DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 12, applicant states that “Fujii fails to teach or suggest that the openings 88 receive any portions of the first screw bosses 68 whatsoever.” Examiner disagrees. Fujii in FIG. 8 discloses the openings 88 is also accompanied by a gap on an axial side. The first screw boss 68 is inserted into the gap, which suggests that “a mounting aperture that receives the mounting post.” Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant states that “modifying the stator assembly of Fujii to include the stator segments of Hishida while retaining the existing busbar unit 36 would actually introduce additional manufacturing difficulties.” Examiner disagrees. The segmented stator of Hishida can be implemented in to Fujii, then the coil can be wound with a singular wire as disclosed in Fujii, which would not introduce additional manufacturing difficulties. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claim has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii (US 2022/0006347 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Fujii discloses an electric motor (20) comprising:
a rotor assembly (23) including a rotor shaft (28);
a stator assembly (24) including a core (33), an insulator (34) at least partially covering the core (33), and a plurality of windings (35);
a bus bar assembly (36) including a non-conductive body (66) and a plurality of conductors (65) configured to make an electrical connection between at least two windings of the plurality of windings (35), the non-conductive body (66) defining a mounting post (68); and
a printed circuit board assembly (76) defining a mounting aperture (88) that receives the mounting post (68) to secure the PCBA (76) to the non-conductive body (66).
Regarding claim 13/12, Fujii was discussed above in claim 12. Fujii further discloses wherein the non-conductive body (66) defines an annular recess that receives the PCBA (76; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 14/13, Fujii was discussed above in claim 13. Fujii further discloses wherein the PCBA (76) includes a circular peripheral edge (82) and a mounting arm that protrudes radially from the circular peripheral edge (82), and wherein the mounting arm defines the mounting aperture (88; FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 15/13, Fujii was discussed above in claim 13. Fujii further discloses wherein the non-conductive body (66) further defines a locating protrusion (70) that protrudes into the annular recess, and wherein the PCBA (76) includes a circular peripheral edge (82) and a locating notch (89) that interrupts the circular peripheral edge (82), and wherein the locating notch (89) receives the locating protrusion (70; FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 16/12, Fujii was discussed above in claim 12. Fujii further discloses wherein the insulator (34) defines an insulator post (57) that protrudes axially away from the core (33), and wherein the non-conductive body (66) defines a receptacle (69) that receives the insulator post (57) to secure the non-conductive body (66) to the insulator (34), the receptacle (69) comprising at least one of an aperture or a recess (71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (US 2022/0006347 A1) in view of Hishida et al. (US 2020/0259385 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii discloses an electric motor (20) comprising:
a rotor assembly (23) including a rotor shaft (28) defining a rotational axis (AX);
a stator assembly (24) including a core (33), an insulator (34) at least partially covering the core (33), and a winding (35), the insulator (34) defining one of a post (57) that protrudes in an axial direction parallel with the rotational axis (AX) or a receptacle in which the post is receivable; and
a bus bar assembly (36) including a non-conductive body (66) and a plurality of conductors (65) configured to make an electrical connection between at least two windings of the plurality of windings (35), the non-conductive body (66) including the other of the post or the receptacle (69);
wherein the receptacle (69) includes at least one of an aperture or a recess (71), and
wherein the post (57) is received within the receptacle (71) to secure the non-conductive body (66) to the insulator (34; ¶ [0181]).
Fujii does not disclose the stator assembly including a plurality of stator segments.
Hishida discloses the stator assembly (4) including a plurality of stator segments (40a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Fujii in view of Hishida to disclose the stator assembly including a plurality of stator segments, for the advantages of creating a stator segment with insulators premade prior to assembly for easier manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2/1, Fujii was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses wherein the non-conductive body (66) includes a radially protruding arm (FIG. 13-14), and wherein the one of the post or the receptacle (69) is defined by the radially protruding arm.
Regarding claim 4/1, Fujii was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses wherein the post (57) is cylindrical (FIG. 9).
Regarding claim 5/1, Fujii was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses wherein the receptacle (69) is defined by the non-conductive body (66) and comprises a recess (71) that extends only partially through the non-conductive body (66) in an axial direction (FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 6/5, Fujii was discussed above in claim 5. Fujii further discloses wherein the non-conductive body (66) further defines a relief aperture (74) that communicates with the recess (71), and wherein a shoulder is defined between the recess (71) and the relief aperture (74; FIG. 14). Regarding claim 7/1, Fujii was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses further comprising a printed circuit board assembly (76) defining a mounting aperture (88), and wherein the non-conductive body (66) further defines a mounting post (68) that is received by the mounting aperture (88) to secure the PCBA (76) to the non-conductive body (66).
Regarding claim 10/1, Fujii in view of Hishida was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses wherein the receptacle (69) is a first receptacle of a plurality of receptacles (69) defined by the non-conductive body (66), and wherein the post (57) is a first post defined by a first insulator (34), and wherein a second insulator (34) defining a second post (57) that is received by a second receptacle of the plurality of receptacles (69) to secure the non-conductive body (66) to the second insulator (34; FIG. 7).
Fujii does not disclose wherein the at least one stator segment is a first stator segment and the insulator is a first insulator, and wherein the plurality of stator segments includes a second stator segment having a second insulator.
