Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues “Applicant submits that the referenced portions of Lien provide no disclosure of establishing and maintaining a network connection, or performing radar sensing operations while the network connection is maintained.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lien states “multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar…For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth” this would require maintaining a network connection, especially for the network radar. Additionally, Lien states Column 4 lines 65-67, “FIG. 2 illustrates an example environment 200 with multiple communication devices 102 performing wireless communications and radar sensing.” which also establishes maintaining a network connection while using a radar.
Applicant’s arguments, see ’35 USC 102 Rejections Paragraph 4’, filed 2/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 15, 16, 17 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A).
Applicant’s arguments, see ’35 USC 103 Rejections’, filed 2/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien (US 11079470 B2) in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A).
Regarding claim 1 Lien discloses
A method comprising: switching a first transceiver and a second transceiver from a communications mode to a sensing mode (Column 9 Lines 3-6, " Use of the switches 506 further enables the wireless communication chipset 104 to readily switch between full-duplex operation for radar sensing or half-duplex operation for wireless communication"; Figure 5 elements 406-1, 406-2 where there are multiple transceivers) while maintaining a network connection (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode; Column 4 lines 65-67, “FIG. 2 illustrates an example environment 200 with multiple communication devices 102 performing wireless communications and radar sensing”); generating a designated waveform at a wireless device (Figure 10 elements 104, 906; Column 12 lines 51-58, "Based on the modulation operation signal 906, the wireless communication chipset 104 generates signals 1000-1, 1000-2 . . . 1000-N via separate transmit chains represented by transmitters 502-1, 502-2 . . . 502-N. The signals 1000-1, 1000-2, and 1000-N are respectively modulated for radar sensing, wireless communication, and both radar sensing and wireless communication"); transmitting a first signal based on the designated waveform via the first transceiver of the wireless device (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 13 element 1308 where transceiver 406-2 can simply be relabeled first); receiving a second signal via the second transceiver of the wireless device, the second transceiver being collocated with the first transceiver within the wireless device (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-1, 1000-1, 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 12 element 1202; Figure 13 element 1302, 1304, 1308 where the transceivers are shown next to each other in Figure 10, one transceiver can transmit a communication signal and a second transceiver can receive radar reflections from its radar transmission); and generating sensing data based on the second signal, the sensing data comprising an indication of whether an entity has been detected by the wireless device (Column 13 lines 59-64, " At 1110, the signal that is received is processed to determine a location of the target. For example, the system processor 408 or the computer processor 304 can process the radar signal 602 to determine a range or an angular position of the target 604"). Lien does not disclose such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection.
Tertinek discloses
Such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection (Page 2 Paragraph 8, "In one or more embodiments, when the UWB communication node is switched to operate in the radar mode, the mode signal indicates that the UWB communication unit is permitted to enter the power-off or low-power state"; Page 4 Paragraph 5, "when the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210 are switched to operate in the radar mode, the external device does not need to exchange UWB messages with the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210").
Lien discloses multiple devices that can send communication and radar signals that are all connected. Lien does not disclose one of the devices continuing radar operations while in sleep mode. Tertinek discloses a communication radar continuing radar operations while the communication unit goes into sleep mode and alerting other devices that it does not need to communicate with the sleeping communication unit. The disclosed limitations of Tertinek would be advantageous in that the radar can continue to track a target/device while saving energy for the communication node and the external device on the network. Sending a message indicating a sleep mode can help the network manage its resources and coverage area. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Tertinek to add in energy saving features and information that can help with resource management.
