DETAILED ACTION
This communication responsive to the Application No. 18/532,383 filed on December 07, 2023. Claims 1-30 are pending and are directed towards Restoring Loss Passcodes/Passwords Using a Connected Trusted Device.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2023 was Acknowledge. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term “GOOGLE, APPLE,WI-FI, ZIGBEE, BLUETOOTH” in many paragraphs in the disclosure, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 15, 19, 23 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “receiving a user input of a second received codeword in the computing device” Which is vague and not clear. it is not understood which “computing device” the limitation is referring to. Also, it is not clear how “a second received codeword” was received and from which computing device.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 19 recite in different places “the computing device” which is vague and not clear, if it is referring to the first computing device or to the second computing device.
Claims 8, 15, 23 and 30 contains the trademark/trade name “Wi-Fi, ZigBEE, Bluetooth”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe wireless network communication and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 2, 5 and 7 rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2024/0296218 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Burgoyne US 2008/0028446 A1 (hereinafter “Burgoyne”)
As per claim 1, Chen teaches a method for restoring a lost passcode on a first computing device using a second computing device via a wireless network (a password resetting method, where a first electronic device is associated with a second electronic device to establish a trust relationship, and when forgetting a lock screen password of the first electronic device, a user may reset the lock screen password of the first electronic device by authenticating the second electronic device. Chen, para [0006])( the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219]), the method comprising:
transmitting a passcode reset request to the second computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset request including a first generated codeword (The first electronic device sends a device association request to the second electronic device. Chen, para [0038]) (the device A may send a password reset request to the device B, to notify the device A that the lock screen password needs to be reset. Chen, para [0237])( the first authentication content is an authentication code, and the second authentication content is an authentication code generated on the second electronic device. Chen, para [0078]);
displaying the first generated codeword on the first computing device (the authentication code is randomly generated, and a different authentication code may be generated each time the password protection device is associated with. In this way, security can be improved Chen, para [0249]) [The authentication code is displayed on Device A see Fig. 7D element 7041];
receiving a passcode reset response from the second computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset response including a first received codeword (the user enters, on the device A by using related prompts, an authentication code displayed on the device B, to establish a trust relationship between the device A and the device B. Chen, para [0251]) (the first authentication content is an authentication code, and the second authentication content is an authentication code generated on the second electronic device. Chen, para [0078]);
determining whether the first generated codeword matches the first received codeword included in the passcode reset response (when first authentication content on the first electronic device matches second authentication content on the second electronic device includes. Chen, para [0080]);
transmitting an authentication success message to the second computing device via the wireless network in response to the first generated codeword matching the first received codeword (the authentication code detected by the first electronic device matches the authentication code generated on the second electronic device, it is considered that authentication on the second electronic device succeeds. Chen, para [0082]) (After the device A and the device B confirm that the lock screen password of the device B entered by the user is correct, the device A displays a message prompt box 603, where the message prompt box 603 includes a message (for example, authentication success!) used to prompt the user that the authentication on the device B succeeds. Chen, para [0238]);
receiving an authentication pairing success message from the second computing device (After the device A and the device B confirm that the lock screen password of the device B entered by the user is correct, the device A displays a message prompt box 603, where the message prompt box 603 includes a message (for example, authentication success!) used to prompt the user that the authentication on the device B succeeds. Chen, para [0238]); and
resetting the passcode on the first computing device in response to receiving the authentication pairing success message from the second computing device (The message prompt box 603 may further include a password display box 6031 and a password enter box 6032. The user resets a lock screen password of the device A via the password enter box 6032, and the password display box 6031 may display the reset lock screen password of the device A. Chen, para [0238]).
Chen does not explicitly teach receiving a user input of a second received codeword in the computing device; transmitting a passcode reset confirmation to the second computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset confirmation including the second received codeword;
However, Burgoyne teaches receiving a user input of a second received codeword in the computing device (The member may be required to enter a new password that meets a minimum number of requirements, such as, for example, a minimum length, a combination of alpha and numeric characters, and a second entry of the new password that matches the first entry of the new password (block 550). If it is determined at the block 550 that the new password does not meet the requirements, an error message may be generated and the password will not be updated (block 552). Burgoyne, para [0084]);
transmitting a passcode reset confirmation to the second computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset confirmation including the second received codeword (the updated password is then stored in memory (block 554). A record of the transaction for the updated password may also be stored in the member's account (block 556). Burgoyne, para [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen in view Burgoyne. One would be motivated to do so, to send the new passcode and confirming the reset process.
