DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application # 18532326 filed 12/07/2023. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arya et al. (Arya hereafter) (US 20170309088 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 15, Arya teaches, An electronic device comprising (Arya; The aerial vehicle 110, Par. 0039):
memory storing instructions and including a first memory and a second memory (Arya; Fig. 8 element “802”, “808”);
a sensor (Arya; Fig. 6 element “680”);
a communication circuit (Arya; Fig. 6 element “670”); and
a processor (Arya; Fig. 6 element “610”); and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
establish wireless communication connection by using the communication circuit (Arya; The TCP interface 804 generates and transmits packets, Par. 0122; The link 706 may be a wireless link, Par. 0109);
record in the first memory first sensing information, which is obtained through the sensor at first timing, including an acceleration of a vehicle in which the electronic device is equipped (Arya; The FIFO buffer 802 stores sensor data from the aerial vehicle 110, Par. 0121; sensor data from the accelerometer may be used to generate motion metadata, comprising velocity and/or acceleration vectors representative of motion of the camera 450, Par. 0082) and transmit, to a server providing a service associated with the vehicle, the recorded first sensing information (Arya; the remote controller 120 may be in communication with a mobile device 702 that operates to relay communications between the remote controller 120 and a cloud server 704, which in turn communicates with one or more clients 764 executing a dashboard application … in the event of a crash, the log data may be valuable to assess why the crash occurred, Par. 0098);
recognize that the established wireless communication connection is disconnected after the first timing (Arya; The aerial vehicle detects 1001 the loss of the link to the remote controller 120, Par. 0133);
record in the first memory second sensing information (Arya; Fig. 10 element “1008”; it may store 1008 the data packets to the buffer 802, Par. 0133), which is obtained through the sensor at second timing, including an acceleration of the vehicle, while the wireless communication connection is disconnected, and store the recorded second sensing information in the second memory (Arya; Fig. 10 “1012”; the aerial vehicle 110 may commit 1012 the data in the buffer to the persistent storage 808 so that it is not overwritten, Par. 0133); and
transmit, to the server, the stored second sensing information in response to recognizing that the wireless communication connection is reestablished after the second timing (Arya; the data in the buffer 802 may be transferred to the remote controller 120 if the link is re-established. The previously stored data in the persistent storage 808 may also be transferred to the remote controller 120 upon re-establishing the link, Par. 0134).
Specifically for claim 15, Arya teaches, A method performed by an electronic device comprising (Arya; The aerial vehicle 110, Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 17, Arya teaches, The electronic device of claim 1 and The method of claim 15 respectively,
wherein the wireless communication connection is established based on at least one of a long term evolution (LTE) communication scheme, a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) communication scheme, or a satellite communication scheme (Arya; The aerial vehicle 110 and the remote controller 120 are communicatively coupled through a wireless link 125. The wireless link 125 can be a Wi-Fi link, cellular (e.g., long term evolution (LTE), 3G, 4G, 5G) or other wireless communication link, Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 18, Arya teaches, The electronic device of claim 1 and The method of claim 15 respectively,
wherein the first memory includes volatile memory, wherein the second memory includes non-volatile memory (Arya; stored to a buffer (e.g., a volatile memory) ... may be transferred from the buffer to a non-volatile storage, Par. 0028), and
wherein the first sensing information is deleted from the first memory after the first sensing information is transmitted to the server (Arya; Upon transferring the log data to the remote controller 120, the circular buffer may be flushed, Par. 0113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arya in view of Trivedi et al. (Trivedi hereafter) (US 20250227149 A1) and in further view of Kopfstedt et al. (Kopfstedt hereafter) (US 20190310859 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 16, Arya teaches, The electronic device of claim 1 and The method of claim 15 respectively.
Arya failed to explicitly teach,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
identify that a power of the electronic device is changed from an off state to an on state;
execute a booting of the electronic device in response to the identifying the on state; and
initiate collection of sensing information representing an acceleration of the vehicle according to a designated time period by using the sensor after the booting is finished, wherein the sensing information collected according to the designated time period includes the first sensing information and the second sensing information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Trivedi teaches,
execute a booting of the electronic device; and
initiate collection of sensing information representing an acceleration of the vehicle according to a designated time period by using the sensor after the booting is finished (Trivedi; as shown in FIG. 2, the buffer 204 may be assigned specific address spaces for specific sensors ... Sensor locations may be allocated, for example, in conjunction with a start or boot operation of the vehicle 102, Par. 0055), wherein the sensing information collected according to the designated time period includes the first sensing information and the second sensing information (Trivedi; capture a second portion of the subset of sensor data recorded in the RAM after the recording trigger, until the end time is reached, Par. 0007; the recorded files 146 may be used to store sensor data related to particular events, including driving-related events such as sudden accelerations/decelerations, or impact events, Par. 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arya to include the use of policy file as taught by Trivedi in order to capture data (Trivedi; Par. 0008).
