DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application # 18532252 filed 12/07/2023. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “deploying the at least one network function onto the second cloud platform”. It is recommended to amend claim 15 to recite “deploying the at least one network function onto the second cloud platform via the single pipeline”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “a network function”, “respective network function”, “at least one network function”. It is unclear whether each template correspond to same network function or at least one network function or different network functions.
Claim 19 recites “infrastructure of at least one of a plurality of cloud platforms”, “the infrastructure of the cloud platform”, “the infrastructure of each of the plurality of cloud platforms”. It is unclear whether each cloud platforms correspond to same infrastructure or different infrastructure.
Claim 20 is also rejected because it is dependent upon rejected claim 19 as set forth above and include limitations of the claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 8-12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulos et al. (Boulos hereinafter) (US 20230254223 A1) in view of DRAZNIN et al. (DRAZNIN hereinafter) (US 20230379221 A1) and in further view of Taneja et al. (Taneja hereinafter) (US 20240414582 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Boulos teaches, A method implemented on a public cloud of a cellular network, the method comprising:
generating a repository , the repository being configured to receive a plurality of templates (Boulos; A Service Profile 54 inherits from the SST ([Standard Slice Template]) and is used to fully qualify the target profile of the service. Here lies all the user specific requirements for the slice, Par. 0044 [Note that Fig. 4 shows plurality of service profile 54 for plurality of services from plurality of users]);
receiving the plurality of templates in the repository, each template defining at least one network function (Boulos; The process 100 includes receiving a request for a slice, in a network, with the request having requirements defining a Service Profile, Par. 0062 [Note that Par. 0054 teaches that low latency functions can be put on same slice ]);
acquiring, from each of the plurality of templates, data that defines the at least one network function with respect to infrastructure of at least one of a plurality of cloud platforms (Boulos; The aggregation algorithms use it to aggregate into the preexisting Service Profiles 54 that are currently operating the slice and create an Aggregate Service Profile 54 that combines all requirements of all Service Profiles 54 allocated to this slice, Par. 0047 [Note that Fig. 1 shows plurality of slices and profile 54 can be for same service with different user requirements]; network slicing which allows operators to split a single physical network into multiple virtual networks, Par. 0002; virtual machines running different software and processes on … cloud computing infrastructure, Par. 0034);
generating a standardized template based on the data acquired from the plurality of templates (Boulos; Aggregate Service Profile 54, Par. 0047),
wherein the standardized template contains code for deploying the at least one network function onto the at least one of the plurality of cloud platforms within the cloud (Boulos; An Aggregate Service Profile 56 ... an executable version, Par. 0045; Only Aggregate Service Profiles 56 are allowed to be instantiated, Par. 0047).
Although Boulos teaches that network slice 12 can be a managed group of network virtual functions (VNFs) in Par. 0031 and VNF runs on cloud infrastructure, but Boulos failed to explicitly teach,
a repository on the public cloud,
cloud platforms within the public cloud,
wherein the standardized template is generated by an application running on a radio access network (RAN) node of the cellular network, and
wherein the RAN node includes (i) a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud of the cellular network such that the DU is in communication with the CU on the public cloud of the cellular network, and (iii) a radio unit (RU) under control of the DU.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DRAZNIN teaches,
a repository on the public cloud (DRAZNIN; It is emphasized that the present network functions delivery service for mobile networks may be utilized in AN and/or CN portions of a mobile network as implemented in private, public, or hybrid cloud-computing networks, Par. 0092; At step 1, a VNF vendor 415 uploads a VNF 405 that is suitably packaged (e.g., in accordance with the template 930 (FIG. 9)) to the network functions marketplace 605 supported by the network functions delivery system, Par. 0059),
cloud platforms within the public cloud (DRAZNIN; At step 6, the marketplace can push the VNF 405 to appropriate locations, whether in the public cloud 525, Par. 0060; The VNF package may include software images 1155 needed to run the VNF in the curated deployment and scripts 1160 to manage a deployed VNF, Par. 0067),
wherein the standardized template is generated by an application running on a radio access network (RAN) node of the cellular network (DRAZNIN; standardized template 930 … supplied by the network functions delivery system, Par. 0055; network functions delivery service for mobile networks may be utilized in AN … of a mobile network, Par. 0092), and
wherein the RAN node includes (i) a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a cloud of the cellular network such that the DU is in communication with the CU on the cloud of the cellular network, and (iii) a radio unit (RU) under control of the DU (DRAZNIN; shown in FIG. 20 enables RAN functionality to be split among physical infrastructure elements in centralized and distributed locations. For example, a single CU 2030 may be configured to serve multiple DUs 2025, each of which in turn serves multiple RUs 1805, Par. 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boulos to include the use of public cloud as taught by DRAZNIN in order to perform network functions delivery (DRAZNIN; Par. 0092).
