DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 filed on 7 December 2023 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7 December 2023 and 3 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “50” has been used to designate both lower radiator portion and stub chamber. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ [0007], line 7 “H-plan, which is the plan” should be “H-plane, which is the plane”
Element 50 is referred to as both a “lower radiator portion” (¶ [0045]) and a “stub chamber” (¶ [0047]-[0048], [0051]-[0052], [0054])
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano et al. (US 2007/0075801 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 3 November 2024) in view of He et al. (US 2023/0119711 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 7 December 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Okano et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
A radio frequency (RF) system comprising:
a waveguide antenna (Okano et al. antenna device 71, Fig. 17) (Okano et al. rectangular waveguide 22, Figs. 7-10), a bend transition chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity formed by the rectangular waveguide 22 and circular waveguide 21, Figs. 7-10 ), a waveguide channel (Okano et al. circular waveguide 26, Figs. 7-10), and a radiator (Okano et al. radiator 72, Fig. 17), the input channel being configured to receive the RF signals from the control PCB along a first axis (Okano et al. x-axis, Figs. 7-10), the bend transition chamber being configured to receive the RF signals from the input channel and to route the RF signals to the waveguide channel, the waveguide channel being configured to receive the RF signals from the bend transition chamber along a second axis (Okano et al. z-axis, Figs. 7-10) orthogonal to the first axis and to route the RF signals to the radiator, and the radiator being configured to transmit the RF signals outside of the RF system (Okano et al. waveguide conversion devices 53 and 58, substantially like the third embodiment of Figs. 7-10, signals propagate through the waveguide conversion devices 53 and 58 to the radiator 72 to the exterior, Figs. 16-17; ¶ [0131]-[0134], [0140]);
wherein the bend transition chamber includes a stub chamber (Okano et al. associated with vertical groove 29, Figs. 7-10) having a width (Okano et al. length L, Figs. 7-10) along a third axis (Okano et al. y-axis, Figs. 7-10) orthogonal to both the first axis and the second axis that is greater than a width of the input channel along the third axis and greater than a width of the waveguide channel along the third axis (Okano et al. length L of the suppression groove 29 along the y-axis is greater than the width W of the long groove 24 along the y-axis, Fig. 10).
He et al. discloses:
a control printed circuit board (PCB) that includes a processor and a transmitter configured to generate RF signals (He et al. “An apparatus (e.g., a radar system) may include an MMIC or other processor on the PCB to generate electromagnetic signals.” - ¶ [0003])
attached to the control printed circuit board (He et al.
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by He et al. into the invention of Okano et al. to yield the invention of claim 1 above. Both Okano et al. and He et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose waveguides for directing radio frequency transmissions. Okano et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 outlined above. However, Okano et al. fails to explicitly disclose a control printed circuit board (PCB) that includes a processor and a transmitter configured to generate RF signals. This feature is disclosed by He et al. where “An apparatus (e.g., a radar system) may include an MMIC or other processor on the PCB to generate electromagnetic signals.” (He et al. ¶ [0003]). The combination of Okano et al. and He et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to precisely control “the design and arrangement of the antenna-to-PCB transition can ensure optimal radar performance while preserving a small module profile and minimizing manufacturing costs.” (He et al. ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
The RF system of claim 1, wherein the waveguide antenna includes an upper waveguide part (Okano et al. circular waveguide 26 and cover plate 25, Figs. 7-10; “The cover plate 25 may be formed with the circular waveguide 26 as one piece.” - ¶ [0101]) and a lower waveguide part (Okano et al. rectangular waveguide 22, Figs. 7-10)
He et al. discloses:
formed by a molding process (He et al. “For example, the transition channel 118 can be stamped, etched, cut, machined, cast, molded, or formed in some other way.” - ¶ [0053])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by He et al. into the invention of Okano et al. to yield the invention of claim 2 above. Both Okano et al. and He et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose waveguides for directing radio frequency transmissions. Okano et al. as modified above discloses the RF system of claim 1. However, Okano et al. fails to explicitly disclose a molding process. This feature is disclosed by He et al. where “For example, the transition channel 118 can be stamped, etched, cut, machined, cast, molded, or formed in some other way.” (He et al. ¶ [0053]). The combination of Okano et al. and He et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to produce the waveguide parts with high efficiency and low costs.
