DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Changes to claim 11 have been reviewed and accepted; therefore, objection of claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unptentable over US 20090016418 A1 (Silver et al., hereinafter Silver) in view of US 20120314890 A1 (El-Hoiydi et al., hereinafter El-Hoiydi).
Regarding claim 1, Silver discloses an audio transmission device (Fig. 6, “system 600” that comprises at least “audio assembly 102” and “transceiver assembly 104”) for wirelessly transmitting an audio signal (“audio assembly 102” transmits audio signals), comprising:
a first transceiver unit (Figs. 1 and 6, “first transceiver 120”) for generating a first RF signal from the audio signal according to a first wireless protocol in a frequency band (pars. [0004] and [0033], “first transceiver to operate under a first protocol”); and
a second transceiver unit (Fig. 6, “second transceiver 128”) for generating a second RF signal from the audio signal according to a second wireless protocol in said frequency band (pars. [0004] and [0031], “a second transceiver to operate under a second protocol, different from the first protocol”);
wherein each transceiver unit is connected to an antenna for wirelessly transmitting the first RF signal and the second RF signal (Fig. 6, “first antenna 122” and “second antenna 130”) as a combined RF signal to an audio receiver device (par. [0032], “first antenna 122 to communicate with one or more user devices or other systems that are enabled to transmit and receive signals under the first protocol…second antenna 130 to transmit signals to the remote output assembly 106A, as well as receive signals from the remote input assembly 106B, under the second protocol.”. This claim is being interpreted as the signals transmitted by an antenna of each of the respective transceivers; par. [0082], “the Audio Routing System will act as a signal router and mixer for each of the helmet mounted system helmets” corresponding to combining the two audio signals).
Silver does not specifically disclose where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal.
In related art concerning wireless hearing assistance system and method, El-Hoiydi discloses where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal (Figs. 4, 5 and 15, at least par. [0068], please see different versions of a same audio signal received by transceivers 36, 36A and 36’, 36B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use El-Hoiydi teachings where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by using two or more independent signal paths, the impact of fading and interference is decreased; therefore, improving signal transmission/reception reliability
Regarding claim 15, Silver discloses a method for transmitting an audio signal (par. 1, the method uses “audio assembly 102”to transmit audio signals), comprising:
generating, by a first transceiver unit (Figs. 1 and 6, “first transceiver 120”) of an audio transmission device (Fig. 6, “system 600”), a first RF signal from the audio signal according to a first wireless protocol in a frequency band (pars. [0004] and [0033], “first transceiver to operate under a first protocol”);
generating, by a second transceiver unit (Fig. 6, “second transceiver 128”) of the audio transmission device (Fig. 6, “system 600”), a second RF signal from the audio signal according to a second wireless protocol in said frequency band (pars. [0004] and [0031], “a second transceiver to operate under a second protocol, different from the first protocol”); and
transmitting, by an antenna, the first and second RF signal (Fig. 6, “first antenna 122” and “second antenna 130”) as a combined RF signal to an audio receiver device (par. [0032], “first antenna 122 to communicate with one or more user devices or other systems that are enabled to transmit and receive signals under the first protocol…second antenna 130 to transmit signals to the remote output assembly 106A, as well as receive signals from the remote input assembly 106B, under the second protocol.”; par. [0082], “the Audio Routing System will act as a signal router and mixer for each of the helmet mounted system helmets” corresponding to combining the two audio signals).
Silver does not specifically disclose where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal.
El-Hoiydi discloses where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal (Figs. 4, 5 and 15, at least par. [0068], please see different versions of a same audio signal received by transceivers 36, 36A and 36’, 36B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use El-Hoiydi teachings where the first RF signal including first audio packets representative of the audio signal; the second RF signal including second audio packets representative of the audio signal with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by using two or more independent signal paths, the impact of fading and interference is decreased; therefore, improving signal transmission/reception reliability
Regarding claim 14, Silver and El-Hoiydi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Silver discloses wherein the audio transmission device is (i) a portable device to be worn by a speaker or to be held in a hand of a speaker, (ii) a table microphone arrangement, or (iii) an audio streaming device connected to an external audio source like a TV set (abstract and par. [0001], “wearable systems and apparatus for data transmission and reception”, only one of the limitations is required from the choices provided. Is “speaker” being used as “user”?).