As per claim 2, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
configuring the first computing device to communicate via the wireless network (The wireless communication module 160 may provide a wireless communication solution that is applied to the electronic device 100 and that includes wireless communication such as a wireless local area network (wireless local area network, WLAN) (for example, a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) network), Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), a global navigation satellite system (global navigation satellite system, GNSS), frequency modulation (frequency modulation, FM), a near field communication (near field communication, NFC) technology, or an infrared (infrared, IR) technology. Chen, para [0158]); and
connecting the first computing device to the wireless network (in the electronic device 100, the antenna 1 is coupled to the mobile communication module 150, and the antenna 2 is coupled to the wireless communication module 160, so that the electronic device 100 may communicate with a network and another device by using a wireless communication technology. Chen, para [0159]).
As per claim 3, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving configuration data regarding the wireless network by the computing device (The wireless communication module 160 may provide a wireless communication solution that is applied to the electronic device 100 and that includes wireless communication such as a wireless local area network (wireless local area network, WLAN) (for example, a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) network), Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), a global navigation satellite system (global navigation satellite system, GNSS), frequency modulation (frequency modulation, FM), a near field communication (near field communication, NFC) technology, or an infrared (infrared, IR) technology. Chen, para [0158]);
identifying the wireless network using the configuration data (The wireless communication module 160 may be one or more devices that integrate at least one communication processing module. The wireless communication module 160 receives an electromagnetic wave via the antenna 2, performs frequency modulation and filtering processing on an electromagnetic wave signal, and sends the processed signal to the processor 110. The wireless communication module 160 may further receive a to-be-sent signal from the processor 110, perform frequency modulation and amplification on the signal, and convert the signal into an electromagnetic wave via the antenna 2 for radiation. Chen, para [0158]);
identifying the second computing device using the configuration data (the wireless communication function of the electronic device 100 may implement functions such as sending a password reset request, sending an identifier of the electronic device 100, and receiving a password reset credential. The antenna 1 and the antenna 2 are configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave signal. Each antenna in the electronic device 100 may be configured to cover one or more communication frequency bands. Different antennas may further be multiplexed, to improve antenna utilization. For example, the antenna 1 may be multiplexed as a diversity antenna of a wireless local area network. In some other embodiments, the antenna may be used in combination with a tuning switch. Chen, para [0155]);
connecting to the wireless network (the wireless communication function of the electronic device 100 may implement functions such as sending a password reset request, sending an identifier of the electronic device 100, and receiving a password reset credential. The antenna 1 and the antenna 2 are configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave signal. Each antenna in the electronic device 100 may be configured to cover one or more communication frequency bands. Different antennas may further be multiplexed, to improve antenna utilization. For example, the antenna 1 may be multiplexed as a diversity antenna of a wireless local area network. In some other embodiments, the antenna may be used in combination with a tuning switch. Chen, para [0155]); and
communicating with the second computing device for pairing (the electronic device 100, the antenna 1 is coupled to the mobile communication module 150, and the antenna 2 is coupled to the wireless communication module 160, so that the electronic device 100 may communicate with a network and another device by using a wireless communication technology. Chen, para [0159]).
As per claim 4, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, wherein resetting the passcode on the computing device comprises: displaying successful pairing on a display of the computing device (After detecting an operation of entering the lock screen password of the device B by the user and confirming that the lock screen password is correct, the device A displays a prompt message, where the prompt message is used to prompt the user that the password protection device is successfully set. Chen, para [0223]);
Chen does not explicitly teach receiving a first copy of a new passcode; receiving a second copy of the new passcode; determining whether the first copy of the new passcode matches the second copy of the new passcode; and saving the new passcode on the computing device in response to the first copy of the new passcode matching the second copy of the new passcode.
However, Burgoyne teaches receiving a first copy of a new passcode; receiving a second copy of the new passcode; determining whether the first copy of the new passcode matches the second copy of the new passcode; and saving the new passcode on the computing device in response to the first copy of the new passcode matching the second copy of the new passcode (The member may be required to enter a new password that meets a minimum number of requirements, such as, for example, a minimum length, a combination of alpha and numeric characters, and a second entry of the new password that matches the first entry of the new password (block 550). If it is determined at the block 550 that the new password does not meet the requirements, an error message may be generated and the password will not be updated (block 552). Burgoyne, para [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen in view Burgoyne. One would be motivated to do so, to make sure the new entered password is correct and saved.
As per claim 5, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, further comprising generating a random number and using the generated random number in the first generated codeword (the authentication code is randomly generated, and a different authentication code may be generated each time the password protection device is associated with. In this way, security can be improved. Chen, para [0249]).