Regarding claim 10 Lien discloses
A system comprising: a first transceiver configured to be compatible with a wireless communications protocol (Figure 10 elements 406-1, 406-2, 406-N; Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"); a second transceiver configured to be compatible with the wireless communications protocol, the first transceiver being collocated with the second transceiver (Figure 10 elements 406-1, 406-2, 406-N; Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"); and a processing device coupled to the first transceiver and the second transceiver (Column 3 lines 13-17, “Although used for transmitting and receiving wireless communication signals, the wireless communication chipset includes many similar components as a radar sensor, such as an antenna, a transceiver, and a processor”), and configured to: switch the first transceiver and the second transceiver from a communications mode to a sensing mode (Column 9 Lines 3-6, " Use of the switches 506 further enables the wireless communication chipset 104 to readily switch between full-duplex operation for radar sensing or half-duplex operation for wireless communication") while maintaining a network connection (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode; Column 4 lines 65-67, “FIG. 2 illustrates an example environment 200 with multiple communication devices 102 performing wireless communications and radar sensing”); generate a designated waveform (Figure 10 elements 104, 906; Column 12 lines 51-58, "Based on the modulation operation signal 906, the wireless communication chipset 104 generates signals 1000-1, 1000-2 . . . 1000-N via separate transmit chains represented by transmitters 502-1, 502-2 . . . 502-N. The signals 1000-1, 1000-2, and 1000-N are respectively modulated for radar sensing, wireless communication, and both radar sensing and wireless communication"); transmit a first signal based on the designated waveform via the first transceiver (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 13 element 1308 where transceiver 406-2 can simply be relabeled first); receive a second signal via the second transceiver (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-1, 1000-1, 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 12 element 1202; Figure 13 element 1302, 1304, 1308 where the transceivers are shown next to each other in Figure 10, one transceiver can transmit a communication signal and a second transceiver can receive radar reflections from its radar transmission); and generate sensing data based on the second signal, the sensing data comprising an indication of whether an entity has been detected (Column 13 lines 59-64, " At 1110, the signal that is received is processed to determine a location of the target. For example, the system processor 408 or the computer processor 304 can process the radar signal 602 to determine a range or an angular position of the target 604"). Lien does not disclose such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection.
Tertinek discloses
Such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection (Page 2 Paragraph 8, "In one or more embodiments, when the UWB communication node is switched to operate in the radar mode, the mode signal indicates that the UWB communication unit is permitted to enter the power-off or low-power state"; Page 4 Paragraph 5, "when the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210 are switched to operate in the radar mode, the external device does not need to exchange UWB messages with the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210").
Lien discloses multiple devices that can send communication and radar signals that are all connected. Lien does not disclose one of the devices continuing radar operations while in sleep mode. Tertinek discloses a communication radar continuing radar operations while the communication unit goes into sleep mode and alerting other devices that it does not need to communicate with the sleeping communication unit. The disclosed limitations of Tertinek would be advantageous in that the radar can continue to track a target/device while saving energy for the communication node and the external device on the network. Sending a message indicating a sleep mode can help the network manage its resources and coverage area. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Tertinek to add in energy saving features and information that can help with resource management.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The system of claim 10. Lien further discloses wherein the wireless communications protocol is a Wi-Fi protocol (Column 5 lines 35-42, “The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks (e.g., 3rd Generation Partnership Project Long-Term Evolution (3GPP LTE) or 5th Generation (5G)), IEEE 802.11 (e.g., 802.11n/ac/ad/g/a/b), Wi-Fi, WiGig™, WiMAX™, Bluetooth™, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) networks”).
