DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
A review of the specification appears to provide structural support (fig. 4 to fig. 6, primary antenna, /first antenna, receiving diversity/diversity RX, baseband processor 430, summation circuit, phase shifter 438 which phase rotates version of the interference, cross-bar switch/cross-matrix switch, paragraphs 0056-0153) and algorithms (fig. 7, steps listing for implementing the claim functions, paragraphs 0056-0153).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 12-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al (US 2023/0231587 A1) in view of Mahanfar et al (US 2019/0252801 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, GUO et al (US 2023/0231587 A1) discloses an apparatus (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032) for wireless communication(fig. 1, RF module 106 and transceiver 104 which receives signals, section 0030-0033) by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032), the apparatus comprising: a primary receive (PRx) path associated with a first antenna and configured to receive a wireless signal (see, the RF module 106 that is coupled to between the primary antenna 1110a, provides a receive path for signals received at the primary antenna 110a, section 0030-0032); a diversity receive (DRx) path associated with a second antenna (fig. 1, diversity antenna 110b that is physically spaced apart from the primary antenna 110a,section 0030-0033, noted: the diversity antenna 110b similarly receive signals, section 0030-0033); a phase shifter configured to phase-modify an interference signal from the second antenna (fig. 1, controller 102 which is configured to generated and/or send control signals to other components of the wireless device, including phase shifting of signal with different characteristics and selection of the antenna with the highest signal-to-noise ratio, section 0032-0033, noted: adjusting characteristics of the antenna switch module to reduce signal loss, section 0025-0026, 027-0028) based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna (fig. 1, diversity antenna 110b that is physically spaced apart from the primary antenna 110a,section 0030-0033, noted: the diversity antenna 110b similarly receive signals, section 0030-0033).
GUO ‘587 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly discloses: a phase shifter configured to phase-modify an interference signal from the second antenna based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna (see, distance between the and further based on an angle of arrival (AoA) associated with the interference signal; and a circuit configured to generate a received signal based on the wireless signal and the phase-modified interference signal.
Mahanfar et al (US 2019/0252801 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: means for phase-modifying the interference signal (see, the beamformer which performs phase adjustment of the RF signals related to the antenna elements, section 0116-0118, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218) based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna (see, the received antenna system that comprises antenna elements, distance between the antenna elements, section 0116-0119), and further based on an angle of arrival (AoA) associated with the interference signal (see, the phase offsets can be adjusted by the phase shifters to adjust the phase of the signal in relation to the angle of arrival of signals and the distance/length between the antenna elements, section 0114-0117, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218); and means for generating (fig. 1A, the combiner/distributor to distribute the RF signal to the phase shifters of the beamformer 140 for respective phase shifting and provided to the antenna elements for transmission, section 0116-0117) a received signal based on the wireless signal and the phase-modified interference signal (see, the beamformer , phase shifter, which combine the RF signals, a higher to noise signal ratio (SNR) can be attained signal , which results in increased channel capacity, section 0116-0017).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the antenna system in which phase offsets in RF signals are adjusted based on distance between the antenna elements and the phase relative to angle of arrival of the signals as taught by Mahanfar ‘801 into the front end module of the wireless device of GUO ‘587. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction loss in the receive signal path by adjusting the impedance or signal characteristics.
Regarding claims 2, GUO ‘587 discloses apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a cross-matrix switch coupled to the first antenna, to the second antenna (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032),, to the PRx path, and to the DRx path, wherein the cross-matrix switch is associated with a first mode (see, transmits path for signals receives at the primary antenna 110a, selection between the primary antenna 110a and diversity antenna 110b, section 0030-0033) and a second mode (fig. 1, the antenna switch module (ASM) 120 as part of the RF module, may also include band select switches, the ASM 120a enable operation across a plurality of frequency bands, section 0031).