As per claim 6, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, wherein the computing device is one of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet device, a desktop computer, or a laptop computer (A method provided in embodiments of this application may be applied to an electronic device with a display screen such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a wearable device, an in-vehicle device, an augmented reality (augmented reality, AR) device/a virtual reality (virtual reality, VR) device, a notebook computer, an ultra-mobile personal computer (ultra-mobile personal computer, UMPC), a netbook, or a personal digital assistant (personal digital assistant, PDA). Chen, para [0141]).
As per claim 7, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless network is a direct device-to-device mesh network that the first computing device automatically joins in response to detecting the wireless direct device-to-device mesh network (the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219])..
As per claim 8, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 7, wherein the wireless network comprises one of a Wi-Fi network, a ZigBEE network, or a Bluetooth network (the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219]).
As per claim 9, Chen teaches a method performed by a second computing device for restoring a lost passcode on a first computing device (a password resetting method, where a first electronic device is associated with a second electronic device to establish a trust relationship, and when forgetting a lock screen password of the first electronic device, a user may reset the lock screen password of the first electronic device by authenticating the second electronic device. Chen, para [0006])( the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219]),, the method comprising:
receiving a passcode reset request from the first computing device, the passcode reset request including a first generated codeword (The first electronic device sends a device association request to the second electronic device. Chen, para [0038]) (the device A may send a password reset request to the device B, to notify the device A that the lock screen password needs to be reset. Chen, para [0237])( the first authentication content is an authentication code, and the second authentication content is an authentication code generated on the second electronic device. Chen, para [0078]);
displaying the first generated codeword on a display of the second computing device (the authentication code is randomly generated, and a different authentication code may be generated each time the password protection device is associated with. In this way, security can be improved Chen, para [0249]) [The authentication code is displayed on Device B see Fig. 7D element 703];
receiving a user input by the second computing device of a first received codeword (the user enters, on the device A by using related prompts, an authentication code displayed on the device B, to establish a trust relationship between the device A and the device B. Chen, para [0251]) (the first authentication content is an authentication code, and the second authentication content is an authentication code generated on the second electronic device. Chen, para [0078]);
transmitting to the first computing device a passcode reset response via a wireless network, the passcode reset response including the first received codeword (the user enters, on the device A by using related prompts, an authentication code displayed on the device B, to establish a trust relationship between the device A and the device B. Chen, para [0251]) (when first authentication content on the first electronic device matches second authentication content on the second electronic device includes. Chen, para [0080]);
receiving an authentication success message from the first computing device (the authentication code detected by the first electronic device matches the authentication code generated on the second electronic device, it is considered that authentication on the second electronic device succeeds. Chen, para [0082]) (After the device A and the device B confirm that the lock screen password of the device B entered by the user is correct, the device A displays a message prompt box 603, where the message prompt box 603 includes a message (for example, authentication success!) used to prompt the user that the authentication on the device B succeeds. Chen, para [0238]);
generating a second codeword in response to receiving the authentication success message from the first computing device (The message prompt box 603 may further include a password display box 6031 and a password enter box 6032. The user resets a lock screen password of the device A via the password enter box 6032, and the password display box 6031 may display the reset lock screen password of the device A. Chen, para [0238]).
determining whether the second generated codeword matches the second codeword included in the passcode reset confirmation (the authentication code detected by the first electronic device matches the authentication code generated on the second electronic device, it is considered that authentication on the second electronic device succeeds. Chen, para [0082]); and
transmitting an authentication pairing success message to the first computing device in response to determining that the second generated codeword matches the second codeword included in the passcode reset confirmation (After the device A and the device B confirm that the lock screen password of the device B entered by the user is correct, the device A displays a message prompt box 603, where the message prompt box 603 includes a message (for example, authentication success!) used to prompt the user that the authentication on the device B succeeds. Chen, para [0238]).
Chen does not explicitly teach displaying the second generated codeword on a display of the second computing device; receiving a passcode reset confirmation from the first computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset confirmation including a second received codeword
However, Burgoyne teaches displaying the second generated codeword on a display of the second computing device (The member may be required to enter a new password that meets a minimum number of requirements, such as, for example, a minimum length, a combination of alpha and numeric characters, and a second entry of the new password that matches the first entry of the new password (block 550). If it is determined at the block 550 that the new password does not meet the requirements, an error message may be generated and the password will not be updated (block 552). Burgoyne, para [0084]);
receiving a passcode reset confirmation from the first computing device via the wireless network, the passcode reset confirmation including a second received codeword (the updated password is then stored in memory (block 554). A record of the transaction for the updated password may also be stored in the member's account (block 556). Burgoyne, para [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Chen in view Burgoyne. One would be motivated to do so, to send the new passcode and confirming the reset process.
