DETAILED ACTION
Representative Figure
Pending Claim Tree
Election/Restrictions
In view of Applicant’s arguments, the restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,14-16,18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of ITAI (US 2021/0214240 A1) and REID (US 2,678,108 – 1954).
Structure reference numerals (or paragraph numerals or descriptive text) of ITAI have been mapped into the claims below. Limitations NOT expressly taught by ITAI are underscored.
1.A filtering system configured to filter liquid for external use comprising: a vessel (10) configured to hold a filtering media (12), said vessel having a wall (no dedicated numeral) defining an inner volume, wherein the vessel includes an inlet (14) and an outlet (16); a removable underdrain (13) located on a lower section of the vessel; wherein the underdrain is disposed within the inner volume and coupled to the outlet of the vessel; and a pair of diametrically opposed drain ports configured for emptying the vessel of the filtering media and configured to provide access to the removable underdrain for replacement.
2.The filtering system of claim 1, wherein the underdrain (13) further comprises laterals (no dedicated numeral) extending from a main body (Fig. 2 – unlabeled in communication with 16) of the underdrain (13) configured to uniformly drain the liquid out of the vessel (10).
3.The filtering system of claim 1, wherein the filtering media is sand (“[0023]”).
4.The filtering system of claim 1, wherein the underdrain is disposed at the lowest part of the lower section. – As shown in at least Figs. 1-2.
6.The filtering system of claim 1, wherein the vessel is suspended from a ground via at least one vessel support beam. Unlabeled in at least Figs. 1-2.
14.A filtering system configured to filter liquid for external use comprising: a suspended vessel (10) configured to hold a filtering media (12), said vessel having a wall (unlabeled) defining an inner volume, wherein the vessel includes an inlet (14) and an outlet (16); wherein the vessel (13) is configured to be suspended from a ground via at least one vessel support beam (unlabeled), and wherein the outlet (16) is on the lowest section (as shown at least in Fig. 2) of the vessel at a centerline of the vessel; a removable underdrain (13) disposed within the inner volume and coupled to the outlet (16) of the vessel; and a pair of diametrically opposed drain ports configured for emptying the vessel of the filtering media and configured to provide access to the removable underdrain for replacement.
15.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the underdrain further comprises laterals (no dedicated numeral) extending from a main body (Fig. 2 – unlabeled in communication with 16) of the underdrain configured to uniformly drain the liquid out of the vessel.
16.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the filtering media is sand (“[0023]”).
18.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the vessel includes an upper manway () at the upper section (as shown in at least Fig. 2) of the vessel (10).
20.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein a vessel’s width is greater than a vessel’s height (as shown at least in Fig. 2).
At column 3, lines 34-41, REID discloses:
Similarly formed in the opposite or bottom wall portion of the vessel in registry with each cell is an opening 23 through which spent sorbent is removed when the material is no longer effective and must be replaced. The openings 23 are similarly encircled by flanges 24 to which are attached closure plates 25 that are secured by fastening devices such as stud bolts 26.
In view of the teachings of REID (see Figs 1-2 below), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made modify the vessel of ITAI by incorporating a plurality of opposing openings as taught by REID, in order to access the interior volume of the vessel in order to replace spent media.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITAI (US 2021/0214240 A1) and REID (US 2,678,108 – 1954) as applied to claim 1-4,6,14-16,18 and 20 above, and further in view of VOEGELI (US 3,753,500 – 1973).
The references as combined above do not appear to teach a corrosion preventative barrier on its internal surface, as recited in dependent claims 5 and 17.
Claim 5.The filtering system of claim 1, wherein the vessel is coated with a corrosion preventative barrier on its internal surface.
Claim 17.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the vessel is coated with a corrosion preventative barrier on its internal surface.
VOEGELI teaches:
(5) It is the object of this invention to provide a low-cost, corrosion resistant in-line filter which can be made at low temperatures, in various configurations, and formed in housing or casings with diverse internal geometric configurations, in such a manner that the resulting filtration structure is an integral filter assembly. It is also an object of this invention to provide a leak-proof in-line filter assembly without the use of additional sealing gaskets or expensive machining operations.
