DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Pond (US 814,563) further in view of McDade (US 11420821).
Regarding claim 1, Cloyd (figs. 1-3 and 5) discloses a self-spacing, invertible stacking bin for receiving, storing or shipping goods, products or debris, comprising:
a horizontally-oriented bottom portion (portion below bottom 1 including the bottom 1) of a bin having a top surface and a bottom surface, and having one or more side edges;
one or more vertically-oriented walls 2 disposed on the one or more side edges of the bottom portion, the one or more walls 2 extending upwardly from the bottom portion when the bin is in an upright position and extending downwardly from the bottom portion when the bin is in an inverted position.
Cloyd fails to disclose:
one or more hinged top components attached to one or more top edges of the one or more walls;
one or more mounting holes formed in the one or more walls; and
one or more D-rings received into the one or more mounting holes configured to receive one or more tie-down devices which hold one or more hinged top components in an open position when the bin is in the inverted position, thereby preventing the one or more hinged top components for hanging downward when emptying contents from the bin.
However, Pond teaches a container having a hinged lid closely held in the open position by a hook D3 (fig. 2 and page 2, lines 28-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to provide the bin of Cloyd, a hinged lid that can be held in the open position, to cover and protect the contents and keep the lid out of the way during access.
Further McDade teaches the claimed D-ring and hole arrangement (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have substituted the hook of the modified Cloyd, with the D-ring and hole arrangement of McDade, to retain the lid in the open position, as both provide a known means for securing a lid. Such substitution would have been a predictable used of known retaining structures according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 3, Cloyd further discloses at least one generally upwardly protruding stacking device 39 which rises above any other vertical features of the bottom portion such that, when a second bin of similar shape and construction to a first bin is received into an open top of a first bin, a bottom portion of the second bin will contact and rest upon the at least one self-spacing stacking device, wherein at least part of the at least one stacking device 39 extends from a support island 27 defined in the bottom portion by a first pair of fork ports and a second pair of fork ports arranged orthogonal to the first pair of fork ports such that no portion of any support island extends to any side wall of the bin (figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 7, the recited method merely sets forth the disclosed manufacturing of the claimed package as set forth in claim 1. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as the device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process.
Regarding claim 8, Cloyd further discloses the sheet material comprises a plastic sheet material (col. 1, lines 49-52).
Regarding claim 9, Cloyd further discloses the sheet material includes a metal sheet material 22 (col. 2, lines 19-26).
Regarding claim 15, Cloyd further discloses forming at least one support island 27 defined in said bottom portion by a first pair of fork ports 23, 24 and a second pair of fork ports 25, 26 orthogonal to the first pair of fork ports such that no portion of any support island 27 extends to any side wall of the bin (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Cloyd further discloses forming at least one generally upwardly protruding stacking device 39 which rises above any other vertical
features of the bottom portion such that, when a second bin of similar shape and
construction to a first bin is received into the first bin, a bottom portion of the second bin
will contact and rest upon the at least one self-spacing stacking device (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Cloyd further discloses at least part of the stacking device 39 is formed to extend from the support island 27 (figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 14, Cloyd further discloses the at least one stacking
device consists of four upwardly protruding stacking devices 35, 36, 39, 40 (figs. 1-3 and 5).
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Pond (US 814,563) further in view of McDade (US 11420821) as applied to claims 3 and 15 above, further in view of Schafer (US 5,397,022).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for a reinforcement plate affixed to the support island to strengthen the bottom portion from sagging under load, wherein the reinforcement plate comprises a support island receiver which receives, captures and is fastened to the at least one support island.
However, Schafer teaches a reinforcement plate or flat webs 8 affixed to the bottom of a container and supported on protruding ribs (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the bottom of the device of the modified Cloyd, a reinforcement plate, as taught by Schafer to provide a bottom that can easily be replaced when damaged.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cloyd further discloses the reinforcement plate (of Schafer) being further affixed to at least two edges of the bottom portion or to at least two wall portions of the bin, thereby transmitting force of weight of bin contents positioned the middle of the bottom portion through the at least one support island, to the reinforcement plate, and distributes some of the force to a periphery of the bottom portion capable of reducing sag of the bottom portion and retain a rectangular shape of the bottom portion (fig. 1 of Schafer).
Regarding claims 12-13, the modified Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for attaching a reinforcement plate to the support island to strengthen the bottom portion from sagging under load, wherein the reinforcement plate comprises a support island receiver which receives, captures and is fastened to the at least one support island; or
affixing a reinforcement plate to at least two edges of the bottom portion or to at least two wall portions of the bin, thereby providing a structure which transmits force of weight of bin contents positioned the middle of the bottom portion through the at least one support island, to the reinforcement plate, and distributes some of the force to a periphery of the bottom portion capable of reducing sag of the bottom portion and retain a rectangular shape of the bottom portion.
However, Schafer teaches a reinforcement plate or flat webs 8 affixed to the bottom of a container and supported on protruding ribs (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the bottom of the modified device of Cloyd, a reinforcement plate, as taught by Schafer to provide a bottom that can easily be replaced when damaged.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Pond (US 814,563) further in view of McDade (US 11420821) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Krohn (US 7,882,973).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for the sheet material comprises a fiberglass sheet material.
However, Krohn teaches a container made of either metal, plastic or fiberglass sheet (col. 5, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the sheet material of the modified Cloyd, fiberglass, as taught by Krohn, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose the newly added limitations. However, the newly added limitations are addressed by the newly cited references discussed above.
Conclusion
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735