Regarding claim 16 Lien discloses
A device comprising: processing elements configured to: switch a first transceiver and a second transceiver from a communications mode to a sensing mode (Column 3 lines 13-17, “Although used for transmitting and receiving wireless communication signals, the wireless communication chipset includes many similar components as a radar sensor, such as an antenna, a transceiver, and a processor”; Column 9 Lines 3-6, " Use of the switches 506 further enables the wireless communication chipset 104 to readily switch between full-duplex operation for radar sensing or half-duplex operation for wireless communication"; Figure 5 elements 406-1, 406-2 where there are multiple transceivers) while maintaining a network connection (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode; Column 4 lines 65-67, “FIG. 2 illustrates an example environment 200 with multiple communication devices 102 performing wireless communications and radar sensing”); generate a designated waveform at a wireless device (Figure 10 elements 104, 906; Column 12 lines 51-58, "Based on the modulation operation signal 906, the wireless communication chipset 104 generates signals 1000-1, 1000-2 . . . 1000-N via separate transmit chains represented by transmitters 502-1, 502-2 . . . 502-N. The signals 1000-1, 1000-2, and 1000-N are respectively modulated for radar sensing, wireless communication, and both radar sensing and wireless communication"); transmit a first signal based on the designated waveform via the first transceiver of the wireless device (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 13 element 1308 where transceiver 406-2 can simply be relabeled first); receive a second signal via the second transceiver of the wireless device, the second transceiver being collocated with the first transceiver within the wireless device (Column 12 lines 42-46, "I/Q demodulator 904 can also be used to support performing multiple radar sensing operations simultaneously or performing both wireless communication and radar sensing simultaneously, as described in further detail with respect to FIG. 10"; Column 13 lines 14-20, "Methods 1100, 1200, and 1300 are shown as sets of operations (or acts) performed but not necessarily limited to the order or combinations in which the operations are shown herein. Further, any of one or more of the operations may be repeated, combined, reorganized, or linked to provide a wide array of additional and/or alternate methods"; Figure 10 elements 406-1, 1000-1, 406-2, 1000-2; Figure 12 element 1202; Figure 13 element 1302, 1304, 1308 where the transceivers are shown next to each other in Figure 10, one transceiver can transmit a communication signal and a second transceiver can receive radar reflections from its radar transmission); and generate sensing data based on the second signal, the sensing data comprising an indication of whether an entity has been detected by the wireless device (Column 13 lines 59-64, " At 1110, the signal that is received is processed to determine a location of the target. For example, the system processor 408 or the computer processor 304 can process the radar signal 602 to determine a range or an angular position of the target 604"). Lien does not disclose such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection.
Tertinek discloses
Such that sensing operations of the sensing mode are performed during a duration of a sleep mode communicated to one or more other wireless devices associated with the network connection (Page 2 Paragraph 8, "In one or more embodiments, when the UWB communication node is switched to operate in the radar mode, the mode signal indicates that the UWB communication unit is permitted to enter the power-off or low-power state"; Page 4 Paragraph 5, "when the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210 are switched to operate in the radar mode, the external device does not need to exchange UWB messages with the UWB communication nodes 204, 206, 208, 210").
Lien discloses multiple devices that can send communication and radar signals that are all connected. Lien does not disclose one of the devices continuing radar operations while in sleep mode. Tertinek discloses a communication radar continuing radar operations while the communication unit goes into sleep mode and alerting other devices that it does not need to communicate with the sleeping communication unit. The disclosed limitations of Tertinek would be advantageous in that the radar can continue to track a target/device while saving energy for the communication node and the external device on the network. Sending a message indicating a sleep mode can help the network manage its resources and coverage area. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Tertinek to add in energy saving features and information that can help with resource management.
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The device of claim 16. Tertinek further discloses wherein the second signal is generated based on a reflection of the first signal off of the entity (Column 9 lines 15-19, "In this way, the transmitter 502-1 transmits a radar signal 602 via the antenna 404-1 while the receiver 504-2 receives a portion of the radar signal 602 that is reflected by a target 604 via the antenna 404-2").
10. Claims 2, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien (US 11079470 B2) in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A) further in view of Rimini (US 20200297236 A1).
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The method of claim 1. Lien discloses wherein the second signal is generated based on one or more of a reflection of the first signal off of the entity (Column 9 lines 15-19, "In this way, the transmitter 502-1 transmits a radar signal 602 via the antenna 404-1 while the receiver 504-2 receives a portion of the radar signal 602 that is reflected by a target 604 via the antenna 404-2"). Lien does not disclose and a parasitic coupling.