Claims 2-4, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver in view of El-Hoiydi, and further in view of US 20070060055 A1 (Desai et al., hereinafter Desai).
Regarding claim 2, Silver and El-Hoiydi disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Silver does not explicitly disclose wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are connected to a single common antenna via an RF combiner configured to combine the first RF signal and the second RF signal into a combined RF signal and supply the combined RF signal to the common antenna to the audio receiver device. El-Hoiydi suggests a combiner in par. [0052].
In related art concerning method and system for antenna and radio front-end topologies for a system-on-chip device that combines Bluetooth and WLAN technologies, Desai discloses wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are connected to a single common antenna via an RF combiner (Fig. 3A, 5A and pars. [0046], [0072], [0078], “diversity combiner 318” and/or “splitter 520”) configured to combine the first RF signal and the second RF signal into a combined RF signal and supply the combined RF signal to the common antenna to the audio receiver device (abstract, “A single antenna usage model may be utilized with the single chip radio device front-end topology to support WLAN and Bluetooth communications.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are connected to a single common antenna via an RF combiner configured to combine the first RF signal and the second RF signal into a combined RF signal and supply the combined RF signal to the common antenna to the audio receiver device with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using one or several antennas constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor. It is well recognized that when using a single antenna, a combiner would improve signal quality, since combining multiple signals into a single feed reduces noise and interference, increase coverage range and improve reliability, among others.
Regarding claim 3, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 2. Although implied, Silver does not specifically disclose comprising a first RF front-end unit connected to the first transceiver unit and configured to amplify the first RF signal prior to transmission and/or a second RF front-end unit connected to the second transceiver unit and configured to amplify the second RF signal prior to transmission.
Desai discloses a first RF front-end unit connected to the first transceiver unit (at least Fig. 3A and par. [0046], “front-end topolog[y] for WLAN”) and configured to amplify the first RF signal prior to transmission (Fig. 5A, “power amplifier (PA) 516”) and/or a second RF front-end unit connected to the second transceiver unit (“front-end topolog[y] for Bluetooth”) and configured to amplify the second RF signal prior to transmission (Fig. 5A, “power amplifier (PA) 516”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings about a first RF front-end unit connected to the first transceiver unit and configured to amplify the first RF signal prior to transmission and/or a second RF front-end unit connected to the second transceiver unit and configured to amplify the second RF signal prior to transmission with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that amplifying signals before transmission ensures better transmission and reception over long distances.
Regarding claim 4, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a power amplifier for the respective first and second RF signal.
Desai discloses wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a power amplifier for the respective first and second RF signal (Fig. 3A, this limitation can be interpreted as having only one amplifier shared by both of the front-ends as shown in Fig. 5A. However, an independent power amplifier per front-end corresponds to a design option available to the inventor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a power amplifier for the respective first and second RF signal with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an amplifier per front-end chain corresponds to a designer’s choice consideration that depends on the type of audio system and the desired audio quality, among other factors. Where having an amplifier per front-end can increase the lifespan of the amplification system, since the load is shred between the two amplifiers, among others.
Regarding claim 6, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a low noise amplifier for an RF signal received by the antenna.
Desai discloses wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a low noise amplifier for an RF signal received by the antenna (Fig. 3A, “LNA 304a” and “LNA 304b” having one antenna as shown in Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a low noise amplifier for an RF signal received by the antenna with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an each front-end would include a LNA. Where having an amplifier per front-end can increase the lifespan of the amplification system, since the load is shred between the two amplifiers, among others.
Regarding claim 13, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Silver further discloses wherein the first wireless protocol is a proprietary protocol (par. [0033] “Bluetooth®”) and wherein the second wireless protocol is Bluetooth LE Audio (par. [0033], “low power UHF radio frequency transceiver using a carrier frequency in the ISM (industrial, scientific, medical) and/or SRD (short-range device) bands operating between 315/433/868 and/or 915 MHz.”, where BTLE protocol is a low power UHF).
Silver discloses a Low power UHF protocol; however, Silver does not explicitly disclose wherein the second wireless protocol is Bluetooth LE Audio.