Regarding claim 3, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 2, wherein the upper waveguide part includes an upper chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity of the cylindrical waveguide 26, Figs. 7-10) and the lower waveguide part includes a lower chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity of the rectangular waveguide 22, Figs. 7-10) such that the bend transition chamber is formed by the upper and lower chambers when the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together (Okano et al. the inner cavities of the cylindrical wave guide 26 and rectangular waveguide 22 form a bend transition chamber, Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 5, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 2, wherein the upper waveguide part includes an upper waveguide portion (Okano et al. cover plate 25, Figs. 7-10; “The cover plate 25 may be formed with the circular waveguide 26 as one piece.” - ¶ [0101]) and the lower waveguide part includes a lower waveguide portion (Okano et al. bottom surface 24A and side surfaces 24B of rectangular waveguide 22, and bottom surface of cover plate 25, Figs. 9-10) such that the waveguide is formed by the upper and lower waveguide portions when the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together channel (Okano et al. the cavity enclosed by bottom surface 24A and side surfaces 24B of rectangular waveguide 22, and bottom surface of cover plate 25, Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 5, wherein the upper and lower waveguide portions are (Okano et al. the cavity enclosed by bottom surface 24A, side surfaces 24B and bottom surface of cover plate 25 is symmetrical along a plane formed by the second and third axes, Figs. 9-10; Examiner notes that “the cover plate 25 is not limited to a plate” as disclosed in ¶ [0101]).
Although Okano et al. does not explicitly disclose that the upper and lower waveguide portions are symmetrical along a plane formed by the second and third axes, Okano et al. does disclose that the upper and lower waveguide portions extend along a plan formed by the second and third axes. Additionally, Okano et al. discloses that the cavity formed by assembling the cover plate and the rectangular waveguide is symmetrical along a plane parallel to the second and third axes. Enclosing a cavity with the same shape and dimensions as taught by Okano et al. by a cover with the same shape as the rectangular waveguide and symmetrical to the rectangular waveguide along a plane formed by the second and third axes would perform equally as well as the device of Okano et al. Okano et al. further discloses that the “these components can be readily formed with these components being divided into a plurality of parts, and the waveguide conversion device 21 can be efficiently fabricated by assembling the individual parts” (Okano et al. ¶ [0114]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s filing to provide the upper and lower waveguide portions are symmetrical along a plane formed by the second and third axes in order to optimize the assembly process of the RF system.
Regarding claim 7, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 2, wherein the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together in the RF system without conductive paste and without solder (Okano et al. via fitting protrusions 43, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 8, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 1, wherein the stub chamber includes a first bumpout that extends from a first sidewall (Okano et al. first vertical groove 29 in side surface 24B, Figs. 7-10) of the bend transition chamber along the third axis and a second bumpout that extends from a second sidewall (Okano et al. second vertical groove 29 in side surface 24B, Figs. 7-10), opposite from the first sidewall, of the bend transition chamber (Okano et al. vertical grooves 29 are disposed in opposite side surfaces 24B, Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 9, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 8, wherein the first and second bumpouts extend from the first and second sidewalls, respectively, by an equal distance (Okano et al. vertical grooves 29 extend from side surfaces 24B by an equal distance, Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 10, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
The RF system of claim 8, wherein the first and second bumpouts extend from the first and second sidewalls, respectively (Okano et al. vertical grooves 29 are extend from side surfaces 24B by a distance, Figs. 7-10)
