DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after December 07, 2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants claimed invention filed on 12/07/2024 in the matter of Application N° 18/532,226. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 1-20 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8-9, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8-9, 11, 15, and 17 are indefinite for reciting the phrase “selected from the group comprising,” which creates ambiguity as to whether the recited group is open-ended or closed, thereby rendering the scope of the claims unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Regarding the administering limitation of claim 10, Rhushikesh et al. discloses an extended-release pharmaceutical composition comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, formulated for oral administration to patients requiring treatment for diabetes mellitus. Specifically, Rhushikesh et al. teaches an orally administered extended-release drug delivery system for treating diabetes mellitus in humans (See paragraph 0026). Rhushikesh et al. teaches the administration of a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition to a patient in need of treatment, thereby addressing the administering limitation recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan et al (US 20180360737 A1) in view of Narang et al. (US20130224296A1), Rhushikesh et al. (US20080274180A1), Nasr et al. Investigating the root cause of N-nitrosodimethylamine formation in metformin pharmaceutical products, 2021., and Kumar et al. Metformin and nitrosamine impurities, 2020.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, Bhushan et al. disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient, wherein the active pharmaceutical ingredient is metformin hydrochloride, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of metformin; an acidic ingredient comprising citric acid; and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (See Example 2, Tables 2 and 6, and the Detailed Description).
Bhushan et al. specifically discloses effervescent pharmaceutical compositions comprising metformin hydrochloride , citric acid anhydrous, sodium bicarbonate, and sodium carbonate (See Example 1, Table 2). Bhushan et al. further disclose that the pharmaceutical compositions may comprise pharmaceutically acceptable excipients selected from fillers, disintegrants, lubricants, sweeteners, flavoring agents, and combinations thereof (See paragraph 0036).
Bhushan et al. additionally discloses metformin hydrochloride tablets comprising effervescent metformin granules, sucralose, strawberry flavor, and sodium benzoate as a lubricant (See Example 2, Table 6).
Bhushan et al. employs citric acid as an acidic component of the effervescent formulation to react with the carbonate-containing base and generate carbon dioxide. Thus, citric acid is employed for an effervescent purpose rather than expressly as an antioxidant.
Narang et al. further discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising metformin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, including binders, wetting agents, and lubricants (See paragraphs 0052 and 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ known pharmaceutically acceptable excipients in metformin-containing pharmaceutical compositions, as taught by Bhushan et al. and Narang et al., to obtain pharmaceutical dosage forms having suitable manufacturing, processing, and administration characteristics.
The cited references establish that metformin-containing pharmaceutical compositions incorporating an acidic ingredient, particularly citric acid, and conventional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients were known before the effective filing date of the instant application.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 15, Bhushan et al. further discloses wherein the acidic ingredient is selected from citric acid, tartaric acid, fumaric acid, malic acid, adipic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid, glycolic acid, alpha-hydroxy acids, ascorbic acid, and combinations thereof. Bhushan et al. specifically identifies citric acid as a preferred acidic ingredient for the pharmaceutical composition (See Detailed Description, and discussion of the acid component).
Bhushan et al. additionally discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising metformin hydrochloride and anhydrous citric acid, together with sodium bicarbonate and sodium carbonate wherein citric acid functions as an acidic component of the effervescent formulation (See Example 1, Table 2).
Thus, Bhushan et al. expressly discloses citric acid, which is one of the acidic ingredients recited in instant claim 2.
Furthermore, Bhushan et al. teach incorporating citric acid into metformin containing pharmaceutical compositions to provide an effervescent formulation capable of releasing carbon dioxide upon contact with water, thereby facilitating disintegration and administration of the pharmaceutical composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention would have had reason to select citric acid as the acidic ingredient in a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition to obtain the known effervescent characteristics taught by Bhushan et al., with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Bhushan et al. disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Bhushan et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the composition comprises 1 mg to 100 mg of the acidic ingredient per gram of the active pharmaceutical ingredient.