Desai discloses wherein the second wireless protocol is Bluetooth LE Audio (pars. [0035]-[0036], “first communication protocol and the second communication protocol may both be Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low energy or any short range communication protocol. The first communication protocol and the second communication protocol may be different protocols operating at two separate carrier frequencies.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein the second wireless protocol is Bluetooth LE Audio with the first Bluetooth protocol disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having dual-band transceivers operating in two frequency bands simultaneously would provide better performance while avoiding interference. Also, efficient spectrum utilization is achieved, among others.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver in view of El-Hoiydi and Desai, and further in view of US 20100008338 A1 (Tsfati et al., hereinafter Tsfati).
Regarding claim 5, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 4.
Desai discloses in fig. 5C a “first antenna switch (SW1) 518” that bypasses “power amplifier (PA) 516” for a BT that uses lower power than WLAN.
Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a bypass of the power amplifier for low power usage.
In related art concerning high transmission power using shared Bluetooth and WLAN front end module, Tsfati discloses wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a bypass of the power amplifier for low power usage (Fig. 2, par. [0071], “high power Bluetooth module 240, which comprises two switches, switch #2 242 and switch #3 246 and power amplifier 244, which is capable of providing Bluetooth class 1 power levels. Switches #2 and #3 are configured by appropriate control signals to either pass the output of the DPA 238 through the power amplifier 244 or to bypass the power amplifier and couple the DPA directly to the antenna via the FEM 206.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Tsfati’s teachings wherein each of the first and second RF front-end units includes a bypass of the power amplifier for low power usage with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that switches are well-recognized design elements that allow bypassing the PA when transmitting low power signals and the number of bypass elements is also a design consideration.
Claim 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver in view of Desai and El-Hoiydi, and further in view of US 20090285135 A1 (Rousu et al., hereinafter Rousu).
Regarding claim 7, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Silver and Desai do not specifically disclose wherein the RF combiner is configured to also act as an RF divider so as to supply an RF signal received by the single common antenna to at least one of the first RF front-end unit and the second RF front-end unit (par. [0036]-[0037], audio information).
In related art concerning apparatus and method for radio-frequency path selection, Rousu discloses a RF combiner is configured to also act as an RF divider (par. [0048], “…An adjustable divider or combiner may be implemented with an adjustable Wilkinson power divider for it is able to adjust transmission or reception power between paths.”, where the Wilkinson power divider takes both roles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Rousu’s teachings about a RF combiner is configured to also act as an RF divider with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver, El-Hoiydi and Desai because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combiners that have both functions of combining and dividing are well-known in radio communications apparatuses where both processes of combining and dividing can be achieved using a single element.
Regarding claim 8, Silver, El-Hoiydi, Desai and Rousu disclose all the limitations of claim 7.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device is a mixture signal of an input audio signal captured by a microphone arrangement forming part of or being connected to the audio transmission device and an external audio signal received from an external audio device via the RF combiner.
Desai discloses wherein the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device is a mixture signal of an input audio signal captured by a microphone arrangement forming part of or being connected to the audio transmission device and an external audio signal received from an external audio device via the RF combiner (Fig. 3A and abstract, “WLAN processing circuitry and the Bluetooth processing circuitry from the received WLAN signal may be combined in a diversity combiner that utilizes selection diversity gain combining or maximal ratio combining (MRC).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device is a mixture signal of an input audio signal captured by a microphone arrangement forming part of or being connected to the audio transmission device and an external audio signal received from an external audio device via the RF combiner with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver, El-Hoiydi and Rousu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the function of combiners is to combine multiple RF signal into a single output; therefore, requiring only a single antenna for transmission and/or reception.
Regarding claim 9, Silver, El-Hoiydi, Desai and Rousu disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to demodulate an external RF signal received from the external audio device via the RF combiner so as to obtain the external audio signal, and wherein the audio transmission device comprises an audio signal processing unit for mixing the input audio signal captured by the microphone arrangement and the external audio signal and to supply the mixture signal as the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device to the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit.