Description
(10) The filtration housing or casing within which the filter body is formed in situ can be made from a large number of materials suitable for use for filtering various fluids. Where the filter is used to filter liquids, such as solvents, hydraulic fluids, and the like, the filter housing can be formed in brass, bronze, or copper fittings having diverse shapes, said fittings being well known in the art. In a high pressure system where hydraulic fluid is to be filtered, the integral filtration structure can be formed in various high pressure fittings of high strength materials, e.g., cast iron or seamless tubing. Where it is necessary for the filtration structure to withstand the action of chemicals or corrosive liquids, the porous filter element can be formed in a tubular article made of corrosion resistant material, e.g., stainless steel or glass tubing, which is resistant to attack by the corrosive chemicals being filtered.
(20) Spherical glass beads of 100 mesh (149 micron diameter) were coated with "Scotchkote" 112 thermosetting epoxy resin, to the extent of about 16 grams of resin per 100 grams of glass beads. A 3/8 in. diameter steel rod was inserted as a dam into one end of a flare-to-flare brass fitting, having an internal diameter of 3/8 in., the rod extending into the fitting to a point midway between its ends. Approximately 1.25 grams of resin-coated glass beads were introduced into the other or open end of the brass fitting and a second 3/8 in. steel rod was inserted as a ram into open end of the fitting.
(29) Spherical glass beads of 65 mesh (230 micron diameter) were coated with a solid epoxy of the diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A type, incorporating a curing system as described in U.S. Pat. No. 2,847,395, and commercially available as "Scotchkote" 112. The degree of coating amounted to 16 grams of resin per 100 grams of glass beads.
It is submitted that it would have been obvious to coat the internal surface of the apparatus of the references as combined above, in view of the teachings of VOEGELI, with a corrosion preventative barrier, in order to prevent corrosion of the internal surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7,8,12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by REID (US 2,678,108).
Structure reference numerals (or paragraph numerals or descriptive text) of REID have been mapped into the claims below.
7.A filtering system configured to filter liquid for external use comprising: a vessel (1) having an upper, middle, and lower section; said vessel (1) configured to hold a filtering media and having a wall (2) defining an inner volume, wherein the vessel includes an inlet (19 or 27) at the upper section and an outlet (hole in the wall 2 of vessel 1) at the lower section; a removable underdrain (31) located on the lower section of the vessel (1); wherein the underdrain (31) is disposed within the inner volume and coupled to the outlet of the vessel (1); and at least one drain port (23) configured for emptying the vessel of the filtering media and configured to provide access to the removable underdrain for replacement; wherein the vessel is absent of a side manway at a middle section of the vessel.
8.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the underdrain further comprises laterals (31 – Fig. 3) extending from a main body (34) of the underdrain (31) configured to uniformly drain the liquid out of the vessel (1).
12.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the vessel is suspended from a ground via at least one vessel support beam (unlabeled at the ends of the vessel).
13.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the at least one drain port is two drain ports diametrically opposed relative to the vertical centerline of the vessel. See the two opposing end drain ports (23).
14.A filtering system configured to filter liquid for external use comprising: a suspended vessel (1) configured to hold a filtering media, said vessel having a wall (2) defining an inner volume, wherein the vessel includes an inlet (19 or 27) and an outlet (holes in the wall 2 of vessel 1); wherein the vessel (1) is configured to be suspended from a ground via at least one vessel support beam (unlabeled), and wherein the outlet (holes in the wall 2 of vessel 1) is on the lowest section of the vessel (1) at a centerline of the vessel; a removable underdrain (32) disposed within the inner volume and coupled (by 34) to the outlet of the vessel; and a pair of diametrically opposed drain ports (covered by 25) configured for emptying the vessel of the filtering media and configured to provide access to the removable underdrain for replacement.
15.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the underdrain further comprises laterals (31) extending from a main body (34) of the underdrain configured to uniformly drain the liquid out of the vessel.
16.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the filtering media is sand (intended use).
19.The filtering system of claim 14, wherein the vessel is absent of a side manway at a middle section of the vessel. No disclosed manways.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over REID (US 2,678,108).
