DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group1, claims 1-7 and 11-12 in the reply filed on 08/017/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Restriction Requirement is traversed because, as amended herein, the claims of Groups I, II, III, and IV all recite common technical features that relate to the same invention. As such, as amended, the claimed subject matter of Groups I, II, III, and IV is not independent or distinct. This is not found persuasive because The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. 2014/0236135 (hereinafter “Donitzky”) in view of Pub. No. US 2025/0241794 (hereinafter Donitzky “794”). Donitzky discloses the invention relates to corneal surgical device, and particularly to laser -assisted epithelial removal devise 10 configured to perform surgery on an eye (Pars. 0002), the device 10 including a laser source 12 generating pulsed laser beam that has a pulse duration of that is less than a nanosecond, such as on the order of a picosecond, femtosecond, or attosecond (par. 0016);
wherein the laser optical system comprises: a laser source 12, a scanner 16, and a focusing objective 18 for scanning a laser beam 14 of the laser light within a corneal of the eye (Fig. 1A Par. 0015), and a focusing optical system, wherein the scanner system 16 is in the beam path (31,33) of the laser beam 14 is between the laser source 32 a focusing optical system 18, and contact element 28 (see Fig. 1B).
Donitzky does not teach the scanning system focus the laser light within a cornea of the eye in three dimensions. Donitzky “794” discloses an ophthalmic laser system for performing laser treatment of an eye. The system further includes a laser applicator, wherein the system is configured for ablating the cornea or the lens of the eye (see the abstract and Par. 0002).
Donitzky “794” further discloses that the laser applicator includes at least a portion of a scanning system for three-dimensionally scan a focus of the treatment laser beam within the eye. The scanning system may include an axial scanning system for scanning the laser focus along an axis of the laser beam and/or a beam deflection scanning system for scanning the laser beam through deflection of the laser beam. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to modify the time applicant’ invention wait would have been obvious to Donitzky in teachings of Donitzky “794” to focus the laser beam of the laser light within a cornea of the eye in three dimensions as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Donitzky “794” teaches in Par. [0119] that the scanning system may include an axial scanning system for scanning the laser focus along an axis of the laser beam and/or a beam deflection scanning system for scanning the laser beam through deflection of the laser beam.
Regarding claim 7, the reference teaches the scanning system may include an axial scanning system for scanning the laser focus along an axis of the laser beam and/or a beam deflection scanning system for scanning the laser beam through deflection of the laser beam.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/AHMED M FARAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792