Rimini discloses
Signal based on a reflection and parasitic coupling (Paragraph 0006, "The radar pulses are successively sampled on each of the received radar pulses in “fast time” and adaptively filtered along the slow time dimension to remove components of the received signals that are due to mutual coupling").
Lien and Rimini are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses the use of orthogonal signals but not removing parasitic/mutual coupling from a received signal. Using orthogonal signals is not a perfect solution to avoiding self-interference as it does not account for multipath fading or imperfect antennas. As such, it would be beneficial to have another process, as in Rimini, for eliminating mutual coupling in the received data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Rimini to eliminate parasitic coupling that cannot be accounted for by using orthogonal signals.
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The system of claim 10. Lien discloses wherein the second signal is generated based on one or more of a reflection of the first signal off of the entity (Column 9 lines 15-19, "In this way, the transmitter 502-1 transmits a radar signal 602 via the antenna 404-1 while the receiver 504-2 receives a portion of the radar signal 602 that is reflected by a target 604 via the antenna 404-2"). Lien does not disclose and a parasitic coupling.
Rimini discloses
Signal based on a reflection and parasitic coupling (Paragraph 0006, "The radar pulses are successively sampled on each of the received radar pulses in “fast time” and adaptively filtered along the slow time dimension to remove components of the received signals that are due to mutual coupling").
Lien and Rimini are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses the use of orthogonal signals but not removing parasitic/mutual coupling from a received signal. Using orthogonal signals is not a perfect solution to avoiding self-interference as it does not account for multipath fading or imperfect antennas. As such, it would be beneficial to have another process, as in Rimini, for eliminating mutual coupling in the received data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Rimini to eliminate parasitic coupling that cannot be accounted for by using orthogonal signals.
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien (US 11079470 B2) in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A) further in view of Sentelle (US 20150301167 A1).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The method of claim 1. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose further comprising: determining if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data.
Sentelle discloses
Further comprising: determining if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data (Paragraph 0154, "In various implementations, in both overt movement processing (925A) and subtle movement processing (975A), phase and/or frequency data for each transmitted frequency is first used to develop a current picture of an environment, and is then compared against further phase and frequency data to determine differences").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects but not detecting objects in comparison with additional sensing data. Using environmental data to help detect objects can be advantageous in that it can help to reduce false alarms. When a baseline image is created, a tree moving in the wind can be distinguished from a target of interest. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle to compare future captured data with established environmental data to help reduce false alarms.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Lien, Tertinek and Sentelle discloses
The method of claim 3. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose further comprising: transmitting a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected.
Sentelle discloses
Further comprising: transmitting a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected (Abstract, "one or more transceivers coupled to the one or more transmit antennas and the one or more receive antennas, and an electronic processor to analyze the received reflection signals of the transmitted one or more radar signals, and determine, based on the analyzed received reflection signals, locations of the one or more individuals within a region at a side of the barrier"; Paragraph 0137, "The first device can also detect reflected portions of each signal and conduct processing and analysis of the signal transmitted by each of the multiple devices…Results of the processing can be communicated from the first device to each of the other devices, enabling the user of each device to perceive the results").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not reporting that it has detected an object to another device. Sentelle discloses that this feature is desirable in that it “enabling the user of each device to perceive the results.” The user can use this reporting process for information about the environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The system of claim 10 including the processing device. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the device is further configured to: determine if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data.
Sentelle discloses
Wherein the device is further configured to: determine if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data (Paragraph 0154, "In various implementations, in both overt movement processing (925A) and subtle movement processing (975A), phase and/or frequency data for each transmitted frequency is first used to develop a current picture of an environment, and is then compared against further phase and frequency data to determine differences").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects but not detecting objects in comparison with additional sensing data. Using environmental data to help detect objects can be advantageous in that it can help to reduce false alarms. When a baseline image is created, a tree moving in the wind can be distinguished from a target of interest. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle to compare future captured data with established environmental data to help reduce false alarms.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Lien, Tertinek and Sentelle discloses
The system of claim 12, including the processing device. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the device is further configured to: transmit a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected.