Boulos- DRAZNIN failed to explicitly teach,
a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Taneja teaches,
a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud (Taneja; DU in a private data center or at cell site and the CU-UP 100 km away in a public cloud) in the O-RAN's disaggregated architecture, Par. 0067 [Note that data center provide cloud computing as taught by DRAZNIN in Fig. 24]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boulos- DRAZNIN to include the use of open RAN architecture as taught by Taneja in order to operate on cloud system (Taneja; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request to deploy the at least one network function onto a cloud platform of the plurality of cloud platforms (Boulos; The process 100 includes receiving a request for a slice, in a network, with the request having requirements defining a Service Profile, Par. 0062); and
deploying the at least one network function onto the cloud platform based on the data that defines the at least one network function (Boulos; executing the modified Aggregate Service Profile in the network (step 108), Par. 0062).
Regarding claim 3, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the cellular network is a 5G cellular network (Boulos; 5G includes aspects of wireless and wireline network integration, Par. 0002 & DRAZNIN; FIG. 20 shows an illustrative 5G radio access network (RAN) and radio unit (RU), Par. 0026; The networks 115 and 120 can include different network
types and network infrastructure in various combinations or sub-combinations including cellular networks, Par. 0033).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of DRAZNIN is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein received requests include requests to deploy different types of network functions (Boulos; we can consider the scenario where a Gaming slice is running. Characteristics of this slice are mostly those around low latency features. Now, imagine the case where a new Service Profile 54 is created requesting a video conference slice, Par. 0050).
Regarding claim 9, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 8, The method according to claim 8, wherein the network functions comprise at least one of a voice service; a Short Messaging Service (SMS); a video streaming service; and a voice messaging service (Boulos; we can consider the scenario where a Gaming slice is running. Characteristics of this slice are mostly those around low latency features. Now, imagine the case where a new Service Profile 54 is created requesting a video conference slice, Par. 0050).
Regarding claim 10, DRAZNIN teaches, A cellular network comprising:
radio access network (RAN) nodes where each RAN node includes (i) a central unit (CU) that resides on a cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a cloud of the cellular network such that the DU is in communication with the CU on the public cloud of the cellular network, and (iii) a radio unit (RU) under control of the DU (DRAZNIN; shown in FIG. 20 enables RAN functionality to be split among physical infrastructure elements in centralized and distributed locations. For example, a single CU 2030 may be configured to serve multiple DUs 2025, each of which in turn serves multiple RUs 1805, Par. 0096); and
applications configured to run on the RAN node of the cellular network (DRAZNIN; network functions delivery service for mobile networks may be utilized in AN … of a mobile network, Par. 0092, Par. 0108),
wherein the public cloud comprises cloud servers with processors and stores computer- executable instructions that execute a process comprising (DRAZNIN; FIG. 23 shows an illustrative architecture 2300 for a computing device, such as a server, capable of executing the various components described herein for the present network functions delivery system, Par. 0108):
generating a repository on the public cloud, (DRAZNIN; It is emphasized that the present network functions delivery service for mobile networks may be utilized in AN and/or CN portions of a mobile network as implemented in private, public, or hybrid cloud-computing networks, Par. 0092; At step 1, a VNF vendor 415 uploads a VNF 405 that is suitably packaged (e.g., in accordance with the template 930 (FIG. 9)) to the network functions marketplace 605 supported by the network functions delivery system, Par. 0059);
generating a standardized template (DRAZNIN; a standardized template 930, Par. 0067),
wherein the standardized template contains code for deploying the at least one network function onto the at least one of the plurality of the plurality of cloud platforms within the public cloud (DRAZNIN; At step 6, the marketplace can push the VNF 405 to appropriate locations, whether in the public cloud 525, Par. 0060; The VNF package may include software images 1155 needed to run the VNF in the curated deployment and scripts 1160 to manage a deployed VNF, Par. 0067), the plurality of cloud platforms being different from each other (DRAZNIN; VNFs from the different vendors 415 which can then be deployed to various locations including public … clouds 525, Par. 0050), and
wherein the standardized template is generated by an application running on the RAN node of the cellular network (DRAZNIN; standardized template 930 … supplied by the network functions delivery system, Par. 0055; network functions delivery service for mobile networks may be utilized in AN … of a mobile network, Par. 0092).
