DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-9, 11, 13-14, 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US 2019/0371250) in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0335056), further in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0206813).
As to Claim 1, Baek et al. discloses A micro-LED pixel circuit comprising:
a driving transistor configured to generate a current path in response to a data voltage (fig.2, driving transistor TR11; para.0051,0102);
an emission transistor configured to be turned on in response to an emission signal and generate the current path together with the driving transistor (fig.2, transistor TR15; para.0055, 0102),
a micro-LED configured to emit light based on a magnitude of a current flowing in the current path (fig.2, LED, para.0051,0055,0061); and
a precharge transistor configured to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with a precharge voltage corresponding to a luminance band in response to a precharge signal,
wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage, when an image to be displayed corresponds to a low gray-scale, and
wherein, during the emission period, a same data voltage is applied to each pixel, and a pulse width of the emission signal is modulated according to a gray-scale of an image to be displayed, thereby controlling a duration of current flow through the micro-LED and adjusting a gray-scale value of each pixel (para.0039; fig.10, para.0124- the light emission control signal generation unit 150 may adjust the luminance of the image by controlling the pulse width of the light emission signal ELS corresponding to the luminance that is changed according to the expanded frame period EFL.. The light emission control signal generation unit 150 receives a signal of whether the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the high gray or the gray level of the low gray from the data generation unit 120; para.0126-0127-when the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the high gray, the light emission control signal generation unit 150 generates the light emission control signal CONT3 so that the light emission period t3 of the (N+1)-th frame is shorter than the light emission period t2 in the reference frame period RFL of the N-th frame; 0132-when the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the low gray, the light emission control signal generation unit 150 generates the light emission control signal CONT3 so that the emission period t13 of the (N+1)-th frame is longer than the light emission period t12 in the reference frame period RFL of the N-th frame; para. 0155).
Baek et al. discloses where it is determined when the image Ims includes low gray level of the low gray (para.0124, 0132, 0155).
Baek et al. does not expressly disclose a micro-LED; a precharge transistor configured to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with a precharge voltage corresponding to a luminance band in response to a precharge signal, wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage, when an image to be displayed corresponds to a low gray-scale.
Cho et al. discloses a pixel circuit comprising a micro-LED (fig.3, para.0079- light emitting element may be a micro light emitting diode), a precharge transistor configured to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with a precharge voltage [corresponding to a luminance band] in response to a precharge signal (fig.3, transistor M8 provides a pre-charging voltage Vpre to the anode of light emitting element LD in response to a scan signal S5i; para.0068, 0095-0097), wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage (fig.4, during precharge period P4 preceding emission period EPI, precharge signal S5i is enabled before the emission signal Ei is enabled, transistor M8 is turned on to supply the pre-charging voltage Vpre to the fourth node N4 (anode)); para.0095, 0136-0137).
It would have been obvious s to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baek et al. with the teachings of Cho et al, the motivation being so that the light emitting element may emit light with a fast response speed, and the luminance non-uniformity phenomenon according to a deterioration deviation of the light emitting element LD may be improved.
Baek et al. in view of Cho et al. do not expressly disclose where the precharge voltage corresponds to a luminance band.
Kang et al. discloses where a precharge voltage is adjusted based on grayscale value of the target LED (para.0064-0065,0067-0068; When the grayscale value Dg1 of the target LED falls within the “low grayscale interval”, the driving parameter determination circuit 450 may dynamically increase the precharge voltage parameter applied to the target LED).
It would have been obvious s to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Baek et al. in view of Cho et al, with the teachings of Kang et al., such that when the image corresponds to low gray scale (of Baek), a precharge voltage dynamically adjusted corresponding to a low grayscale interval is applied to the target LED (as disclosed by Kang). The motivation being to dynamically adjust the precharge voltage parameter according to the level of the grayscale, thereby preventing blanking from being too long (Kang-para.0064).
As to Claim 2, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the data voltage is set to a value corresponding to a luminance band of each of R, G, and B pixels (Baek-para.0061, 0082; Cho-para.0063).
As to Claim 4, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the emission transistor is configured to generate the current path in response to the emission signal having the pulse width modulated based on the gray-scale of the displaying image (Baek-para.0047, 0124, 0132, 0136).
As to Claim 5, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the precharge transistor is configured to bias the anode electrode with the precharge voltage varying based on a threshold voltage of the micro-LED (Cho-para.0079, 0097).
As to Claim 6, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the precharge transistor is configured to bias the anode electrode with the precharge voltage set to a level lower than the threshold voltage of the micro-LED (Cho-para.0097).
As to Claim 7, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the precharge transistor is configured to bias the anode electrode of the micro-LED with the precharge voltage in a low gray-scale operation in which the gray-scale of the displaying image is lower than a reference gray-scale (Baek-para.0101,0124; Kang-para. 0064-0065,0067-0068).