Sentelle discloses
A device further configured to: transmit a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected (Abstract, "one or more transceivers coupled to the one or more transmit antennas and the one or more receive antennas, and an electronic processor to analyze the received reflection signals of the transmitted one or more radar signals, and determine, based on the analyzed received reflection signals, locations of the one or more individuals within a region at a side of the barrier"; Paragraph 0137, "The first device can also detect reflected portions of each signal and conduct processing and analysis of the signal transmitted by each of the multiple devices…Results of the processing can be communicated from the first device to each of the other devices, enabling the user of each device to perceive the results").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not reporting that it has detected an object to another device. Sentelle discloses that this feature is desirable in that it “enabling the user of each device to perceive the results.” The user can use this reporting process for information about the environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The device of claim 16, including the processing elements. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the elements are further configured to: determine if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data.
Sentelle discloses
Wherein the elements are further configured to: determine if the entity has been detected based on a comparison of the sensing data with additional sensing data (Paragraph 0154, "In various implementations, in both overt movement processing (925A) and subtle movement processing (975A), phase and/or frequency data for each transmitted frequency is first used to develop a current picture of an environment, and is then compared against further phase and frequency data to determine differences").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects but not detecting objects in comparison with additional sensing data. Using environmental data to help detect objects can be advantageous in that it can help to reduce false alarms. When a baseline image is created, a tree moving in the wind can be distinguished from a target of interest. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle to compare future captured data with established environmental data to help reduce false alarms.
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Lien, Tertinek and Sentelle discloses
The device of claim 18, including the processing elements. The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the elements are further configured to: transmit a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected.
Sentelle discloses
Wherein the elements are further configured to: transmit a message to an additional wireless device in response to determining that an entity has been detected (Abstract, "one or more transceivers coupled to the one or more transmit antennas and the one or more receive antennas, and an electronic processor to analyze the received reflection signals of the transmitted one or more radar signals, and determine, based on the analyzed received reflection signals, locations of the one or more individuals within a region at a side of the barrier"; Paragraph 0137, "The first device can also detect reflected portions of each signal and conduct processing and analysis of the signal transmitted by each of the multiple devices…Results of the processing can be communicated from the first device to each of the other devices, enabling the user of each device to perceive the results").
Lien and Sentelle are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not reporting that it has detected an object to another device. Sentelle discloses that this feature is desirable in that it “enabling the user of each device to perceive the results.” The user can use this reporting process for information about the environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Sentelle so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Claims 5, 6, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien (US 11079470 B2) in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A) further in view of Kim (US 20180031673 A1) further in view of Rofheart (WO 0193434 A2).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The method of claim 1, including switching modes. Lien discloses and maintaining a network connection used by the wireless device in the communications mode (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode). The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform, and wherein the switching comprises: transmitting a message indicating the wireless device is transitioning to a sleep mode.
Kim discloses
Wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform (Paragraph 0045, “The switch-1 110 switches an electric connection between the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160. Specifically, in the communication mode, the switch-1 110 switches to connect the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160 with each other. Accordingly, in the communication mode, a communication signal outputted from the DAC 100 is transmitted to the mixer-1 160 via the switch-1 110”; Paragraph 0054, “ As described above, in the radar mode, only the fast chirp signal generated in the PLL 120 is transmitted via the transmission antenna 190 after passing through the mixer-1 160 and the PA 170.”).
Lien and Kim are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses switching modes and generating signals but does not specify that the signal is generated after a switch. Generating the signal after switching modes would be advantageous in that it would be a more efficient use of power. As in the device would generate the signal only when it is needed instead of before. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Kim so that Lien only generates a signal after switching modes in order to more efficiently use power.
Rofheart discloses
Transmitting a message indicating the wireless device is transitioning to a sleep mode (Page 16 Paragraph 3 lines 4-7, "For example, the local device 301 may store data sent from remote devices within a predefined range while only displaying the information sent from remote devices outside that range. As another example, the local device 301 may notify the device user or automatically enter a sleep mode if no remote devices are within a predefined range").