As per claim 10, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 9, further comprising: configuring the second computing device; and connecting the second computing device and to the wireless network (in the electronic device 100, the antenna 1 is coupled to the mobile communication module 150, and the antenna 2 is coupled to the wireless communication module 160, so that the electronic device 100 may communicate with a network and another device by using a wireless communication technology. Chen, para [0159]).
As per claim 11, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 10, wherein configuring the second computing device comprises:
receiving configuration data by the second computing device(The wireless communication module 160 may provide a wireless communication solution that is applied to the electronic device 100 and that includes wireless communication such as a wireless local area network (wireless local area network, WLAN) (for example, a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) network), Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), a global navigation satellite system (global navigation satellite system, GNSS), frequency modulation (frequency modulation, FM), a near field communication (near field communication, NFC) technology, or an infrared (infrared, IR) technology. Chen, para [0158]);
identifying the wireless network using the configuration data (The wireless communication module 160 may be one or more devices that integrate at least one communication processing module. The wireless communication module 160 receives an electromagnetic wave via the antenna 2, performs frequency modulation and filtering processing on an electromagnetic wave signal, and sends the processed signal to the processor 110. The wireless communication module 160 may further receive a to-be-sent signal from the processor 110, perform frequency modulation and amplification on the signal, and convert the signal into an electromagnetic wave via the antenna 2 for radiation. Chen, para [0158]);
identifying the first computing device using the configuration data (the wireless communication function of the electronic device 100 may implement functions such as sending a password reset request, sending an identifier of the electronic device 100, and receiving a password reset credential. The antenna 1 and the antenna 2 are configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave signal. Each antenna in the electronic device 100 may be configured to cover one or more communication frequency bands. Different antennas may further be multiplexed, to improve antenna utilization. For example, the antenna 1 may be multiplexed as a diversity antenna of a wireless local area network. In some other embodiments, the antenna may be used in combination with a tuning switch. Chen, para [0155]);
connecting to the wireless network (the wireless communication function of the electronic device 100 may implement functions such as sending a password reset request, sending an identifier of the electronic device 100, and receiving a password reset credential. The antenna 1 and the antenna 2 are configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave signal. Each antenna in the electronic device 100 may be configured to cover one or more communication frequency bands. Different antennas may further be multiplexed, to improve antenna utilization. For example, the antenna 1 may be multiplexed as a diversity antenna of a wireless local area network. In some other embodiments, the antenna may be used in combination with a tuning switch. Chen, para [0155]); and
communicating with the first computing device for pairing (the electronic device 100, the antenna 1 is coupled to the mobile communication module 150, and the antenna 2 is coupled to the wireless communication module 160, so that the electronic device 100 may communicate with a network and another device by using a wireless communication technology. Chen, para [0159]).
As per claim 12, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 9, comprising generating a random number and using the generated random number in the first generated codeword (the authentication code is randomly generated, and a different authentication code may be generated each time the password protection device is associated with. In this way, security can be improved. Chen, para [0249]).
As per claim 13, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 9, wherein the second computing device is one of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet device, a desktop computer, or a laptop computer (A method provided in embodiments of this application may be applied to an electronic device with a display screen such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a wearable device, an in-vehicle device, an augmented reality (augmented reality, AR) device/a virtual reality (virtual reality, VR) device, a notebook computer, an ultra-mobile personal computer (ultra-mobile personal computer, UMPC), a netbook, or a personal digital assistant (personal digital assistant, PDA). Chen, para [0141]).
As per claim 14, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 9, wherein the wireless network is a direct device-to-device mesh network in which the computing device automatically joins the direct device-to-device mesh network in response to detecting the direct device-to-device mesh network (the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219]).
As per claim 15, Chen and Burgoyne teach the method of claim 9, wherein the wireless network comprises one of a Wi-Fi network, a ZigBEE network, or a Bluetooth network (the trusted device may be a device that can establish a connection to the device A through near field communication. The near field communication includes but is not limited to near field communication technologies such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (Bluetooth, BT), and near field communication (near field communication, NFC). Chen, para [0219]).
Claims 16-30 have limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection, and are met by the references as discussed above, and are rejected for the same reasons (of anticipation\ and rationales) as used above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Narayansamy Nidu US 2021/0251027 A1 directed to peer-to-peer communication system.
B. Sierra et al. US 10,270,597 B2 directed to combined authorization process.
C. Chan e al. US 2019/0037375 A1 directed to electronic device system restoration by tapping mechanism.
Respectfully Submitted
/KHALID M ALMAGHAYREH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492