Hishida discloses wherein the at least one stator segment (40a) is a first stator segment (40a) and the insulator (5) is a first insulator, and wherein the plurality of stator segments includes a second stator segment (40a) having a second insulator (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Fujii in view of Hishida to disclose wherein the at least one stator segment is a first stator segment and the insulator is a first insulator, and wherein the plurality of stator segments includes a second stator segment having a second insulator, for the advantages of creating a stator segment with insulators premade prior to assembly for easier manufacturing.
Regarding claim 11/10, Fujii in view of Hishida was discussed above in claim 10. Fujii further discloses wherein the post (57) and the receptacle (69) are made from a thermoplastic material (insulators made from synthetic resin; ¶ [0099] and [0145].)
Fujii discloses that the posts 57 and receptacles 69 are made from synthetic resin, which would inherently have the material characteristics of “that melts in response to being heated above a melt temperature and bonds in response to being subsequently cooled below the melt temperature to affix the non-conductive body to the insulator.” Thus, Fujii discloses the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 17/12, Fujii was discussed above in claim 12. Fujii does not disclose wherein the core is a first core and the insulator is a first insulator, and wherein the stator assembly comprises a plurality of stator segments including a first stator segment and a second stator segment positioned adjacent the first stator segment in a circumferential direction, and wherein the first stator segment includes the first core, the first insulator, and a first winding of the plurality of windings, and wherein the second stator segment includes a second core, a second insulator, and a second winding of the plurality of windings.
Hishida discloses wherein the core (40) is a first core (41a) and the insulator (5) is a first insulator (50, 51), and wherein the stator assembly (4) comprises a plurality of stator segments (40a) including a first stator segment (40a) and a second stator segment (40a) positioned adjacent the first stator segment (40a) in a circumferential direction, and wherein the first stator segment (40a) includes the first core (41a), the first insulator (50, 51), and a first winding of the plurality of windings (7), and wherein the second stator segment (40a) includes a second core (41a), a second insulator (50, 51), and a second winding of the plurality of windings (7; FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Fujii in view of Hishida to disclose wherein the core is a first core and the insulator is a first insulator, and wherein the stator assembly comprises a plurality of stator segments including a first stator segment and a second stator segment positioned adjacent the first stator segment in a circumferential direction, and wherein the first stator segment includes the first core, the first insulator, and a first winding of the plurality of windings, and wherein the second stator segment includes a second core, a second insulator, and a second winding of the plurality of windings, for the advantages of creating a stator segment with insulators premade prior assembly for easier manufacturing.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (US 2022/0006347 A1) in view of Hishida et al. (US 2020/0259385 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagahama et al. (US 9,948,162 B2).
Regarding claim 3/1, Fujii in view of Hishida was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses wherein the receptacle (69) comprises an aperture (71) and is defined by the non-conductive body (66).
Fujii in view of Hishida does not disclose wherein the post extends entirely through the aperture between a first axially facing surface of the non-conductive body and an opposite, second axially facing surface of the non-conductive body.
Nagahama discloses wherein the post (22c) extends entirely through the aperture between a first axially facing surface of the sensor board (24) and an opposite, second axially facing surface of the sensor board (24; FIG. 19; col. 11, ll. 47-52).
Fujii would be modified such that the posts (57) would penetrate the aperture (71) and the ends of the posts would be deformed to hold the bus bar assembly (36) on the insulator (34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Fujii in view of Hishida, further in view of Nagahama to disclose wherein the post extends entirely through the aperture between a first axially facing surface of the non-conductive body and an opposite, second axially facing surface of the non-conductive body, for the advantages of having the post of the insulator to integrally hold the bus bar assembly, preventing the bus bar assembly and the insulator from coming apart.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (US 2022/0006347 A1) in view of Hishida et al. (US 2020/0259385 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harada et al. (US 2006/0138894 A1).
Regarding claim 8/1, Fujii in view of Hishida was discussed above in claim 1. Fujii further discloses further comprising a rotor bearing (¶ [0092]) that rotatably supports the rotor shaft (28).
Fujii in view of Hishida does not disclose wherein the non-conductive body further defines a bearing pocket that receives and supports the rotor bearing.
Harada discloses wherein the non-conductive body (152R) further defines a bearing pocket that receives and supports the rotor bearing (154R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Fujii in view of Hishida, further in view of Harada to disclose wherein the non-conductive body further defines a bearing pocket that receives and supports the rotor bearing, for the advantages of eliminating the need to provide a separate bearing holder.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, the specific limitation of “wherein the bearing pocket defines an outer circumferential surface, and wherein the insulator includes a coil protector portion having an inner annular surface, and wherein ultrasonically welding the non-conductive body to the insulator produces an ultrasonic weld located where the outer circumferential surface contacts the inner annular surface” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
The closest prior art Harada discloses a bus bar assembly with a bearing pocket, but does not disclose an outer circumferential surface of the bearing pocket and an inner surface of an insulator is ultrasonically welded.
Another prior art Han discloses ultrasonically welding two insulating portions, but does not disclose a bus bar assembly with a bearing pocket.
Claim 19 is allowable for depending upon claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834