Although DRAZNIN teaches a standardized template, but fails to explicitly teach,
a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud;
the repository being configured to receive a plurality of templates,
receiving the plurality of templates in the repository, each template defining at least one network function;
acquiring, from each of the plurality of templates, data that defines the at least one network function with respect to infrastructure of at least one of a plurality of cloud platforms;
generating a standardized template based on the data acquired from the plurality of templates.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Boulos teaches,
the repository being configured to receive a plurality of templates (Boulos; A Service Profile 54 inherits from the SST ([Standard Slice Template]) and is used to fully qualify the target profile of the service. Here lies all the user specific requirements for the slice, Par. 0044 [Note that Fig. 4 shows plurality of service profile 54 for plurality of services from plurality of users]),
receiving the plurality of templates in the repository, each template defining at least one network function (Boulos; The process 100 includes receiving a request for a slice, in a network, with the request having requirements defining a Service Profile, Par. 0062 [Note that Par. 0054 teaches that low latency functions can be put on same slice ]);
acquiring, from each of the plurality of templates, data that defines the at least one network function with respect to infrastructure of at least one of a plurality of cloud platforms (Boulos; The aggregation algorithms use it to aggregate into the preexisting Service Profiles 54 that are currently operating the slice and create an Aggregate Service Profile 54 that combines all requirements of all Service Profiles 54 allocated to this slice, Par. 0047 [Note that Fig. 1 shows plurality of slices and profile 54 can be for same service with different user requirements]; network slicing which allows operators to split a single physical network into multiple virtual networks, Par. 0002; virtual machines running different software and processes on … cloud computing infrastructure, Par. 0034);
generating a standardized template based on the data acquired from the plurality of templates (Boulos; An Aggregate Service Profile 56 ... an executable version, Par. 0045; Only Aggregate Service Profiles 56 are allowed to be instantiated, Par. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of DRAZNIN to include the use of aggregation algorithms as taught by Boulos in order to aggregate similar service requirements (Boulos; Par. 0047).
DRAZNIN- Boulos failed to explicitly teach,
a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Taneja teaches,
a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network, (ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud (Taneja; DU in a private data center or at cell site and the CU-UP 100 km away in a public cloud) in the O-RAN's disaggregated architecture, Par. 0067 [Note that data center provide cloud computing as taught by DRAZNIN in Fig. 24]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of DRAZNIN- Boulos to include the use of open RAN architecture as taught by Taneja in order to operate on cloud system (Taneja; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, DRAZNIN- Boulos- Taneja teaches, The cellular network according to claim 10, the process further comprising:
receiving a request to deploy the at least one network function onto a cloud platform of the plurality of cloud platforms (Boulos; The process 100 includes receiving a request for a slice, in a network, with the request having requirements defining a Service Profile, Par. 0062); and
deploying the at least one network function onto the cloud platform based on the data that defines the at least one network function (Boulos; executing the modified Aggregate Service Profile in the network (step 108), Par. 0062).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Boulos is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, DRAZNIN- Boulos- Taneja teaches, The cellular network according to claim 10, wherein the cellular network is a 5G network (DRAZNIN; FIG. 20 shows an illustrative 5G radio access network (RAN) and radio unit (RU), Par. 0026; The networks 115 and 120 can include different network types and network infrastructure in various combinations or sub-combinations including cellular networks, Par. 0033).
Regarding claim 17, DRAZNIN- Boulos- Taneja teaches, The cellular network according to claim 10, wherein received requests include requests to deploy different types of network functions (Boulos; we can consider the scenario where a Gaming slice is running. Characteristics of this slice are mostly those around low latency features. Now, imagine the case where a new Service Profile 54 is created requesting a video conference slice, Par. 0050).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Boulos is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, DRAZNIN- Boulos- Taneja teaches, The cellular network according to claim 17, wherein the network functions comprise at least one of a voice service; a Short Messaging Service (SMS); a video streaming service; and a voice messaging service (Boulos; we can consider the scenario where a Gaming slice is running. Characteristics of this slice are mostly those around low latency features. Now, imagine the case where a new Service Profile 54 is created requesting a video conference slice, Par. 0050).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Boulos is the same as for Claim 1.
Claim 4-5 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja and in further view of Deviprasad et al. (Deviprasad hereinafter) (US 20230224257 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 13, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The cellular network according to claim 10 respectively.
Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the standardized template is cloud agnostic.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deviprasad teaches,
wherein the standardized template is cloud agnostic (Deviprasad; converting and/or translating from the standard template to a cloud-agnostic template, Par. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja to include the use of conversion process as taught by Deviprasad in order to generate cloud-agnostic template (Deviprasad; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 14, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja- Deviprasad teaches, The method according to claim 4 and The cellular network according to claim 13 respectively further comprising:
designing the standardized template containing the data that defines the at least one network function for deployment of the at least one network function on a first cloud platform (Boulos; The network 10 includes one or more networks 16, which can include physical network elements, virtual network elements, and combinations thereof supporting network, Par. 0027); and
designing the standardized template containing the data that defines the at least one network function for deployment of the at least one network function on a second cloud platform, which is different from the first cloud platform (Boulos; The network 10 includes one or more networks 16, Par. 0027 [Note that each slice is on different network] & DRAZNIN; VNFs from the different vendors 415 which can then be deployed to various locations including public … clouds 525, Par. 0050).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of DRAZNIN is the same as for Claim 1.
Claim 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja and in further view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter) (US 20190149408 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 16, Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The cellular network according to claim 10 respectively.
Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the at least one network function is a containerized network function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, LI teaches,
wherein the at least one network function is a containerized network function (LI; Each VNF runs on one or more virtual containers, Par. 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boulos- DRAZNIN- Taneja to include the use of virtual container as taught by LI in order to run VNF (LI; Par. 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference Gupta et al. (US 20230275814 A1) teaches a plurality of service templates and drag and drop feature to put them on access points in Fig. 3A-3G.
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416