To the extent that the “limitations” of dependent claims 9 and 10 may not be expressly taught by REID as applied above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ sand in the vessel of REID to remove materials from a fluid flow, and to locate the disclosed underdrain 31 at the “lowest” part of the lower section, because such a location would be closes to the wall outlet hole, thus minimizing conduit used, and alternatively, since any liquids would naturally flow to that point under gravity.
9.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the filtering media is sand.
10.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the underdrain is disposed at the lowest part of the lower section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of REID (US 2,678,108) as applied to claims 7,8,12 and 13 above, and further in view of VOEGELI (US 3,753,500 – 1973).
Claim 11.The filtering system of claim 7, wherein the vessel is coated with a corrosion preventative barrier on its internal surface.
REID not appear to teach a corrosion preventative barrier on its internal surface, as recited in dependent claim 11.
VOEGELI teaches:
(5) It is the object of this invention to provide a low-cost, corrosion resistant in-line filter which can be made at low temperatures, in various configurations, and formed in housing or casings with diverse internal geometric configurations, in such a manner that the resulting filtration structure is an integral filter assembly. It is also an object of this invention to provide a leak-proof in-line filter assembly without the use of additional sealing gaskets or expensive machining operations.
Description
(10) The filtration housing or casing within which the filter body is formed in situ can be made from a large number of materials suitable for use for filtering various fluids. Where the filter is used to filter liquids, such as solvents, hydraulic fluids, and the like, the filter housing can be formed in brass, bronze, or copper fittings having diverse shapes, said fittings being well known in the art. In a high pressure system where hydraulic fluid is to be filtered, the integral filtration structure can be formed in various high pressure fittings of high strength materials, e.g., cast iron or seamless tubing. Where it is necessary for the filtration structure to withstand the action of chemicals or corrosive liquids, the porous filter element can be formed in a tubular article made of corrosion resistant material, e.g., stainless steel or glass tubing, which is resistant to attack by the corrosive chemicals being filtered.
(20) Spherical glass beads of 100 mesh (149 micron diameter) were coated with "Scotchkote" 112 thermosetting epoxy resin, to the extent of about 16 grams of resin per 100 grams of glass beads. A 3/8 in. diameter steel rod was inserted as a dam into one end of a flare-to-flare brass fitting, having an internal diameter of 3/8 in., the rod extending into the fitting to a point midway between its ends. Approximately 1.25 grams of resin-coated glass beads were introduced into the other or open end of the brass fitting and a second 3/8 in. steel rod was inserted as a ram into open end of the fitting.
(29) Spherical glass beads of 65 mesh (230 micron diameter) were coated with a solid epoxy of the diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A type, incorporating a curing system as described in U.S. Pat. No. 2,847,395, and commercially available as "Scotchkote" 112. The degree of coating amounted to 16 grams of resin per 100 grams of glass beads.
It is submitted that it would have been obvious to coat the internal surface of the apparatus of REID, in view of the teachings of VOEGELI, with a corrosion preventative barrier, in order to prevent corrosion of the internal surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The preambles of independent claims 1,7 and 14 each call out a “filtering system”, yet, the claims do not positively specify a filtration media. It is unclear how “filtering” can be accomplished without the presence of a filtration media. Does Applicant intend to merely claim a filter housing? In this regard, the use of the language “filtering system” to claim only a “filter housing” is additionally considered misleading and/or misdescriptive.
Dependent claims 3,9 and 16 each specify, “wherein the filtering media is sand.” It is unclear if Applicant intends this as a positive recitation of “sand” or merely an additional aspect of intended use. That is, an additional aspect of “configured to hold a filtering media”? For the purposes of the art rejections, “sand” or “a filtering media” are not seen to be positively claimed, and therefore, are not seen to limit the structure of the claimed “filtering system”.
Claims 6, 12 and 14 employ the term “suspended”. The word “suspend” means to hang. While the support beams are seen to support or hold the vessel above the ground, the vessel is not seen to be suspended from the beams. In this regard, the word “suspended” is seen to be misleading and/or misdescriptive.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J POPOVICS/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763