DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsuch et al., US 2022/0098290 (corresponding to US 11,343,272).
In re Claim 1, Hsuch discloses a method for forming a metal interconnection structure of a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate 202; forming a first dielectric layer 208 on the substrate 202; forming a first conductive structure 210 in the first dielectric layer 208; etching back part of the first conductive structure 210; forming an etch stop layer 220 on the first conductive structure 210; forming a second dielectric layer 222 on the etch stop layer 220 and performing chemical mechanical polishing ([0020]); and forming a second conductive structure (226, 228) in the second dielectric layer 222, wherein the second conductive structure (226, 228) is electrically connected to the first conductive structure 210 (Fig. 1-15; [0014 – 0040]).
In re Claim 2, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the forming a first conductive structure 210 in the first dielectric layer 208 comprises: etching a trench (wherein 210 is formed) in the first dielectric layer 208; forming a first diffusion barrier layer 212 in the trench (wherein 210 is formed); and filling the trench (wherein 210 is formed) with a metal 210 ([0020]) (Fig. 2; [0014 -0018]).
In re Claim 3, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the forming a second conductive structure (226, 228) (Fig. 8) in the second dielectric layer 222 comprises: forming a through hole 224 in the second dielectric layer 208 by using a single damascene etching process ([0026]); forming a second diffusion barrier layer 230 on a surface of the through hole 224; and filling the through hole 224 with a metal material 226 ([0020- 0030]).
In re Claim 4, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 1, the forming a second conductive structure (226, 228) in the second dielectric layer 222 comprises: forming a trench (wherein 228 is formed) and a through hole 226-1 corresponding to the trench (wherein 228 is formed) in the second dielectric layer 222 by using a double damascene etching process; forming a second diffusion barrier layer 230 on a surface of the trench (wherein 228 is formed) and a surface of the through hole 224; and filling the trench (wherein 228 is formed) and the through hole 224 with a metal material (Fig. 8; [0030]).
In re Claim 5, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the metal material is any one of W, Co, Cu, Ru, or Al ([0028]).
In re Claim 6, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the metal material is any one of W, Co, Cu, Ru, or Al ([0028]).
In re Claim 8, Hsuch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a material of the etch stop layer 206 is one of SiNx or NSiC ([0018]; [0023]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al., US 2019/0214296 (corresponding to US 11,011,413).
In re Claim 9, Wang discloses a metal interconnection structure of a semiconductor device (Fig. 10), comprising: a substrate 20; a first dielectric layer 22 on the substrate 20; a first conductive structure 24 in the first dielectric layer 22, wherein a (lower) surface of the first conductive structure 24 is lower than a (upper) surface of the first dielectric layer 22; an etch stop layer 26 on the first conductive structure 24 and the first dielectric layer 22; a second dielectric layer 28 on the etch stop layer 26; and a second conductive structure 60 in the second dielectric layer 28, wherein the second conductive structure 60 is electrically connected to the first conductive structure 24 (Figs. 1-10; [0016 – 0061]).
In re Claim 10, Wang discloses the metal interconnection structure of the semiconductor device according to claim 9, wherein the second conductive structure 60 is a metal through hole or a combination of a metal through hole and a metal interconnection line (Figs. 5 and 10; [0040-0042].
In re Claim 11, Wang discloses the metal interconnection structure of the semiconductor device according to claim 9, wherein the first conductive structure 24 comprises a metal layer formed in the first dielectric layer 22 and a first diffusion barrier layer between the metal layer 24 and the first dielectric layer 22 ([0014], [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsuch as applied to claim 1 above.
In re Claim 7, Hsu discloses all limitations of Claim 7 including that the first dielectric layer 208 is made of a low-k material ([0019]), except for that and the second dielectric layer 222 is made of a low-k material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use for the second dielectric layer also a low-k material since simplifies the production.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893