Desai discloses wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to demodulate an external RF signal received from the external audio device via the RF combiner so as to obtain the external audio signal, and wherein the audio transmission device comprises an audio signal processing unit for mixing the input audio signal captured by the microphone arrangement and the external audio signal and to supply the mixture signal as the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device to the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit (Fig. 3A and abstract, “WLAN processing circuitry and the Bluetooth processing circuitry from the received WLAN signal may be combined in a diversity combiner that utilizes selection diversity gain combining or maximal ratio combining (MRC).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Desai’s teachings wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to demodulate an external RF signal received from the external audio device via the RF combiner so as to obtain the external audio signal, and wherein the audio transmission device comprises an audio signal processing unit for mixing the input audio signal captured by the microphone arrangement and the external audio signal and to supply the mixture signal as the audio signal to be transmitted by the audio transmission device to the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver, El-Hoiydi and Rousu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the function of combiners is to combine multiple RF signal into a single output; therefore, requiring only a single antenna for transmission and/or reception.
Claim 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver in view of El-Hoiydi, and further in view of US 20200145350 A1 (Treue et al., hereinafter Treue).
Regarding claim 10, Silver and El-Hoiydi discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are configured to periodically re-synchronize the first and the second wireless protocol in a such manner that at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol are aligned with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol, and wherein the second transceiver unit is configured to supply a logic output signal indicative of the present RF signal transmission activity of the second transceiver unit to the first transceiver unit so as to allow for aligning at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol.
In related art concerning wireless communication device for communicating with multiple external devices, Treue discloses wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are configured to periodically re-synchronize the first and the second wireless protocol in a such manner that at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol are aligned with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol (pars. [0006], [0012], “improved audio quality by avoiding loss of communication packets during a real time communication of multiple protocols with the same or approximately the same carrier frequency via a single radio-frequency antenna in a wireless communication device”, where re-sync is needed for transmission, reception in real-time communications), and wherein the second transceiver unit is configured to supply a logic output signal indicative of the present RF signal transmission activity of the second transceiver unit to the first transceiver unit so as to allow for aligning at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol (pars. [0006], [0012] and [0049]-[0051], “event signal makes the first processing unit able to synchronize or arrange the first communication window according to the second communication window in such a way that the wireless communication unit and the RF antenna are always available for the second processing unit for receiving (i.e. for performing a second communication event) a packet transmitted by an external device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Treue’s teachings wherein the first transceiver unit and the second transceiver unit are configured to periodically re-synchronize the first and the second wireless protocol in a such manner that at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol are aligned with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol, and wherein the second transceiver unit is configured to supply a logic output signal indicative of the present RF signal transmission activity of the second transceiver unit to the first transceiver unit so as to allow for aligning at least part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol with periods in which there is no RF signal transmission of the second wireless protocol with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by re-synchronizing periodically, interference is prevented by avoiding simultaneously reception and transmission and improved signal quality, among others.
Regarding claim 11, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Treue disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein the first transceiver unit is connected to the second RF front-end unit in manner so as to selectively prevent RF signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit.
Treue discloses wherein the first transceiver unit is connected to the second RF front-end unit in manner so as to selectively prevent RF signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit (pars. [0006], [0012] and [0049]-[0051], “improved audio quality by avoiding loss of communication packets during a real time communication of multiple protocols with the same or approximately the same carrier frequency via a single radio-frequency antenna”, “first processing unit able to synchronize or arrange the first communication window according to the second communication window...”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Treue’s teachings wherein the first transceiver unit is connected to the second RF front-end unit in manner so as to selectively prevent RF signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by selective transmission or reception ensures only one of the actions at a time; therefore, preventing interference by avoiding simultaneously reception and transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Silver, El-Hoiydi and Treue disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Silver does not specifically disclose wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to prevent signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit at least during part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol.
Treue discloses wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to prevent signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit at least during part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol (par. [0043], “assign the wireless communication unit to either the first processing unit or to the second processing unit according to a prioritization scheme,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Treue’s teachings wherein the first transceiver unit is configured to prevent signal transmission activities of the second RF front-end unit at least during part of the RF signal receiving periods of the first wireless protocol with the wearable system for data transmission and reception disclosed by Silver and El-Hoiydi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by selective transmission and/or reception ensures only one of the actions at a time; therefore, preventing interference by avoiding simultaneously reception and transmission.
Note: please note that the examiner has quoted the Extended European Search Report provided by applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot in new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649