Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 2 – 16 and 19 – 21 and 23 – 27. Claims 1 and 22 are cancelled. Claims 17 – 18 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 3, 6, 15, 24 and 26 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0011834 A1) in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 2, Shimizu teaches an electric toothbrush (power toothbrush, 1; Fig. 15) comprising: a housing (housing, 22); a brush head (brush body, 24); an output shaft (shaft, 3 and 152) having a first end and a second end positioned within and extending out of the housing (22); the brush head (brush body, 24) is releasably coupled to the first end of the output shaft (3) and movable therewith relative to the housing (22); a magnetic assembly (flat plate shaped permanent magnets, 4; with yoke, 5 and moving object, 6; Figs. 12A and B; Paragraph [0038]) positioned within the housing (22) and configured to impart an oscillation motion to the output shaft (3; Paragraph [0036]); the magnetic assembly comprising a first and second permanent magnet, 4; Figs. 12A and B; Paragraph [0038]) and a magnet house (yoke, 5); and the first permanent magnet (4) is secured to a first side of the magnet housing (5 via grooves, 25s; 151) and the second permanent magnet (4) is secured to a second side of the magnet housing (5 via grooves, 25s) and a spring (spring members, 13a and b) positioned within the housing (22; Fig. 2), the spring (13b) including a first end coupled to the housing and a second end coupled to the output shaft (3; Fig. 1), wherein the spring twists (Paragraph [041]) as the magnetic assembly oscillates the output shaft (3) to amplify the oscillation motion of the output shaft (3) generated by the magnetic assembly (Paragraphs [041] and [0051]).
Shimizu does not teach the output shaft is hollow and a hose couped to the second end of the output shaft wherein the hose is fluidly coupled to the brush head via the output shaft; and wherein the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. It is further obvious that providing an integral component does not mean that the two components have to be made from the same material. The yoke can retain its magnetic material while the shaft can be made from non-magnetic material.
Sokol, however, teaches an electric toothbrush (Fig. 1) comprising a housing (Annotated Fig. 1) wherein the output shaft (brush shaft, 120; Fig. 2) is hollow (Paragraph [0087]) and a hose (transport hose, 202 and 220; Paragraph [0092]) couped to the second end of the output shaft (120) wherein the hose is fluidly coupled to the brush head via the output shaft (Paragraph [0097]); a fluid flow path (Paragraph [0097]) extending along an entire longitudinal length of the housing (Annotated Fig. 1) of the toothbrush, wherein the fluid flow path is defined by the output shaft and hose (Paragraph [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the output shaft is hollow to deliver fluid to the brush head, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Regarding Claim 3, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush (1) further comprising a mass (spindle, 17) coupled to the second end of the spring (13b; Fig. 1), wherein the mass (17) and the spring (13b) are configured to define a natural frequency that corresponds to an oscillation frequency of the output shaft (3; Paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush (1) wherein the mass (17) surrounds the second end of the spring (13b; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush (1) wherein the output shaft (3) is positioned between the first permanent magnet (4) and the second permanent magnet (4).
Shimizu does not teach the output shaft is hollow.
Sokol, however, teaches a toothbrush (toothbrush, Fig. 1) wherein the output shaft (120) is hollow (Paragraph [0087]); therefore, Shimizu as modified by Sokol teaches the hollow output shaft (120) is positioned between the first permanent magnet (4) and the second permanent magnet (4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further the output shaft is hollow, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can automatically supply fluids to a brush head, thus providing a convenient brushing system for travel.
Regarding Claim 24, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach wherein a portion of the hose is coaxially aligned with the output shaft.
Sokol, however, teaches wherein a portion of the hose (202 and 220) is coaxially aligned with the output shaft (120; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include a portion of the hose is coaxially aligned with the output shaft, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Regarding Claim 26, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach wherein an upper portion of the hose is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the spring and a lower portion of the hose is laterally offset from the centerline of the spring.
Sokol, however, teaches wherein an upper portion of the hose (220) is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the spring (438; Fig. 32) and a lower portion of the hose (202) is laterally offset from the centerline of the spring (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include an upper portion of the hose is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the spring and a lower portion of the hose is laterally offset from the centerline of the spring, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Regarding Claim 27, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the upper portion of the hose is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the output shaft.