Lien and Rofheart are considered analogous art as both concern a distance sensing device operating in a wireless device and use the reflection of signals. Lien discloses switching modes but does not specify going into sleep mode or sending a sleep notification. The device sending a message notifying that it is going to sleep can be advantageous if that sleep message was sent to a user. In this example as the device goes from communication mode to radar mode the sleep message would notify the user as to what is currently happening, which would improve the user experience. Additionally, this feature can be used to warn the user that it may not receive notifications for a period of time, which again would improve the user experience. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Rofheart to add in sending a sleep notification to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Lien, Tertinek, Kim, and Rofheart discloses
The method of claim 5. Lien further discloses wherein when in the communications mode, the first transceiver and the second transceiver are configured to be compatible with a wireless communications protocol (Column 5 lines 35-42, “The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks (e.g., 3rd Generation Partnership Project Long-Term Evolution (3GPP LTE) or 5th Generation (5G)), IEEE 802.11 (e.g., 802.11n/ac/ad/g/a/b), Wi-Fi, WiGig™, WiMAX™, Bluetooth™, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) networks”).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Lien, Tertinek, Kim, and Rofheart discloses
The method of claim 6. Lien further discloses wherein the wireless communications protocol is a Wi-Fi protocol (Column 5 lines 35-42, “The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks (e.g., 3rd Generation Partnership Project Long-Term Evolution (3GPP LTE) or 5th Generation (5G)), IEEE 802.11 (e.g., 802.11n/ac/ad/g/a/b), Wi-Fi, WiGig™, WiMAX™, Bluetooth™, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) networks”).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Lien, Tertinek, Kim, and Rofheart discloses
The method of claim 7. Lien further discloses further comprising: transmitting the sensing data to a computing device (Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth").
Claims 8, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien (US 11079470 B2) in view of Tertinek (CN 115589630 A) further in view of Kim (US 20180031673 A1) further in view of Rofheart (WO 0193434 A2) further in view of Zhang (US 20230258804 A1).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Lien, Tertinek, Kim, and Rofheart discloses
The method of claim 5. Lien discloses further comprising: switching the first transceiver and the second transceiver from the sensing mode to the communications mode (Column 9 Lines 3-6, " Use of the switches 506 further enables the wireless communication chipset 104 to readily switch between full-duplex operation for radar sensing or half-duplex operation for wireless communication"). Lien does not disclose switching to communication mode after the generating of the sensing data.
Zhang discloses
Switching to communication mode after the generating of the sensing data (Paragraph 0227, “In this application, the target may move. After the target moves, the second laser radar may determine in a timely manner that the target moves, and may accurately adjust a pointing direction of the second laser radar by using a feedback control component corresponding to the second laser radar, to precisely track the moving target, and send second information to the control apparatus.”; Paragraph 0228, “ Because the target moves, some laser radars may not align with the target in a timely manner. To ensure communication reliability, the control apparatus is further configured to: when determining that a laser radar that does not align with the target exists in the K first laser radars, send a second instruction to the M laser radars in the second laser radars, where the second instruction is used to instruct the M laser radars to communicate with the target”; Paragraph 0228, “the M second laser radars that receive the second instruction switch to a communication mode” ).
Lien and Zhang are considered analogous art as both concern a target sensing device operating in a wireless communication network. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not switching to a communication mode after detecting a target. Switching to a communication mode after detecting a target would be advantageous to alert a user, as on their phone, of a change in the monitored environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Zhang so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The system of claim 10, including switching modes, as in switching from communication mode to sensing mode, and a processing device. Lien discloses and maintaining a network connection used during the communications mode (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode). The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver to the sensing mode is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform, wherein the device is further configured to switch the first transceiver and the second transceiver from the sensing mode to the communications mode after the generating of the sensing data, and wherein the switch further comprises: transmitting a message identifying a transition to a sleep mode.