Although Okano et al. does note explicitly disclose that the first and second bumpouts extend from the first and second sidewalls, respectively, by different distances, Okano et al. does disclose that the first and second bumpouts extend from the first and second sidewalls, respectively. Okano et al. further discloses that, “resonance can be prevented from being generated in the circular waveguide 4, in which mode conversion is performed, due to an unnecessary transmission mode by appropriately setting, for example, the dimensions, shape, and placement of the unnecessary-wave suppression groove 5 in advance.” (Okano et al. ¶ [0086]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s filing to provide the first and second bumpouts extending from the first and second sidewalls, respectively, by different distances, for the purpose of optimizing the transmission of the RF signals through the waveguide by suppressing an unnecessary transmission mode and decreasing signal loss (Okano et al. ¶ [0008], [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
The RF system of claim 1, wherein the stub chamber includes only a bumpout that extends from a first sidewall (Okano et al. first vertical groove 29 in side surface 24B, Figs. 7-10) of the bend transition chamber along the third axis
Although Okano et al. does note explicitly disclose the second sidewall, opposite from the first sidewall, does not include a bumpout, Okano et al. does disclose that the first and second bumpouts extend from the first and second sidewalls, respectively. Okano et al. further discloses that, “resonance can be prevented from being generated in the circular waveguide 4, in which mode conversion is performed, due to an unnecessary transmission mode by appropriately setting, for example, the dimensions, shape, and placement of the unnecessary-wave suppression groove 5 in advance.” (Okano et al. ¶ [0086]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s filing to provide the stub chamber includes only a bumpout that extends from a first sidewall of the bend transition chamber along the third axis and a second sidewall, opposite from the first sidewall, does not include a bumpout, for the purpose of optimizing the transmission of the RF signals through the waveguide by suppressing an unnecessary transmission mode and decreasing signal loss (Okano et al. ¶ [0008], [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
The RF system of claim 1
He et al. discloses:
wherein the PCB and waveguide antenna are included in an automotive radar system (He et al. radar system 102 disposed in vehicle 104, Fig. 1) configured to transmit and receive radar signals
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by He et al. into the invention of Okano et al. to yield the invention of claim 12 above. Both Okano et al. and He et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose waveguides for directing radio frequency transmissions. Okano et al. as modified above discloses the RF system of claim 1. However, Okano et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the PCB and waveguide antenna are included in an automotive radar system configured to transmit and receive radar signals. This feature is disclosed by He et al. where the PCB 112 and waveguide antenna are included in the radar system 102 of vehicle 104 (He et al. Fig. 1). The combination of Okano et al. and He et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to “ensure optimal radar performance while preserving a small profile and minimizing manufacturing costs” (He et al. ¶ [0013]).
Regarding claim 13, Okano et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Okano et al. has been struck-through]
A radio frequency (RF) system comprising:
a waveguide antenna (Okano et al. antenna device 71, Fig. 17) (Okano et al. rectangular waveguide 22, Figs. 7-10), a bend transition chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity formed by the rectangular waveguide 22 and circular waveguide 21, Figs. 7-10 ), a waveguide channel (Okano et al. circular waveguide 26, Figs. 7-10), and a radiator (Okano et al. radiator 72, Fig. 17), the input channel being configured to receive the RF signals from the control PCB along a first axis (Okano et al. x-axis, Figs. 7-10), the bend transition chamber being configured to receive the RF signals from the input channel and to route the RF signals to the waveguide channel, the waveguide channel being configured to receive the RF signals from the bend transition chamber along a second axis (Okano et al. z-axis, Figs. 7-10) orthogonal to the first axis and to route the RF signals to the radiator, and the radiator being configured to transmit the RF signals outside of the RF system (Okano et al. waveguide conversion devices 53 and 58, substantially like the third embodiment of Figs. 7-10, signals propagate through the waveguide conversion devices 53 and 58 to the radiator 72 to the exterior, Figs. 16-17; ¶ [0131]-[0134], [0140]);
wherein:
the bend transition chamber includes a stub chamber (Okano et al. associated with vertical groove 29, Figs. 7-10) having a width (Okano et al. length L, Figs. 7-10) along a third axis (Okano et al. y-axis, Figs. 7-10) orthogonal to both the first axis and the second axis that is greater than a width of the input channel along the third axis and greater than a width of the waveguide channel along the third axis (Okano et al. length L of the suppression groove 29 along the y-axis is greater than the width W of the long groove 24 along the y-axis, Fig. 10);
