DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
The Non-Final Rejection, filed 04/03/26, p. 2, recites in part “As presented, the combination of all elements of independent claim 14 do not appear in a single reference of prior art. Additionally, based on the art of record, it does not appear that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine various pieces of the cited prior art to obtain each and every limitation as currently required by independent claim 14. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to teach the limitations of claim 14, including if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, to receive by the lottery owner system an enrollment request to enroll the virtual lottery ticket into a second chance engine.”
It is acknowledged that this recitation is ambiguous as to the allowable subject matter of claim 14. Accordingly, this non-final rejection is herein presented for clarification purposes.
Independent claims 1 and 8 have been amended to recite “if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, receive an enrollment request to enroll the virtual instant lottery ticket into a second chance engine” (Claims, filed 06/22/26). However, as previously noted in the Non-Final Rejection filed 09/23/25, pp. 18-20, while Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, receiving a request to enroll the virtual instant lottery ticket into a second chance engine, Mound (U.S. Pub. 2015/0310696 A1) teaches wherein the practice has been adopted to allow a player to enroll their losing lottery ticket into second chance games ([0003-0004]; [0015]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user of the virtual instant lottery ticket of Ragnoni to request to enroll said ticket into a second chance engine, as taught by Mound, in order to provide for the same game play possibilities as a physical instant lottery ticket and to provide for an additional chance to win.
The claim amendments filed 12/11/25 amended claim 14 to further recite, “a notary system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, the virtual coating key factory system, and the lottery owner system, the notary system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory device operable to track and apply digital signatures to the digital object, wherein the lottery owner system is operable with the notary system, for at least the enrollment request to enroll the non-winning virtual instant lottery ticket into the second chance engine, to send the digital object to the notary system to enable the notary system to track the enrollment request and to apply one of the digital signatures to the digital object”. Applicant argued that Mound teaches entering a unique identifier from losing game tickets into a central server system for a second chance game, either automatically or upon purchase of the ticket or optionally by a player using an internet enabled device ([0014-0015]), but failing to mention applying a digital signature to a digital object or sending a digital object via enrollment request to a notary system to enable the notary system to track an enrollment request and to apply a digital signature to the digital object (Remarks, filed 12/11/25).
Examiner noted in the Final Rejection, filed 01/14/26, p. 3 that these arguments with respect to claim 14 and its dependent claims were persuasive and therefore the prior art rejections of those claims have been withdrawn. Further, the Final Rejection, filed 01/14/26, p. 18 stated that “No prior art is provided for claims 14-16 and 19-20. As presented, the combination of all the elements of independent claim 14 do not appear in a single reference of prior art. Additionally, based on the art of record, it does not appear that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine various pieces of the cited prior art to obtain each and every limitation as currently required by independent claim 14.”
Therefore, while the Non-Final Rejection, filed 04/03/26, p. 2 states that the “cited prior art fails to teach the limitations of claim 14, including if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, to receive by the lottery owner system an enrollment request to enroll the virtual lottery ticket into a second chance engine”, Examiner notes that, as indicated in the prosecution history, the cited prior art fails to disclose the recited limitation of claim 14 in combination with the limitations “a notary system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, the virtual coating key factory system, and the lottery owner system, the notary system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory device operable to track and apply digital signatures to the digital object, wherein the lottery owner system is operable with the notary system, for at least the enrollment request to enroll the non-winning virtual instant lottery ticket into the second chance engine, to send the digital object to the notary system to enable the notary system to track the enrollment request and to apply one of the digital signatures to the digital object”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasoning discussed above under “Examiner Notes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0036690 A1) (hereinafter “Ragnoni”) in view of Szrek et al. (U.S. Pub. 2006/0040726 A1) (hereinafter “Szrek”) and Mound (U.S. Pub. 2015/0310696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ragnoni discloses a lottery ticket system for providing an instant lottery game that comprises a virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016], “the disclosure relates generally to a system and method for facilitating an instant lottery game with both physical and virtual instant lottery tickets”), said lottery ticket system comprising:
a virtual instant ticket factory system comprising a first processor and first memory device that stores a first plurality of instructions that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to create a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket for the instant lottery game based on a set of inputs for the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket, the set of inputs comprising a lottery ticket image that comprises an encrypted ticket identifier (Figs. 3-4; [0019]; [0021-0023]; [0035]; [0037]; [0041]; [0048]; [0051], virtual instant ticket factory system 200 which includes one or more processors and one or more memory devices and which uses inputs for the creation of a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the front or back surface of the ticket may include lottery ticket information/variable indicia, such as a validation number that is an encrypted number to uniquely identify the ticket, ticket barcodes, and other instant lottery ticket information that is either or both human readable and/or machine readable, and wherein the system uses inputs for the creation of a virtual instant lottery ticket that are exactly the same as the creation of a physical instant lottery ticket);
a virtual coating key factory system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and comprising a second processor and second memory device that stores a second plurality of instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the second processor to provide an encryption key that is employed to encrypt the digital object to apply a virtual scratch-off-coating to the virtual instant lottery ticket, and responsive to an authorized request to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating received from a lottery player device and comprising the encrypted digital object, decrypt the encrypted digital object to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the virtual coating key factory system is configured to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket only one time to duplicate the effect of a removal of a scratch-off-coating of a physical instant lottery ticket (Fig. 3; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0042]; [0046]; [0049]; [0053], virtual coating key factory system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to provide an encryption key for a virtual coating equivalent of SOC coating and, upon an authorized request, remove the virtual scratch-off coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket);