Sokol, however, teaches the upper portion (220) of the hose is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the output shaft (120; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the upper portion of the hose is aligned with a longitudinal centerline of the output shaft, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Regarding Claim 28, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not explicitly teach the magnet housing and output shaft are injection molded plastic, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the magnet housing and output shaft are injection molded plastic, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the toothbrush.
Regarding Claim 29, Shimizu, as modified, teaches the toothbrush further comprising at least on bearing (bearing, 162) received on the output shaft (152; Fig. 16), wherein the output shaft (152) comprises at least one sleeve section (153) adjacent to the magnet housing (151), wherein the at least one bearing (162) is positioned on the at least one sleeve section (153) of the output shaft (152.
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/001834 A1) in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1) and Grez et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0154151 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not explicitly teach the toothbrush wherein the mass is formed of a different material than the spring.
Grez, however, teaches a personal care appliance, 10, wherein the mass and the spring can be formed from different materials (Paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the mass is formed of a different material than the spring, as taught by Grez, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the toothbrush.
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu teaches all of the elements of claim 4 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not explicitly teach the toothbrush wherein the mass is formed of metal, and the spring is formed of plastic.
Grez, however, teaches a personal care appliance, 10, wherein the mass id formed of metal and the spring can be formed from of plastic (Paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include wherein the mass is formed of metal, and the spring is formed of plastic, as taught by Grez, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the toothbrush.
Claims 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/001834 A1) in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1) and Boere et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0269488 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein the spring further includes a plurality of beams extending from the first end to the second end of the spring.
Boere, however, teaches the toothbrush (personal care device,10) wherein the spring (springs, 120, 150 and 160; Fig. 6) further includes a plurality of beams (Paragraph [0012] – V-shape; Annotated Fig. 6) extending from the first end to the second end of the spring (springs, 120, 150 and 160; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the spring includes a plurality of beams extending from the first end to the second end of the spring, as taught by Boere, to provide a device that allows for the vibrations transmitted to the motor to be reduced, thus preserving the life of the motor.
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 6 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein each beam of the plurality of beams includes expanded base ends that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam.
Boere, however, teaches the toothbrush (personal care device,10) wherein each beam (Annotated Fig. 6) of the plurality of beams (Annotated Fig. 6) includes expanded base ends (Annotated Fig. 6) that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam (Annotated Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include beam of the plurality of beams includes expanded base ends that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam, as taught by Boere, to provide a device that allows for the vibrations transmitted to the motor to be reduced, thus preserving the life of the motor.
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 6 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein the plurality of beams define arched openings between adjacent beams of the plurality of beams.
Boere, however, teaches the toothbrush (personal care device,10) wherein the plurality of beams (Annotated Fig. 6) define arched openings (at 103) between adjacent beams of the plurality of beams (Annotated Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the plurality of beams define arched openings between adjacent beams of the plurality of beams, as taught by Boere, to provide a device that allows for the vibrations transmitted to the motor to be reduced, thus preserving the life of the motor.
Claims 10 – 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/001834 A1) in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1) and Chen (CN 106109040 A) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shimizu further teaches the toothbrush (1) wherein the magnetic assembly (Fig. 5) comprises: a first permanent (4) magnet and a second permanent magnet (4) attached to opposing sides of the output shaft (3) and rotatable therewith.
Shimizu does not teach a first electromagnet and a second electromagnet positioned within the housing on opposing sides of the output shaft, the first electromagnet positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, and the second electromagnet positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing.
Chen, however, teaches a first electromagnet (8) and a second electromagnet (8) positioned within the housing (1) on opposing sides of the output shaft (3), the first electromagnet (8) positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet (6) and fixed in position relative to the housing (1; Figs. 1 and 2), and the second electromagnet (8) positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet (6) and fixed in position relative to the housing (1; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include a first electromagnet and a second electromagnet positioned within the housing on opposing sides of the output shaft, the first electromagnet positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, and the second electromagnet positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 10 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet extend lengthwise in a longitudinal direction of the output shaft.