the waveguide antenna includes an upper waveguide part (Okano et al. circular waveguide 26 and cover plate 25, Figs. 7-10; “The cover plate 25 may be formed with the circular waveguide 26 as one piece.” - ¶ [0101]) and a lower waveguide part (Okano et al. rectangular waveguide 24, Figs. 7-10)
the upper waveguide part includes an upper chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity of the cylindrical waveguide 26, Figs. 7-10) and the lower waveguide part includes a lower chamber (Okano et al. inner cavity of the rectangular waveguide 22, Figs. 7-10) such that the bend transition chamber is formed by the upper and lower chambers when the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together (Okano et al. the inner cavities of the cylindrical wave guide 26 and rectangular waveguide 22 form a bend transition chamber, Figs. 7-10);
the upper waveguide part includes an upper waveguide portion (Okano et al. cover plate 25, Figs. 7-10; “The cover plate 25 may be formed with the circular waveguide 26 as one piece.” - ¶ [0101]) and the lower waveguide part includes a lower waveguide portion (Okano et al. bottom surface 24A and side surfaces 24B of rectangular waveguide 22, and bottom surface of cover plate 25, Figs. 9-10) such that the waveguide is formed by the upper and lower waveguide portions when the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together channel (Okano et al. the cavity enclosed by bottom surface 24A and side surfaces 24B of rectangular waveguide 22, and bottom surface of cover plate 25, Figs. 9-10); and
the upper and lower waveguide parts are assembled together in the RF system without conductive paste and without solder (Okano et al. via fitting protrusions 43, Fig. 14.
He et al. discloses:
a control printed circuit board (PCB) that includes a processor and a transmitter configured to generate RF signals (He et al. “An apparatus (e.g., a radar system) may include an MMIC or other processor on the PCB to generate electromagnetic signals.” - ¶ [0003])
formed by a molding process (He et al. “For example, the transition channel 118 can be stamped, etched, cut, machined, cast, molded, or formed in some other way.” - ¶ [0053])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by He et al. into the invention of Okano et al. to yield the invention of claim 1 above. Both Okano et al. and He et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose waveguides for directing radio frequency transmissions. Okano et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 outlined above. However, Okano et al. fails to explicitly disclose a control printed circuit board (PCB) that includes a processor and a transmitter configured to generate RF signals and a molding process. These features is disclosed by He et al. where “An apparatus (e.g., a radar system) may include an MMIC or other processor on the PCB to generate electromagnetic signals.” (He et al. ¶ [0003]) and “For example, the transition channel 118 can be stamped, etched, cut, machined, cast, molded, or formed in some other way.” (He et al. ¶ [0053]). The combination of Okano et al. and He et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to precisely control “the design and arrangement of the antenna-to-PCB transition can ensure optimal radar performance while preserving a small module profile and minimizing manufacturing costs.” (He et al. ¶ [0002]) and produce the waveguide parts with high efficiency and low costs.
Regarding claim 14, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 13, wherein the stub chamber includes a bumpout that extends from a sidewall of the bend transition chamber along the third axis (Okano et al. vertical grooves 29 extend from side surfaces 24B, Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 15, Okano et al. as modified above discloses:
The RF system of claim 8, wherein the stub chamber includes a first bumpout that extends from a first sidewall (Okano et al. first vertical groove 29 in side surface 24B, Figs. 7-10) of the bend transition chamber along the third axis and a second bumpout that extends from a second sidewall (Okano et al. second vertical groove 29 in side surface 24B, Figs. 7-10), opposite from the first sidewall, of the bend transition chamber, with the first and second bumpouts extending from the first and second sidewalls, respectively, by an equal distance (Okano et al. vertical grooves 29 extend from side surfaces 24B by an equal distance, Figs. 7-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 4, the prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or render obvious, either alone or in combination, the RF system of claim 3, wherein the upper and lower chambers are symmetrical along a plane formed by the second and third axes.
Conclusion
NAOMI M. WOLFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/N.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
28 November 2025
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648