Kim discloses
Wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver to the sensing mode is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform (Paragraph 0045, “The switch-1 110 switches an electric connection between the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160. Specifically, in the communication mode, the switch-1 110 switches to connect the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160 with each other. Accordingly, in the communication mode, a communication signal outputted from the DAC 100 is transmitted to the mixer-1 160 via the switch-1 110”; Paragraph 0053, “The mixer-1 160 mixes the communication signal transmitted via the switch-1 110 and the fast chirp signal transmitted via the switch-2 130”; Paragraph 0054, “ As described above, in the radar mode, only the fast chirp signal generated in the PLL 120 is transmitted via the transmission antenna 190 after passing through the mixer-1 160 and the PA 170” where a new connection needs to be made to generate and transmit a signal in sensing mode and communication mode).
Lien and Kim are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses switching modes and generating signals but does not specify that the signal is generated after a switch. Generating the signal after switching modes would be advantageous in that it would be a more efficient use of power. As in the device would generate the signal only when it is needed instead of before. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Kim so that Lien only generates a signal after switching modes in order to more efficiently use power.
Zhang discloses
The device switching to communication mode after the generating of the sensing data (Paragraph 0227, “In this application, the target may move. After the target moves, the second laser radar may determine in a timely manner that the target moves, and may accurately adjust a pointing direction of the second laser radar by using a feedback control component corresponding to the second laser radar, to precisely track the moving target, and send second information to the control apparatus.”; Paragraph 0228, “ Because the target moves, some laser radars may not align with the target in a timely manner. To ensure communication reliability, the control apparatus is further configured to: when determining that a laser radar that does not align with the target exists in the K first laser radars, send a second instruction to the M laser radars in the second laser radars, where the second instruction is used to instruct the M laser radars to communicate with the target”; Paragraph 0228, “the M second laser radars that receive the second instruction switch to a communication mode” ).
Lien and Zhang are considered analogous art as both concern a target sensing device operating in a wireless communication network. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not switching to a communication mode after detecting a target. Switching to a communication mode after detecting a target would be advantageous to alert a user, as on their phone, of a change in the monitored environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Zhang so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Rofheart discloses
Transmitting a message indicating the wireless device is transitioning to a sleep mode (Page 16 Paragraph 3 lines 4-7, "For example, the local device 301 may store data sent from remote devices within a predefined range while only displaying the information sent from remote devices outside that range. As another example, the local device 301 may notify the device user or automatically enter a sleep mode if no remote devices are within a predefined range").
Lien and Rofheart are considered analogous art as both concern a distance sensing device operating in a wireless device and use the reflection of signals. Lien discloses switching modes but does not specify going into sleep mode or sending a sleep notification. The device sending a message notifying that it is going to sleep can be advantageous if that sleep message was sent to a user. In this example as the device goes from communication mode to radar mode the sleep message would notify the user as to what is currently happening, which would improve the user experience. Additionally, this feature can be used to warn the user that it may not receive notifications for a period of time, which again would improve the user experience. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Rofheart to add in sending a sleep notification to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Lien and Tertinek discloses
The device of claim 16, including switching modes, as in switching from communication mode to sensing mode, and processing elements. Lien discloses and maintaining a network connection used by the wireless device in the communications mode (Column 4 lines 31-37, "The wireless link 108 can include a downlink of data or control information communicated from the base station 106 to the computing device 102 or an uplink of other data or control information communicated from the computing device 102 to the base station 106. The wireless link 108 may be implemented using any suitable communication protocol or standard, including those for cellular networks"; Column 5 lines 17-27, " In environments in which more than one computing device 102 is present, such as in environment 200, multiple computing devices 102 can work together to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar. In other words, one or more computing device 102 can transmit radar signals and one or more other computing device 102 can receive the radar signals. For cooperative radar sensing, the computing device 102 can be synchronized in time using atomic clocks, global-positioning system (GPS) time, cellular synchronization, wireless communications, and so forth" where the device has the ability to communicate with another device regardless of the mode). The combination of Lien and Tertinek does not disclose wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver to the sensing mode is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform, wherein the elements are further configured to switch the first transceiver and the second transceiver from the sensing mode to the communications mode after the generating of the sensing data, and wherein the switch further comprises: transmitting a message indicating the wireless device is transitioning to a sleep mode.