Chen, however, teaches the toothbrush wherein the first permanent magnet (6) and the second permanent magnet (6) extend lengthwise in a longitudinal direction of the output shaft (3; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet extend lengthwise in a longitudinal direction of the output shaft, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Regarding claim 12, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 10 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein the magnetic assembly further comprises a magnet housing attached to the output shaft, and wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are coupled to opposing sides of the magnet housing.
Chen, however, teaches the toothbrush wherein the magnetic assembly (Fig. 2) further comprises a magnet housing (1) attached to the output shaft (3), and wherein the first permanent magnet (6) and the second permanent magnet (6) are coupled to opposing sides of the magnet housing (1; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include a magnet housing attached to the output shaft, and wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are coupled to opposing sides of the magnet housing, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 10 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein: the first electromagnet has windings extending in a first direction; and the second electromagnet has windings extending in a second direction opposite the first direction, such that application of a signal to both the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet generates flux paths in opposing directions.
Chen, however, teaches the toothbrush wherein: the first electromagnet (8) has windings extending in a first direction (Fig. 2); and the second electromagnet (8) has windings extending in a second direction opposite the first direction (Fig. 2; in order to achieve oscillation, the winding of the two electromagnets are implicitly extending in opposite directions), such that application of a signal to both the first electromagnet (8) and the second electromagnet (8) generates flux paths in opposing directions (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the first electromagnet has windings extending in a first direction; and the second electromagnet has windings extending in a second direction opposite the first direction, such that application of a signal to both the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet generates flux paths in opposing directions, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Regarding claim 14, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 12 as discussed above.
Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein the signal comprises a sinusoidal alternating current signal.
Chen, however, teaches the toothbrush wherein the signal comprises a sinusoidal alternating current signal (Paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the signal comprises a sinusoidal alternating current signal, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Regarding claim 25, Shimizu, as modified, teaches all of the elements of claim 10 as discussed above.
Shimizu further teaches a battery (2, 21) in electrically coupled to the first electromagnet (4) and the second electromagnet (4; Fig. 2).
Shimizu does not teach a portion of the hose routes alongside the battery.
Sokol, however, teaches a portion of the hose (202) routes alongside the battery (130; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include a portion of the hose routes alongside the battery, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/001834 A1) in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1), Chen (CN 106109040 A) as cited by Applicant and Boere et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0269488 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Shimizu teaches an electric toothbrush (power toothbrush, 1; Fig. 15) comprising: a handle housing (housing, 22); an output shaft (shaft, 3) having an inlet end and an outlet end (Fig. 1), wherein the inlet end (3a; Fig. 1) is positioned within the housing (22) and wherein the outlet end (opposite end of 3a) extends out of the housing (22) and is connectable to a brush head (brush body, 24) a spring (13b) including a first end non-rotatably coupled to the housing and a second end non-rotatably coupled to the output shaft (3; Fig. 1).
Shimizu does not teach the output shaft is hollow and a hose couped to the second end of the output shaft wherein the hose is fluidly coupled to the brush head via the output shaft; wherein an upper portion of the hose coupled to the inlet end of the output shaft is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the output shaft; wherein the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. It is further obvious that providing an integral component does not mean that the two components have to be made from the same material. The yoke can retain its magnetic material while the shaft can be made from non-magnetic material.
Sokol, however, teaches an electric toothbrush (toothbrush, Fig. 1) wherein the output shaft (shaft, 120; Fig. 2) is hollow (Paragraph [0087]) and a hose (202, 220; Paragraph [0092]) couped to the second end of the output shaft (120) wherein the hose is fluidly coupled to the brush head via the output shaft (Paragraph [0092]; Fig. 4); wherein an upper portion of the hose (220) coupled to the inlet end of the output shaft (120) is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the output shaft (120; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further the output shaft is hollow to deliver fluid to the brush head, as taught by Sokol, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Shimizu, further, does not teach a first electromagnet and a second electromagnet positioned within the housing on opposing sides of the output shaft, the first electromagnet positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, and the second electromagnet positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing.