Regarding claims 3, 12, GUO ‘587 as modified by Mahanfar ‘801 discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the cross-matrix switch is configured to couple the first antenna to the PRx path and to couple the second antenna to the DRx path during operation according to the first mode (fig. 1, the antenna switch module (ASM) 120 as part of the RF module, may also include band select switches, the ASM 120a enable operation across a plurality of frequency bands, section 0031) to facilitate determination of the AoA by a baseband processor (Mahanfar ‘801see, the phase offsets can be adjusted by the phase shifters to adjust the phase of the signal in relation to the angle of arrival of signals and the distance/length between the antenna elements, section 0114-0117, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218); or other component based on the interference signal (Mahanfar ‘801, processor/controller, the RF signals are phase-offset by the phase shifters by different phases, section 0112-0115).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the antenna system in which phase offsets in RF signals are adjusted based on distance between the antenna elements and the phase relative to angle of arrival of the signals as taught by Mahanfar ‘801 into the front end module of the wireless device of GUO ‘587. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction loss in the receive signal path by adjusting the impedance or signal characteristics.
Regarding claims 4, 13, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032) of claim 2, wherein the cross-matrix switch (fig. 1, the antenna switch module (ASM) 120 as part of the RF module, may also include band select switches, the ASM 120a enable operation across a plurality of frequency bands, section 0031) is configured to couple the first antenna to the PRx path (see, transmits path for signals receives at the primary antenna 110a, selection between the primary antenna 110a and diversity antenna 110b, section 0030-0033 and couple the second antenna to the PRx path during operation according to the second mode(fig. 1, the antenna switch module (ASM) 120 as part of the RF module, may also include band select switches, the ASM 120a enable operation across a plurality of frequency bands, section 0031).
Regarding claim 8, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a baseband processor configured to process the wireless signal (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 9, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the phase shifter (fig. 1, the transceiver 104 with phase shifting means, section 0033) is included in or corresponds to the baseband processor (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 10, GUO ‘587 as modified by Mahanfar ‘801 discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the phase shifter (fig. 1, the transceiver 104 with phase shifting means, section 0033) is coupled to the second antenna (see, the RF module 106 that is coupled to between the primary antenna 1110a, provides a receive path for signals received at the primary antenna 110a, section 0030-0032), and further comprising a control path (fig. 1, controller 102 that generates and /or sends control signals to other components of the wireless device 110, section 0031-00032) coupled to the baseband processor (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031) and to the phase shifter (Mahanfar ‘801, processor/controller, the RF signals are phase-offset by the phase shifters by different phases, section 0112-0115, Mahanfar ‘801see, the phase offsets can be adjusted by the phase shifters to adjust the phase of the signal in relation to the angle of arrival of signals and the distance/length between the antenna elements, section 0114-0117, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the antenna system in which phase offsets in RF signals are adjusted based on distance between the antenna elements and the phase relative to angle of arrival of the signals as taught by Mahanfar ‘801 into the front end module of the wireless device of GUO ‘587. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction loss in the receive signal path by adjusting the impedance or signal characteristics.
Regarding claim 17, GUO ‘587 discloses an apparatus (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032) for wireless communication (fig. 1, RF module 106 and transceiver 104 which receives signals, section 0030-0033) by a user equipment (UE), the apparatus (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032) comprising: means for receiving a wireless signal associated with a first antenna (fig. 1, see, the RF module 106 that is coupled to between the primary antenna 1110a, provides a receive path for signals received at the primary antenna 110a, section 0030-0032); means for receiving an interference signal (fig. 1, controller 102 which is configured to generated and/or send control signals to other components of the wireless device, including phase shifting of signal with different characteristics and selection of the antenna with the highest signal-to-noise ratio, section 0032-0033, noted: adjusting characteristics of the antenna switch module to reduce signal loss, section 0025-0026, 027-0028) associated with a second antenna (fig. 1, diversity antenna 110b that is physically spaced apart from the primary antenna 110a,section 0030-0033, noted: the diversity antenna 110b similarly receive signals, section 0030-0033); means for phase-modifying the interference signal (fig. 1, controller 102 which is configured to generated and/or send control signals to other components of the wireless device, including phase shifting of signal with different characteristics and selection of the antenna with the highest signal-to-noise ratio, section 0032-0033, noted: adjusting characteristics of the antenna switch module to reduce signal loss, section 0025-0026, 027-0028) based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna (fig. 1, diversity antenna 110b that is physically spaced apart from the primary antenna 110a,section 0030-0033, noted: the diversity antenna 110b similarly receive signals, section 0030-0033).
GUO ‘587 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly discloses: means for phase-modifying the interference signal based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and further based on an angle of arrival (AoA) associated with the interference signal; and means for generating a received signal based on the wireless signal and the phase-modified interference signal.