However, Rhushikesh et al. discloses an extended-release pharmaceutical composition comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (See Example 8, Table 8).
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride and 8 mg of citric acid per tablet, corresponding to 16 mg of citric acid per gram of metformin hydrochloride.
Thus, Rhushikesh et al. expressly discloses an amount of acidic ingredient falling within the range of 1 mg to 100 mg per gram of active pharmaceutical ingredient, as recited in instant claim 3.
The reference further establishes that relatively small amounts of citric acid were known for incorporation into metformin-containing pharmaceutical tablets before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ a citric acid concentration of 16 mg per gram of metformin hydrochloride, as expressly taught by Rhushikesh et al., in preparing a metformin containing pharmaceutical composition, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining a pharmaceutically acceptable formulation containing the known acid and excipient components.
Regarding claims 4, 13, 18, 19, and 20, Rhushikesh et al. discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
Specifically, Example 8, Table 8, discloses 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride, 8 mg of citric acid, and 15 mg of povidone K-30, together with additional pharmaceutical excipients.
However, Rhushikesh et al. does not expressly disclose that the pharmaceutical composition contains not more than 40 ng of N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA) when calculated using the maximum daily dose specified on the applicable drug label.
Nasr et al. teaches that NDMA formation in metformin tablets is influenced by water, heat, and the nitrite/nitrate content of pharmaceutical excipients.
Nasr et al. further reports that NDMA was not detected in certain metformin formulations prepared using polyvinylpyrrolidone or hydroxypropyl cellulose SSL
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention, to consider Nasr et al.’s teachings regarding excipient selection and manufacturing conditions when preparing the metformin-containing pharmaceutical compositions of Rhushikesh et al., within the motivation of reducing NDMA contamination and improving the safety and quality of the pharmaceutical product.
Nevertheless, the available disclosures do not establish that the resulting composition would necessarily contain not more than 40 ng NDMA at the maximum labeled daily dose. A finding that this numerical limitation is satisfied requires additional evidence concerning the resulting NDMA level or a supported expectation that the proposed modifications would achieve the recited limit.
Regarding claims 5, and 17, Rhushikesh et al. further discloses wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises pharmaceutically acceptable excipients selected from binders, fillers, lubricants, and release-controlling ingredients.
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses that suitable binders include modified starch, gelatin, polyvinyl alcohol, and povidone (PVP), wherein povidone is identified as the most preferred binder. The reference further discloses that suitable fillers include lactose and microcrystalline cellulose being preferred. Additionally, the reference identifies magnesium stearate as a preferred lubricant (See Detailed Description, discussion of pharmaceutically acceptable excipients).
Furthermore, Rhushikesh et al. discloses hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymers employed as release retardants, including hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, polyethylene oxide, and compritol, for controlling the release of metformin hydrochloride (See Detailed Description, discussion of release-retarding polymers).
Specifically, Example 8, Table 8, discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, povidone K-30, microcrystalline cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, and magnesium stearate.
Thus, Rhushikesh et al. expressly discloses binders, fillers, lubricants, and release controlling ingredients as recited in instant claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ the disclosed pharmaceutical excipients in a metformin containing composition to facilitate tablet manufacture and provide the desired drug release characteristics, as expressly taught by Rhushikesh et al.
Regarding claim 6, Rhushikesh et al. further discloses wherein the binder is selected from starch, gelatin, polyvinylpyrrolidone, and other pharmaceutically acceptable binding agents.
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses that suitable binders include modified starch, gelatin, polyvinyl alcohol, and povidone, (polyvinylpyrrolidone), wherein povidone is identified as the most preferred binder (See Detailed Description, and discussion of binders).
Furthermore, Rhushikesh et al. discloses, in Example 8, Table 8, a pharmaceutical composition comprising metformin hydrochloride, citric acid, and povidone K-30 as a binder.