a lottery owner system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, and comprising a third processor and third memory device that stores a third plurality of instructions that, when executed by the third processor, cause the third processor to receive a scratch off request for the encrypted digital object from the lottery player device, and responsive to such scratch off request, operate with the virtual coating key factory system to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket by providing the encrypted digital object to the lottery player device for generation of the authorized request (Figs. 3 & 7A-7B; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0043]; [0046]; [0065]; [0075-0080], a lottery owner system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to receive a scratch off request for the virtual instant lottery ticket from a lottery player device and facilitate, with the virtual coating key factory system, the scratch off request), and to transmit data associated with a user interface to the lottery player device, wherein the user interface is configured to provide a digital reveal of a result of the virtual instant lottery ticket ([0018]; [0065]; [0075-0080], wherein following the facilitation of the scratch-off request, the ticket bundle including the digital object is sent back to the lottery player device, comprising a user interface, and is indicative of a winning or losing result), the digital reveal comprising a display of the lottery ticket image and the encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image ([0018-0019]; [0021-0023]; [0051-0052]; [0065]; [0075-0080], where the lottery ticket image indicates some or all of the variable indicia (i.e., validation number) of a lottery ticket, and wherein the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket is the same as that of a physical instant lottery ticket), and
wherein the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system are configured to communicate with each other, and the virtual instant ticket factory system and the lottery owner system are configured to communicate with each other (Figs. 3-4; [0047-0049]).
Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose wherein the lottery ticket image further includes a security key comprising a decryption key employable to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier that uniquely identifies the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the digital reveal correspondingly reveals the security key along with the virtual instant lottery ticket image and encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image. However, Szrek, directed to authentication of lottery tickets ([0019]), teaches wherein the lottery ticket may have a card identifier that may identify the ticket and which is generated by encrypting a ticket identifier, as well as one or more decryption keys, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier, included thereon (Fig. 5, card identifier 514 and decryption key 524; [0046]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the decryption key(s) can be hidden on the ticket). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a decryption key, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier (e.g., encrypted validation number), as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Additionally, Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, receiving a request to enroll the virtual instant lottery ticket into a second chance engine. However, Mound teaches wherein the practice has been adopted to allow a player to enroll their losing lottery ticket into second chance games ([0003-0004]; [0015]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user of the virtual instant lottery ticket of Ragnoni to request to enroll said ticket into a second chance engine, as taught by Mound, in order to provide for the same game play possibilities as a physical instant lottery ticket and to provide for an additional chance to win.
Regarding claim 22, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose, however, Szrek teaches wherein the decryption key is generated by one of the virtual instant ticket factory system, the virtual coating key factory system, the lottery owner system, a notary system, or an independent system (Figs 2-4; [0045-0047]; [0052-0053]; [0057], wherein, for example, the decryption key can be created by encrypting device 200). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a generated decryption key, as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Mound, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Walker et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0256397 A1) (hereinafter “Walker”).
Regarding claim 2, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is configured to receive input from a user to configure the digital reveal. However, Walker, directed to communicating a lottery outcome ([0015]), teaches this limitation ([0059], wherein the user may be able to select a desired audio to be associated with a winning outcome, a desired audio to be associated with a losing outcome, and/or desired audio for different payout amounts). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to select desired reveal settings, as taught by Walker, via the user interface of the lottery player device in Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and customize the outcome reveal.
Regarding claim 5, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises playing an audio file, wherein the audio file indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Walker teaches that limitation ([0016]; [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an audio file indicative of a lottery outcome, as taught by Walker, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view Szrek and Mound, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Osborne (U.S. Pub. 2010/0317423 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a result animation, wherein the result animation indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne, directed to an interactive scratch card gaming system ([0009]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0025], wherein animations may be activated congratulating winners, consoling losers, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a result animation indicative of the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide an entertaining outcome notification to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off animation, wherein the scratch-off animation simulates scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating by revealing a subset of symbols associated with a lottery game associated with the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0022-0024]; [0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off animation simulating scratching off a physical scratch-off coating, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Osborne, [0019]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Mound, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hill (U.S. Pub. 2016/0225230 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises producing result haptic vibrations via the player device, wherein the result haptic vibrations indicate the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Hill, directed to determining a result of a lottery ticket ([0034]), teaches this limitation ([0051], wherein, in response to determining a winning lottery ticket, a user is notified via a vibratory alert). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a haptic vibration indicative of a result of a lottery ticket, as taught by Hill, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek and Mound, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Birnbaum et al. (CN 102906667 B) (hereinafter “Birnbaum”).