Chen, however, teaches a first electromagnet (8) and a second electromagnet (8) positioned within the housing (1) on opposing sides of the output shaft (3), the first electromagnet (8) positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet (6) and fixed in position relative to the housing (1; Figs. 1 and 2), and the second electromagnet (8) positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet (6) and fixed in position relative to the housing (1; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include a first electromagnet and a second electromagnet positioned within the housing on opposing sides of the output shaft, the first electromagnet positioned adjacent the first permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, and the second electromagnet positioned adjacent the second permanent magnet and fixed in position relative to the housing, as taught by Chen, to provide a device that allows for the main shaft to deflect in a reciprocating manner, thereby achieving an effect of high-frequency vibrations which provides an improved cleaning experience.
Lastly, Shimizu does not teach the toothbrush wherein each beam of the plurality of beams includes expanded base ends that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam.
Boere, however, teaches the toothbrush (personal care device,10) wherein each beam (Annotated Fig. 6) of the plurality of beams (Annotated Fig. 6) includes expanded base ends (Annotated Fig. 6) that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam (Annotated Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include beam of the plurality of beams includes expanded base ends that taper inwardly toward a central portion of the beam, as taught by Boere, to provide a device that allows for the vibrations transmitted to the motor to be reduced, thus preserving the life of the motor.
Regarding Claim 19, Shimizu, as modified, teaches an electric toothbrush (power toothbrush, 1; Fig. 15), wherein the output shaft (3) extends through the second end of the spring (13) along a longitudinal centerline of the spring (13: Fig. 1).
Claims 20 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU (CN 104578668 A) as cited by Applicant in view of Sokol et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0250109 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, ZHU teaches an activation method for an electromagnetically driven toothbrush (small high-frequency vibration device; Fig. 1) comprising: an output shaft (3), wherein a brush head (Paragraph [0017]) is releasable coupled to the first end of the output shaft (1) the output shaft (1) further comprising a magnet housing (bracket, 5); activating a first stationary electromagnet (7), positioned adjacent a first side of an output shaft (1) and having a first winding direction, and a second stationary electromagnet (7), positioned within the magnetic housing (5) adjacent a second side of the output shaft and having a second winding direction opposite the first winding direction (Paragraph [0034]; in order to achieve oscillation, the winding of the two electromagnets are implicitly extending in opposite directions), with a first signal to rotate the output shaft (3) in a first direction(Paragraph [0037]); and activating the first stationary electromagnet (7) and the second stationary electromagnet (7) with a second signal to rotate the output shaft (1) in a second direction opposite the first direction (Paragraph [0037]).
ZHU does not teach the output shaft is hollow and a hose couped to the second end of the output shaft wherein the hose is fluidly coupled to the brush head via the output shaft and flowing fluid along a flow path defined along an entire length of the toothbrush via the hose and the output shaft; wherein the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of ZHU to further include the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. It is further obvious that providing an integral component does not mean that the two components have to be made from the same material. The yoke can retain its magnetic material while the shaft can be made from non-magnetic material.
Sokol, however, teaches an electric toothbrush (toothbrush, Fig. 1) wherein the output shaft (shaft, 120; Fig. 4) is hollow (Paragraph [0087]) having a first end and a second end and a hose (202 and 220, Paragraph [0097]) couped to the second end of the output shaft (120 via 202) wherein the hose (220) is fluidly coupled to the brush head (125) via the output shaft (Paragraph [0097]; Fig. 4) and flowing fluid along a flow path defined along an entire length of the toothbrush via the hose and the output shaft (120; Paragraph [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further the output shaft is hollow to deliver fluid to the brush head, as taught by Boland, to provide a toothbrush that can deliver fluid under pressure to teeth to be cleaned or to a bristle set, thus providing an improved cleaning of the teeth.
Regarding Claim 21, ZHU teaches the activation method wherein the first signal corresponds to a positive amplitude of a sinusoidal alternating current waveform (Paragraph [0007]), and the second signal corresponds to a negative amplitude of the sinusoidal alternating current waveform (Paragraph [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated October 20, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 2 – 16 and 19 – 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues the amended claim 2 and the integral shaft with magnetic housing.
Although Shimizu does not explicitly teach an integral shaft, but teaches the housing being press-fit, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Shimizu to further include the magnet housing is formed integrally with the output shaft, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. It is further obvious that providing an integral component does not mean that the two components have to be made from the same material. The yoke can retain its magnetic material while the shaft can be made from non-magnetic material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723