DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/10/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. The examiner is re-opening and thus sending out a non-final action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 101782092; See English Machine Translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a wiper blade control system for a vehicle (abstract, figs 1-3), said wiper blade control system comprising: a wiper blade (6a/11); a control unit (300); a temperature sensor (400); and a wiper blade elevation actuator (100/200) coupled to the wiper blade and operable to move the wiper blade onto and off a vehicle windshield (para 0018), wherein the control unit is connected to the temperature sensor and to the wiper blade elevation actuator (para 0019 and 0025).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches wherein the temperature sensor provides an indication of an external temperature to the control unit (para 0017-0018 and 0025).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches wherein the wiper blade elevation actuator is operable to lift the wiper blade to a raised position in which the wiper blade is raised off and away from a windshield in response to a first signal from the control unit (para 0025), and to lower the wiper blade from the raised position onto the windshield so that the wiper blade is again in contact with the windshield in response to a second signal from the control unit (para 0027).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein, in the raised position, the wiper blade overlaps the windshield and is not in contact with the windshield (para 0018-0019 and 0025; separated from windshield).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein the wiper blade is part of a set of wiper blades that are connected to the wiper blade elevation actuator (para 0007, 0011, and 0030) and wherein the wiper blade elevation actuator is configured to raise the set of wiper blades off a windshield in response to a first signal from the control unit and to lower the wiper blades (para 0007, 0011, and 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 101782092; See English Machine Translation provided) and further in view of Brown et al. (U.S Patent 9,783,166).
Regarding claim 3, Park fails to teach at least one windshield monitoring camera and at least one windshield precipitation monitor both of which provide an output to the control unit. However, Brown also teaches a windshield cleaning and wiping system wherein at least one windshield monitoring camera (26) and at least one windshield precipitation monitor (24) (col 2 lines 2-10) both of which provide an output to the control unit (col 2 lines 25-35 and lines 45-50) in order to determine an action to be taken on the windshield. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park such that there is at least one windshield monitoring camera and at least one windshield precipitation monitor both of which provide an output to the control unit as taught by Brown in order to determine an action to be taken on the windshield.
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches temperature sensor, but fails to teach wherein said temperature sensor provides an indication of an internal temperature to the control unit. However, Brown also teaches a windshield cleaning and wiping system wherein said temperature sensor provides an indication of an internal temperature to the control unit (claim 10 and col 2 lines 45-50; temperature of the windshield reads on internal temperature) in order to achieve the predicable result of detecting a condition of the windshield for determining an action to be taken. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park such that wherein said temperature sensor also provides an indication of an internal temperature to the control unit as taught by Brown in order to detect a condition of the windshield for determining an action to be taken.
Conclusion
/P.P/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714