Although Trivedi teaches start or booting operation of the vehicle, but Arya- Trivedi fail to explicitly teach,
identify that a power of the electronic device is changed from an off state to an on state;
execute a booting of the electronic device in response to the identifying the on state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kopfstedt teaches,
identify that a power of the electronic device is changed from an off state to an on state (Kopfstedt; a hard boot may include activation of a vehicle with ADAS from a completely powered-down state, Par. 0030);
execute a booting of the electronic device in response to the identifying the on state (Kopfstedt; Boot step 12 may include providing electrical power to the computer motherboard, direct memory access unit, and RAM, among other components. Par. 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arya- Trivedi to include the use of boot sequence as taught by Kopfstedt in order to bring up the system (Kopfstedt; Par. 0028).
Claim 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arya in view of Dillow et al. (Dillow hereafter) (US 20190130671 A1).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 19, Arya teaches, The electronic device of claim 1 and The method of claim 15 respectively,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
transmit, to the server, a configuration request message based on the established wireless communication connection; and
receive, from the server, a configuration response message in response to the configuration request message, wherein the configuration request message includes at least one of identification information of the electronic device, identification information of a universal subscriber identity module, or firmware information of the electronic device, and
wherein the configuration response message includes at least one of sensitivity of an acceleration sensor included in the sensor, a length of a transmission period for transmission of sensing information, or reference values for detecting an event (Arya; The event may be defined in a separate configuration file pre shared between the controller 120, the aerial vehicle 110, and the server 704, Par. 0119; if battery power level drops below a threshold on the aerial vehicle 110, the aerial vehicle 110 can communicate this back to the remote controller 120, Par. 0092).
Arya failed to explicitly teach,
transmit, to the server, a configuration request message based on the established wireless communication connection; and
receive, from the server, a configuration response message in response to the configuration request message, wherein the configuration request message includes at least one of identification information of the electronic device, identification information of a universal subscriber identity module, or firmware information of the electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillow teaches,
transmit, to the server, a configuration request message based on the established wireless communication connection (Dillow; In response to the receiving the request, Par. 0031); and
receive, from the server, a configuration response message in response to the configuration request message, wherein the configuration request message includes at least one of identification information of the electronic device, identification information of a universal subscriber identity module, or firmware information of the electronic device (Dillow; In response to the receiving the request, the vehicle information server 180 may parse a database of vehicle profiles for the vehicle profile matching the vehicle identification information included in the request ... return the vehicle profile matching the vehicle identification information included in the request back to the booth controller 130, Par. 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arya to include the use of identification information as taught by Dillow in order to identify the vehicle (Dillow; Par. 0031).
Claim 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arya in view of PARK et al. (PARK hereafter) (US 20220291012 A1).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 20, Arya teaches, The electronic device of claim 1 and The method of claim 15 respectively,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
transmit, to the server together with the first sensing information, first position information of the electronic device calculated based on a first signal received at the first timing through the communication circuit (Arya; the sensors 540 may capture time-stamped location information based on a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, Par. 0082); and
transmit, to the server together with the second sensing information, second position information of the electronic device calculated based on a second signal received at the second timing through the communication circuit (Arya; data logs associated with operation of the aerial vehicle 110 may include time-stamped telemetry metadata such as vehicle positioning information (e.g., GPS data) ... acceleration, Par. 0100).
Arya failed to explicitly teach,
position information calculated based on a first signal received.
However, in the same field of endeavor, PARK teaches,
position information calculated based on a first signal received (PARK; The GPS is a satellite navigation system configured to receive signals from GPS satellites and calculate the current position of the vehicle 100, Par. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arya to include the use of GPS signal as taught by PARK in order to calculate position (PARK; Par. 0027).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arya-Trivedi- Kopfstedt in view of MATSUOKA et al. (MATSUOKA hereafter) (US 20240051484 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Arya-Trivedi- Kopfstedt teaches, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to.
Arya-Trivedi- Kopfstedt failed to explicitly teach,
record in the first memory a value, obtained by using the sensor, representing an acceleration of the vehicle at a timing when an impact from outside occurs while the wireless communication connection is established;
determine whether the value is greater than or equal to a first reference value; and
determine whether the value is less than a second reference value greater than the first reference value in case that the value is greater than or equal to the first reference value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MATSUOKA teaches,
record in the first memory a value, obtained by using the sensor, representing an acceleration of the vehicle at a timing when an impact from outside occurs while the wireless communication connection is established (MATSUOKA; The impact detecting unit 104 determines whether an intermediate impact has been detected or whether a big impact has been detected on the basis of the information indicating acceleration which is included in the acquired impact information, Par. 0051);
determine whether the value is greater than or equal to a first reference value (MATSUOKA; When the acceleration is equal to or higher than a first acceleration threshold value, Par. 0051); and
determine whether the value is less than a second reference value greater than the first reference value in case that the value is greater than or equal to the first reference value (MATSUOKA; and less than a second acceleration threshold value (first acceleration threshold value≤acceleration<second acceleration threshold value), Par. 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Arya-Trivedi- Kopfstedt to include the use of threshold as taught by MATSUOKA in order to determine whether the impact is intermediate or big (MATSUOKA; Par. 0051).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference US 20180374009 A1 teaches in Par. 0026 that “When a connection to the server cannot be established (as may happen regularly in relatively remote agricultural operations), the sensor array 112 may be configured to cache collected data in local memory until a connection with the server 120 is made. Upon re-connecting, the locally cached data is uploaded to the server system 120”.
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416