DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/7/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US 4,957,486) . In regard to claim 1, Davis discloses a multi-working channel device ( see Fig.1 and 3 ) for balloon assisted containment of insufflated robotic/endoscopic operative fields (functional limitation) , the multi-working channel device comprising: a. a cylindrical assembly ( 19 ) comprising: i. a proximal end ( 23 ), ii. a distal end (2 5 ), iii. an interior space ( any space inside 19 ), iv. an aperture ( openings at 29 and 31 ), b. a longitudinally extending tube ( 21 ) comprising: i. a proximal end ( 39 ), ii. a distal end ( 37 ) coterminous with the distal end (25) of the cylindrical assembly (19) (the tube 21 is inserted through 19 and can be coterminous with 19) , and iii. a balloon ( 45 ) operatively connected to the longitudinally extending tube distal end (see Fig. 2) , and c. a stylet ( 85 ) having a proximal end ( proximal end of 85 ) and a distal end ( distal end of 85 ), wherein the distal end is operatively connected to the balloon (see Fig. 3) , whereby the stylet (85) can be adjusted between a home position ( any position of 21 inside 19 ), wherein the balloon (45) is at least partially within the longitudinally extending tube (the balloon would be inside 19 at these positions) , and an active position ( see Fig. 3 ), wherein the balloon (45) is deployed from the longitudinally extending tube (see Fig. 3) , whereby the stylet (85) selectively urges the balloon to the active position (see col. 6, lines 17-25) , whereby the balloon is selectively inflated through the longitudinally extending tube (see at least col. 4, lines 52-57, col. 6, lines 11-16) . In regard to claim 2, Davis discloses wherein the balloon (45) is operatively connected along the entire circumference of the distal end of the longitudinally extending tube (see Fig. 2) . In regard to claim 3, Davis discloses wherein the longitudinally extending tube (21) further comprises an auxiliary tube (57) and a balloon filling port (59) . In regard to claims 4-5, Davis discloses wherein the balloon (45) is filled with air, wherein the balloon is filled with fluid (see at least col. 4, lines 52-57, col. 6, lines 11-16) . In regard to claims 6-10, see the rejections directly above as the examiner believes all of the limitations are adequately addressed. The distal end of the tube is adjacent with the distal end of the cylindrical assembly when the tube is inserted through the assembly. In regard to claim 11, Davis discloses a cylindrical assembly ( 19 ) comprising: i. a main channel ( the inflation channel leading to 35; “main” does not impart any particular structure ), ii. a proximal end ( 23 ), iii. a plurality of side-working channels ( 29, 31 ), iv. a distal end (2 5 ), v. an interior space ( any inside space of 19 ), vi. an aperture ( openings at 29 and 31 ) . Please see the rejections above as the examiner believes all of the limitations of claim 11 are adequately addressed. In regard to claims 12-13, see the rejections above as the examiner believes the limitations are adequately addressed. In regard to claims 14-15, Davis discloses a method of using the multi-working channel device of claim s 1 and 6 , wherein the method comprises the following order of steps: i. inserting the multi-working channel device into a patient’s alimentary canal (15) , ii. sliding the multi-working channel device to a desired position within the alimentary canal (see Fig. 3) , iii. sliding the stylet to a desired position within the alimentary canal (see Figs. 3-4) , and iv. selectively inflating the balloon through the longitudinally extending tube (see at least col. 4, lines 52-57, col. 6, lines 11-16) . In regard to claim 16, Davis discloses wherein the method is used for a colonoscopy (13 is a colonoscope) . In regard to claim 17 , Davis discloses wherein the method is used for an endoscopy (13 is a colonoscope) . In regard to claim 18, Davis discloses wherein the method is used for a colonoscopy (13 is a colonoscope) . In regard to claim 19, Davis discloses wherein the method is used for an endoscopy (13 is a colonoscope) . In regard to claim 20, Davis discloses wherein the method is used for endoscopic colon surgery (13 is a colonoscope) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE J STIGELL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8759 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9-5:30 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Tsai can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5246 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE J. STIGELL Primary Examiner Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783