DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 31, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification fails to disclose or provide any guidance on how to synthesize the presently claimed antiozonant of formula (I). Undue experimentation would be required to determine appropriate production schemes to arrive at the plurality of materials embraced by the depicted presently claimed antiozonant.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, in formula (I), it is unclear how nitrogen as X forms 3 covalent bonds.
In claim 12, it is unclear how the zinc oxide distinguishes over the reinforcing filler per claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2266602 (Howland) in view of US 4855346 (Battey).
Howland discloses an antioxidant having the
formula
wherein R1 is an aryl group, R2 is an arylene group and Y’ is a group selected from an amino, -O-metal, -O-ammonium, hydroxy, alkoxy, aryloxy, etc. (e.g., pages 1-2, example, claims). Notably, Howland’s antioxidant wherein R1 is a phenyl group, R2 is a phenylene group, the alkylene is CH2 and Y’ is an amino or hydroxy group meets the presently claimed antiozonant of formula (I) wherein X is O. Howland’s antioxidant is used in any rubber composition such as those used for automobile tires.
In essence, Howland differs from claims 1 and 14 in not expressly disclosing a rubber composition comprising the antioxidant, and article therefrom, wherein the rubber composition comprises the presently claimed components, e.g., diene elastomer, reinforcing filler, sulfur-based curing agent and accelerator. In this regard, Battey discloses (Example V) the use of similar-such N-phenyl p-phenylene diamino compounds as antioxidants in standard rubber compositions comprising natural rubber (meets Applicants’ diene elastomer), carbon black (meets Applicants’ reinforcing filler), sulfur (meets Applicants’ sulfur-based curing agent) and N-cyclohexyl-2-benzothiazylsulphenamide (meets Applicants’ accelerator). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a similar standard rubber composition as Howland’s rubber composition with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 2-4, 16 and 17, Howland discloses the rubber composition comprises about 0.1 to 5% of the antioxidant, rendering obvious the presently claimed amounts to one having ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 5, Battey discloses similar diene elastomers (C3:1-8) and expressly exemplifies natural rubber in Example V.
As to claim 6, Battey discloses (C3:1-8), and renders obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, butadiene copolymers comprising styrene or acrylonitrile units.
As to claim 7, Battey expressly exemplifies a rubber composition comprising 45 phr carbon black (C5:1-10).
As to claims 8, 9 and 15, Battey expressly exemplifies a rubber composition comprising carbon black.
As to claim 12, Battey expressly exemplifies a rubber composition comprising zinc oxide (C5:1-10).
As to claim 13, Battey expressly exemplifies a rubber composition comprising stearic acid (C5:1-10).
As to claims 18 and 19, Howland discloses the rubber compositions are used for automobile tires, thus rendering obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the presently claimed tire articles.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2266602 (Howland) in view of US 4855346 (Battey), both described hereinabove, further in view of US 2024/0093000 (Yang).
Claims 10 and 11 differ from Howland and Battey in further requiring a silica filler (claim 10) and a silane coupling agent (claim 11). From Yang, it is known that silica pre-treated with a silane coupling agent is a well-known reinforcing filler alternative to carbon black in rubber compositions [0037]/[0040]. Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to further include a silica pre-treated with a silane coupling agent into the standard rubber composition disclosed by Battey for its expected reinforcing additive effect.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765