Thus, Rhushikesh et al. expressly discloses polyvinylpyrrolidone, which is one of the binder materials recited in instant claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ polyvinylpyrrolidone as the binder in a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition because Rhushikesh et al. expressly identifies povidone as a preferred binder and demonstrate its use in preparing metformin hydrochloride tablets.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected polyvinylpyrrolidone to provide suitable binding properties during tablet granulation and compression, as taught by Rhushikesh et al.
Regarding claim 7, Rhushikesh et al. further discloses wherein the filler is selected from lactose and microcrystalline cellulose (See Detailed Description, discussion of pharmaceutically acceptable fillers).
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses that microcrystalline cellulose is a preferred filler for the pharmaceutical composition.
Furthermore, Rhushikesh et al. discloses, in Example 8, Table 8, a controlled-release pharmaceutical composition comprising 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride, 8 mg of citric acid, 15 mg of povidone K-30, and 21 mg of microcrystalline cellulose, together with additional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
Thus, Rhushikesh et al. expressly discloses microcrystalline cellulose, which is one of the filler materials recited in instant claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ microcrystalline cellulose as the filler in a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition because the reference expressly teaches its suitability for pharmaceutical tablet formulations and demonstrates its use in Example 8.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected microcrystalline cellulose to provide suitable filing and compression properties during tablet manufacture, consistent with the teachings of Rhushikesh et al.
Regarding claim 8, Rhushikesh et al. further discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising pharmaceutically acceptable lubricants, including magnesium stearate, which is a metal stearate encompassed by the lubricants recited in instant claim 8.
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses that magnesium stearate is a preferred lubricant for preparing the pharmaceutical compositions (See Detailed Description, discussion of lubricants).
Furthermore, Rhushikesh et al. discloses, in Example 8, Table 8, a controlled-release pharmaceutical composition comprising 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride, 8 mg of citric acid, 15 mg of povidone K-30, 21 mg of microcrystalline cellulose, and 2 mg of magnesium stearate, together with additional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
The reference further discloses blending the dried granules with magnesium stearate and other excipients, followed by compressing the resulting lubricated blend into tablets (See Example 8, preparation steps (iv)and (v)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ magnesium stearate as the lubricant in a metformin containing pharmaceutical composition because the reference expressly teaches its suitability as a lubricant and demonstrates its use in preparing metformin hydrochloride tablets.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected magnesium stearate to facilitate tablet manufacture by providing lubrication during compression, consistent with the teachings of Rhushikesh et al.
Regarding claim 9, Rhushikesh et al. further discloses wherein the rate-controlling ingredient for dissolution of the active pharmaceutical ingredient comprises cellulosic polymers, polysaccharides, polyethylene oxides, and other pharmaceutically acceptable release-retarding materials.
In particular, Rhushikesh et al. discloses that hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymers may be incorporated into metformin hydrochloride pharmaceutical compositions to control the release of the active pharmaceutical ingredient.
Specifically, Rhushikesh et al. discloses, in Example 8, Table 8, a controlled-release pharmaceutical composition comprising 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride, 8 mg of citric acid, 120 mg of compritol 888ATO, 30 mg of hydroxyethyl cellulose, and 15 mg of sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, together with additional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
The reference expressly identifies the combination of compritol 888 ATO, hydroxyethyl cellulose, and sodium carboxymethylcellulose as ingredients employed in preparing controlled-release metformin hydrochloride tablets.
Hydroxyethyl cellulose and sodium carboxymethylcellulose are cellulosic polymers, which fall within the rate-controlling ingredients recited in instant claim 9.
Furthermore, Rhushikesh et al. discloses polyethylene oxide as a polymer used in preparing controlled-release metformin hydrochloride tablets (See Example 5, Table 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the instant invention to employ the disclosed cellulosic polymers as rate-controlling ingredients in a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition because the reference expressly teaches their use in controlled-release formulations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected these polymers to modify the release characteristics of metformin hydrochloride, consistent with the teachings of Rhushikesh et al.
