DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is not known if the “self-spacing stacking device” is the same as “upwardly protruding stacking device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the reinforcement plate" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cloyd (US 3,438,544).
Regarding claim 1, Cloyd (figs. 1-3 and 5) discloses a self-spacing stacking bin for receiving, storing or shipping goods, products or debris, comprising:
a horizontally-oriented bottom portion 1 of a bin; and
at least one support island 27 defined in said bottom portion by a first pair of fork ports 23, 24 and a second pair of fork ports 25, 26 orthogonal to the first pair of fork ports 23, 24 such that no portion of any support island 27 extends to any side wall of the bin; and
at least one generally upwardly protruding stacking device 39 which rises above any other vertical features of the bottom portion 1 such that, when a second bin of similar shape and construction to a first bin is received into the first bin, a bottom portion of the second bin will contact and rest upon the at least one self-spacing stacking device.
Regarding claim 3, Cloyd further discloses at least part of the stacking device 39 extends from the support island 27 (figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Cloyd further discloses the at least one stacking device consists of four upwardly protruding stacking devices 35, 36, 39, 40 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Cloyd (figs. 1-3 and 5) discloses a method of manufacturing a bin for receiving, storing or shipping goods, products or debris, the method comprising forming a sheet of material to yield bottom portion 1 of a bin , wherein the bottom portion 1 is horizontally-oriented, wherein the forming comprises forming at least one support island 27 defined in said bottom portion 1 by a first pair of fork ports 23, 24 and a second pair of fork ports 25, 26 orthogonal to the first pair of fork ports 23, 24 such that no portion of any support island 27 extends to any side wall of the bin, and wherein the forming further comprises providing at least one generally upwardly protruding stacking device 39 which rises above any other vertical features of the bottom portion 1 such that, when a second bin of similar shape and construction to a first bin is received into the first bin, a bottom portion 1 of the second bin will contact and rest upon the at least one generally upwardly protruding stacking device 39.
Regarding claim 8, Cloyd further discloses the sheet material comprises a plastic sheet material (col. 1, lines 49-52).
Regarding claim 9, Cloyd further discloses the sheet material includes a metal sheet material 22 (col. 2, lines 19-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Schafer (US 5,397,022).
Regarding claim 4, Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for a reinforcement plate affixed to the support island to strengthen the bottom portion from sagging under load, wherein the reinforcement plate comprises a support island receiver which receives, captures and is fastened to the at least one support island.
However, Schafer teaches a reinforcement plate or flat webs 8 affixed to the bottom of a container and supported on protruding ribs (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the bottom of the device of Cloyd, a reinforcement plate, as taught by Schafer to provide a bottom that can easily be replaced when damaged.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cloyd further discloses the
reinforcement plate (of Schafer) being further affixed to at least two edges of the bottom portion or to at least two wall portions of the bin, thereby transmitting force of weight of bin contents positioned the middle of the bottom portion through the at least one support island, to the reinforcement plate, and distributes some of the force to a periphery of the bottom portion capable of reducing sag of the bottom portion and retain a rectangular shape of the bottom portion (fig. 1 of Schafer).
Claims 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Krohn (US 7,882,973).
Regarding claim10, Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for the sheet material comprises a fiberglass sheet material.
However, Krohn teaches a container made of either metal, plastic or fiberglass sheet (col. 5, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the sheet material of Cloyd, fiberglass, as taught by Krohn, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Cloyd further discloses at least part of the stacking device 39 is formed to extend from the support island 27 (figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 14, Cloyd further discloses the at least one stacking
device consists of four upwardly protruding stacking devices35, 36, 39, 40 (figs. 1-3 and 5).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cloyd (US 3,438,544) in view of Krohn (US 7,882,973) as applied to claim 10 above further in view of Schafer (US 5,397,022).
Regarding claims 12-13, the modified Cloyd discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for attaching a reinforcement plate to the support island to strengthen the bottom portion from sagging under load, wherein the reinforcement plate comprises a support island receiver which receives, captures and is fastened to the at least one support island; or
affixing a reinforcement plate to at least two edges of the bottom portion or to at least two wall portions of the bin, thereby providing a structure which transmits force of weight of bin contents positioned the middle of the bottom portion through the at least one support island, to the reinforcement plate, and distributes some of the force to a periphery of the bottom portion capable of reducing sag of the bottom portion and retain a rectangular shape of the bottom portion.
However, Schafer teaches a reinforcement plate or flat webs 8 affixed to the bottom of a container and supported on protruding ribs (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the bottom of the modified device of Cloyd, a reinforcement plate, as taught by Schafer to provide a bottom that can easily be replaced when damaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735