As to Claim 8, Baek et al. discloses A display device comprising: a display panel including a pixel circuit having a micro-LED (fig.1-2, pixels PX including LED);
a voltage generator configured to generate a precharge voltage corresponding to a luminance band and supply the generated precharge voltage to the display panel; and
a driving circuit configured to apply an emission signal, a precharge signal and a data voltage to the pixel circuit to drive the display panel (fig.1, para.0040, signal controller 100 applies light emission control signal CONT3 to emission control driver 400 and data signal DAT to data driver 200; gamma voltage control signal CONT4 to gamma voltage generator 350; para.0045,0047- pixels receive data voltages via data lines DL and emission signals via emission lines EL), and
apply the precharge signal to the pixel circuit to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with the precharge voltage, wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal, to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage, when an image to be displayed corresponds to a low gray-scale, and
wherein, during the emission period, a same data voltage is applied to each pixel, and a pulse width of the emission signal is modulated according to a gray-scale of an image to be displayed, thereby controlling a duration of current flow through the micro-LED and adjusting a gray-scale value of each pixel (para.0039; fig.10, para.0124- the light emission control signal generation unit 150 may adjust the luminance of the image by controlling the pulse width of the light emission signal ELS corresponding to the luminance that is changed according to the expanded frame period EFL.. The light emission control signal generation unit 150 receives a signal of whether the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the high gray or the gray level of the low gray from the data generation unit 120; para.0126-0127-when the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the high gray, the light emission control signal generation unit 150 generates the light emission control signal CONT3 so that the light emission period t3 of the (N+1)-th frame is shorter than the light emission period t2 in the reference frame period RFL of the N-th frame; 0132-when the image signal ImS includes the gray level of the low gray, the light emission control signal generation unit 150 generates the light emission control signal CONT3 so that the emission period t13 of the (N+1)-th frame is longer than the light emission period t12 in the reference frame period RFL of the N-th frame; para. 0155)
Baek et al. does not expressly disclose a micro-LED; a voltage generator configured to generate a precharge voltage corresponding to a luminance band and supply the generated precharge voltage to the display panel; and a driving circuit configured to apply a precharge signal; and apply the precharge signal to the pixel circuit to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with the precharge voltage, wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal, to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage, when an image to be displayed corresponds to a low gray-scale,
Baek et al. discloses where it is determined when the image Ims includes low gray level of the low gray (para.0124, 0132, 0155).
Cho et al. discloses a pixel circuit comprising a micro-LED (fig.3, para.0079- light emitting element may be a micro light emitting diode), a voltage generator configured to generate a precharge voltage [corresponding to a luminance band] and supply the generated precharge voltage to the display panel (fig.1,3; power supply 500, precharge voltage Vpre; transistor M8; para.0054,0095-0097); a driving circuit configured to apply a precharge signal (fig.1,3; precharge signal S5i), and apply the precharge signal to the pixel circuit to bias an anode electrode of the micro-LED with the precharge voltage (fig.3, transistor M8 provides a pre-charging voltage Vpre to the anode of light emitting element LD in response to a scan signal S5i; para.0068, 0095-0097), wherein, during a precharge period preceding an emission period, the precharge signal is enabled prior to the emission signal, to precharge the anode electrode with the precharge voltage, when an image to be displayed corresponds to a low gray-scale (fig.4, during precharge period P4 preceding emission period EPI, precharge signal S5i is enabled before the emission signal Ei is enabled, transistor M8 is turned on to supply the pre-charging voltage Vpre to the fourth node N4 (anode)); para.0095, 0136-0137
It would have been obvious s to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baek et al. with the teachings of Cho et al, the motivation being so that the light emitting element may emit light with a fast response speed, and the luminance non-uniformity phenomenon according to a deterioration deviation of the light emitting element LD may be improved.
Baek et al. in view of Cho et al. do not expressly disclose where the precharge voltage corresponds to a luminance band.
Kang et al. discloses where a precharge voltage is adjusted based on grayscale value of the target LED (para.0064-0065,0067-0068; When the grayscale value Dg1 of the target LED falls within the “low grayscale interval”, the driving parameter determination circuit 450 may dynamically increase the precharge voltage parameter applied to the target LED).
It would have been obvious s to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Baek et al. in view of Cho et al, with the teachings of Kang et al., such that when the image corresponds to low gray scale (of Baek), a precharge voltage dynamically adjusted corresponding to a low grayscale interval is applied to the target LED (as disclosed by Kang). The motivation being to dynamically adjust the precharge voltage parameter according to the level of the grayscale, thereby preventing blanking from being too long (Kang-para.0064).
As to Claims 9, 11, 13-14, 16-19 have limitations similar to those of Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and are met by the references as set forth above.
As to Claim 20, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., disclose wherein the driving circuit is configured to modulate the pulse width of the emission signal based on the gray-scale (Baek- para.0039, 0124), select the data voltage based on the luminance band, and apply the selected data voltage to the driving transistor (Baek-para.0060-0061, 0082; Cho-para.0063).
As to Claims 21 and 22 have limitations similar to those of Claims 8, 20 and 7, and are met by the references as set forth above.
Claim(s) 3,10,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US 2019/0371250) in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0335056), further in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0206813), and further in view of David et al. (US 2022/0310000).
As to Claim 3, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., do not expressly disclose, but David et al. discloses: wherein the precharge transistor is configured to bias the anode electrode with the precharge voltage varying based on the luminance band of each of the R, G, and B pixels (para.0079-0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by , Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., with the teachings of David et al., the motivation being to provide Mura compensation, thereby reducing non-uniformities in the display panel.
As to Claims 10, 15 have limitations similar to those of Claim 3 and are met by the references as set forth above.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US 2019/0371250) in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0335056), further in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0206813), and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2011/0102410, hereinafter Cho410).
As to Claim 12, Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., do not expressly disclose, but Cho410 discloses: a buffer buffering the precharge voltage output from the voltage generator and providing the buffered precharge voltage to the display panel (fig.2, para.0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Baek et al. in view of Cho et al., as modified by Kang et al., with the teachings of Cho410, the motivation being to provide buffered precharge voltages to the anodes of the corresponding light emitting diodes through transistors for threshold voltage detection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection applied as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627