DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what information was determined associated with at least one of: the driving road; lines of the driving road; a feature of the vehicle; or a kingpin angle between bodies of the vehicle (claim 1, lines 10-16).
It is not known what “a feature of the vehicle” was meant (claim1, line 16),
It is unclear what the determined information was (claim 1, line 12, line 19).
It is unclear how the biased driving route was generated associated with at least one of: the driving road; lines of the driving road; a feature of the vehicle; or a kingpin angle between bodies of the vehicle (claim 1, lines 11-17). Moreover, it is unclear how to determine the biased information with the driving route (claim 1, line 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Orazio (2022/0073098).
D’Orazio discloses an apparatus to determine, based on a driving route, curvature of a driving road on which a vehicle is driving; (See [0003] [0005] [0054]), determine, by the sensor device and based on the curvature exceeding a threshold curvature (see [0039]), information associated with at least one of: the driving road (See [0039]), lines of the driving road; a feature of the vehicle; or a kingpin angle between bodies of the vehicle; generate a biased driving route based on at least one of the determined information or the driving route (see [0058]); and control the vehicle to drive on the driving road along the biased driving route.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, D’Orazio discloses the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the apparatus to: determine optimization state information comprising at least one of: a location lateral error; a heading error; the kingpin angle; a curvature for a location of the driving road (See [0058]) ; a curvature change amount; or a biased distance based on the driving route, wherein the biased distance is associated with each of the bodies based on at least one of the determined information or the driving route; and generate the biased driving route based on at least part of the optimization state information. (See [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, 13, 18, the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the apparatus to: determine the optimization state information further based on a predefined maximum value and a predefined minimum value that are based on at least one of: the location lateral error; the heading error; the kingpin angle; the curvature for the location; the curvature change amount (see [0058]); or the biased distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Orazio (2022/0073098) in view of CN 118176140 (hereinafter CN ‘140).
D’Orazio discloses an apparatus to determine, based on a driving route, curvature of a driving road on which a vehicle is driving; (See [0003] [0005] [0054]), determine, by the sensor device and based on the curvature exceeding a threshold curvature (see [0039]), information associated with at least one of: the driving road (See [0039]), lines of the driving road; a feature of the vehicle; or a kingpin angle between bodies of the vehicle; generate a biased driving route based on at least one of the determined information or the driving route (see [0058]); and control the vehicle to drive on the driving road along the biased driving route. However, D’Orazio does not teach the use of the information regarding the location in the lane. CN ‘140 discloses the information associated with the lines comprises a left line and a right line based on a driving direction of the vehicle, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the apparatus to: based on the vehicle continuing to drive on the driving route and the determined information, determine expected distances: between the bodies of the vehicle and the left line; and between the bodies of the vehicle and the right line; and generate the biased driving route based on the expected distances.
Since the prior art references art from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by CN ‘140 would have been recognized in the pertinent art of D’Orazio. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of D’Orazio with the position in the lane as taught by CN ‘140.
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘140 discloses the information associated with the position in the lane comprises a left line and a right line based on a driving direction of the vehicle; thus, it is considered the duplication of the known steps of claim 2.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, CN ‘140 discloses the information associated with the lines comprises a left line and a right line based on a driving direction of the vehicle, and wherein the generating the biased driving route comprises: based on the vehicle continuing to drive on the driving route and the determined information, determining expected distances: between the bodies of the vehicle and the left line; and between the bodies of the vehicle the right line; and generating the biased driving route based on the expected distances.
Regarding claim 13 and 19, CN ‘140 discloses the determining the optimization state information comprises determining the optimization state information based on a predefined maximum value and a predefined minimum value that are based on at least one of: the location lateral error; the heading error; the kingpin angle; the curvature for the location; the curvature change amount; or the biased distance. (See explanation supra).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOHN KWON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 January 9, 2026