19-21, wherein haptic effects can be used as the covering of a virtual lottery ticket is scratched away (e.g., texture changes from scratchy to smooth)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off haptic vibration simulating the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating, as taught by Birnbaum, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Birnbaum, p. 2, ln. 13-17).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Walker.
Regarding claim 8, Ragnoni discloses a lottery ticket system for providing an instant lottery game that comprises a virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016], “the disclosure relates generally to a system and method for facilitating an instant lottery game with both physical and virtual instant lottery tickets”), said lottery ticket system comprising:
a virtual instant ticket factory system comprising a first processor and first memory device that stores a first plurality of instructions that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to create a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket for the instant lottery game based on a set of inputs for the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket, the set of inputs comprising a lottery ticket image that comprises an encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image (Figs. 3-4; [0019]; [0021-0023]; [0035]; [0037]; [0041]; [0048]; [0051], virtual instant ticket factory system 200 which includes one or more processors and one or more memory devices and which uses inputs for the creation of a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the front or back surface of the ticket may include lottery ticket information/variable indicia, such as a validation number that is an encrypted number to uniquely identify the ticket, ticket barcodes, and other instant lottery ticket information that is either or both human readable and/or machine readable, and wherein the system uses inputs for the creation of a virtual instant lottery ticket that are exactly the same as the creation of a physical instant lottery ticket);
a virtual coating key factory system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and comprising a second processor and second memory device that stores a second plurality of instructions that, when executed by the second processor, causes the second processor to provide an encryption key that is employed to encrypt the digital object to apply a virtual scratch-off-coating to the virtual instant lottery ticket, and responsive to an authorized request to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating received from a lottery player device and comprising the encrypted digital object, decrypt the encrypted digital object to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the virtual coating key factory system is configured to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket only one time to duplicate the effect of a removal of a scratch-off-coating of a physical instant lottery ticket (Fig. 3; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0042]; [0046]; [0049]; [0053], virtual coating key factory system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to provide an encryption key for a virtual coating equivalent of SOC coating and, upon an authorized request, remove the virtual scratch-off coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket); and
a lottery owner system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, and comprising a third processor and third memory device that stores a third plurality of instructions that, when executed by the third processor, causes the third processor to receive a scratch off request for the encrypted digital object from the lottery player device, and responsive to such scratch off request, operate with the virtual coating key factory system to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the encrypted digital object by providing the encrypted digital object to the lottery player device for generation of the authorized request (Figs. 3 & 7A-7B; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0043]; [0046]; [0065]; [0075-0080], a lottery owner system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to receive a scratch off request for the virtual instant lottery ticket from a lottery player device and facilitate, with the virtual coating key factory system, the scratch off request), and to transmit data associated with a user interface to the lottery player device ([0018]; [0065]; [0075-0080], wherein following the facilitation of the scratch-off request, the ticket bundle including the digital object is sent back to the lottery player device, comprising a user interface, and is indicative of a winning or losing result), the digital reveal comprising a display of the lottery ticket image and the encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image([0018-0019]; [0021-0023]; [0051-0052]; [0065]; [0075-0080], where the lottery ticket image indicates some or all of the variable indicia (including that which indicates validation numbers or other variable information, e.g., barcode) of a lottery ticket, and wherein the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket is the same as that of a physical instant lottery ticket),
wherein the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system are configured to communicate with each other, and the virtual instant ticket factory system and the lottery owner system are configured to communicate with each other (Figs. 3-4; [0047-0049]).
Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose wherein the lottery ticket image further includes a security key comprising a decryption key employable to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier that uniquely identifies the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the digital reveal correspondingly reveals the security key along with the virtual instant lottery ticket image and encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image. However, Szrek, directed to authentication of lottery tickets ([0019]), teaches wherein the lottery ticket may have a card identifier that may identify the ticket and which is generated by encrypting a ticket identifier, as well as one or more decryption keys, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier, included thereon (Fig. 5, card identifier 514 and decryption key 524; [0046]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the decryption key(s) can be hidden on the ticket). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a decryption key, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier (e.g., encrypted validation number), as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Additionally, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is configured to receive user input regarding the digital reveal of a result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Walker teaches this limitation ([0059], wherein the user may be able to select a desired audio to be associated with a winning outcome, a desired audio to be associated with a losing outcome, and/or desired audio for different payout amounts). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to select desired reveal settings, as taught by Walker, via the user interface of the lottery player device in Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and customize the outcome reveal.
Regarding claim 11, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose, however, Walker teaches wherein the digital reveal comprises playing an audio file, wherein the audio file indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016]; [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an audio file indicative of a lottery outcome, as taught by Walker, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Walker, as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Osborne.
Regarding claim 9, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a result animation wherein the result animation indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne, directed to an interactive scratch card gaming system ([0009]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0025], wherein animations may be activated congratulating winners, consoling losers, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a result animation indicative of the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide an entertaining outcome notification to the user.
Regarding claim 12, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off animation, wherein the scratch-off animation simulates scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating by revealing a subset of symbols associated with a lottery game associated with the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0022-0024]; [0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off animation simulating scratching off a physical scratch-off coating, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Osborne, [0019]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Walker, as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Hill.
Regarding claim 10, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises producing haptic vibrations via the player device, wherein the result haptic vibrations indicate the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Hill, directed to determining a result of a lottery ticket ([0034]), teaches this limitation ([0051], wherein, in response to determining a winning lottery ticket, a user is notified via a vibratory alert). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a haptic vibration indicative of a result of a lottery ticket, as taught by Hill, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Walker, as applied to claim 8, and in further view Birnbaum.
Regarding claim 13, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off haptic vibration, wherein the scratch-off haptic vibration simulates the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating. However, Birnbaum, directed to a simulated scratch-off game (Fig. 9; p. 22, ln. 19-21), teaches this limitation (p. 22, ln. 19-21, wherein haptic effects can be used as the covering of a virtual lottery ticket is scratched away (e.g., texture changes from scratchy to smooth)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off haptic vibration simulating the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating, as taught by Birnbaum, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Birnbaum, p. 2, ln. 13-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
The rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims, filed 03/05/26.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection presented herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. 2008/0287176 A1 – This reference teaches a lottery ticket security method, wherein encryption and decryption keys are used during the ticket manufacturing process to enhance security.
/ALYSSA N BRANDLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715