Regarding claim 10, Rhushikesh et al. discloses extended-release pharmaceutical compositions comprising metformin hydrochloride and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
Specifically, Example 8, Table 8, discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising 500 mg of metformin hydrochloride and 8 mg of citric acid per tablet, together with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, including povidone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, microcrystalline cellulose, sodium bicarbonate, and magnesium stearate.
Rhushikesh et al. further discloses preparing the pharmaceutical composition by granulating metformin hydrochloride, with pharmaceutical excipients, drying the granules, blending the resulting granules with citric acid and additional excipients, and compressing the resulting mixture into tablets.
Rhushikesh et al. teaches the step of adding a non-antioxidant acidic ingredient, namely citric acid, to a composition comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient, namely metformin hydrochloride, to form a pharmaceutical composition.
The reference further teaches that the resulting extended-release metformin tablets are intended for oral therapeutic administration.
Rhushikesh et al. does not expressly identify citric acid as an inhibitor of N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA), nor does it expressly describe reducing the daily intake of NDMA.
However, the recitations concerning NDMA inhibition and reduced daily intake describe functional results associated with the claimed method. The discovery of a previously unrecognized property of a known method does not necessarily distinguish the claimed method from the prior art when the method otherwise performs the same steps.
Kumar et al. discusses the presence of nitrosamine impurities, particularly NDMA, in metformin pharmaceutical products and the associated pharmaceutically safety concerns.
Kumar et al. establishes that NDMA contamination in metformin-containing pharmaceutical products was a recognized concern before the effective filing date of the instant application.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized from Kumar et al. the desirability of minimizing NDMA contamination in metformin pharmaceutical products to reduce patient exposure to potentially harmful impurities.
In view of Kumar et al., one of ordinary skill would have had reason to evaluate NDMA formation and impurity levels in metformin containing formulations, including the citric acid-containing tablets disclosed in Example 8 of Rhushikesh et al.
However, Kumar et al. does not establish that incorporating the citric acid would predictably inhibit NDMA formation. This motivation establishes a reason to investigate NDMA control, but does not independently establish a reasonable expectation that the claimed inhibitory function would result.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the phrase “reducing the daily intake of N-nitrosodimethylamine” describes the purpose or result of the claimed method. Whether the preamble is limiting must be determined from the claim as a whole.
The phrase “as an inhibitor of N-nitrosodimethylamine” characterizes the function of the added non-antioxidant acidic ingredient. This language is interpreted as requiring an ingredient having the claimed inhibitory capability in the pharmaceutical context, rather than requiring a separate analytical measurement step.
Claim 10 does not expressly require that the daily intake of NDMA be less than 40 ng/day.
MPEP 2112 recognizes that discovering a previously unrecognized property of an old composition or method does not necessarily render that composition or method patentable.
In re Tomlinson, 363 F.2d 928 (CCPA 1966), and In re May, 574 F.2d 1082 (CCPA 1978), are relevant to determining whether a newly recognized result distinguishes an otherwise known method.
However, an inherent property must necessarily result from practicing the prior-art method. A mere possibility that the property may occur is insufficient.
Although Example 8 discloses citric acid in a metformin formulation, the presently identified evidence does not establish that this particular formulation necessarily inhibits NDMA formation or reduces daily NDMA intake.
Rhushikesh et al. provides express support for the claimed addition of an acidic ingredient to a metformin-containing pharmaceutical composition, and Kumar et al. establishes a recognized motivation to reduce NDMA contamination.
Double Patenting
claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-10, 13, 14, 15,16, and 21 of copending Application No. 18/532,209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from the group consisting of metformin, valsartan, irbesartan, losartan, sumatriptan, and other specified active pharmaceutical ingredients, and/or salts thereof, in combination with a non-antioxidant acidic ingredient and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615