Kim discloses
Wherein the switching of the first transceiver and the second transceiver to the sensing mode is performed prior to the generating of the designated waveform (Paragraph 0045, “The switch-1 110 switches an electric connection between the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160. Specifically, in the communication mode, the switch-1 110 switches to connect the DAC 100 and the mixer-1 160 with each other. Accordingly, in the communication mode, a communication signal outputted from the DAC 100 is transmitted to the mixer-1 160 via the switch-1 110”; Paragraph 0053, “The mixer-1 160 mixes the communication signal transmitted via the switch-1 110 and the fast chirp signal transmitted via the switch-2 130”; Paragraph 0054, “ As described above, in the radar mode, only the fast chirp signal generated in the PLL 120 is transmitted via the transmission antenna 190 after passing through the mixer-1 160 and the PA 170” where a new connection needs to be made to generate and transmit a signal in sensing mode and communication mode).
Lien and Kim are considered analogous art as both concern a radar operation in a wireless device. Lien discloses switching modes and generating signals but does not specify that the signal is generated after a switch. Generating the signal after switching modes would be advantageous in that it would be a more efficient use of power. As in the device would generate the signal only when it is needed instead of before. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Kim so that Lien only generates a signal after switching modes in order to more efficiently use power.
Zhang discloses
The elements switching to communication mode after the generating of the sensing data (Paragraph 0227, “In this application, the target may move. After the target moves, the second laser radar may determine in a timely manner that the target moves, and may accurately adjust a pointing direction of the second laser radar by using a feedback control component corresponding to the second laser radar, to precisely track the moving target, and send second information to the control apparatus.”; Paragraph 0228, “ Because the target moves, some laser radars may not align with the target in a timely manner. To ensure communication reliability, the control apparatus is further configured to: when determining that a laser radar that does not align with the target exists in the K first laser radars, send a second instruction to the M laser radars in the second laser radars, where the second instruction is used to instruct the M laser radars to communicate with the target”; Paragraph 0228, “the M second laser radars that receive the second instruction switch to a communication mode” ).
Lien and Zhang are considered analogous art as both concern a target sensing device operating in a wireless communication network. Lien discloses detecting objects and communicating with other devices but not switching to a communication mode after detecting a target. Switching to a communication mode after detecting a target would be advantageous to alert a user, as on their phone, of a change in the monitored environment, so the user can make more informed decisions. Additionally, this reporting process can be used as a type of warning system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Zhang so that a radar device can report a detection to another device so that a user can make informed and potentially security related decisions about an environment.
Rofheart discloses
Transmitting a message indicating the wireless device is transitioning to a sleep mode (Page 16 Paragraph 3 lines 4-7, "For example, the local device 301 may store data sent from remote devices within a predefined range while only displaying the information sent from remote devices outside that range. As another example, the local device 301 may notify the device user or automatically enter a sleep mode if no remote devices are within a predefined range").
Lien and Rofheart are considered analogous art as both concern a distance sensing device operating in a wireless device and use the reflection of signals. Lien discloses switching modes but does not specify going into sleep mode or sending a sleep notification. The device sending a message notifying that it is going to sleep can be advantageous if that sleep message was sent to a user. In this example as the device goes from communication mode to radar mode the sleep message would notify the user as to what is currently happening, which would improve the user experience. Additionally, this feature can be used to warn the user that it may not receive notifications for a period of time, which again would improve the user experience. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lien with Rofheart to add in sending a sleep notification to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648