DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 4/22/26, with respect to the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 4/22/26, with respect to claims 5-7 and 15-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10 and 11, filed 4/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. patent application publication 2024/0190462 by Schwindt et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. patent application publication 2024/0190462 by Schwindt et al.
2) Regarding claim 1, Schwindt teaches an object tracking apparatus comprising: a light detection and ranging (lidar) sensor (paragraph 38; lidar can be utilized as a sensor); and one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (figure 2; processor and memory disclosed), cause the object tracking apparatus to: receive lidar data from the lidar sensor and track detected objects using the received lidar data (paragraph 55; objects are tracked over time); determine, based on a predetermined criterion and information about the detected objects, for each of the detected objects: a first score, based on moving object features of the corresponding object, indicating a likelihood that the corresponding object is moving, wherein the moving object features comprise a velocity (paragraphs 46 and 51; objects have a dynamic probability that can be based upon velocity), and a second score, based on static object features of the corresponding object, indicating a likelihood that the corresponding object is stationary (paragraph 50; static object probability is calculated); output, for each of the detected objects, a comparison result value of a comparison between the first score and the second score (paragraph 50; dynamic scored objects can be superimposed on the static occupancy grid [i.e. static scores are compared to overlayed dynamic scores in a particular location); and determine, based on the comparison result value, whether each of the detected objects is moving or stationary (paragraphs 51 and 52; based on the overlap, object status is determined).
3) Regarding claim 2, Schwindt teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus to: generate at least one grid map to determine whether the detected objects are is moving or stationary, and generate a data grid map using the generated at least one grid map (paragraphs 50-52; grid map of static objects is determined [i.e. item 42] that is overlayed with dynamic objects to create the “data grid map”).
4) Regarding claim 3, Schwindt teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus to: match track data with the data grid map; and analyze grid information of at least one grid overlapped with at least one object in a matching map of the track data and the data grid map to determine whether the at least one object is stationary (paragraphs 50-52; tracked dynamic objects are overlayed on the static grid to determine whether objects are real stationary objects).
5) Regarding claim 4, Schwindt teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus: based on the analyzed grid information being associated with a value greater than a threshold value, determine that the at least one object is stationary (paragraph 52; thresholds are utilized).
6) Claims 11-14 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejections of claims 1-4 above, respectively.
7) Claim 21 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 1 above (lidar is a sensor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8) Claim(s) 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2024/0190462 by Schwindt et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2025/0200879 by Jeong et al.
9) Regarding claim 8, Schwindt teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus to: analyze a shape of the object by vertex grids of the object in a lateral direction and calculating grids, of the object, ranging from a minimum lateral grid to a maximum lateral grid (figure 4; paragraphs 45, 49 and 55; defined object shapes are tracked over time from a “minimum grid” [i.e. furthest back in time] to a “maximum grid” [i.e. most recent]).
Schwindt does not specifically teach aligning vertex grids (identifying objects in each frame is disclosed but not specifically aligning them).
Jeong discloses aligning vertex grids (paragraph 141; 2D grids of identified objects [figure 5, item S330] can be matched to a point cloud of a scene).
Schwindt and Jeong are combinable because they are both from the lidar object classification field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Schwindt with Jeong to add matching objects in a point cloud. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve accuracy (paragraph 161). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Schwindt with Jeong to obtain the invention of claim 8.
10) Regarding claim 9, Jeong (as combined with Schwindt in the rejection of claim 8 above) teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus to: classify, based on vertices of a shape of the object, the shape of the object into a first type, a second type, a third type, or a fourth type (paragraph 121; objects can be classified into any of the example objects listed based on the shape).
11) Regarding claim 10 Jeong (as combined with Schwindt in the rejection of claim 8 above) teaches the object tracking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the object tracking apparatus to: classify, based on vertices of a shape of the object, the shape of the object into a first type, a second type, a third type, or a fourth type; and divide each of the first type, the second type, the third type, and the fourth type into at least one area (paragraph 121; objects are classified by shape into the “area” of the XY plane of the particular 2D NDT grid maps [figure 5, item S330]).
12) Claims 18-20 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejections of claims 8-10 above, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683