Regarding claim 7, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off haptic vibration, wherein the scratch-off haptic vibration simulates the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating. However, Birnbaum, directed to a simulated scratch-off game (Fig. 9; p. 22, ln. 19-21), teaches this limitation (p. 22, ln. 19-21, wherein haptic effects can be used as the covering of a virtual lottery ticket is scratched away (e.g., texture changes from scratchy to smooth)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off haptic vibration simulating the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating, as taught by Birnbaum, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Birnbaum, p. 2, ln. 13-17).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, Walker, and Mound.
Regarding claim 8, Ragnoni discloses a lottery ticket system for providing an instant lottery game that comprises a virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016], “the disclosure relates generally to a system and method for facilitating an instant lottery game with both physical and virtual instant lottery tickets”), said lottery ticket system comprising:
a virtual instant ticket factory system comprising a first processor and first memory device that stores a first plurality of instructions that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to create a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket for the instant lottery game based on a set of inputs for the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket, the set of inputs comprising a lottery ticket image that comprises an encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image (Figs. 3-4; [0019]; [0021-0023]; [0035]; [0037]; [0041]; [0048]; [0051], virtual instant ticket factory system 200 which includes one or more processors and one or more memory devices and which uses inputs for the creation of a digital object representing the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the front or back surface of the ticket may include lottery ticket information/variable indicia, such as a validation number that is an encrypted number to uniquely identify the ticket, ticket barcodes, and other instant lottery ticket information that is either or both human readable and/or machine readable, and wherein the system uses inputs for the creation of a virtual instant lottery ticket that are exactly the same as the creation of a physical instant lottery ticket);
a virtual coating key factory system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and comprising a second processor and second memory device that stores a second plurality of instructions that, when executed by the second processor, causes the second processor to provide an encryption key that is employed to encrypt the digital object to apply a virtual scratch-off-coating to the virtual instant lottery ticket, and responsive to an authorized request to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating received from a lottery player device and comprising the encrypted digital object, decrypt the encrypted digital object to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the virtual coating key factory system is configured to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket only one time to duplicate the effect of a removal of a scratch-off-coating of a physical instant lottery ticket (Fig. 3; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0042]; [0046]; [0049]; [0053], virtual coating key factory system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to provide an encryption key for a virtual coating equivalent of SOC coating and, upon an authorized request, remove the virtual scratch-off coating from the virtual instant lottery ticket); and
a lottery owner system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, and comprising a third processor and third memory device that stores a third plurality of instructions that, when executed by the third processor, causes the third processor to receive a scratch off request for the encrypted digital object from the lottery player device, and responsive to such scratch off request, operate with the virtual coating key factory system to remove the virtual scratch-off-coating from the encrypted digital object by providing the encrypted digital object to the lottery player device for generation of the authorized request (Figs. 3 & 7A-7B; [0006]; [0035]; [0037]; [0043]; [0046]; [0065]; [0075-0080], a lottery owner system, separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system, comprising one or more processors and one or more memory devices, and configured to receive a scratch off request for the virtual instant lottery ticket from a lottery player device and facilitate, with the virtual coating key factory system, the scratch off request), and to transmit data associated with a user interface to the lottery player device ([0018]; [0065]; [0075-0080], wherein following the facilitation of the scratch-off request, the ticket bundle including the digital object is sent back to the lottery player device, comprising a user interface, and is indicative of a winning or losing result), the digital reveal comprising a display of the lottery ticket image and the encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image([0018-0019]; [0021-0023]; [0051-0052]; [0065]; [0075-0080], where the lottery ticket image indicates some or all of the variable indicia (including that which indicates validation numbers or other variable information, e.g., barcode) of a lottery ticket, and wherein the creation of the virtual instant lottery ticket is the same as that of a physical instant lottery ticket),
wherein the virtual instant ticket factory system and the virtual coating key factory system are configured to communicate with each other, and the virtual instant ticket factory system and the lottery owner system are configured to communicate with each other (Figs. 3-4; [0047-0049]).
Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose wherein the lottery ticket image further includes a security key comprising a decryption key employable to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier that uniquely identifies the virtual instant lottery ticket, wherein the digital reveal correspondingly reveals the security key along with the virtual instant lottery ticket image and encrypted ticket identifier incorporated into the lottery ticket image. However, Szrek, directed to authentication of lottery tickets ([0019]), teaches wherein the lottery ticket may have a card identifier that may identify the ticket and which is generated by encrypting a ticket identifier, as well as one or more decryption keys, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier to generate a ticket identifier, included thereon (Fig. 5, card identifier 514 and decryption key 524; [0046]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the decryption key(s) can be hidden on the ticket). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a decryption key, which may be used to decrypt the encrypted ticket identifier (e.g., encrypted validation number), as taught by Szrek, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and for ticket authenticity validation (Szrek, [0019]; [0039]; [0072-0073]; [0079], wherein the encryption key(s) and/or decryption key(s) may be generated to verify that the lottery ticket is authentic).
Additionally, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is configured to receive user input regarding the digital reveal of a result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Walker teaches this limitation ([0059], wherein the user may be able to select a desired audio to be associated with a winning outcome, a desired audio to be associated with a losing outcome, and/or desired audio for different payout amounts). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to select desired reveal settings, as taught by Walker, via the user interface of the lottery player device in Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and customize the outcome reveal.
Further, Ragnoni may not explicitly disclose if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, receiving a request to enroll the virtual instant lottery ticket into a second chance engine. However, Mound teaches wherein the practice has been adopted to allow a player to enroll their losing lottery ticket into second chance games ([0003-0004]; [0015]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user of the virtual instant lottery ticket of Ragnoni to request to enroll said ticket into a second chance engine, as taught by Mound, in order to provide for the same game play possibilities as a physical instant lottery ticket and to provide for an additional chance to win.
Regarding claim 11, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose, however, Walker teaches wherein the digital reveal comprises playing an audio file, wherein the audio file indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket ([0016]; [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an audio file indicative of a lottery outcome, as taught by Walker, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, Walker, and Mound, as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Osborne.
Regarding claim 9, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a result animation wherein the result animation indicates the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne, directed to an interactive scratch card gaming system ([0009]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0025], wherein animations may be activated congratulating winners, consoling losers, etc.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a result animation indicative of the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide an entertaining outcome notification to the user.
Regarding claim 12, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off animation, wherein the scratch-off animation simulates scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating by revealing a subset of symbols associated with a lottery game associated with the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Osborne teaches this limitation (Fig. 3; [0022-0024]; [0032]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off animation simulating scratching off a physical scratch-off coating, as taught by Osborne, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Osborne, [0019]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, Walker, and Mound, as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Hill.
Regarding claim 10, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises producing haptic vibrations via the player device, wherein the result haptic vibrations indicate the result of the virtual instant lottery ticket. However, Hill, directed to determining a result of a lottery ticket ([0034]), teaches this limitation ([0051], wherein, in response to determining a winning lottery ticket, a user is notified via a vibratory alert). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a haptic vibration indicative of a result of a lottery ticket, as taught by Hill, in the invention of Ragnoni in order to achieve the claimed invention and provide the result to the user of the lottery player device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragnoni in view of Szrek, Walker, and Mound, as applied to claim 8, and in further view Birnbaum.
Regarding claim 13, Ragnoni may not further explicitly disclose wherein the digital reveal comprises a scratch-off haptic vibration, wherein the scratch-off haptic vibration simulates the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating. However, Birnbaum, directed to a simulated scratch-off game (Fig. 9; p. 22, ln. 19-21), teaches this limitation (p. 22, ln. 19-21, wherein haptic effects can be used as the covering of a virtual lottery ticket is scratched away (e.g., texture changes from scratchy to smooth)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scratch-off haptic vibration simulating the sensation of scratching off a physical scratch-off-coating, as taught by Birnbaum, in the invention of Ragnoni to achieve the claimed invention and provide more realistic game play (Birnbaum, p. 2, ln. 13-17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 19-20 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As presented, the combination of all the elements of independent claim 14 do not appear in a single reference of prior art. Additionally, based on the art of record, it does not appear that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine various pieces of the cited prior art to obtain each and every limitation as currently required by independent claim 14. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to teach “if the virtual instant lottery ticket is a non-winning ticket, to receive by the lottery owner system an enrollment request to enroll the virtual lottery ticket into a second change engine, and a notary system separate and independent from the virtual instant ticket factory system, the virtual coating key factory system, and the lottery owner system, the notary system comprising a fourth processor and fourth memory device operable to track and apply digital signatures to the digital object, wherein the lottery owner system is operable with the notary system, for at least the enrollment request to enroll the non-winning virtual instant lottery ticket into the second chance engine, to send the digital object to the notary system to enable the notary system to track the enrollment request and to apply one of the digital signatures to the digital object”.
Conclusion
/ALYSSA N BIANCAMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3715