Mahanfar et al (US 2019/0252801 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: means for phase-modifying the interference signal (see, the beamformer which performs phase adjustment of the RF signals related to the antenna elements, section 0116-0118, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218) based at least in part on a physical distance between the first antenna and the second antenna (see, the received antenna system that comprises antenna elements, distance between the antenna elements, section 0116-0119), and further based on an angle of arrival (AoA) associated with the interference signal (see, the phase offsets can be adjusted by the phase shifters to adjust the phase of the signal in relation to the angle of arrival of signals and the distance/length between the antenna elements, section 0114-0117, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218); and means for generating (fig. 1A, the combiner/distributor to distribute the RF signal to the phase shifters of the beamformer 140 for respective phase shifting and provided to the antenna elements for transmission, section 0116-0117) a received signal based on the wireless signal and the phase-modified interference signal (see, the beamformer , phase shifter, which combine the RF signals, a higher to noise signal ratio (SNR) can be attained signal , which results in increased channel capacity, section 0116-0017).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the antenna system in which phase offsets in RF signals are adjusted based on distance between the antenna elements and the phase relative to angle of arrival of the signals as taught by Mahanfar ‘801 into the front end module of the wireless device of GUO ‘587. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction loss in the receive signal path by adjusting the impedance or signal characteristics.
Regarding claim 18, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus (fig. 1, wireless device 100 which includes primary antenna 110 and a diversity antenna 110b coupled to RF module 106 which comprises antenna switch module 120, section 0030-0032) of claim 17, further comprising means for baseband processing the wireless signal (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031)..
Regarding claim 19, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the means for phase-modifying (fig. 1, the transceiver 104 with phase shifting means, section 0033) the interference signal (noted: phase shifting of signal with different characteristics and selection of the antenna with the highest signal-to-noise ratio, section 0032-0033) is included in the means for baseband processing (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 20, GUO ‘587 discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the means for phase-modifying the interference signal (noted: phase shifting of signal with different characteristics and selection of the antenna with the highest signal-to-noise ratio, section 0032-0033, (Mahanfar ‘801, processor/controller, the RF signals are phase-offset by the phase shifters by different phases, section 0112-0115, Mahanfar ‘801see, the phase offsets can be adjusted by the phase shifters to adjust the phase of the signal in relation to the angle of arrival of signals and the distance/length between the antenna elements, section 0114-0117, noted: interference in relation to the antenna elements, section 0116, 0215, 0218) is external to the means for baseband processing (fig. 1, transceiver 104 of the wireless device 104, includes a baseband processor that converts between the digital samples/RF signals and data bits (e.g., voice or other types of data), section 0030-0031).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the antenna system in which phase offsets in RF signals are adjusted based on distance between the antenna elements and the phase relative to angle of arrival of the signals as taught by Mahanfar ‘801 into the front end module of the wireless device of GUO ‘587. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction loss in the receive signal path by adjusting the impedance or signal characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-7, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fails to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein the phase shifter is further configured to apply a first amount of phase shift to the interference signal during operation of the cross-matrix switch according to the first mode and to apply a second amount of phase shift to the interference signal during operation of the cross-matrix switch according to the second mode” recited in claims 5, 14.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fails to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “ wherein the phase shifter is further configured to phase-modify the interference signal further based on a wideband energy estimate (WBEE) associated with the wireless signal exceeding a narrowband energy estimate (NBEE) associated with the wireless signal” recited in claims 7, 16.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PEHLKE et al (US 2021/0143852 A1) discloses antenna diversity with phase shift where a transceiver combined signals from a primary antenna and a diversity antenna to increase the signal-to-noise ratio (section 0040-0052).
JOO et al (US 2013/0271323 A1) discloses determining of AOA of radio signal respectively receives from the first antenna and second antenna, based on the phase different between the radio signals, and the predetermined distance (section 0022-0038).
O’Keeffe et al (US 2012/0196591 A1) phase adjustment based on AOA measurements, receiving diversity paths 374, separate diversity path receive path is requires for each antenna element for both diversity and primary receivers (0008-0020, 0021-0039, 0065-0163).
Li et al (US 2008/0075148 A1) discloses distance between antenna elements with respect to beams directions (section 0008-0010, 0032-0067).
Solichien et al (US 2020/0186230 A1) discloses adjustment of adjustment/re-adjustment of AO estimation (section 0038-0043).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473